Customer Reviews


248 Reviews
5 star:
 (178)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars - arguably the best entry in the series
INTRODUCTION:
National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation was the third film in the Vacation series of films. For many years, the first film has been hailed as a comedy classic, but this one gets plenty of praise as well. Is it one of the better entries in the series, or one of the weaker ones? Read on for my review.
BASIC PLOT:
The storyline of the film goes...
Published on April 14 2004 by Rocker_Man

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Griswold Family's Christmas From Hell
It's amazing that Chevy Chase wasn't maimed or killed during the making of this movie. I know, there were plenty of stunt players who fell off the roof, crashed through the attic, were flung about into brick walls, etc.---but still! Chevy, who had a well-publicized stint in the Betty Ford Clinic for addiction to painkillers (due to extreme back pain caused by, of all...
Published on April 15 2004 by Robert J. Schneider


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars - arguably the best entry in the series, April 14 2004
INTRODUCTION:
National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation was the third film in the Vacation series of films. For many years, the first film has been hailed as a comedy classic, but this one gets plenty of praise as well. Is it one of the better entries in the series, or one of the weaker ones? Read on for my review.
BASIC PLOT:
The storyline of the film goes something like this. The Griswalds are staying home for Christmas, and their non-immediate family members are coming to stay with them for the holidays - including cousin Eddie and his family. Yes, believe it or not, this is a Vacation film that doesn't involve the Griswalds traveling! Soon enough Clark Griswald finds himself dealing with both an ungrateful boss, as well as his entire family - which more than has their share of problems.
FILM OPINIONS:
This film is a masterpiece. I'm even going to go so far as to say this film is as good as the original Vacation. The acting, once again, is great. Like any entry in the Vacation series, you've got to see this one to appreciate it.
DVD:
The DVD is severely lacking as far as extras go despite the "special edition" tag. We get commentary and trailers, and that's about it. There's really not much other than these things, things that every DVD should have. It's the lack of extras that cost this film half a star, not the film quality itself. Still, the actual film is good, and it makes up for this.
OVERALL:
Overall this film is a comedy masterpiece - and don't you dare deny it! If you want to laugh, pick it up. You'll be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Griswold Family's Christmas From Hell, April 15 2004
By 
Robert J. Schneider (Tacoma, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's amazing that Chevy Chase wasn't maimed or killed during the making of this movie. I know, there were plenty of stunt players who fell off the roof, crashed through the attic, were flung about into brick walls, etc.---but still! Chevy, who had a well-publicized stint in the Betty Ford Clinic for addiction to painkillers (due to extreme back pain caused by, of all things, his numerous falls on "Saturday Night Live" in the 1970's while spoofing then-President Gerald Ford---how ironic is that???), certainly took on a certain level of risk in reprising his role as the perpetually clumsy, but good-intentioned, WASP patriarch Clark Wilhelm Griswold, Jr. in this, the third installment of the VACATION series by Chase's old comedy troupe, National Lampoon.
Having not seen (as of yet, believe it or not) either VACATION or EUROPEAN VACATION, I was a bit unfamiliar with the main characters; however, CHRISTMAS VACATION got me to know them real fast. I have to admit, I have not been a Chevy Chase fan since the '70's, during and immediately after his SNL days. (Let's face facts, the show made him an instant star, but he was never really one of the funniest members of the Not-Ready-for-Prime-Time Players.) However, I believe that he gives a truly inspired comedic performance in CHRISTMAS VACATION. I'm not even referring to the copious physical comedy he displays. I'm actually talking about his comedic acting! I love the manic energy with which Chase infuses his role, and the crazed look in his eye when his character is pushed over the edge. Beverly D'Angelo, as patient but frequently unamused wife Ellen, provides a good low-key foil for his over-the-top antics. She's well-cast and, I must say, beautiful.
As far as acting talent goes, this film has no shortage in this department. A pre-stardom Juliette Lewis is welcome as Griswold daughter Audrey, and a very young Johnny Galecki is engaging as her kid brother Russell (three years before he was cast as Darlene's lazy boyfriend David on the hit TV show "Roseanne"). We also get memorable performances from E.G. Marshall, Doris Roberts, an unrecognizable Dianne Ladd, and a hysterically funny William Hickey. Rounding out the mix is Randy Quaid as filthy slob Cousin Eddie (who parks his trailer in the driveway), Nicholas Guest and Julia-Louis Dreyfus as the bland and stuck-up neighbors next door, and Brian Doyle-Murray who serves up good moments as Clark's old crabby boss.
The problem with CHRISTMAS VACATION is that, while it does contain some very funny scenes with lots of great, memorable one-liners, it is marred by inferior direction on the part of first-time director Jeremiah Chechik. He tends to interlace the fast-paced physical scenes with long, slow ones that grind the movie to a dead halt every time. While I didn't expect the level of non-stop, lightning-paced zaniness a la AIRPLANE!, these extended slow breaks (that usually focus on a character staring dreamily into the sky) are awkwardly placed and paced, and thereby create an uneven viewing experience. However, John Hughes' smart and wickedly funny script pretty much saves the day. I wouldn't add this to the list of perennial must-see Christmas films (such as A CHRISTMAS STORY or IT'S A WONDERFUL LIFE), but CHRISTMAS VACATION does offer a lot of fun for the whole family (except for kids under the age of 10, as the language is well-seasoned with four-letter words). If it does nothing else, this film should make you feel a lot better about your Christmas!
MODERATELY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars funny, not obnoxious, Oct. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
good comody, the best of the Vacation series. a movie i'll watch more than once. Not as funny as "Wanda", about as funny Grumpy Old Men
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Christmas movie ever!, March 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A birthday gift for my hubby, our all time favorite Christmas movie. This is must have in everyone's BluRay collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have!!!, Feb. 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Anyone who ever liked the "Vacation" series videos needs to add this one to their collection!!! An extremely hilarious movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas fun every year, Feb. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a classic and a must see every year at least once along with the Grinch and A Charlie Brown Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, Jan. 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This has been a family favourite for years. Glad to have a copy now and not have to wait for it to be shown on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good christmas movie, Jan. 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The classic christmas movie. For me is always a movie to see in December with my family.
The high definition is no awssome but for those who are not it is a best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation, Jan. 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have seen this movie many times so decided to purchase it rather than to wait for it to come on television every year. The audio and video quality of the "copy" of the movie I received was so poor I had to return it. On the bright side, Amazon does make it very easy to return items. I am very pleased with the customer service Amazon provides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have...., Dec 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I have been waiting for years to purchase this one... why i dont know... Really worth buy it. I just loved it. Best chrismas movie ever if you want a comedy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3fb3c00)

This product

National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation [Blu-ray]
National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation [Blu-ray] by Jeremiah S. Chechik (Blu-ray - 2009)
CDN$ 19.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews