Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a Big Hit!
I love this movie for so many reasons. It's one of those cozy, feel-good cozy movies that just brings me back to when I first watched it as a kid. Tom Hanks is obviously awesome in it. Big is a great flick for anyone who enjoys his work.
Published on Jan. 20 2012 by ott_girl

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute!!!!!!!!
Big is a cute movie, I was very impressed with Tom Hank's acting and Penny Marshall's directing. This is the sort of movie that has moments of cute humor and also some tender dramatic touches that never becomes sappy and never overshadows the humor and I recommend this widescreen DVD!
Published on Jan. 21 2004 by Calinira


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a Big Hit!, Jan. 20 2012
This review is from: Big (Widescreen Director's Extended Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I love this movie for so many reasons. It's one of those cozy, feel-good cozy movies that just brings me back to when I first watched it as a kid. Tom Hanks is obviously awesome in it. Big is a great flick for anyone who enjoys his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Tom Hanks Comedy, March 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great remastered, features original english audio track and french track.
You can play theatrical version or extended version.

Extended scenes are in english only.

Excellent comedy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun then, fun now!, Jan. 31 2014
By 
fredamans (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This was an amazing movie when I watched it in the 80's, and this time around was no different. I am so thrilled to have this classic Tom Hanks comedy in my personal collection. This really is one of his best movies ever.
It amazes me how every time I watch it, I always laugh, get emotional in parts, and feel the same way like it's the first time seeing it. Though this time around I realized some actors that were in the movie that really came a long way too, not just Tom. His love interest is one of my favorite characters from 'Weeds'.
When purchasing this bluray combo, there is two nice surprises inside, from some of the famous parts of this movie. Firstly, when you open the wrapper, this opens up to play the piano scene between Tom Hanks and Gene Hackman. That was cute and immediately brought a smile to my face. Then when I opened the case to get the dvd out, 3 cards from the fortune teller machine fell out. Epic!!
So not only do I get to watch this funny and heartwarming film any time I want, but now I have mementos from the best parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big is the name, Great is the movie, Nov. 27 2013
By 
Gary Gray "Advertising Guru" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Big (Widescreen Director's Extended Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
There is magic everywhere and no one could have made you believe more
than Tom Hanks. One of the Top 3 movies to take with you to a desert island.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best Tom Hanks performance from the 80s, Sept. 29 2013
By 
Steven Aldersley (Oshawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I've been a fan of Tom Hanks ever since I saw Big, and I would say that it's the first Hanks performance that really made me aware that he could be more than someone who would only be remembered as a briefly popular comedic actor. Big is a comedy, but it contains plenty of scenes which rely on drama. It makes some good observations about childhood, friendship, relationships, and life itself.

Josh Baskin (Hanks) is 12, and has a crush on someone at school. Unfortunately, he has no chance because her boyfriend can drive. After a failed attempt to sit next to her on a fairground ride, Josh makes a wish on a Zoltar machine; he wants to be big. A card informs him that his wish has been granted, and he wakes up the next morning as an adult. While that sounds like utter nonsense, it provides an opportunity to show how a child in a man's body might interact with the world.

We see Josh convince his friend, Billy (Jared Rushton), that he really is who he says he is. The two form a plan to track down a Zoltar machine so that Josh can wish to return to normal. While the pair wait for the information to arrive, Josh has to support himself. He likes computer games and manages to talk his way into working as a data processor at a toy company. I guess finding a job was easier in 1988 than it is today?

The genius of the movie is in showing us how simple life can be when you're a child. Most adults become jaded when they realize the reality of working, the daily routine, and the struggle to pay for all the little luxuries that they covet. Josh attacks the world with the exuberance of a child. He does everything quickly and to the best of his ability, and his enthusiastic approach draws the attention of the Mr. MacMillan (Robert Loggia), who owns the company.

Josh is promoted fast, and is soon vice president of development. His apparent luck causes resentment among some of the employees, but Susan (Elizabeth Perkins) finds his approach attractive. The two enter into a relationship, but we can see that Josh doesn't have any idea how to behave around a woman who isn't his mother. Once again, his honest approach pays dividends, and Susan perceives his attitude as a refreshing change from the manipulative partner she last dated. In fact, his childish notions help unlock the child inside her, and she likes the feelings it evokes in her.

The movie is definitely a feel-good piece, but it's more than just fluff. If you think about some of the messages, it's telling us just to take things at face value and enjoy life. Josh succeeds because he has no ulterior motives. We are regularly reminded about the importance of friendship, and how events in our lives can sometimes threaten our relationships with established friends when we find something or someone new that we think deserves our full attention. Of course, a good friend will forgive you for such indulgences.

There have been so many movies about identity switches, and quite a few of them were made in the 80s. Big is better than all of the others because after the initial fantasy element, it contains a lot of incisive observations about human behavior. The casting elevates the movie to yet another level, and it's one I return to every couple of years.

The story was written by Gary Ross, who had a hand in the writing of Seabiscuit, Pleasantville, and The Hunger Games. This is easily his best early effort and it deserves your time. The Blu-ray includes an extended cut, which adds 26 minutes to the movie, and it's my preferred version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Early Hanks classic, April 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For the young at heart, this movie touches you on many levels. So well written, directed and acted. Pure joy to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Merveilleux, June 25 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Big (Widescreen Director's Extended Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Bravo, avec cette édition du réalisateur, c'est formidable de voir plus de scènes inédites du film. Bien que ce film a plus de 20 ans, la restauration de l'image est excellente.

Un film très actuel et toujours un plaisir à regarder.

Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Purhaps THE Defining Moment in Hanks' Career, July 18 2004
This review is from: Big (Widescreen) (DVD)
In 1980 Tom Hanks and Peter Scolari came to the small screen in the sitcom Bosom Buddies and the rest is history. For Hanks anyway. Haven't seen Scolari since Newhart and I'm not complaining. Bosom Buddies only ran for three seasons but Hanks starred in the smash hit Splash in 1984 and his star only rose from there. As he matured throughout the 80's, it became clear that Hanks wasn't going to stand pat with dumb little pratfall comedies like The Money Pit. Little by little his comedies crept away from the silliness and into the drama. Big, in retrospect, seems like a defining moment in Hanks' career. It's the first time Hanks is asked to carry a big budget sink or swim flick all his own. There's plenty of comedy here, of course, but there are underlying themes of loss and fear that had been touched on in some of his earlier smaller movies but never in a big buget blockbuster type flick and not so pervasively. This sense of the inherent sadness and uncertainty of life has come to dominate Hanks' flick. Movies like Forrest Gump, Saving Private Ryan, Castaway, and, especially, Philadelphia are quite grim in thier life is suffering seriousness. The Hanks in earlier fare like Splash and Volunteers contrasts sharply with the turn of the millenium Hanks. Big is a must watch for any Hanks fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best 80ies comedies!!!, March 15 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Big (Widescreen) (DVD)
I really enjoyed watching "Big." It stars two of my fav.
actors: Tom Hanks and Elizabeth Perkins. Tom Hanks is really
great as the young boy "trapped" in a mans body. Elizabeth
Perkins is soooo cute as Hanks love interest and also a great
actress. As I wrote,a great movie!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Date Movie, March 6 2004
This review is from: Big (Widescreen) (DVD)
"Big" is funny. Tom Hanks in "Big" is as funny as in Forrest Gump, as touching as "Sleepless in Seattle," and as goofy as "Tuner and Hooch." You see the beginnings of the star of "Castaway," "Apollo 13," and "Catch Me If You Can." Hanks took on a solid movie and made it a great one.
The story is simple, based on classic plotlines that extend back through fairy tales. Josh, the boy, is bummed his life is dictated by his small size and young age. He is unexpectedly granted his wish to be 'big', which means 30 years old. He then faces the adventures of being a grown-up.
Scenes from this movie are famous, including the FAO Schwarz toy store dance on the keyboard floor mat. It has everything a vaudeville skit would have, from music to dance to the mix of an old and young man. It works incredibly well. Chopsticks has never been as entertaining.
Josh becomes by serendipity the VP of toy development. Despite his immaturity, the owner feels Josh is tuned into the pulse of youth, unlike the lackeys cranking out marketing reports. His colleagues become jealous of his fast rise and unsuccessfully try to root him out. One of those trying to learn his game is Susan, but he wins her over in a confusing escapade of love.
The movie is an overall pile of fun, but lacks in a few areas. It is dated, very stuck in the 1980s. That is tolerable. Had Josh been kidnapped, why wasn't his boyhood friend interviewed by police? Why didn't Josh ever confide in Susan while they fell in love? A number of other unanswered questions develop at the end dealing with his job, his apartment, his bank account.
Even though I have questions, the movie is still a keeper. It is funny, makes strong statements about good parenting, and has a charm only Tom Hanks could bring. Good, clean fun... a perfect date movie.
Anthony Trendl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb1228a80)

This product

Big (Widescreen Director's Extended Edition) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 16.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews