Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Never ending fun with this movie!
What!? You did not see these movies yet?!
Run for your life to the closest store to get them, you won't regret this!
Published 8 months ago by LinroK

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great first film, but then...
Sylvester Stallone was set to play yet another monosylabbic action film wonder-cop back in 1984. He had signed on as a gritty Detroit cop who finds himself in posh Beverly Hills avenging his brothers death. Fortunately for the world, we never got to see him in that flick although many of the elements appeared in his next film, COBRA. No, this film was not shelved, it...
Published on Feb. 8 2002 by GLENN WHELAN


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Never ending fun with this movie!, July 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What!? You did not see these movies yet?!
Run for your life to the closest store to get them, you won't regret this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Leading the way in action comedy., Jan. 2 2009
Well starting in 1984 it began the run of great action films such as lethal weapon, die hard, and great action comedy's such as rush hour.

Eddie Murphy made up what ever he could to get where ever he wasn't suppose to be, and they always had a comedic point as well. The first one was great along with the second but the last film..... not so great hopefully that is corrected but a great Beverly hills cop IV
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 2 and 3 are great, number 1, hmm..., June 15 2004
By 
P. Woods (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm sure any lover of Eddie Murphy will definately want this collection. Mumber 2 and 3 are classics in my opinon, with loads of action, and lots of funny bits, but I don't know if everybody will enjoy the first one as much. Usually the original movie is the best, but this time I think it's the worst. It has a completely boring story-line (Eddie Murphy wants to avenge the death of his friend, so he goes to Beverly hills to stop them) we've all seen this story-line before. Also, there isn't as much action that you'd expect to be. The only action is really the first five minutes and the last ten. Only worth getting the first one for the comedy, but not for action fans. Now, the last two have loads of action, aswell as comedy. My favourite would have to be the third, 'cause I like the area it's set in, Wonder world (amusement park). The second is more like the first, but with a better story-line, action and comedy. So, Eddie Murphy fans will love, comedy fans, maybe, action fans, only for the last two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eddies best movies!!!, March 19 2004
By 
These 3 films by Eddie Murphy are what shot him to stardom! Tho these days he seems to be sticking to the high money giving rolls and dosent seem to be as funny as he used to be, these films are the classic of Eddie's old school days of acting!
I dont need to reveiw the 3 films, youve read them by now!
Unfortunatly you dont get any bonus features, but if the price is right, you wont be disapointed with this 3 pack of supurb films!
Tho the 2 seaqulls dont match the same greatness of the first, that dosent mean they were not worth making! The sequlls are great and you will love this action packed adventure of a Detroit cop who fills the screen with comedy, action, explosions and playing with a great cast!
Theres no disapointment here as long as you can stand some action and explosions and a bit of swearing! These arnt kids movies, but i was watchign them when i was about 7 years old or so give or take a few, and i loved them then and still love them now!
Each disc contains decent bonus footage.
BHC1: Comes with a 30 minute cast and crew interveiw, sort of a reunion type of thing, without them actualy re-uniting, there is also some featurettes, and other things,commentary, too bad theres no deleted scenes, or outtakes :(
BHC2 & 3: pretty much just come with another interveiw, probably all show on the same day as the first, basicly the same thing, but about part 2 or 3. Part 2 also has a featurette on the making of "Shake Down" but it's not a video clip of the song, tho I think it should have been. Part 2 also has a deleted scene
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection but a big flaw....., March 9 2003
I'm a Beverly Hills Cop Fan ever since it first came out. This DVD Boxed Set is definately worth it, but the only big problem is that, Part 1 and 3 are in standard format, and only part 2 is in widescreen format. The box mentions all 3 are in widescreen format, but that was not true.... In the future they should come out with both widescreen AND standard, and also check the format before they actually publish/sell it.... Kinda disappointing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Service, Aug. 18 2002
By 
Russell (WA, United States) - See all my reviews
Great service. Great price. Got my DVDs 6 days after I ordered and thy were in great shape. Couldn't be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEVERLY HILLS COP TRILOGY, July 18 2002
By 
Marz (Attala County Mccool Mississippi) - See all my reviews
THREE OF THE VERY BEST ACTION FILMS EVER MADE STARRING EDDIE MURPHY JUDGE REINHOLD JOHN ASHTON & RONNY COX PRODOCED BY DON SIMPSON & JERRY BRUCKHEIMER & THE ALL TIME BEST ACTION DIRECTOR TONY SCOTT TOP GUN CRIMSON TIDE & ENEMY OF THE STATE ALL 3 MOVIES ARE IN 5.1 SOUND WITH NEW INTERVIEWS WITH THE CAST & CREW THIS IS EDDIE MURPHY'S GREATEST FILMS OF ALL TIME NOW IT'S TIME TO GO DEEP DEEP DEEP UNDERCOVER AND BUY THIS DVD BOX SET
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Lineup of Laughter, April 24 2002
Eddie Murphy is brilliant as he stars in all three of theses hilarious Beverly Hills Cop movies as Axel Foley, a Detroit cop that's always getting involved where he shouldn't be- Beverly Hills. Beverly Hills Cop 1 is a classic and definitely worth watching, because of Eddie's hilarious personality. Beverly Hills Cop 2 is mildly entertaining compared to the 1st and 3rd, because of the weak lead villain actress, poor sound recording, and mild plot. Beverly Hills Cop 3 is the most modern installment that packs loads of laughter and action centered on a theme park called Wally's World. The DVD contents are adequate, but not extraordinary; cool menus, trailers, commentaries, and behind the scenes are all included. This set is definitely worth one's time and money if your an aficionado of Eddie Murphy or you enjoy comedy-action packed movies!
Pros: Top Notch acting by Eddie Murphy, action-comedy, adequate DVD content
Cons: The 2nd sequel was bland on all aspects and the DVDs could have had more features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The heat is on...times three!!, April 11 2002
Eddie Murphy gives us not one, not two, but three of the funniest and finest performances ever in his career that is "Beverly Hills Cop"! Here are my comments on the following three films:
"Beverly Hills Cop":
This is the film, to me, that made Eddie Murphy a star. To the filmmakers, "Beverly Hills Cop" was a milestone in motion picture filmmaking. "Beverly Hills Cop" was also the highest grossing film of 1984. Martin Brest ("Scent of a Woman", "Meet Joe Black") directed this first installment with lots of action, and laughs, laughs, laughs from start to finish! "Beverly Hills Cop" was also one of the earlier Don Simpson/Jerry Bruckheimer projects before "Top Gun" and other big budget hits. This first film in the "Beverly Hills Cop" legacy focuses on Axel Foley (Murphy), a street smart Detroit cop who goes to Beverly Hills, CA to investigate a murder of one of his old friends back in Detroit. The prime suspect is an art gallery magnate named Victor Maitland (Steven Berkoff, "Fair Game"). But his street smart Detroit training does not blend in with the somewhat strict Beverly Hills police training as Lt. Andrew Bogomil (Ronny Cox, "RoboCop") send in Detectives Billy Rosewood and John Taggart (Judge Reinhold and John Ashton in hilarious performances). During his investigation, Axel meets up with another old friend, Jenny Summers (Lisa Eilbacher, "An Officer and A Gentleman") and her assistant Serge (Bronson Pinchot in an outrageous performance). During the film, Axel learns that he and Rosewood and Taggart must team up in order to take down the ones responsible for his friend's death. And the film goes on from there. The DVD special collector's edition of this first film includes cast and crew interviews, trailer, and more! Also, when watching "Beverly Hills Cop", watch for Paul Reiser as a Detroit cop and Damon Wayans as a Beverly Hills hotel fruit salesman.
"Beverly Hills Cop II":
After the worldwide success of the first film, the filmmakers decided to set "Beverly Hills Cop II" into 3 years later after the events of the first part. This time, the director is Tony Scott ("Spy Game", "Enemy of the State"). To me, it was sort of different than the first one because you do not get as much hilarious action like the first one, but that doesn't make the second film a bad one. This second installment follows Axel Foley (Murphy) still up to his old tricks. But this time, he goes out once again into the glamorous world of Beverly Hills as he teams up once again with Rosewood (Reinhold) and Taggart (Ashton) to solve the attempted murder of his friend, Capt. Bogomil (Cox). The prime suspects are Maxwell Dent (Jurgen Prochnow, "The Replacement Killers") and Karla Fry (Brigette Nielsen, "Cobra"). The DVD version of this includes one deleted scene, cast and crew interviews, "Shakedown" music featurette, and trailer. When watching "Cop II", watch out for a young Chris Rock as a valet at...Hugh Hefner's Playboy mansion and also watch out for the man himself!
"Beverly Hills Cop III":
This time, the director is John Landis ("The Blues Brothers", "Animal House"), in which he directed this with lots of energy and style. To me, I like watching "Beverly Hills Cop III" much better than I did the second one, but even this third installment cannot beat the first one! Simpson and Bruckheimer are not involved in producing this one this time. And also, to me, "Beverly Hills Cop III" is almost in the same comedic spirit as the first one, but still has the exciting action of the first two. This third, and sadly, last installment takes place in Detroit, as Axel Foley (Murphy) and a few other cops lead a raid that goes horribly wrong. The raid also resulted in the death of his longtime friend, Chief Inspector Todd (Gil Hill from the first two films). The evidence points to Wonder World, a theme park in Southern CA. Axel once again teams with Rosewood (Reinhold) this time. Joining them is Detective Jon Flint (Hector Elizondo). The prime suspects in Axel's boss' death include Wonder World's chief of security Ellis DeWald (Timothy Carhart) and his henchmen (including John Saxon, "A Nightmare on Elm Street"). Also, Axel once again meets up with Serge (Bronson Pinchot), who has made quite a business with himself in selling home defense systems and such. The DVD version of this just includes the trailer and the cast and crew interviews.
In conclusion, I love watching all three "Beverly Hills Cop" film simply because they all have the same two main characters, Axel Foley and Billy Rosewood, in all three films. Paramount has certainly picked the right time to put out all thre "Cop" movies on DVD! And to me, basically there will never be another franchise quite like the "Beverly Hills Cop" movies...unless you're watching all 4 "Lethal Weapon" films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I wasnt Always A cop... I used to bend an occasional law..., March 3 2002
The movies themselves are great. I originally rated this set 1 star, because I was annoyed that there wasnt a full screen version like there is for the Back to the future Set. But Ill get to that in a moment.
All 3 of these movies are great. Eddie murphy really comes off nicely in all of them. The beverly Hills cop series really is the preeminent titles when it comes to the comedy-action-cop movie. The first movie is excellent, and the second is just as good, and maybe even better. The 3rd movie falls a bit short of the first 2 but is still great, and of course is very funny. How could you not laugh when murphy tries to fire "the annihilator 3000" only to have it start playing rap music. And who doesnt love that classic laugh.
Beverly hills cop 1 - 5 stars easy
Beverly Hills cop 2 - Another easy 5 Stars
Beverly Hills Cop 3 - 4-5 stars
If you havent seen these movies and like a good action comedy... go rent them now!!! You are depriving yourself of a great laugh and a fun and entertaining time.
That said....
Im tired of seeing DVD's in only widescreen format and not standard. many of us LIKE movies to be reformatted for our TVs and HATE letter box format. Yet DVD seems to ignore this and release the vast majority of its titles in widescreen ONLY. I've seen some discs that have both formats on one 2 sided disc - this is great, but even just having a standard "alternative" version out would be MUCH APRECIATED!!! As an e-tailer I know Amazon has no control over what is available but perhaps they could make more of an effort to get titles in stadard format when possible and perhaps we could all try and speak up to pressure the movie studios to address this issue.
Im beginning to think about just forgetting about DVDs and going back to my VCR. Then I didnt have to worry about 4:3 aspect ratio or peering into the details page to see if I was going to have to stare at those two big black boxes for the whole movie. I cant be the only one that this annoys!!!! I understand why some people love WS, but please.... give us a choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbeb8172c)

This product

Beverly Hills Cop Collection
Beverly Hills Cop Collection by Eddie Murphy (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 21.99 CDN$ 18.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews