Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Purhaps THE Defining Moment in Hanks' Career
In 1980 Tom Hanks and Peter Scolari came to the small screen in the sitcom Bosom Buddies and the rest is history. For Hanks anyway. Haven't seen Scolari since Newhart and I'm not complaining. Bosom Buddies only ran for three seasons but Hanks starred in the smash hit Splash in 1984 and his star only rose from there. As he matured throughout the 80's, it became clear...
Published on July 17 2004 by J

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars We need a Fullscreen DVD of "Big" like a hole in the head
The original DVD release of "Big" was rather disappointing. No extras, non-anamorphic video, and a weak 2.0 Dolby Surround track. Certainly this 1988 gem of a film (which, in my opinion, is Tom Hanks' best live-action work to date) deserves better treatment. With all the films that Fox has given wonderful DVD treatment to, such as Die Hard, M*A*S*H, and Speed, I'm certain...
Published on June 30 2002


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Purhaps THE Defining Moment in Hanks' Career, July 17 2004
This review is from: Big (Widescreen) (DVD)
In 1980 Tom Hanks and Peter Scolari came to the small screen in the sitcom Bosom Buddies and the rest is history. For Hanks anyway. Haven't seen Scolari since Newhart and I'm not complaining. Bosom Buddies only ran for three seasons but Hanks starred in the smash hit Splash in 1984 and his star only rose from there. As he matured throughout the 80's, it became clear that Hanks wasn't going to stand pat with dumb little pratfall comedies like The Money Pit. Little by little his comedies crept away from the silliness and into the drama. Big, in retrospect, seems like a defining moment in Hanks' career. It's the first time Hanks is asked to carry a big budget sink or swim flick all his own. There's plenty of comedy here, of course, but there are underlying themes of loss and fear that had been touched on in some of his earlier smaller movies but never in a big buget blockbuster type flick and not so pervasively. This sense of the inherent sadness and uncertainty of life has come to dominate Hanks' flick. Movies like Forrest Gump, Saving Private Ryan, Castaway, and, especially, Philadelphia are quite grim in thier life is suffering seriousness. The Hanks in earlier fare like Splash and Volunteers contrasts sharply with the turn of the millenium Hanks. Big is a must watch for any Hanks fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Date Movie, March 6 2004
This review is from: Big (Widescreen) (DVD)
"Big" is funny. Tom Hanks in "Big" is as funny as in Forrest Gump, as touching as "Sleepless in Seattle," and as goofy as "Tuner and Hooch." You see the beginnings of the star of "Castaway," "Apollo 13," and "Catch Me If You Can." Hanks took on a solid movie and made it a great one.
The story is simple, based on classic plotlines that extend back through fairy tales. Josh, the boy, is bummed his life is dictated by his small size and young age. He is unexpectedly granted his wish to be 'big', which means 30 years old. He then faces the adventures of being a grown-up.
Scenes from this movie are famous, including the FAO Schwarz toy store dance on the keyboard floor mat. It has everything a vaudeville skit would have, from music to dance to the mix of an old and young man. It works incredibly well. Chopsticks has never been as entertaining.
Josh becomes by serendipity the VP of toy development. Despite his immaturity, the owner feels Josh is tuned into the pulse of youth, unlike the lackeys cranking out marketing reports. His colleagues become jealous of his fast rise and unsuccessfully try to root him out. One of those trying to learn his game is Susan, but he wins her over in a confusing escapade of love.
The movie is an overall pile of fun, but lacks in a few areas. It is dated, very stuck in the 1980s. That is tolerable. Had Josh been kidnapped, why wasn't his boyhood friend interviewed by police? Why didn't Josh ever confide in Susan while they fell in love? A number of other unanswered questions develop at the end dealing with his job, his apartment, his bank account.
Even though I have questions, the movie is still a keeper. It is funny, makes strong statements about good parenting, and has a charm only Tom Hanks could bring. Good, clean fun... a perfect date movie.
Anthony Trendl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BIG is Tom Hanks at his best, Aug. 16 2003
By 
Terry Downey (Naugatuck, Ct, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Big (Widescreen) (DVD)
I've had this movie (on VHS) since it was first released, and its on my Movies I Can't Stop Watching list. Tom Hanks portrays a 13 year old boy, Josh, who wakes up in the body of a 30 year old man after wishing he were bigger after not being allowed on a carnival ride and being made fun of by a taller boy. Although this theme is not unique, nobody but Tom Hanks ever gets it quite right. Hanks obviously has not forgotten what it's like to be an adolescent boy, and the results are hilarious! His reactions to adult situations (a really aweful tux at a formal party, making gagging noises and spitting out caviar, playing with all the buttons in the limousine, thinking his workmate just wants to SLEEP when she asks to stay overnight and innocently replying,"Well, ok, but I get to be on top" - meaning the top of his bunkbed) never fail to send me into fits of laughter. On the more serious side, Hanks also poignantly portrays the fear and loneliness of a young boy suddenly thrust into the hostile environment of a trashy hotel (the only place he could afford, with the help of his best friend), where sirens, gunshots, and fights are happening right outside his door. Jared Rushton is perfectly cast as his best friend, and gets a good laugh of his own when he screams his bloody head off when first approached by the adult Josh, thinking he's a pervert bent on doing him harm.
Great for anybody who remembers what it's like to be a child in a hurry to get bigger, and even for those who don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Hanks at his best......, Jan. 10 2003
This review is from: Big (Widescreen) (DVD)
Of all the movies I've seen with Tom Hanks I'd have to say this is one of his best roles and probrably my favorite. It really touched me I think I cried. And it is so hilarious at times I could'nt watch...hehe One of my favorite parts is when he's at his first party, I love his suit. Its quite hilarious, includes the corn bit. And after the party when he has that chick sleep over. Its very cute and funny. I love it.
I mean sure this is a fantasy, but I think it perfectly illistrates what happens to us as adults as we grow out of childhood. How we lose alot of what may have been so special about us. And how we get so busy we have time for nothing but work. Or we choose not to. I think part of the reason it touched me so because I was working incredibly hard at the time and not doing anything but work just like Hanks charcter.
Anything is that I actually believe Hanks really is a child trapped in the body of an older man. It really does seem like he is. I mean he really becomes this person. Not just acting but being them. And that my friend is what makes a GREAT actor.
So like someone else said if you enjoy comedy,fanatsy, and/or romance you'll love this movie.
*Enjoy!*
God Bless&*Love* always ~Amy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I wish I were Big, Aug. 15 2002
By 
Johnny the movie critic (Lynnfield, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Big (Widescreen) (DVD)
Big is a great comic fantasy starring one of today's biggest stars Tom Hanks. BIg is a supurb film that should be treasured for a long time. Hanks is fantasic as Josh Baskin. Big is about a 13 year old boy that wishes he was big, this all happened at a carnival one night where he couldn't get on a ride that requred a height limit. So he goes to a machine that has a look of a devil named Zoltar and he wishes his wish and the dream came true the next morning. The movie has its moments were he's trying to get a job and doesn't know his social scurity number and uses his friend's locker combo as the number. Also the famous scene were he's playing chopsticks with his manager{Robert Loggia} on a Saturaday morning at FAO Schartz. There's also some touching moments in this movie were he's walking and he sees his girlfriend in school and a class photo being taken, that was a bit touching. Also when he's trying to say goodbye to his girlfriend {Elizabeth Perkins} that he works with. If you like comedy, fantasy and romance this is the movie for you. THe DVD is not that bad it has a few production notes and a theatrical trailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big: Growth is not Just a Physical Stage, June 30 2002
By 
Martin Asiner (jersey city, nj United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big (Widescreen) (DVD)
Every kid has dreams of what it would be like to grow up. Usually these thoughts revolve around the material things in life, most of which include adult-type possessions like money, girls, and cars. In director Penny Marshall's BIG, Tom Hanks gives an eminently believable performance as a 13 year old boy who makes the full circle from boy to man and back to boy. Although the audience has great fun with the many truly funny scenes, the real charm of the film is not the humor of a fish out of water but the growth of a boy who has a glimpse of what it is to be a man and yet can possess the wisdom to recognize that he is not ready to permanently stay an adult if it means losing the experience that should have accompanied that growth.
The youth Josh Baskin (David Moscow) makes a wish to be an adult at one of those carny magic fortune teller machines. Right away the audience is swooped into one of two realms: the benign universe of IT'S A WONDERFUL LIFE or the more malignant one of the TWILIGHT ZONE where William Shatner is fed life- altering decisions by a machine that could be a clone of this one. But BIG is a sweet comedy and the audience can sense that there will indeed be comic complexities caused by Josh's getting his wish in a literal way that provides unexpected consequences.
Josh, now played by Tom Hanks, uses his charm, his youth, his zest for things juvenile to land an adult job. The core of the comedy revolves around a succession of scenes that requires a delicate balancing act for Hanks. He must try to act like an adult but still retain the mannerisms of a child. The best scenes in which he accomplishes this include the dancing on the piano scene with Robert Loggia and the more adult relationship he forges with Elizabeth Perkins, who falls for the child that she sees in the man. No one else in Hollywood could have pulled this off.
Josh builds a life as an adult. He has all the 'toys' that he thought all adults did, but inwardly his child rebels, causing him to want to experience life but not on the cheap. Experience, he learns, is dear, and it is not enough for others to give him credit for accomplishments that they presume is the result of a more natural emotional and physical accumulation of experience. Rather, he learns that life is sort of like those goofy electronic make-up-your-life-as-you-go toys that he developed as a marketing whiz. You can push a button and get the desired result, but once having done so, the reality on the screen does not match the reality in the heart. And for the young Josh or the old Josh or the audience, this is a very adult lesson indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars We need a Fullscreen DVD of "Big" like a hole in the head, June 30 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Big (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
The original DVD release of "Big" was rather disappointing. No extras, non-anamorphic video, and a weak 2.0 Dolby Surround track. Certainly this 1988 gem of a film (which, in my opinion, is Tom Hanks' best live-action work to date) deserves better treatment. With all the films that Fox has given wonderful DVD treatment to, such as Die Hard, M*A*S*H, and Speed, I'm certain they could do a wonderful Special Edition DVD for "Big". But instead, we get a Full Screen rehash of the lame original disc, which has been out now for three years. This puts the new DVD edition a notch further below the subpar initial widescreen disc. Please, Fox, give "Big" the Special Edition DVD it deserves! I'm talking audio commentary with Tom Hanks, Elizabeth Perkins, and Penny Marshall; cast & crew bios; original trailer and TV ads; anamorphic widescreen and DD 5.1; the AMC "Backstory" special; the "Big" segment from the 2002 AFI Lifetime Achievement Award Tom Hanks special; deleted scenes & outtakes; a documentary; production notes. That would be the ideal DVD release for this classic movie. Make it a 2-disc Five Star Collection if you must, but please devote your energies to giving this film the DVD treatment it deserves, which is not a Full Screen, barebones disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb FILM!!!, May 28 2002
This review is from: Big (VHS Tape)
This has to be one of the greatest films all of all times,EVER!!
Tom Hanks did an exellent job playing a young boy(Joshua "Josh" Baskins) trapped in a grown mans' body. A child trying to make it in a rough world, living as an adult,but only in the flesh.
The writing was excellent! The entire casts' acting was superb! Penny Marshall has directed a true gem that has been a classic for about 14 years now, and will remain a classic for decades to come.
Living in New York as I do, It was really fun to know that the area where Josh met up with the fortune teller machine was shot on location at Rye Playland about 40 minutes driving time from where I live(pretty cool, huh?)I go in that area at times just to rekindle the movie shot(I'm pathetic,right?)
One of the funniest movie scences I can remember is when his (somewhat) love interest,Susan (played beautifully by Elizabeth perkins) tries to get romantic with Josh, but all he seems to care about is jumping on the trampling and seeing who gets to sleep on the TOP bunk.(His young mind cannot comprehend what she means when she says she wants to "SLEEP" with him). Those are classic "BIG" moments, along with him playing the gaint Step-On Keyboard at FAO Schwarz Toy Store that will never leave my memory!It was very interesting seeing Tom Hanks show his boyish side; that innocent charm that very few actors could have probably pulled off so well. I also like the moral to the story as well, JUST LIKE THEY SAY: "Be careful what you wish for,'cause you may get it". Every wish comes with a price. There's no such thing as a perfect wish.
(You'll know what I mean if you haven't seen the film yet). If you haven't seen this extraordinary movie yet, then please do yourself a favor and buy it. Or at least rent it first,then I'll guarantee you will purchase this movie to share with your family and friends for years to come.
P.S. I think Tom Hanks was perfect for the part of Josh,but do you think anybody else could have done a good job as well? What about Bill Murray or Robin Williams? What do you think? Well...now that i think about it, with Tom Hanks playing the Award winning role,and seeing how well it was played, I don't think I'd have it any other way. -- PEACE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Your Wish is Granted, Jan. 21 2002
By 
GLENN WHELAN (Winter Park, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big (Widescreen) (DVD)
BIG is that rare exception of a film. A commercial film that delivers eloquently and truthfully. Much of the films success rides on the much heralded performance by Tom Hanks. But, I'll go on and say Penny Marshall's direction helped make Hanks' role applicable.
In one of the most poignant scenes in recent memory, 13 year old Josh Baskin (Hanks) spends an evening alone in a rundown, sleazy hotel in Manhattan. With shootings going on in the street and foreigners using the telephone outside the door, Hanks pulls all the stops out and cries himself to bed in a fetal position.
Another major asset to the film is the wonderful performance by Elizabeth Perkins. She plays Josh's adorable girlfriend who mistakes his youth as maturity. As does his boss, Robert Loggia in a wonderful performance. He and Tom play chopsticks on an enormous piano keyboard in the extremely memorable signature scene. The film is filled with clever nuances and only occasionally does it sell out. At the peak of his 'adult' success, Josh is seen watching other 13 year olds getting their class photographs done. This scene alone can make the viewer long for innocence of their own.
A wonderful film. the DVD has a nice widescreen transfer and a good audio track. Written by Gary Ross (Dave) and Steven Spielbergs sister, Anne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BIG Movie, Jan. 8 2002
By 
Rowan (Tasmania, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Big (VHS Tape)
Big-1988
100mins/Colour
Tom Hanks
Elizabeth Perkins
Robert Loggia
John Heard
The wonderfully versatile Tom Hanks stars as Josh Baskin, a 12 year old boy who makes a wish on a carnival wishing machine. His wish is to be 'BIG'....and to his amazement wakes up the next morning with the body of a 30 year old. Confused and frightened at being thrust into the adult world, Josh (with the help of his best friend) runs away to New York, where by sheer luck he lands a job in a Toy company. There he discovers the advantages of being big: freedom,money,unlimited toys and junk food. But he's not prepared for what happens when he attracts sexy co-worker-chic, ambitious and predatory Susan Lawrence. Josh is torn between the freedom of being an adult (with a 12 year old brain)and the love and security of his homelife. BIG is great entertainment, it is often touching but always BIG on laughs!
Written by coproducers Gary Ross and Anne Spielberg.Tom Hanks' 11th film. BIG was later a broadway musical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Big (Widescreen Director's Extended Edition) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 16.98 CDN$ 5.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews