Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best documentaries ever produced
If someone had told me 15 years ago that one day I would be able to see Galapagos islands in all their glory without visiting them, i would not have believed them. this is definitely something that justifies 1080p HD sets and blu ray media.
Video: Like i mentioned above the video is simply jaw dropping, each episode (three in total) is more revealing that the one it...
Published on Sept. 6 2008 by Toast

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars very interesting but lacking
i was all excited when i saw that this was available. i have been looking for a great dvd on the galapagos and was jipped a few times. this was alright. i really like to learn all the different facts about the animals that live in these places but it had a lot of other information which i wasn't expecting. i just found that it wasn't the same as say life or the planet...
Published 14 months ago by kao83


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best documentaries ever produced, Sept. 6 2008
By 
Toast (Vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Galapagos [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If someone had told me 15 years ago that one day I would be able to see Galapagos islands in all their glory without visiting them, i would not have believed them. this is definitely something that justifies 1080p HD sets and blu ray media.
Video: Like i mentioned above the video is simply jaw dropping, each episode (three in total) is more revealing that the one it follows. The textures the colours and the sharpness is even and equals to that of some of the best documentaries ever made in imax etc.
Narration: Tilda Swinton does a reasonable job with the narration, her voice is smooth but there were times when i felt it didn't really go well with the scene that she was narrating for. Not much complain here as she is mostly in line and keeps the tempo.
Audio: in my opinion that's the only weak link in this blu-ray disc. I was expecting amazing Planet Earth likes orchestras and atleast 5.1 sound but to my surprise the sound was only 2 channels which doesn't really deliver the punch. As most people who have hd sets and blu ray players also have 5.1 or above sound system.

All in all its a must have documentary and even though audio is a little disappointing the video is simply so amazing that at most of the times you will be too absorbed in it to even notice the lack of rear channel audio. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Galapagos DVD more than you'd expect, Nov. 2 2009
By 
Dean Wirth "Mcdean" (Calgary Alberta) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Galapagos [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I got this with an idea of "well I've seen this already but...", boy was I wrong, only now do I have an understanding of these incredible islands. This is a great 3 part series, detailing every major island, the sea life, and of course the tortoises. Incredible photography and very well written. Some disturbing footage of the plunder by the early sailors, and some disturbing animal scenes too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible photography of Galapagos, March 23 2008
By 
This review is from: Galapagos [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is the kind of film footage that merits buying the blu-ray. It is spectacular! When watched on a large-screen plasma TV, the experience approaches that of a real theatre. The photographers deserve a lot of credit for their many thousands of hours of work that it must have taken to produce the exquisite footage. There are actually three separate episodes. The narrative in the first episode is okay - not great but it suits the photography. Unfortunately the narrative in the second and third episodes becomes a bit banal, and you have to rely solely on the visual material to entertain. Also, the soundtrack is only in stereo - the music is well chosen to suit the film footage and should be upgraded to at least home theatre 5.1 quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, and high scientific value, July 10 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Galapagos [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
As other reviewers remarked, this really justifies the Blu-Ray technology. The detail in the photography is remarkable. But the greatest value is the understanding which the movie brings, of both the unique wildlife and the fascinating geology of the Galapagos. I had a much stronger grasp after the movie of how the Galapagos islands have grown and weathered away, forming a great chain of islands at the crossroads of important Pacific currents, and how that has influenced the evolution of the unique land plants and animals, and the long distance air and water travellers which make the Galapagos part of their annual voyage in search of food and mating opportunity. A very worth-while film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular and breathtaking, June 15 2009
By 
P. Garcia (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Galapagos [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This Blu-Ray production was filmed mostly in HD although there are some clips that were recorded before there were HD cameras available. The sound is in stereo and the narration by Tilda Swinton was clear, although as you watch the episodes there are some overlap in the information portrayed.

What's really cool is you will experience the twin actions of creation and extinction that you will see no where else. From the great mass of fishes in the sea giving way to the seals, to the slow yet majestic Galapagos tortoises, the animals are beautifully depicted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling story, May 20 2011
By 
David Bao (Montreal, Quebec, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Galapagos (DVD)
Galapagos is everything you'd expect from a BBC earth documentary: beautiful imagery, spot-on narration, extremely informative in an entertaining setting. The story of the Galapagos islands, and why they are so unique, is made very clear. The explanations are thorough, if sometimes redundant, and the visuals allow an exotic escape.

Galapagos would not necessarily be the right place to start for someone who's unfamiliar with other, more complete BBC documentaries (such as Planet Earth); but for the veteran viewer, it is not to be skipped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, April 19 2011
This review is from: Galapagos (DVD)
This is a beautiful program about the Galapagos Islands, containing information about the geology, flora and fauna, and history of the islands, and is well balanced in its approach. It presents a lot of factual information in a gorgeous way, and is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See what Darwin saw, Feb. 9 2009
By 
Barbara Ford "readsalot" (toronto, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Galapagos (DVD)
I initially saw this on TV, but bought it for a friend for Christmas as she had been to the Galapagos and thought she would like to have it to remember her vacation. It's fascinating to see the differences in the various islands, and the changes evolution has made on the differnt species of birds, lizards and tortoises.An excellent series especially appropo in this anniversary of Darwin's birth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!, March 13 2012
This review is from: Galapagos [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a lot cheaper than visiting Galapagos and you get to see many things you can't in person but... Worth the purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Galapagos-Islands that changed the World, March 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Galapagos (DVD)
Very good film depicting the history, wildlife, and geology of the Galapagos Islands. A must see if you wish to visit the Galapagos
(and you definitely should!!) or even after you have been there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabbefa8c)

This product

Galapagos
Galapagos by DVD (DVD - 2007)
CDN$ 24.98 CDN$ 11.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews