Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Macabre Mary Poppins
Walter Goodfellow (Rowan Atkinson), the vicar of a small village in England is too preoccupied and befuddled with his job to pay any attention to his wife (Kristin Scott Thomas), so she has an affair with her golf teacher (Patrick Swayze) while his kids are lost and in trouble. Then a new housekeeper (Maggie Smith) enters their lives and all their problems seem to...
Published on Nov. 20 2009 by Kona

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars will return
disappointed, we didn't even finish it. Cheap sex and nudity. And we like the two actors so much, a pity.
Published 1 day ago by John


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Macabre Mary Poppins, Nov. 20 2009
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Keeping Mum (DVD)
Walter Goodfellow (Rowan Atkinson), the vicar of a small village in England is too preoccupied and befuddled with his job to pay any attention to his wife (Kristin Scott Thomas), so she has an affair with her golf teacher (Patrick Swayze) while his kids are lost and in trouble. Then a new housekeeper (Maggie Smith) enters their lives and all their problems seem to disappear.

I didn't know what to expect from this movie and was puzzled in the beginning but ended up liking it. It's a dark comedy that's exceedingly dry and subtle, more sinister than comedic, and very British in tone. The cast, led by the marvelous Maggie Smith, is superb and they hold your interest even when the story is at times odd and confusing. The location photography is gorgeous. This is definitely not a laugh-out-loud comedy, but is ultimately sweet and clever. 3.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping Mum, Feb. 9 2007
By 
Marcia (Vancouver) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Keeping Mum [Import] (DVD)
Just saw this at the movies. My daughter and I were still talking about it all the way home and revisiting the outrageously funny scenes. I noticed others walking home were talking about it too. To me that's the indicator of a well-enjoyed black comedy. Maggie Smith is, as usual, at her finest and reminded me of Gosford Park with her dry wit.

I won't spoil the suprise ending but will say this movies is a fabulous mass of contadictions which won't seem suprising until the end. It has the dicotomy of a Mary Poppins like figure (the hired housekeeper) who "fixes" the family, but who the audience knows is also a notorious "trunk murderess" who has just been released from an institute for the criminally insane. The family, of course, do not know making the audience co-conspiritors in the outrageously funny movie.

A special treat is the constant play on words (as a scholar and a writer myself I had a blast picking them all out and I'm happy to report I missed a couple until my daughter and I reviewed it coming home. The name of the little British village is Little Wallop (population 57) means nothing until you see the behaviour of the nanny/housekeeper. Even the title is a play on words encompasing the whole film.

The Brits have black comedy down to an art compared to Hollywood although I must admit Grose Point Blank is a fine American effort but this one has Bandits beat and i own both. I plan to own "Keeping Mum" soon. By the way, speaking of Americans, Patrick Swayze is in it as the lecherous lover and camps it up to perfection. All the other actors are British and famous in their own right. It took me a few minutes to realize the vicor was The Black Adder in disguise. I forget the name of the actor but his transformation from cardboard figure to dynamic man thanks to the intervention of the housekeeper demonstrates his acting ability. He is believable in both roles and his transformation is phenomenal.

I seldom buy comedies because after the first watch they lose their punch but this one is so intricate (like Gosford Park) that it needs to be watched more than once to "get it." It, however, has none of the drama or class commentary of Gosford Park or the social commentary of gender identification like Kinky boots. Keeping Mum is a true black comedy with an amazing play on words set in the middle class world of a small English village. The scenery reminded me of some of the small towns of central England and the church, the centre of town rather than a pub, is typical of every English village.

If you are a fan of black comedy, British dry wit, crossword puzzles or other word games, sex done as only the British can portray it -- tastefully hilarious (this is not body humor and farts are not funny) -- this is the movie for you. It's great fun! I guarantee you'll "die laughing" as the story unfolds and the characters develop. You'll never guess the near to the end suprise, the ending itself was predictable but so funny who cares. Go find out for yourself, I'm keeping mum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Comedy, Oct. 16 2012
This review is from: Keeping Mum (DVD)
Now this is really odd, seeing Mr Bean as a British Vicar, alongside Patrick Swayze as the local golf stud. Maggie Smith is delightful in her role, and all in all, it really is a funny film with a true black humour ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keeping Mum is more than satisfying., Dec 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Keeping Mum (DVD)
This is quirky Brit comedy at its best. Perfectly cast. The story is succinct, and plays out with no "downtime" for going to the kitchen for snacks. You don't even miss the snacks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So funny, Nov. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Keeping Mum (DVD)
Love this movie. Had not heard of it until I saw it online. Great cast...great plot. You will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, Jan. 30 2013
By 
Shana (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Keeping Mum (DVD)
This was just so funny - I didn't expect it to end in the way it did, but it made me laugh even harder. It is nice to watch a movie and feel so much better after viewing it. Very Light Hearted and great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good movie., Dec 27 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Keeping Mum (DVD)
This movie has some very interesting twists and surprises. It also reminds us that we need to look after each other, not take each other for granted and that we must always be on guard for those we would never suspect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeded expectations,laughed so much!, Feb. 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Keeping Mum (DVD)
Lots of good actors & actresses, can`t go wrong with Maggie Smith. Rowan Atkinson better than ever saw him. Loved it, will watch many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mum's the word., Dec 15 2012
By 
L. McKellar "Mac" (Ontario, Canada.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Keeping Mum (DVD)
Who would think Rowan Atkinson would be primarily the straight man except for a few wee bits? Maggie Smith delightful as always. A great bit of dark English humour in keeping with the fine tradition. Enjoyed it immensely. Recommend it to anyone who "gets" British humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reminds Us Why Dame Maggie is Still the Best, March 23 2011
By 
Jessie (Cochrane, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Keeping Mum (DVD)
Great way to get in to British humour. The story moves fast with lots of laughs that will keep you laughing even past the first time you watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x10d3dcb4)

This product

Keeping Mum
Keeping Mum by DVD (DVD - 2012)
CDN$ 13.99 CDN$ 7.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews