Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing Thriller
I should probably see this one again, to sort out all the details, but a first viewing was enough to have me hooked on the story and characters, and left me thinking about them for days afterwards.
As a thriller it is superb, drawing you in slowly, building tension by what is left unsaid, by limiting your knowledge of the characters, and also by making them both...
Published on May 3 2002 by Emily McB

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars decent thriller in a bare-bones dvd edition
This 1988 thriller, written and directed by Hal Hartley alum Martin Donovan, is set in Buenos Ares and stars Colin Firth (Pride and Prejudice, Valmont) as a lonely young man whose mother has been institutionalized and Hart Bochner (Say Nothing, War and Remembrance) as the lodger he takes in. Firth and Bochner are both very good, and as the story unfolds, one is...
Published on June 8 2003 by audrey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing Thriller, May 3 2002
By 
Emily McB (Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
I should probably see this one again, to sort out all the details, but a first viewing was enough to have me hooked on the story and characters, and left me thinking about them for days afterwards.
As a thriller it is superb, drawing you in slowly, building tension by what is left unsaid, by limiting your knowledge of the characters, and also by making them both thoroughly likable and somewhat detestable. A long, musical scene where the immensly attractive if somewhat sinister Jack rescues a cat from a ledge is a perfect example--he's irresistable to everyone, including the viewer, but we also see the way he stares down the cat and don't quite trust him. Colin Firth's lonely, film-obsessed and alienated loser Adrian is fascinating in his own right.
The heart of the movie lies in the many difficult relationships-Adrian's dislike of the other tenants, their adoration of Jack, and the marvellous, tense, sexually charged relationship between the two, sort of Withnail and I meets Vincent and Theo, meets The Talented Mr. Ripley.
If I have a complaint, it's that all this is carried a little too far, and I think it might have ended a bit better with that plunge from the balcony. Still, that's only a small quibble for an original and daring film like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Apartment Zero, May 24 2011
This review is from: Apartment Zero [Import] (DVD)
I first saw this movie when it was released many years ago and found it dark yet so intriguing.
Upon watching the movie a second time and years after, I loved the movie even more then before. Outstanding cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Zero Complaints, April 5 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apartment Zero [Import] (DVD)
Die hard "art-house" fans will love this pre cell phone gem. Smoldering hot city shots of Buenes Aires meld beautifully with scenes of a shirtless Hart Bochner. Oh my! Story? Oh ya... a repertory cinema owner takes a shining to an American drifter. It's two solid hours of drama with several suggestive scenes alluding to the love that dare not speak it's name. Yup! Times have changed. No CGI here! Just one great pic. Film buffs of all stripes can confidently add this one to your import collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Twisted., March 27 2011
By 
L. McKellar "Mac" (Ontario, Canada.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apartment Zero [Import] (DVD)
A "film noire" with a lot of weird characters and a very twisted plot that leaves you guessing. A psychological study with a surprise, creepy ending. Hard to get into at first but an interesting film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars squirmy psycho thriller, Aug. 11 2006
By 
Raegan Butcher (Rain City, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Apartment Zero [Import] (DVD)
saw this at the Seattle Film fest in '89 and thought it was quite cool. The casting of Colin Firth was a coup for the filmmakers; he projects the squirmiest sense of psychosis since Anthony Perkins. There are a series of escalatingly creepy scenes between Firth and his crazy mother. Yikes! The gay subtext between Colin Firth's character and Hart Bochner's is nicely played by both actors. I liked the fact that the film wasn't shot or set in the United States. This is a hard film to classify. Is it a serial killer thriller? sort of. Is it a psycho film like Repulsion or The Tenant? Sort of. It has a lot of layers to it and that is something i liked about Apartment Zero. Worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CULT CLASSIC - GREAT ACTING - DON'T MISS IT!, Jan. 26 2004
By 
Julie Farin (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Apartment Zero [Import] (DVD)
"Apartment Zero" is one of the best psychological character studies ever put on film. Colin Firth (in an amazing performance) portrays Adrian LeDuc, a lonely movie theater owner in Buenos Aires whose mentally ill mother is in the hospital.
Adrian and the other misfit tenants in his apartment building (a transvestite, two elderly British alcoholic sisters, a lonely housewife starved for attention, et al) are all smitten by Adrian's charming new roommate, Jack Carney (played by Hart Bochner, who smolders with every close-up). Adrian feels Jack "has a certain James Dean je ne sais quoi," but he soon finds out that his gorgeous roommate is not all he appears to be.
Great acting by Firth and Bochner. Lots of suspense, double-entendre and sexual innuendo, plus an over-the-top ending you'll never forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars decent thriller in a bare-bones dvd edition, June 8 2003
By 
audrey (white mtns) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Apartment Zero [Import] (DVD)
This 1988 thriller, written and directed by Hal Hartley alum Martin Donovan, is set in Buenos Ares and stars Colin Firth (Pride and Prejudice, Valmont) as a lonely young man whose mother has been institutionalized and Hart Bochner (Say Nothing, War and Remembrance) as the lodger he takes in. Firth and Bochner are both very good, and as the story unfolds, one is hard-pressed to know which one is creepier. Is one of them a killer? Not too much gore, and Donovan shows he has a good eye and a feel for atmosphere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric, haunting, compelling, May 7 2001
Hollywood could never pull off a movie this hard to define. Set in Buenos Aires, it stars British Colin Firth, whom everyone is seeing stars over due to the new Bridget Jones film, and American Hart Bochner, the definition of attractive leading man if there ever was one. We need more movies with Hart Bochner's face filling the screen! When he rescues the cat on the ledge, it is movie-making magic. Bochner is a mysterious character who shows up and is taken in by Firth. While the film's ending is quite unexpected and, frankly, a little on the weird side, the flow of this film is gorgeous, careening between humanistic character study and slightly gory crime scenes. At its core, it's about a male friendship between two men who are unstable in different ways -- fascinating to watch. Why more people haven't seen this movie, I have no idea ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A sure-fire cure for acute movie fanaticism!, April 23 2001
Do you ever feel like you're obsessing about movies just a bit much? Are you TOO good at playing the "Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon" game? Do you participate in every daily movie poll at imdb.com and "Ain't-It-Cool-News"? Have you watched "Pulp Fiction" a hundred times in search of some unifying theme? Or do you know someone who exhibits these symptoms?
If so, it's time for you (or them) to check THIS movie out. "The movie for people who watch too many movies," as I like to call it. As a movie fanatic who's seriously losing touch with the real world, Colin Firth's character makes a superb negative role model. Viewing this film can ONLY be a sobering wakeup call for someone too enamored of cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Movie, April 18 2000
By 
I recently watched this movie three times in a row. The acting by Colin Firth and Hart Bochner is first rate. Jack is very likeable and lures people of both sexes. The sexual chemistry between Adrian and Jack is very evident. Adrian is one of several people that Jack seduces and he just has to look at you with his beautiful blue eyes to make you want to do whatever he wants. It is a very interesting look at human nature and it shows us that you can't always judge a book by its cover. People are not always what they appear to be. The ending of the movie was very intense and somewhat surprising. Once again, you can't judge a book by its cover. I highly recommend this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2ca42f4)

This product

Apartment Zero [Import]
Apartment Zero [Import] by Martin Donovan (DVD - 2007)
CDN$ 56.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews