Customer Reviews


674 Reviews
5 star:
 (559)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid package for a great movie
Unlike a lot of anniversary additions, this one does include some new content in the way of interviews and various other little extras. The movie is as great as it has always been and I think this is worth the purchase even if you have an earlier DVD release
Published 16 months ago by Wade Tritschler

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Princess Bride
I ordered two DVD's - one for a friend. Both DVD's were defected, stalling throughout the movie - mine, at one point sounded like a machine gun before it recovered.

The movie itself was fine and fun too watch, unfortuneately the product was not.
Published 14 months ago by Susan Landels


‹ Previous | 1 268 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid package for a great movie, Dec 15 2012
By 
Wade Tritschler (Nanaimo, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Unlike a lot of anniversary additions, this one does include some new content in the way of interviews and various other little extras. The movie is as great as it has always been and I think this is worth the purchase even if you have an earlier DVD release
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Think this happens every day?, Feb. 22 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Every now and then, someone makes one of those rare movies that crosses the lines of romance, action, fantasy, fairy tale, and a story for all ages. And isn't annoying either. With snappy dialogue and lovable characters, "The Princess Bride" is a classic tale of high adventure, danger, true love, screaming eels, and Sicilians who talk too much. And yes, there's kissing.

A bored little boy (Fred Savage) is sick in bed, is told a story by his quirky grandfather (Peter Falk). In it, young lovers Buttercup (Robin Wright) and Westley (Carey Elwes) are separated when Westley is apparently killed. A few years later, the heartbroken Buttercup is unwillingly affianced to the slimy Prince Humperdinck. As if that weren't enough, she's kidnapped by a trio of mercenaries.

But things go wrong for the mercenaries -- a mysterious masked man is following them, and he defeats each of the mercenaries with his swordplay, strength and wits. He also knows quite a bit about Westley's fate -- and Buttercup soon finds that he IS Westley after all. But Buttercup is only a cog in Humperdinck's evil plot, and now it's up to Westley, gentle giant Fezzik (Andre) and vengeance-seeking Spaniard Inigo Montoya (Mandy Patinkin) to save her.

If "Princess Bride" had been done in a halfway serious manner, it wouldn't have been even remotely interesting. It would have been just another kids' film. But with William Goldman's tongue-in-cheek script and entertaining characters (Miracle Max, anyone?), it becomes something a lot sweeter and funnier.

Rob Reiner has a deft, wry touch that matches Goldman's story, and he does a superb job of keeping the grim moments lighter than they would have been otherwise ("We'll never make it through!" "Nonsense, you're only saying that because no one ever has"). With scenes like the torture machine, Miracle Max and Westley's three duels, Reiner keeps it deadpan rather than openly comic. But there are also scenes of touching romance and reconciliation, and some very good swordfights for Inigo.

And the dialogue (penned by Goldman) is full of quotables -- lines like "Inconceivable!" "My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die," "I'm not left-handed!" and "As you wish" are more or less immortalized. At the worst of times it's solid; at the middling times, it's memorably quirky; at the best of times, it's hilarious.

Yes, the title is about Buttercup. But she's a pretty pallid character compared to Westley, Fezzik and Patinkan. Elwes always seems to be winking at both the characters and audience, while Andre is lovable as the sportsmanlike, superstrong giant, and Patinkan as the discouraged Spaniard searching for a six-fingered man. His clash with the casually evil Rugen is a wonderful action-packed climax.

And Billy Crystal makes a brief but insanely good appearance as the Miracle Man, an embittered medieval healer with a very peeved wife (Carol Kane, who steals the scene with her shrieks of "Liar!").

Crammed with adventure, true love, swordfights, pirates, casual villains, and a clergyman with a speech impediment, "The Princess Bride" is an adorable comic classic. A must-see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It gets better everytime I see it., Aug. 14 2010
By 
Marly6206 "Marlene" (Gatineau, QC, Canada) - See all my reviews
There is always something new everytime I watch this movie...from the nuances in the dialog to the facial expressions to the obvious enjoyment everyone seems to be having in making the film. It's a fun film to watch and I am sure I'll watch it many more times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic comedy, Jan. 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Funny funny movie, had to have it. Billy Crystal steals the movie. Received this in just a few days. Didn't expect that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pretty good family film, May 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A love story that is fit for the whole family - and the young girls will like it even more. The formula was old fashion but it worked. However, be warned of a torture scene which may be too intense for the young. I actually don't think that scene was necessary and believe a misjudgement on the part of the script writer or director had resulted in this 'blemish' in an otherwise wholesome family fare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Classic, Feb. 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
We bought this movie for our neice for Christmas. This is a real classic... I've watched it over and over though when it first came out I didn't think I'd like the fairy tail..... Have fun "storming the castle"!!! I'll keep watching this for years to come. Great for young and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, Jan. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Dated though it may be today, The Princess Bride has great dialogue, character development and above all is hilarious. My kids and I continue to quote this movie on a regular basis. It's definitely worth the money we spent on it - I can't imagine what we would have spent in rental fees if we hadn't bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, Jan. 2 2013
By 
Old_Hippie (Montreal Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Fun for all. I go back to it every now & then........ ............. ........... ......... ........ .... .. .. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Movie, April 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
You will love this movie, especially if you are a princess in the making, or live in a Disney fantasy world. Also a great date flick at home with a bottle of wine.. ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love it., March 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An old favorite with extras. Love it. I wanted to see to see it on my big plasma screen and this gave me the opportunity for a remaster. Thank you Amazon, you're the greatest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 268 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb60b1f18)

This product

NEW Princess Bride - Princess Bride (Blu-ray)
CDN$ 46.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews