Customer Reviews


207 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (66)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edge of your seat -- but don't give away the ending!
One of the best psychological thrillers made since Jacob's Ladder. This ensemble cast is perfectly blended to offer the right mix of fresh talent (Amanda Peet and Jake Busey) and seasoned veterans (Ray Liota, Alfred Molina and John Cusak) along with Rebecca DeMornay. You will be drawn in with the rhythmic poetry recited in the opening scenes and once the story begins at...
Published on July 19 2004 by frisky2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I can't believe I watched the whole thing.
A)- This movie is boring. Yawn city. It's about as suspenseful as watching your toenails grow.
B)- Yes, it's true that the premise of this movie is original and it's never been done before.... BUT the reason it's never been done before is because IT'S F***ING STUPID!!!
C)- The ending is so stupid and the big plot surprise at the end is so stupid your jaw will...
Published on June 9 2004 by The Poe Toaster


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edge of your seat -- but don't give away the ending!, July 19 2004
By 
frisky2000 (Forever Summer) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Identity (Special Edition) (DVD)
One of the best psychological thrillers made since Jacob's Ladder. This ensemble cast is perfectly blended to offer the right mix of fresh talent (Amanda Peet and Jake Busey) and seasoned veterans (Ray Liota, Alfred Molina and John Cusak) along with Rebecca DeMornay. You will be drawn in with the rhythmic poetry recited in the opening scenes and once the story begins at the desert Motel, you are absolutely riveted. There are key clues throughout to sort of clue you in to the shock at the end, but don't ruin it by talking to others about it! Watching the director's commentary is helpful on the DVD, explaining odd scenes and intricate story lines to the viewer. This movie is one you will want to watch more than once or twice. You get most of the plot only superficially the first time watching, and only on the the second and third go around will you say, "AH HA! Now this makes sense!" IDENTITY is also John Cusak's tour de force, a superb job here in a performance you will not soon forget. Top notch entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I can't believe I watched the whole thing., June 9 2004
By 
The Poe Toaster (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Identity (Special Edition) (DVD)
A)- This movie is boring. Yawn city. It's about as suspenseful as watching your toenails grow.
B)- Yes, it's true that the premise of this movie is original and it's never been done before.... BUT the reason it's never been done before is because IT'S F***ING STUPID!!!
C)- The ending is so stupid and the big plot surprise at the end is so stupid your jaw will drop and you will feel like such a SUCKER for believing there was something at the end of this ultra-stupid movie worth watching it for.
I heard great things about this movie. I heard it was awesome and suspenseful and there were all these cool plot twists and it was really scary and yadda yadda yadda. All HYPE, I assure you. At the end of this film I felt like such a sucker I had to turn around and check to see if there was a stick protruding from my a**.
There are much better ways to spend your time than watching this turkey.... like performing eye surgery on yourself with a rusty Swiss Army knife or washing your face in public toilets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS A GOOD ONE!!!!!!!, Oct. 4 2003
By 
Robert (PETOSKEY, MI, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Identity (Special Edition) (DVD)
Don't read many of these reviews, they give to much away to much of plot.
This is an excellent movie with the look of a 50's film, out in the desert, at one of those old motels,and it's raining like crazy,-----this is a great story.
I thought I had this all figured out I was wrong. You'll thnk thier doing Ten Little Indians---their not.
I wasn't sorry I bought this film.
That's just my opinion------I could be wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars THis one should be called "STUPIDITY" - (spoils here), May 3 2004
By 
Gergellor (Supimpalândia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Identity (Special Edition) (DVD)
Man, this is mean. After watching for almost one hour a group of people being slaughtered one by one in a cheap motel during a thunderstorm, we reach the conclusion that the killer can not be one of the four remaining survivor up till this point. And, surprise, it's really not!
Why? Because nothing that happened in the last hour was real! Yes, that's right! All of that was happening inside the mind of highly mentally sick killer, who had "multiple characters" inside himself, some of them good, some of them bad and one very bad, a real serial killer. In order to not be executed, the judge must be convinced that the very bad one does not exist anymore.
So, who is the killer is simply not an issue anymore! That's righ! You'll feel like a suck..r after watching the turn of events. And, by that, it will be too late to turn off your DVD, so you'll end up watching it until the end, anyway, while the writers, the actors, the director and the producers will be laughing their ars..s off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly Psychologically Thrilling, July 15 2004
By 
Chrystal McCoy (St. Charles, MO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Identity (Special Edition) (DVD)
This film is one of the best in psychological thrillers. It keeps you guessing and re-guessing as the plot moves on and the dead bodies start disappearing. John Cusack is at his brooding best paired with Ray Liotta. This is a movie that could have easily been over-acted, but the cast carries the story line well. There's limited gore and guts but just the right amount of suspense to keep you glued to the the movie. Don't miss out on this one, you'll be glad you spent your time and money on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You think you know, but you have no idea., July 11 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Identity (Special Edition) (DVD)
This movie is hard to talk about because you don't want to give a second of it away. I've seen a lot of movies and I'd give this one a A+. Even if you have your doubts about buying it I would fully suggest you buy and be amazed at this masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, July 6 2004
This review is from: Identity (Special Edition) (DVD)
a good suspense/horror movie with a big twist at the end that didn't work for me, though it should be commended for it's originality. the extras are pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short, Thrilling, and Very Good!, June 28 2004
This review is from: Identity (Special Edition) (DVD)
The best part about "Identity" is that it didn't drag on for long amounts of time, and it felt like it started right away. It stars John Cusack from "Serendipity" and this is a totally different kind of movie. "Serendipity" being a sweet, romantic comedy, while "Identity" is a dark and disturbing thriller. It is loosely based on the mystery story "And Then There Was One" written by crime writer Agatha Cristie. I never read the story, so I can't say how similar the two are, but I know the basic ideas, and both of the stories are pretty much the same, plot wise. An istant problem with "Identity" is Ray Liotta who is a terrible actor. He is similar to Dennis Quiad, who is worse. Dennis Quaid seems to overact in every movie that I see him in, including "The Alamo" and "Far From Heaven." Liotta also overacts, only he does it worse. He never seems to be able to grab his character and steer him in the right direction. It always feels like he is reading his lines on a cue card taped on a wall. Amanda Peet was in the movie. She is a cute little actress, who is good in "Something's Gotta Give" and "The Whole Ten Yards," but this is another actress who is in a totally different role based on her past movies. The rest of the cast seems to be filled with unknowns except for Prutt Taylor Vince who is thought was good in "Simone" as well as Alfred Molina, who having no clue who he was when I saw this in the theatre, but recently saw him in the comic gem "Coffee and Cigarettes."
"Identity" starts off with the audience being introduced to Malcolm Rivers. He is charged with such a heavy crime, that he is about to be executed the next day. His psychiatrist wants to prove that Rivers is not mentally able to be the person to commit the crimes, and he convinced a judge to stand before Rivers and check again to make sure he didn't really commit his crimes. Miles away in a small hotel, a flash flood has brought many strangers together. George, his wife Alice, and his stepson Timmy have pulled into a hotel after an accident injured Alice. The accident had Alice getting hit by limo driver Ed, who hit her while they were changing a tire. Ed is bringing the former famous actress Caroline to wherever she needs to be. They go to the hotel after learning that the roads are flooded, and it turns out that the phones at the hotel do not work because of an accident involving a women named Paris hitting the telephone polls. Two more clusters of people come to the hotel. One is a cop named Rhodes who is bringing a murderer to someplace, and a newlywed couple. All of these people rent rooms in the hotel from Larry, and everything is alright. They agreed to wait until the storm lets up to get help. Everything is going fine until one of the guests die in a brutal way. Everyone is shocked and one by one the guests begin to die, as the remaining people try to figure out who is doing the killing, and who is going to be killed next, while also trying not to be killed, all leading up to a surprising and shocking conclusion.
"Identity" is a great thriller, and it is short enough to never be distracted by it. It seemed like it went very fast, and it only clocked in at around 95 minutes. I was really impressed by the ending, and it's one of those movies where you can't have anybody tell you what happens. It would only ruin the experience for you. Even though some movies with a surprise twist are easy to watch again, like "Matchstick Men" and "Godsend" this is not one of them. This is one of those movies where the twist affects the entire movie. In order not to ruin the movie, watch "Identity" and watch "Matchstick Men" back to back. The entire movie of "Identity" is based on the twist, and without it, it would be a totally different movie. The twist makes the movie better than it really is, even though this is a good movie. It is very entertaining, fun, and it has it share of good acting. Watch it once without anybody interrupting or ruining it for you, and then remember it, because it'll be better if you don't see it again. Leave a fresh image of this movie in your mind.
ENJOY!
Rated R for Strong Violence and Language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fatal flaw, June 26 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Identity (Special Edition) (DVD)
I did enjoy this film, I thought it was sufficiently confusing enough that it left you in suspense yet not so confusing that you give up watching. However, there is one fatal flaw to this movie that I really would have thought they would have bothered to get right - the guy portrayed in the movie doesn't have schizophrenia as everyone has been led to believe - schizophrenia doesn't involve multiple personalities it involves hearing voices of others. What the guy in the film seems to have is Dissociative Identity Disorder(Multiple Pesonality Disorder) where there's more than one distinct personality in the same person.
You'd think that they would have bothered to actually get the disorder right that they're writing a whole movie about. There's enough confusion with mental health disorders without the mass media contributing to it.
Other than that not a bad movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Da Bomb!!!, June 18 2004
This review is from: Identity (Special Edition) (DVD)
This movie is da bomb!!! :D It's a suspense movie that kept me at the edge of my seat. Really good! 1 of my favorites! It's about around 10 strangers checking in a hotel because of a storm that kept them trapped. Everything was going okay...until...1 by 1 dies. The survivors must find out who's the killer before it's too late!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NEW Cusak/liotta/peet - Identity (Blu-ray)
CDN$ 16.02
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews