Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The secret impresses no one. The trick you use it for is everything"
"The Prestige", based on a novel by Christopher Priest, is a movie that surprised me. I had heard that some people liked it, and that some people hated it, but I didn't expect "The Prestige" to be the kind of film that makes you want to watch it again immediately, just to be certain you didn't miss anything. And that is exactly what happened in this case...
Published on June 19 2007 by M. B. Alcat

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Magician Story
It is easy to compare this story with The Illusionist (released same year), they are both about magicians, both at the turn of the century. However, where the later is fantasy, this one is more in line with science-fiction. The acting is equally good, however, in The Prestige the writing falls flat. There is not enough build-up to the main character's psyche to explain...
Published on Jan. 11 2010 by Sid Matheson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The secret impresses no one. The trick you use it for is everything", June 19 2007
By 
M. B. Alcat "Curiosity killed the cat, but sa... (Hanoi, Vietnam) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
"The Prestige", based on a novel by Christopher Priest, is a movie that surprised me. I had heard that some people liked it, and that some people hated it, but I didn't expect "The Prestige" to be the kind of film that makes you want to watch it again immediately, just to be certain you didn't miss anything. And that is exactly what happened in this case...

This film, directed by Christopher Nolan, is a drama set in late 19th century London that has some ingredients that can only be described as fantasy. All the same, the spectator won't be able to shake off the feeling that what he is watching is real, due to the excellent way in which the actors, the director and the scriptwriters managed to bring Priest's novel to life.

The title of this movie has to do with one of the three acts of which every outstanding magic trick consists. The first act is "The Pledge", when the magician shows you something seemingly ordinary. The second act is "The Turn", when the thing that seemed ordinary is turned into something extraordinary. The last act is "The Prestige", the act that crowns the magic trick and makes it unique. Magicians live and die for "The Prestige", and that act is somehow at the center of this story.

The main characters in this film are two magicians, Alfred Borden (Christian Bale) and Rupert Angier (Hugh Jackman), that due to a tragedy go from friendly rivals to fierce enemies. The quest of each one of them is to best the other, no matter the cost, notwithstanding the means. Who is the best magician, who can really achieve "The Prestige"? And will he live to boast about it?

On the whole, I can say that I thoroughly enjoyed watching this movie, and that I would gladly watch it a third time. Highly recommended...

Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME MOVIE! FULL OF SUSPENCE AND MAKES YOU WANT TO WATCH IT AGAIN TO LOOK FOR CLUES YOU MISSED., Jan. 15 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had watched the movie The Illusionist, I thought that movie was alright. Then a friend told me this movie, the prestige, Which was similar but also really good. I bought it for my husband for christmas and we absolutely enjoyed it. Full of suspence, great plot and totally unpredictable ending. makes you want to go back and watch it again to look for clues through out the rest of the movie to how it ends. VERY GOOD MOVIE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Didn't like the ending, but still an excellent movie, Jan. 8 2009
By 
Brian Conway "class-nerd" (Toronto, Ont. CAN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very few movies capture my attention the way "The Prestige" did when I saw it in the theater. Great acting, great twist, and even though I didn't care for the ending, and parts of the movie were a bit of a stretch (Nikola Tesla, a real historic inventor, appears as a character in the movie to create a science fiction-like machine), this is one of the few movies I've seen in a while that didn't make me sorry to pay fourteen bucks to see it.

Definitely worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a story of betrayal,deceit, and loss, March 17 2007
By 
falcon "disdressed12" (canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
it took me awhile to get into this movie.and it also took me awhile to realize i liked it.it is a bit complicated and hard to follow at times.that just makes me want to watch again,this time paying more attention.the movie is similar to "The Illusionist" by virtue of the fact that they are both about illusion.however,they are very different movies."The Illusionist is much more low key,almost sublime."The Prestige is much more vivid in its story.more overt in its storytelling.there is lots of intrigue and mystery to be sure,but the central theme in this movie is one of betrayal and loss.that is my impression of it.i thought that the acting was very good,but in particular i really liked Piper Perabo in her performance,i wish she were in more movies.i find her very talented.she always seems to have an understated quality about her.I also thought Scarlett Johansson was very good in her role,and she carried off a british Accent flawlessly,as far as i can tell.there are some big name actors in this movie and Both Scarlett and Piper fit in nicely with them all.this movie is certainly as good as "The illusionist" for some of the same reasons,and also for different reasons.for me i give "The Prestige" a strong 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing! One of the best films of 2006., March 9 2007
Hugh Jackman and Christian Bale deliver Oscar-caliber performances in this over-looked gem. This has to be considered one of the best films of 2006. I don't want to say too much about this movie because this is one movie that you have to see for yourself and there are more twists and turns in this movie and an ending that I didn't see coming. What I will say about this movie is that it stars off with Jackman and Bale as partners and when the finale goes wrong- they will stop at nothing to destroy each other and to learn each others secrets. This is one movie that you'll want to see again and again. The Prestige is simply put, one of the best movies of 2006.

A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars obsession leads to bad end, Aug. 23 2007
By 
Leeanne Grant "Leeanne 'Tink" (not New Orleans at the moment) - See all my reviews
Two men start out as friends, but that soon move to rivalry after the death of one magician's wife in a trick gone wrong. One is good at thinking up tricks. One is good at the showmanship. The first man has good tricks, but it lousy at presenting it to dazzle people. The other man is sexy, handsome and has elan of a master showman, but doesn't have the know it all to make up tricks, so he works with Michael Cane's character.

The rival get more and more obsessive, going to new and more dangerous levels, until someone has to get hurt.

Well, thought out. Super acting. Caught it on dish, but will buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great movie., Aug. 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a movie that was panned over by a lot of critics. It was well acted and a good story. It's also the first time Christian Bail and Christopher Nolan work together before batman. High production value too. I enjoyed this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, Feb. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
SUper bon film , un des meilleur que jai vue , en francais , je suis satisfait a 100% bye
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great thriller, Nolan nails it like usual, Dec 22 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This often overlooked film is quite underrated. Hugh Jackman and Christian Bale both give fantastic performances, David Bowie as Nikola Tesla is awesome, and Nolan's direction is top notch as usual. The DVD unfortunately doesn't have too many special features, but the movie itself is enough to hold it's own, especially for around ten dollars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars complex and brilliant, it plays out like a magic trick, March 10 2012
By 
Steven Aldersley (Oshawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Prestige [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
The Prestige (2006)
Drama, Mystery, Thriller, 130 minutes
Directed by Christopher Nolan
Starring Christian Bale, Hugh Jackman, Michael Caine, Rebecca Hall, Scarlett Johansson and David Bowie

Christopher Nolan takes chances in an industry which usually plays it safe. The Dark Knight was so much more than a comic book adaptation and Inception was not a typical blockbuster. These stories had mass appeal, but Nolan treated his audiences with respect. Both films have a complexity which is lacking in most popular movies.

If you go back to 2000 and take a look at Memento, you can see that Nolan has always believed that his audience was capable of figuring things out. One of his most complex films is The Prestige and I had to include it in this list. I've resisted the temptation to include multiple entries by one director for the most part, but Nolan is an exception because his films are so diverse. He's not using an established formula or focusing on one genre. In that respect, he's like a modern Stanley Kubrick.

Cutter (Caine) explains that a magic trick consists of three parts: The pledge looks at something, the turn alters that thing and the prestige is the payoff. One example would be seeing a bird in a cage (the pledge), seeing it disappear (the turn), and finally seeing the magician produce it from his pocket (the prestige).

The whole film plays out like a magic trick.

The Prestige is a complex story, set in Victorian England, with one significant twist and a number of minor surprises. It deals with the story of two rival magicians, Robert Angier (Jackman) and Alfred Borden (Bale). Borden inadvertently ties a knot which results in the death of Angier's wife when she fails to escape from a tank of water. The ensuing rivalry lasts for the remainder of their lives.

The two both enjoy periods of success, but are continually striving to find the ultimate trick. Both men become obsessed with success and each has a deep desire to outdo the other. We are shown other magicians and learn that success often comes at a high price. It may even result in the magician keeping secrets off the stage which limit his personal freedom.

Eventually, Borden comes up with a trick that Angier can't figure out. It involves Borden entering a box on one side of the stage and emerging from a box on the other side of the stage moments later. He calls it The Transported Man.

In an attempt to come up with something even better, Angier visits Nikola Tesla (Bowie) in Colorado. As you may know, Tesla was an inventor who experimented a great deal with electricity. Angier asks him to build a machine which might be used in his act. Unfortunately, science is not completely predictable. Tesla delivers, but Angier has to be willing to pay a high price that goes beyond money.

I don't think I need to say any more about the plot. Bale's performance is superb and I think it's the best of his career. Jackman is also very convincing and the supporting cast is flawless. I'm always impressed by Rebecca Hall, but Bowie's cameo as Tesla was a revelation. Michael Caine holds the whole thing together and has important scenes at the beginning and end of the film.

Although the running time is in excess of two hours, you'll barely notice. There's always something important happening on the screen. What elevates this film to the level of greatness is its replay value. The first time you see it, you'll miss the relevance of some of the dialogue. On repeat viewings, you'll see how clever the screenplay is. The big reveal is hinted at in the first 20 minutes of the film and you'll smile when you realize what you missed. Like Scorsese's Shutter Island, events have new meaning when you see them with full knowledge of the facts. It's clever stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Prestige [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
The Prestige [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) by Christopher Nolan (Blu-ray - 2007)
CDN$ 15.99 CDN$ 7.96
Usually ships in 9 to 12 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews