Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but not great
Nicely told stories but with a distinct feminist flavour. Not very accurate to the society norms of the era it's set in. It has it's redeeming moments but it's very American in it's philosophy and ideals. Reasonably "safe" watching for tweens and teens with no nudity, swearing or vulgarity but not exactly historically accurate. If you're big fan of Catherine...
Published 5 months ago by Gloria Patre

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Very slow. Simply not my cup of tea. Might return to it one day.
Published 24 days ago by john jameson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but not great, Feb. 22 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christy - The Complete Series (DVD)
Nicely told stories but with a distinct feminist flavour. Not very accurate to the society norms of the era it's set in. It has it's redeeming moments but it's very American in it's philosophy and ideals. Reasonably "safe" watching for tweens and teens with no nudity, swearing or vulgarity but not exactly historically accurate. If you're big fan of Catherine Marshall you'll love it, but Little House on The Prairie is far better in every way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a wonderful story of an adventurous teenage girl/woman, June 15 2015
By 
Gail (Gore Bay, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christy - The Complete Series (DVD)
WOW 15 Hours of 100% Enjoyable Movie for this LOW, LOW Price!! So, Unbelievable, I have ordered 2 more copies to give away as Christmas Gifts, and this is just June!
This is a wonderful story of an adventurous teenage girl/woman, who left her very comfortable home/family and headed to the Mountain country to work where she was most needed. What a role model she was and remains so...
The dilemma is after settling in, who should she marry. She honestly loved two wonderful men, one like the brother she never had and the other like the man she wanted to spend the rest of her life with. It was a very difficult decision for her to make, she was young and there was such had a very eventful life, with never a peaceful moment to contemplate that part of her life. I can't wait to get 15 hours again so I can watch it all over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Family viewing, March 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christy - The Complete Series (DVD)
I loved this series when it was on TV but missed many of the episodes. Glad that I got to see them all now. The only thing is that I'm sorry they pulled the series. Very well done, one of those shows you can watch with the whole family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christy, May 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christy - The Complete Series (DVD)
I really enjoy watching these wonderful shows that are inspired my a true story. I was so disappointed when they took Christy off the air, and I am happy to own the collection so that I can watch them anytime. Tiger 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and Wonderful Values !, Oct. 27 2014
This review is from: Christy - The Complete Series (DVD)
Beautiful scenery! Wonderful values to share with your children. Good clean love interests. Though the series was cut short and you are left hanging about the love interests, this is a DVD worth adding to your permanent collection! I have not viewed the made for TV movies that attempted to give closure to the series but the reviews do not look good - mostly different cast and substandard acting. I had bad luck trying to order "Return to Cutter Gap" through a 3rd party seller on Amazon. No tracking info and showed delivered when I did not receive. But Amazon does make sure you are covered when 3rd party does not come through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what wonderful stories, quality is excellent and the scenery is ..., March 23 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christy - The Complete Series (DVD)
what wonderful stories, quality is excellent and the scenery is breath taking. good moral lessons but with a lot of reality. Feel good movies! You won't find many like this anymore!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Talent at it's best, April 19 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christy - The Complete Series (DVD)
Katharine Marshall has done it again. I saw the movie: A Man called Peter on TCM several years ago, did some research and found that the story was written by his wife, the author of the book entitled Christy. The people at Twentieth Century Fox are to be commended for putting together such a fine, superbly-acted mini-series. Story gives educational incite into parts of American history which I have been totally unfamiliar. although fictionalized, I believe that Ms. Marshall or Fox would offer anything that was not genuine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... Martin who stars in this tv show was the perfect actress for it, Sept. 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christy - The Complete Series (DVD)
Kellie Martin who stars in this tv show was the perfect actress for it. I just wished it had more season unfortunley it only ran for 2 seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We Need More of these on t.v., July 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christy - The Complete Series (DVD)
I loved this series with Kellie Martin. Was sad to see it end. Not enough of these on tv.

My 89 year old mom is enjoying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars super, Nov. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christy - The Complete Series (DVD)
A great series based on the novel by Catherine Marshall... Promotes positive family values and is suitable for family viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Christy - The Complete Series
Christy - The Complete Series by Kellie Martin (DVD - 2007)
CDN$ 21.98 CDN$ 10.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews