Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I'm deadly serious"
Now THIS is what I call an epic ride! My palms are basically still sweating as I write this, with the movie's impact and touching story still making my heart race. Don't listen to anybody who says this movie is anything short of incredible! It's got it all! It's a rare moment in your life when you come across something that moves you with both the power of MASSIVE fiery...
Published on March 8 2011 by Mangy Film Son

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars worth buying, but try the auction sales first...
Yeah the storyline is hokey, yeah the whole Nitro bit is silly, but there is enough of a movie here that warrants watching, but don't buy it full price, save a few bucks and get it on auction, as I did. My only major complaint, there are too few scenes featuring Izabella Scorupco.
Published on April 28 2002


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I'm deadly serious", March 8 2011
This review is from: Vertical Limit [Blu-ray] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Now THIS is what I call an epic ride! My palms are basically still sweating as I write this, with the movie's impact and touching story still making my heart race. Don't listen to anybody who says this movie is anything short of incredible! It's got it all! It's a rare moment in your life when you come across something that moves you with both the power of MASSIVE fiery explosions and the pure strength of the human spirit. These two things come together for a story of passion and ambition, loyalty and revenge, and tests the breaking point of the human spirit at 26,000 feet.

OK, so what can I say that hasn't been said? First of all, this is a bold movie, combining deadly action with a story of family loyalty. You have to keep in mind that this is an action movie first though. The main attraction is the promise of nitroglycerin bombs rocketing minor characters through the air, flinging them over cliffs to their ultimate deaths. There's also avalanches with the same explosive power blowing people around like leaves. How cool is that?

Or you can watch it for the dialogue, which despite what other commenters are saying is really quite good. The script is so full and rounded with witty one liners, touching moments, and unspoken nuances which can only be displayed through precise acting. Really, the touching fight for survival is as unrelenting as the power of nature. If you like being rocked to the edge of your seat biting your nails as characters literally cling to life, only to to be thrust back again by insane explosions rippling through epic mountains (and who doesn't?), then there's no doubt this DVD will climb to the top of your collection! (no pun intended!) It has everything a good action movie should, with a little welcome extra to set it apart from the rest. And do yourself a service and buy the blu-ray version for SURE! I didn't even talk about the stunning scenery and sound, but you can see the other reviews to back me up on that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Entertainment, July 14 2004
By 
Peter Roos "Peter" (San Francisco, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love this movie.
Granted, from a mountaineering perspective a lot of scenes are plainly ridiculous: the climbing accident at the beginning of the movie where Peter, Annie and their dad all seem to have bombproof protection and are simply ripped off the mountain all the same - people climbing K2 from base camp straight to the summit, all during daylight on one day - Annie's rope being severed as she is falling into a crevasse - Peter Garret summitting even though he has no previous high altitude experience or acclimatization whatsoever - Monique doing her lunge for the crevasse with one cam in her left hand, groping for the rope with her right hand - it is all a load of crap.
Still, it is great entertainment! Loved the emotional moments, eg interactions between Peter and Annie, Montgomery finally finding his wife (frozen to death), etc.
Wonderful music and scenery, besides. As to the scenery, for the people critizing that the movie wasn't all shot on K2: this movie was shot in New Zealand, home of Sir Edmund Hillary! This is where he learned the ropes, ok? And yes, where Lord of the Rings was shot in New Zealand too, by the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An intense movie that sometimes treads dangerous slopes, May 15 2004
This review is from: Vertical Limit (Widescreen) (DVD)
I got to see this movie at the theatres when it was released back in late 2000 and although I was not expecting anything all that great "Vertical Limit" nonetheless was a half-way decent movie that is an adrenaline rush for action fans, but at the same time was a bit awkward at times.
It begins with Peter Garrett and his sister Annie with their father in the deserts of Arizona and they are climbing a huge mesa but a horrible accident occurs and threatens to kill all of them and their father sacrifices his own life to save his two children by cutting the rope which results in him falling to his death.

Flash forward many years later, things take place in the cold unrelenting winds of K2, the world's second highest mountain but also the most dangerous, Peter and Annie Garrett now adults set out on their adventure to conquer the treacherous peak but the attempt goes horribly wrong when the woman climber falls into a vast ice crevice far away from any nearby camps due to an avalanche, and is stuck in a ice crevice underneath unstable ice forms which threaten to collapse at any moment and time is against them as the raging winds, isolation, and extreme cold threaten to kill the entire crew if it goes wrong.
This movie on a casual note is really quite good because of it's vivid portrayal of the dangers of mountiain climbing especially with climbing some of the worlds highest peaks like K2 which is in fact even more dangerous to climb that Mt. Everest. The overall tone is very intense and not to mention scary as h.e.l.l.
The acting at times though is a bit hammy especially by Robin Tunney and Chris O'Donnell. Scott Glenn as the mysterious mountain dweller though was really good and the character was really something to see.
The superbit Collection has really excellent sound quality and the 5.1 DTS sound when connected to the stereo will make you feel almost like you are back at the theatre watching this movie all over again on the big screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Um...I don't think this movie was meant to be funny, April 26 2004
By A Customer
I enjoyed this movie tremendously. My friends and I were rolling on the floor laughing our heads off! However, since it was supposed to be a thriller, I think that maybe the director should be locked in a box and NOT allowed to make any more adventure films.
The plot went something like this:
Pretty boy Peter Garret has to lead a rescue mission to save his estranged sister and her team who have been trapped by an avalanche.
The 'rescuers' plan to climb up the mountain where Peter's sister' team is trapped carrying Nitro they have obtained from the Pakistani military to blast them out of the ice cave they're stuck in. This involves jumping out of a moving helicopter with Nitro strapped to their legs and some how not getting blown up.
If you want a good laugh, buy this movie. If you want a real adventure film, don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars So bad it was funny!, April 18 2004
By 
This movie sucked. Who wants to watch some random bimbo and a scary rich guy stuck up in an ice cave? It's annoying! And all the cool characters got blown up before this abysmal movie was halfway over.
And then there's the plot. Carrying Nitro up a mountain is a very very very stupid thing to do. I can't believe that someone actually thought this up as a storyline. First of all, if you jump out of a moving helicopter with Nitro strapped to your back, you will explode. However, none of the characters who did this were incinerated as they obviously would have been in real life. In fact, no one got blown up because they tripped and smashed their Nitro. Oh no! One guy died because he dropped his Nitro over a cliff and it started an avalanche, two other guys died because they left their Nitro out in the sun and it ignited (does Nitro really react to sunlight??) and the last two dudes died 'cause this one dude cut the climbing rope. It was stupid. I've said that before.
Basically, DON'T WATCH THIS!
If you want a real mountain climbing experiance, read Into Thin Air!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Without Limits, Sept. 12 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Vertical Limit (VHS Tape)
I remember hearing some really bad things about this movie, and being the climbing maniac that I am, I decided I had to see for myself. And although there were some obvious flaws (how could Peter survive the Death Zone when he had no previous high altitude acclimatization?) I found that this movie erased many stereotypes about climbing movies created by "Cliffhanger". I enjoyed the actors' performances, especially Scott Glenn (whom I had never heard of before seeing this movie). His character, the legendary, yet reclusive sage Montgomery Wick, reluctantly agrees to lend his efforts to Peter's rescue group. Wick comes across as being rather harsh, and unkindly, but in the later scenes of the film, everything changes. (There's one part in the film that I can't get out of my head: when Wick finds his long-lost wife, Myama, frozen in the snow.) I also like the fact that all of the actors actually CLIMBED, although the film was shot on Mount Cook in New Zealand, not the real dreaded K2. I liked how they were realisitc in the fact that after prolonged exposure in the Death Zone, you will almost certainly get pulmonary edema, and will die shortly after. I also like the fact that it's not a boyfriend who's girlfriend is climbing the mountain, so he HAS to help her because he loves her. Yes, Peter loves Annie, but because they're siblings. There is a nice blend between family conflict and the extreme of the mountain, not to mention that even if you hate the movie, the music'll at least jolt you to attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Funny Rather than Thrilling; Not a Bad Bit of Entertainment, March 12 2003
By 
John Nolley II (Fairfax, VA United States) - See all my reviews
Vertical Limit does not accomplish its goals as a action/suspense thriller, yet in itself it is still an entertaining movie.
The acting isn't half bad--much better than could be expected of films of similar quality. What kills this movie is the plot and the details. Characters die off for little good reason other than to say, "Look, mountain climbing is dangerous, particularly when you have sun, heat, and shock-sensitive nitroglycerine on your back!" Fun factoid: the Pakistani military apparently keeps this stuff on hand for some reason and is happy to lend it out to would-be mountain rescuers.
The screenplay is done in typical thriller movie fashion and actually doesn't deviate much from the tried and true formula by drawing the movie out beyond its proper end or other typical blunders. Basically, a party stranded and in grave danger of death due to freezing, altitude sicknesses, etc., must be rescued; the ambitious leader of the lost party of course cares only for himself and becomes a bad guy really overwhelmed by the antagonist represented by the forces of nature.
In the end, parts of the movie supposed to build suspense end up instead giving a few good laughs due to poor execution. I don't think I was ever on the edge of my seat--much less the edge of a cliff--during this film, but I was entertained.
I enjoy this film for "bad movie" nights a la Mystery Science Theater 3000, but I cannot recommend it for casual viewing. Still, if action films are your genre and you've exhausted the field, you might want to give this one a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Vertical Action, Jan. 8 2003
This is a good mix of mountain climbing, action, and drama. If you like movies like Cliffhanger, K2, and Eiger Sanction you will probably enjoy it. It is easy to judge people as not caring until you have to decide to cut people loose to keep more from dying on the side of a mountain. Good cast, great scenery, and good music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A really big moutain and even bigger cliches, Oct. 26 2002
By 
Daniel S. Russell "syzygy121" (Blacksburg, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you combined "Twister" with "K2" or "Cliffhanger"... wait those movies were pretty much formulaic in themselves. This movie accomplishes at least one thing: it's a derivative of derivative movies...
This movie has very little going for it except the beauty of nature itself. Even the beautiful actors (well-cast for the most part) can't save it because the dialogue is so laughably bad.
Plot twists? If anything unexpected does happen it simply doesn't make any sense. Continuity problems abound as well as some serious ethnic and religious stereo-typing.
If you want a better movie that captures loyalty and survival in the mountains, rent or buy "Alive" -- it's actually based on a true story.
If you want cliches filmed at 10,000 feet, watch this disappointing flick. Not awful, but not memorable either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Could benefit from bonus features, Oct. 7 2002
By 
"bmwhite5" (Annandale, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vertical Limit (Widescreen) (DVD)
Vertical Limit was an outstanding film, featuring some of the best mountain climbing footage ever shot. The DVD SUPERBIT edition does a great job of presenting the film, with a DTS soundtrack and near-HD picture. The only problem with this edition of the film is that it does not have any bonus features. It could have benefited from a behind the scenes look or a special about K2. If you want to buy the movie for bonus features, get the original DVD release. If you want a version of the film with FAR superior picture and sound, get THIS one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc1139df8)

This product

Vertical Limit [Blu-ray] [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews