Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lookin' For Some Hot Stuff
The Full Monty is hard to categorize. It is very funny, yet it is heart-wrenching in places, with great performances by all the actors. So let's not worry about what it is, because it will leave you laughing and smiling for days. Seeing this movie will also boost your optimism and make you charge ahead on those dreams you have had on the back burner. The funny scenes...
Published on June 9 2004 by L. Mintah

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not original
It's funny but you know everything that is going to happen before it happens. It's not original.
Published on May 3 1999


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lookin' For Some Hot Stuff, June 9 2004
By 
L. Mintah "Author of the Heart" (Tucson, AZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Full Monty, the (VHS Tape)
The Full Monty is hard to categorize. It is very funny, yet it is heart-wrenching in places, with great performances by all the actors. So let's not worry about what it is, because it will leave you laughing and smiling for days. Seeing this movie will also boost your optimism and make you charge ahead on those dreams you have had on the back burner. The funny scenes are absolutely hilarious. You will want to watch them over and over.
A motley group of unemployed British steel workers hatches a plan to be male strippers. Gaz, the main character, saw a group of Chippendales dancers pass through town on a one-time show with great success. Although his group lacks the looks and the moves, Gaz is not deterred. His primary motivation for this enterprise is to come up with child support money so he can spend time with his son.
The human interest story is what makes you root for these characters. There is strong language, a scene of attempted suicide, impotence, strong male sexuality, and a homosexual scene. The working-class accents are unbearably hard to decipher for the first fifteen minutes, but you get used to it.
The music is fantastic. This movie is so unique that I wish everyone would see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding in every respect, June 9 2004
By 
Mark Nuckols (Chevy Chase, MD United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Full Monty (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is an exemplarary example of the kind of wry, sociologically observant humor that the English do so well (and that we do so poorly, if ever). A brilliant and touching portrait of Sheffield, out-of-work steelworkers, the English working class, gender relations, and much more. I've seen it perhaps a dozen times, and each time I not only have laughed at the same jokes, but have also noticed some nuance that I overlooked before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You can leave your hat on", Sept. 3 2010
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Full Monty (Widescreen) (DVD)
Six men who were laid off when their Yorkshire steel mill closed are desperate for money. When a one-night Chippendales show comes to town and is a big hit, they decide to make their own strip show, and to make it more interesting, they'll go completely nude! The men are neither big and buff nor good dancers, but they put their hearts into preparing for the big night.

This absolutely charming comedy has many touching moments, thanks to the well-developed and sympathetic characters we come to know: One is a divorced dad (Robert Carlyle) who needs to raise child support money, one is an overweight and depressed husband (Mark Addy), one cares for his aging mum, and one (Tom Wilkinson) hasn't had the nerve to tell his credit card-happy wife that he's been unemployed for six months. All of the actors are perfectly cast and it's worth the price just to see the venerable Wilkinson bump and grind to "Hot Stuff."

Gritty location photography and a lively, Oscar-winning disco soundtrack help create the mood of despair giving way to hope. The North country accents and slang are sometimes unintelligible, but that in no way detracts from the fun. This fast-paced and sweet film made with a tiny budget went on to break UK box office records. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Full Monty - loved it, April 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Thanks for delivering me one of my old favourites with such ease. I was worried these old classics may not be available anymore. I love that Amazon and its distributors have lots of stock and fair pricing and I don't have to leave the house. Watching this film again - the old VHS got ruined - made me laugh out loud as it used too. Thanks for facilitating laughter in the world :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovable Lads; Lovable Movie; Sub-Par DVD, April 29 2004
By 
Scott Schiefelbein (Portland, Oregon United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Full Monty (Widescreen) (DVD)
Without re-hashing the plot, suffice to say that this is one of the more original and accomplished feel-good films you'll ever see. The story focuses on a bunch of lovable unemployed lads in Sheffield, England, following the collapse of the local steel industry (the film opens with one of those "Progress Is Today" film-reels we all watched in elementary school and sets a perfect tone for the rest of the film). Their rallying cry: an all-male strip tease. The set-up: minimal dancing talent and a low beefcake factor.
Instead of a bunch of caricatures, "TFM" gives us a fully realized ensemble, even with some touching scenes from the women who inhabit the fringes of the film. The dense accents give the flick a delightful authenticity , and the cast has some wonderful comic timing as well as the ability to pluck the heartstrings at the right moments.
"TFM" builds from a great premise to one of the best closing scenes in recent years -- you'll either be on your feet cheering or on the floor laughing, and maybe both.
The DVD offers good sound and picture quality, but there is a notable lack of extras. Still, better a good flick and no extras than a mediocre flick and a bunch of goodies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Always Great, June 9 2014
By 
TANYA TOMSIC (MAPLE RIDGE, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Full Monty (DVD)
This is a funny and touching movie. Great actors playing great characters, a good plot, and lots of laughs. The soundtrack is also good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie - case was shattered when received., June 17 2013
By 
Reader21 "scary1" (Edmonton AB Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Having not seen the moving for a good long time, it was fun all over again. Unfortunately, the case was shattered when I received it. Maybe that is why it was on sale?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, April 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I remember when this movie came out and we laughed uproariously the first time. The second time was every bit as funny although I don't know where the "fully exposed" fits in - it's exactly like the first version and there is no real nudity in this new version - which is fine by me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cute Comedy Drama - Great Disco Sound Track, Dec 18 2003
By 
Michael Mathena "Michael Mathena" (Valley City, Ohio) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Full Monty, the (VHS Tape)
This low-budget sleeper is indeed very pleasant entertainment. A clique of down-on-their-luck buddies have an idea to give their financial bad times a shot in the arm: Why not work on a one-night stand act as Average Joe "Chippendales", packing the house with a bunch of Average Jane woman, and go "Full Monty".
Several side plots hint at how desperate these guys are to make a "come back". One man's custody battle to keep seeing his son, another one keeping the bad news of being fired from his wife (for 6 months!), yet another contemplating suicide. There is an impressive Classic Disco Sound Track, featuring big hits like "You Sexy Thing", "Hot Stuff" and "You Can Keep Your Hat On", worked into all of the "practice", fantasy and show scenes.
Although this film is very enjoyable, I would never consider it "Best Picture Material". The Motion Picture Academy must have some strange criteria in selecting each year's nominees. On a scale of 1 to 10, this one ranks a 7 with me. Best Picture Candidates should include only 9s and 10s. Oh well.****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I can watch this over and over, Nov. 29 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Full Monty (Widescreen) (DVD)
Hilarious and touching. Deals with heavy issues without forcing anything down your throat and keeps you laughing. Man-strippers unite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Full Monty - Fully Exposed Edition (Bilingual) [Import]
CDN$ 58.09
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews