Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Ol' Popcorn Action Flick!
This movie isn't meant to have any meaning or even a sensible plot; the one we get is as loose as you can get. It's just a good excuse for some senseless violence, a car chase and some rather quite funny moments, all for the pure pleasure of entertainment. If you like action movies or just wanna spend a few hours having a good time on the couch than this movie is for...
Published on Jan. 21 2007 by Aaron Donnelly

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars So silly it's hilarious
Surprisingly I enjoyed this film. I thought the editing was creative and Jason would probably be great in a bona fide spy spoof. I mean who pulls off a robbery or drives away from the cops through a shopping center while talking on the phone. Seeing his car go up the escalator was good for a chuckle. If it sounds like I'm a Jason Statham fan - I am. Some movies are not so...
Published 4 months ago by D. Marois


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars So silly it's hilarious, March 13 2014
By 
D. Marois (Quebec) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crank (Widescreen) (DVD)
Surprisingly I enjoyed this film. I thought the editing was creative and Jason would probably be great in a bona fide spy spoof. I mean who pulls off a robbery or drives away from the cops through a shopping center while talking on the phone. Seeing his car go up the escalator was good for a chuckle. If it sounds like I'm a Jason Statham fan - I am. Some movies are not so good but are worth watching because of the star. Like Liam Neeson in Taken 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Ol' Popcorn Action Flick!, Jan. 21 2007
By 
Aaron Donnelly (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crank (Widescreen) (DVD)
This movie isn't meant to have any meaning or even a sensible plot; the one we get is as loose as you can get. It's just a good excuse for some senseless violence, a car chase and some rather quite funny moments, all for the pure pleasure of entertainment. If you like action movies or just wanna spend a few hours having a good time on the couch than this movie is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Movie, July 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crank [Blu-ray] (DVD)
This movie is non stop action. Pretty violent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jason Statham just never stops, June 23 2007
By 
Jenny J.J.I. "A New Yorker" (That Lives in Carolinas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Crank (Full Screen) (DVD)
thought this movie was decent but my husband heavily enjoyed it of course. Its "B" type movie, not a serious, not a critic movie. It is a movie for the people with a simple plot that allows great, heart-pumping action. Crank starts off with superficially appealing opening titles over glass-shattering rock music, and once the movie starts going, it presents itself as an obvious entry in the race-against- time category of movies. Despite points where I would either drastically change a scene or just leave it the hell out, there are some fun moments, such as when Statham tries to evade police by racing his car through a mall and making it up an escalator in it, and when he runs through a hospital desperate for an adrenaline hit.

Honestly, I found Statham's performance in Crank to be possibly one of his best. He continues his career with a lack of versatility the genre of movies he tends to be cast in, with the exception of the romantic comedy London, but his character is unlike any of the other generally wooden, raspy-voiced, earthily cynical characters he's played since his first role. Lock, Stock, Snatch, the Transporter films, and even Cellular showcase him in practically identical roles. In Crank, which involves gangsters, shootouts and other high-over-the-top action sequences, and a character's fatal deadline, themes that you can find in each of the films previously mentioned, he is shown in a role as an aggressive, hasty, impulsive, and highly temperamental person. I mean, when has Statham ever raised his voice or conveyed emotion in any of his films? Here, he does, and that makes it a much more likable role than if it were played by most other action stars.

The film has great momentum and everything mentioned above, but depreciates greatly from the introduction of Amy Smart's token girlfriend character. She plays her role to the fullest, but the Lambourghini ride pace of the movie is severed when her screen time starts. There's also a nonsensical and completely out-of-place sequence where Statham coerces her into having sex with her, impulsively, amidst a large crowd to keep his decreasing heart rate from plundering and thus letting the poison he's been given finally worn out. That scene was a turn off to me, frankly. It and a few other scenes at around this point in the movie. In the Laws and Doctrines of the Race Against Time Movie, it states that you may not slow down. Even when the plot must take expository time, you do it in a clever way where we are still gripping our chair arms.

Crank is not a work of art by any standard, but it doesn't follow formula and it keeps you entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, July 19 2014
By 
M. E. De Costa "mickey D" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crank (Widescreen) (DVD)
item as discribed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I loved this movie, July 11 2009
This review is from: Crank [Blu-ray] (DVD)
I think the people who said "the movie sucked" have missed the context of the movie. I watched it after finishing Grand Theft Auto: SA. You see how the title is a Old Style Video Game and how the Map shows up like a video game? That's the point, I got a huge kick out of this movie because I watched it at the right time and in the right context. It's GTA on the big screen and I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An awful, headache-inducing mess, Jan. 2 2008
By 
This review is from: Crank (Widescreen) (DVD)
I'll preface this by saying that I thoroughly enjoyed both Transporter movies, which were gleefully over-the-top and just plain stupid fun.

Unforunately, Crank is just plain stupid. It's like watching a game of Grand Theft Auto, but you can't even play it, so it's just dull. It's got one of the worst sex scenes ever filmed and it somehow manages to make nonstop action terribly dull. I couldn't wait for this one to end. Do yourself a favour and avoid this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amazon needs to create a 0 star for movies like this one...!, April 30 2007
By 
D. Landry (Ottawa) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crank (Full Screen) (DVD)
A 1 star for this movie is too generous. A waste of time and money unless you like to see someone run, run and run some more all through the movie due to an unrealistic drug that he has in his blood. Come on! I like action, but I was out of breath (and out of patience) by the time I was only half way to this movie. What a joke of a movie... cheap transitional effects from shot to shot and way too many corny sound effects. It's told in the dumbest of ways, with quite possibly the worst looking cinematography.

All this to say that it's a giant commercial for manly actions with a poorly thought-out gangster plot line. Avoid at all cost!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "Crank" stank, Jan. 18 2007
By 
This review is from: Crank (Widescreen) (DVD)
"Crank" is all about Chev Chelios. Chev, an english hitman who works for a latin mobster, wakes up and finds himself poisoned by a rival gang of Chinese mobsters who seem more hispanic than the latins. Chev find himself in a sticky predicament, but does realize that if he keeps his adrenaline level up, he'll live long enough to say good bye to his girlfriend and get some revenge.

Overall this was just a rotten movie. If you like Jason Statham, and I do as well, he's done the same role about 4 or 5 times, each one in better movies. If you like action, well there really isn't all that much here. A couple of fight scenes, a car chase...all very basic. The director tries to employ a few tricks to give it a Woo/Ritchie/Tarantino blend of styles that just comes off with jittery camera movement, bad special effects, and random words splashed on the screen...oh and don't forget a myriad of shots of people's hearts beating and/or not beating.

Really there was nothing fulfilling in this movie at all. You don't get any cool scenes with a "wow" factor, any cool characters with great lines that you'd ever want to quote to your friends, and you definitely don't feel any "Crank."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NEW Statham/smart - Crank (Blu-ray)
CDN$ 9.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews