Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Blue World
Now that all the negative press, the poor box office, the stories about why Shyamalan moved this film to Warner Bros, the stories about Shyamalan's supposed meglomania has died down a bit, it was time to see "Lady in the Water."

I am a big fan of Shyamalan's work particularly "The Village." Most of his films have been box office successes until this one and...
Published on Oct. 31 2006 by MICHAEL ACUNA

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Man may have forgotten how to listen"
This interpretation of a bed time story that first introduces characters weirder than the ones in "Batteries Included." We are lead to believe they are all in some sort of transition in life and are given a purpose. On the surface they are helping a fairytale character get back to her world.

The film has a "B" movie knockoff of a Spielberg feel. Every time...
Published on Dec 31 2006 by bernie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Man may have forgotten how to listen", Dec 31 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lady in the Water (Widescreen Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
This interpretation of a bed time story that first introduces characters weirder than the ones in "Batteries Included." We are lead to believe they are all in some sort of transition in life and are given a purpose. On the surface they are helping a fairytale character get back to her world.

The film has a "B" movie knockoff of a Spielberg feel. Every time they look up you expect a bicycle crossing the moon.

The characters and the actors look like cardboard knockoffs of famous actors more than people. Bryce Dallas Howard in make up looks like a young Tilda Swinton.

Then "Whisper in the Noise" mangles a great Dylan song "Times are a Changing"

Grate concept - pitiful execution.

Bob Dylan's Greatest Hits
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Blue World, Oct. 31 2006
By 
MICHAEL ACUNA (Southern California United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lady in the Water (Widescreen Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Now that all the negative press, the poor box office, the stories about why Shyamalan moved this film to Warner Bros, the stories about Shyamalan's supposed meglomania has died down a bit, it was time to see "Lady in the Water."

I am a big fan of Shyamalan's work particularly "The Village." Most of his films have been box office successes until this one and though "LITW" definitely has some problems: the plot is too complicated and the storyline too convoluted, overall it is very thoughtful,persuasive and touching...very much a fairy tale, very much a personal, emotionally available film from Shyamalan.

For many, all this business about the Blue World, the Narf (a resplendent, totally believable, vulnerable Bryce Howard as Story), the green creature whose goal it is to kill her, etc, etc. is negligible at best and silly and off-putting at worst but there is also no doubt that Shyamalan is committed to this material, casts it perfectly (Paul Giamatti as the man who protects, discovers and leads Story's return to the Blue World, the excellent Jeffrey Wright as a crossword puzzle addict whose son holds the key to Story's return) and films it with obvious delight and love.

"Lady in the Water" is not a great film nor is it Shyamalan's best: what it is, is a charming little film about our need for home and the comforts derived therein. Shyamalan also has the sense to steal from the very best: in this case "The Wizard of Oz" and his take on this material, as usual is pristine, his moviemaking above reproach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shyamalan's soggy faerie tale, Jan. 14 2007
By 
Amanda Richards (Georgetown, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Lady in the Water (Widescreen Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Based on an ancient story

Of a Blue World we forgot

When mankind turned away from peace

Bringing decay and rot

To save us all, the story goes

A messenger is sent

Awakening a human to

Forestall our sharp descent

Of course there is a darker force

A creature full of hate

Sent to destroy the messenger

So we can't change our fate

A select few have gathered near

But still they have no clue

They'll have a vital part to play

Before the movie's through

One human is the "Vessel"

The one who'll turn the wheel

Another one will read the signs

One guards while others heal

The background story is unique

The storyline less gripping

One casting choice just screams out that

The writer's ego-tripping

"The Village" is comparable

"The Sixth Sense" - that still shines

I didn't watch "Unbreakable"

And really disliked "Signs"

This one was really not as bad

As some critics have said

But it's no happy fairy tale

To read to kids in bed

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, Jan. 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Gave it as a gift, the person loved the movie. I can't say much about the movie as I haven't seen it. The package was received in a quick manner and no damage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars well, that was weird, Oct. 1 2007
This review is from: Lady in the Water (Widescreen Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Lady in the Water is the latest movie from M.Night Shyamalan,and it is
a weird one.i could make little sense of it,and there seemed to be some
gaping plot holes.to me,it seemed to be a philosophy lesson at
times,which is good if you want a philosophy lesson,but i didn't.add to
that,to me there was a lot of overacting going on.the movie just didn't
make a lot of sense.Shyamalan says this is a fairy tale(which he
apparently created)he used to tell his children went hey were young.for
a young child,this would probably be entertaining,and some adults might
enjoy it.normally i watch a movie to be entertained,and don't worry
about plot holes or gaps in logic.but for me,there were just too many
to overlook.Not a horrible movie,by any means but not as good as it
could have been.3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just admit you're watching an adult fairy tale..., May 29 2007
By 
This review is from: Lady in the Water (Widescreen Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
and the film is something unusual and enjoyable you can slip into, allowing your mind to slide its focus away from your usual world. If you're not able to accept you're watching something that can never be, then forget about it. Otherwise, this is something original, and oddly sweet, that is worth watching once. Fairy tales can be for grown ups, too. Not the most brilliant film I've ever watched, but thoroughly enjoyable mind candy (and not standard Hollywood crap) nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BAD, VERY BAD MOVIE, Feb. 11 2007
By 
Chad "nfld" (Newfoundland, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lady in the Water (Widescreen Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
this movie was so bad and so boring that I actually fell asleep watcing it. when i did manage to stay awake watching it, it was still a bad movie from start to finish. why did the previews make this out to be a horror movie? it's nothing more then a boring faerie tale (not for kids though) anyway, this movie was a big miss and one of the worst movies I ever watched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars beckybwoy in da house,,, Jan. 5 2007
By 
This review is from: Lady in the Water (Widescreen Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Not sure what to say,,,,,,,,,,,this flick is no question my worse experience ever. It was extremely painful to watch,,there is like nothing worth talking about, not to mentioned a stupid story to follow. Holy molly, this flick was bad. Not to mentioned it bombed so badly at the box office,,,and I still got suckered into checking it out,,,I truly deserve what I got!! Don't see this flick, you will regret it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lady in the Water (Widescreen Edition) (Bilingual)
Lady in the Water (Widescreen Edition) (Bilingual) by M. Night Shyamalan (DVD - 2006)
CDN$ 9.93 CDN$ 7.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews