Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Galapagos DVD more than you'd expect
I got this with an idea of "well I've seen this already but...", boy was I wrong, only now do I have an understanding of these incredible islands. This is a great 3 part series, detailing every major island, the sea life, and of course the tortoises. Incredible photography and very well written. Some disturbing footage of the plunder by the early sailors, and some...
Published on Nov. 2 2009 by Dean Wirth

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars very interesting but lacking
i was all excited when i saw that this was available. i have been looking for a great dvd on the galapagos and was jipped a few times. this was alright. i really like to learn all the different facts about the animals that live in these places but it had a lot of other information which i wasn't expecting. i just found that it wasn't the same as say life or the planet...
Published on Feb. 5 2013 by kao83


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Galapagos DVD more than you'd expect, Nov. 2 2009
By 
Dean Wirth "Mcdean" (Calgary Alberta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I got this with an idea of "well I've seen this already but...", boy was I wrong, only now do I have an understanding of these incredible islands. This is a great 3 part series, detailing every major island, the sea life, and of course the tortoises. Incredible photography and very well written. Some disturbing footage of the plunder by the early sailors, and some disturbing animal scenes too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best documentaries ever produced, Sept. 6 2008
By 
Toast (Vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
If someone had told me 15 years ago that one day I would be able to see Galapagos islands in all their glory without visiting them, i would not have believed them. this is definitely something that justifies 1080p HD sets and blu ray media.
Video: Like i mentioned above the video is simply jaw dropping, each episode (three in total) is more revealing that the one it follows. The textures the colours and the sharpness is even and equals to that of some of the best documentaries ever made in imax etc.
Narration: Tilda Swinton does a reasonable job with the narration, her voice is smooth but there were times when i felt it didn't really go well with the scene that she was narrating for. Not much complain here as she is mostly in line and keeps the tempo.
Audio: in my opinion that's the only weak link in this blu-ray disc. I was expecting amazing Planet Earth likes orchestras and atleast 5.1 sound but to my surprise the sound was only 2 channels which doesn't really deliver the punch. As most people who have hd sets and blu ray players also have 5.1 or above sound system.

All in all its a must have documentary and even though audio is a little disappointing the video is simply so amazing that at most of the times you will be too absorbed in it to even notice the lack of rear channel audio. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling story, May 20 2011
By 
David Bao (Montreal, Quebec, CA) - See all my reviews
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Galapagos (BBC) (DVD)
Galapagos is everything you'd expect from a BBC earth documentary: beautiful imagery, spot-on narration, extremely informative in an entertaining setting. The story of the Galapagos islands, and why they are so unique, is made very clear. The explanations are thorough, if sometimes redundant, and the visuals allow an exotic escape.

Galapagos would not necessarily be the right place to start for someone who's unfamiliar with other, more complete BBC documentaries (such as Planet Earth); but for the veteran viewer, it is not to be skipped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible photography of Galapagos, March 23 2008
By 
This is the kind of film footage that merits buying the blu-ray. It is spectacular! When watched on a large-screen plasma TV, the experience approaches that of a real theatre. The photographers deserve a lot of credit for their many thousands of hours of work that it must have taken to produce the exquisite footage. There are actually three separate episodes. The narrative in the first episode is okay - not great but it suits the photography. Unfortunately the narrative in the second and third episodes becomes a bit banal, and you have to rely solely on the visual material to entertain. Also, the soundtrack is only in stereo - the music is well chosen to suit the film footage and should be upgraded to at least home theatre 5.1 quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, April 19 2011
Ce commentaire est de: Galapagos (BBC) (DVD)
This is a beautiful program about the Galapagos Islands, containing information about the geology, flora and fauna, and history of the islands, and is well balanced in its approach. It presents a lot of factual information in a gorgeous way, and is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See what Darwin saw, Feb. 9 2009
By 
Barbara Ford "readsalot" (toronto, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Galapagos (BBC) (DVD)
I initially saw this on TV, but bought it for a friend for Christmas as she had been to the Galapagos and thought she would like to have it to remember her vacation. It's fascinating to see the differences in the various islands, and the changes evolution has made on the differnt species of birds, lizards and tortoises.An excellent series especially appropo in this anniversary of Darwin's birth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, and high scientific value, July 10 2009
By 
Eric Lawton (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
As other reviewers remarked, this really justifies the Blu-Ray technology. The detail in the photography is remarkable. But the greatest value is the understanding which the movie brings, of both the unique wildlife and the fascinating geology of the Galapagos. I had a much stronger grasp after the movie of how the Galapagos islands have grown and weathered away, forming a great chain of islands at the crossroads of important Pacific currents, and how that has influenced the evolution of the unique land plants and animals, and the long distance air and water travellers which make the Galapagos part of their annual voyage in search of food and mating opportunity. A very worth-while film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular and breathtaking, June 15 2009
By 
P. Garcia (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This Blu-Ray production was filmed mostly in HD although there are some clips that were recorded before there were HD cameras available. The sound is in stereo and the narration by Tilda Swinton was clear, although as you watch the episodes there are some overlap in the information portrayed.

What's really cool is you will experience the twin actions of creation and extinction that you will see no where else. From the great mass of fishes in the sea giving way to the seals, to the slow yet majestic Galapagos tortoises, the animals are beautifully depicted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best BBC Documentaries, Jan. 24 2015
By 
ATC123 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
I have bought a lot of BBC documentaries and I think it is fair to say that this one is, in my opinion, one of the best. The photography is superb and even on a large screen TV (60") the images are crisp and the sound excellent. I was a little surprised that compared to previous BBC documentaries that we had to turn the volume up more than normal to hear the narration but this is a minor issue. Unlike some documentaries where there were some grainy patches - these ones were perfect. A couple of nice things is that the intro (i.e. commercials for other BBC products) was minimal and better still the navel gazing about how it was made was good. In some of the other documentaries you listed to the photographers babble about how they suffered while clad in the best of everything and not taking any risks, while the locals had no protection and went about their jobs with no problems. This was missing from this. Another positive is that this series did an excellent job explaining where the islands came from and the same for the wildlife. In other words it is a lot more educational that some other BBC documentaries and as a scientist it was very enjoyable to see incredible photography AND coherent and concise explanations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Must Have Documentary, Oct. 19 2012
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
First off I must say for just one disc the price is a touch on the high side, but this documentary doesn't disappoint.
This is indeed a great 3 part series, diving into detail of the islands, the sea life, and of course the tortoises from which its named. And lets not forget, the great Charles Darwin! This blu-ray as with every BBC documentary boasts Incredible photography and some very captivating scenes. The Blu-ray quality is right up there. The only thing missing by my standards was a David Attenborough narration. But I have no complaints with Tilda Swinton. Guess I've become spoiled over the years. All in all this Blu-ray is a must have, and is recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Galapagos (BBC)
Galapagos (BBC) by Various (DVD - 2007)
CDN$ 24.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews