Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lookin' For Some Hot Stuff
The Full Monty is hard to categorize. It is very funny, yet it is heart-wrenching in places, with great performances by all the actors. So let's not worry about what it is, because it will leave you laughing and smiling for days. Seeing this movie will also boost your optimism and make you charge ahead on those dreams you have had on the back burner. The funny scenes...
Published on June 9 2004 by L. Mintah

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not original
It's funny but you know everything that is going to happen before it happens. It's not original.
Published on May 3 1999


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lookin' For Some Hot Stuff, June 9 2004
By 
L. Mintah "Author of the Heart" (Tucson, AZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Full Monty, the (VHS Tape)
The Full Monty is hard to categorize. It is very funny, yet it is heart-wrenching in places, with great performances by all the actors. So let's not worry about what it is, because it will leave you laughing and smiling for days. Seeing this movie will also boost your optimism and make you charge ahead on those dreams you have had on the back burner. The funny scenes are absolutely hilarious. You will want to watch them over and over.
A motley group of unemployed British steel workers hatches a plan to be male strippers. Gaz, the main character, saw a group of Chippendales dancers pass through town on a one-time show with great success. Although his group lacks the looks and the moves, Gaz is not deterred. His primary motivation for this enterprise is to come up with child support money so he can spend time with his son.
The human interest story is what makes you root for these characters. There is strong language, a scene of attempted suicide, impotence, strong male sexuality, and a homosexual scene. The working-class accents are unbearably hard to decipher for the first fifteen minutes, but you get used to it.
The music is fantastic. This movie is so unique that I wish everyone would see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding in every respect, June 9 2004
By 
Mark Nuckols (Chevy Chase, MD United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Full Monty (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is an exemplarary example of the kind of wry, sociologically observant humor that the English do so well (and that we do so poorly, if ever). A brilliant and touching portrait of Sheffield, out-of-work steelworkers, the English working class, gender relations, and much more. I've seen it perhaps a dozen times, and each time I not only have laughed at the same jokes, but have also noticed some nuance that I overlooked before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovable Lads; Lovable Movie; Sub-Par DVD, April 29 2004
By 
Scott Schiefelbein (Portland, Oregon United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Full Monty (Widescreen) (DVD)
Without re-hashing the plot, suffice to say that this is one of the more original and accomplished feel-good films you'll ever see. The story focuses on a bunch of lovable unemployed lads in Sheffield, England, following the collapse of the local steel industry (the film opens with one of those "Progress Is Today" film-reels we all watched in elementary school and sets a perfect tone for the rest of the film). Their rallying cry: an all-male strip tease. The set-up: minimal dancing talent and a low beefcake factor.
Instead of a bunch of caricatures, "TFM" gives us a fully realized ensemble, even with some touching scenes from the women who inhabit the fringes of the film. The dense accents give the flick a delightful authenticity , and the cast has some wonderful comic timing as well as the ability to pluck the heartstrings at the right moments.
"TFM" builds from a great premise to one of the best closing scenes in recent years -- you'll either be on your feet cheering or on the floor laughing, and maybe both.
The DVD offers good sound and picture quality, but there is a notable lack of extras. Still, better a good flick and no extras than a mediocre flick and a bunch of goodies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You can leave your hat on", Sept. 3 2010
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Full Monty (Widescreen) (DVD)
Six men who were laid off when their Yorkshire steel mill closed are desperate for money. When a one-night Chippendales show comes to town and is a big hit, they decide to make their own strip show, and to make it more interesting, they'll go completely nude! The men are neither big and buff nor good dancers, but they put their hearts into preparing for the big night.

This absolutely charming comedy has many touching moments, thanks to the well-developed and sympathetic characters we come to know: One is a divorced dad (Robert Carlyle) who needs to raise child support money, one is an overweight and depressed husband (Mark Addy), one cares for his aging mum, and one (Tom Wilkinson) hasn't had the nerve to tell his credit card-happy wife that he's been unemployed for six months. All of the actors are perfectly cast and it's worth the price just to see the venerable Wilkinson bump and grind to "Hot Stuff."

Gritty location photography and a lively, Oscar-winning disco soundtrack help create the mood of despair giving way to hope. The North country accents and slang are sometimes unintelligible, but that in no way detracts from the fun. This fast-paced and sweet film made with a tiny budget went on to break UK box office records. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All men are sexy dancers., Aug. 5 2003
This review is from: The Full Monty (Widescreen) (DVD)
What a fun way to use up an evening. It is not a deep movie, it will not give you insight into British politics or humanity itself, just lots of good laughs.
We watch as 6 unemployed Yorkshire bloks work up the courage and, dare I say, the talent, to go the Full Monty after the Chppendale Dancers swagger their goods through town. Seeing this as an easy way to fatten their wallets we go through the emotions of these every day guys trying to just make it in the world when they lose their jobs, their furniture and lives when the Steel Mill they work in closes.
It is great to watchthe relationships in this movie. That between Mark Addy's character and his wife that he thinks is cheating on him, because he sees himself as to fat. Addy and Robert Carlyle as friends is fun and funny. The greatest relationship to watch is between Carlyle and the kid who plays his son Nate. All this stripping hulabaloo started as a way for Carlyle (Gaz) to repay his back child support so he can continue to see his son whom he loves very much, though he may not always be the best role model. The kid is in on some of the casting calls and helps with the music. All the characters are a shear riot to watch.
I highly recommend this film. It has a broad range to reach more than just those who enjoy British films, it is not that stuffy! great listening to and trying to decipher the dialect while keeping up witht he movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All men are sexy dancers., Aug. 5 2003
This review is from: The Full Monty (Widescreen) (DVD)
What a fun way to use up an evening. It is not a deep movie, it will not give you insight into British politics or humanity itself, just lots of good laughs.
We watch as 6 unemployed Yorkshire bloks work up the courage and, dare I say, the talent, to go the Full Monty after the Chppendale Dancers swagger their goods through town. Seeing this as an easy way to fatten their wallets we go through the emotions of these every day guys trying to just make it in the world when they lose their jobs, their furniture and lives when the Steel Mill they work in closes.
It is great to watchthe relationships in this movie. That between Mark Addy's character and his wife that he thinks is cheating on him, because he sees himself as to fat. Addy and Robert Carlyle as friends is fun and funny. The greatest relationship to watch is between Carlyle and the kid who plays his son Nate. All this stripping hulabaloo started as a way for Carlyle (Gaz) to repay his back child support so he can continue to see his son whom he loves very much, though he may not always be the best role model. The kid is in on some of the casting calls and helps with the music. All the characters are a shear riot to watch.
I highly recommend this film. It has a broad range to reach more than just those who enjoy British films, it is not that stuffy! great listening to and trying to decipher the dialect while keeping up witht he movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a man in love will do, July 25 2003
By 
T. Fitzpatrick (Moultrie, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Full Monty, the (VHS Tape)
I was quite impressed with this story centering on a hard-luck post industrial town and its desperate but likeable inhabitants.
The main character represents a type we are all familiar with, a man who believes that charm alone will bring him all he wants and needs...until his ex-wife puts his back to the wall with a threat to withdraw access to his young son unless he starts paying court ordered child support.
This slick slacker is someone you'd be hard pressed to find sympathy for until you understand the very deep love for his son battling the Peter Pan immaturity of his nature.
What a wonderful light bulb clicking moment when he finds his ex accompanied by his luckless pal's wife at a Chippendale type entertainment.
Believing his own talents equal to the money making muscle bound strippers, he sets off on a journey of self-discovery dragging his skeptical but loyal young son along.
As he ensnares one after another of the down-on-their-luck former employees of the defunct factory into his get rich by getting naked scheme, each unknowingly becomes the kind of man he didn't believe possible.
But will this timid team of cash poor prancers go the whole way in front of everyone they know? I won't spoil the ending but beyond going "the full monty", they reveal more to themselves than the town.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Full Monty, Jan. 17 2003
By 
E. Batica (MN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Full Monty (Widescreen) (DVD)
This movie was surprisingly funny! I originally thought that this one wouldn't be good just on the basis of it's plot but in the end, this movie delivers a lot of laughs and for the ladies, some great male stripping that's really funny.
It starts out with 2 friends, Gazzer and Dave. Both are recently laid off steel mill workers and are looking for work. After they get turned away from their favorite bar because of an all ladies Chippendale performance, Gazzer gets a great idea, "what if we were strippers? We'd make a lot of money". Just one problem, there's only 2 of them and they can't dance. After holding some open tryouts, they find some other guys they used to work with that want to do this as well, including their former foreman that's also unemployed. While working on their routine, Gazzer realizes that they have to do something special, they have to do THE FULL MONTY (be completely naked). Now it's a question of who's still in it.
O.k. even though I'm a guy, I still laughed at this one because it's still pretty funny. The guys are really funny, the music and soundtrack is great (a lot of great hits from the 70's) and just because the guys are the most unlikely strippers is pretty funny. That and this movie took a lighthearted look on some very serious topics like suicide, divorce, homosexuality, unemployment and even the difficulty of being overweight. You'd be surprised, but this movie might hit somewhere with some people.
Ladies will definitely get a kick out of this one and even the guys can take a laugh out of this. And for any of you guys plotting to do your own type of Chippendales thing, here's an instructional video for you = ) In any case, this is an enjoyable movie. And who could forget the "fun with Garden Gnomes" scene? That scene alone is hilarious. Anyway, check out THE FULL MONTY and if you're looking for another good International movie, check out WAKING NED DEVINE, CHOCOLAT and this is a good one from Japan, TAMPOPO. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Full Review, Nov. 1 2002
By 
mykarenina "mykarenina" (St. Louis, MO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Full Monty, the (VHS Tape)
Several out-of-work men in the decaying town of Sheffield, England envision a scheme to earn money and the adoration of a town full of women...and thus begins the delightful story of 'The Full Monty.'
I approached this movie with no expectations and found an incredibly funny and realistic look at hard times in a struggling town. With jobs difficult to find and the town's women being lured to view the oiled bodies of Chippendale dancers, these friends take matters into their own hands in an attempt to reclaim the pride that was vanquished when they found themselves unemployed. While their ultimate plan may be a strange way to take pride in themselves, these men pull it off quite humorously.
Aside from the general plot, this movie also gives us a glimpse of how families deal with hard times (including unemployment and divorce). I found myself interested in not only the fantastic scheme of the men, but also in the dynamics of how these families would ultimately succeed. All in all, I was quite impressed with the movie and enjoy watching it anytime I need a good laugh. This movie may not make anyone's Top Ten list, but it is definitely effective when the desired result is a hearty bit of laughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Thoroughly Entertaining British Comedy!, Oct. 18 2002
By 
Tiggah "the Anglophile" (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Full Monty, the (VHS Tape)
This classic (albeit very modern) 1997 British film, which I have seen a few times now, is one of my favourites. The storyline is highly original, very funny, and hugely entertaining overall, but it's also heartwarming. The setting is Sheffield, England, world famous for its steel. Sadly Sheffield, like most of the North of England, has had to deal with massive unemployment; in Sheffield's case, it's a result of the collapse of the steel industry. Briefly, the story revolves around six unemployed men, victims of the times, who aspire to "putting on" a one-night-only "full monty" (British slang for "taking it ALL off") strip show to raise some much-needed cash.
The idea is actually the brain-child of one of the men, Gaz (played by Robert Carlyle (The World is Not Enough)), who is in arrears in his maintenance payments for his son (who lives with Gaz's ex-wife and her new boyfriend). Gaz is at risk of losing joint custody and fears he may lose his son altogether. His motivation (and indeed his desperation) in coming up with such an outrageous scheme is, therefore, both plausible and understandable, for the men stand to pocket a nice little sum of money if they can, quite literally, pull it off. The film, which is 95 minutes, also features Tom Wilkinson (Essex Boys), who plays the lads' former boss from the steel factory, and Paul Barber (Denzil from Only Fools and Horses).
In conclusion, I highly recommend this film to fans of British comedy in general, but I think its appeal is broad enough to be enjoyed by anyone looking for a thoroughly enjoyable comedy with a really good storyline. Just one thing: Viewers ought to be prepared for fairly thick Yorkshire accents. This may be a bit of a shock at first for the unfamiliar, but close attention helps and it is well worth the effort. It's a cute story that is superbly acted and very well presented. What's more, it's a film that can be enjoyed time and again.
Very highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Full Monty - Fully Exposed Edition (Bilingual) [Import]
Used & New from: CDN$ 23.23
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews