Customer Reviews


206 Reviews
5 star:
 (151)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film of enourmous proportions that shows the majesty and mystery of our planet
It is hard to find a starting point in reviewing a film series that has set such a high standard of achievement. I frequently found myself pausing, rewinding and replaying multiple segments of each eposide, fascinated with the extent to which these expert filmmakers went to capture such amazing footage. What sets this "nature documentary" apart from all that have come...
Published on July 6 2007 by Torval Mork

versus
205 of 220 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This Version is Missing Content!
A friend of mine showed me this series on DVD. I was so impressed I couldn't wait to purchase the Blu-Ray version and watch it at 1080p resolution. It turns out that not every scene is filmed in high definition, which is understandable given the conditions of some of the filming. What REALLY disappointed me about this version, however, is that much of the content is...
Published on Feb. 12 2008 by R. Koett


‹ Previous | 112 13 1421 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars BBC at it's Finest, Feb. 7 2011
You can't beat a good BBC nature documentary series and this one tops them all. David Attenborough is the best narator (don't go for the Oprah version I beg you)! The visuals are stunning and the diaries at the end of each episode are realy good and show a fascinating insight in to the work, dedication and sacrifice that is given by the film makers to bring us this amazing show (especially the poor guys working on poo mountain). It just takes your breath away and is absolutely fascinating to watch. I recommend this dvd collection to young and old alike and is definitely a great addition to any dvd library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still the standard by which all nature docs should be judged, Jan. 26 2011
By 
John Woodward - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Planet Earth: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
What is there left to say about this astonishing series? Almost four years after its initial release and it's still (arguably) the best nature documentary you'll ever see. The BBC captured some incredible footage in each conceivable environment on our planet from the lush jungles, to deep oceans, to frozen poles, to seasonal forests, to... The world we live in is more amazing than any of us really knows and this set does an unparalleled job capturing that feeling.

As delightful as the footage is, it wouldn't be the same with David Attenborough's narration. All due respect to Sigourney Weaver, but I can't imagine why anyone would want to hear anyone else's voice here. Attenborough weaves a compelling story through each sequence and conveys knowledge of, and passion for, his subject throughout each episode. You couldn't ask for better accompaniment on this remarkable tour of our planet.

Extras
Sadly, the 'Planet Earth Diaries' on the DVD boxed set aren't to be found here. It's truly unfortunate as there's nothing to replace them and a look at how all this incredible footage was captured would've been appreciated. Most people won't know what they're missing, but those thinking of upgrading from the DVDs may want to think twice.

Presentation
Yes, it's been four years and other Blu-Rays have surpassed this as 'the' set to show off your new television but yesterday's 'absolute best' is still today's 'truly spectacular.' Rough filming conditions necessitate a few sequences not being in true 1080p but, for the most part, the colours, contrast, and details all take full advantage of the Blu-Ray format.

Bottom Line
This set is a must have whether you're a fan of nature documentaries or not. Newer programming may shine a little more brightly, but the content here is unsurpassed and still the best way to convince your grandma that your new TV was a good investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT GIFT & EXCELLENT VALUE, Dec 12 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the third time I have purchased this DVD set as a gift. This DVD collection of nature documentaries provides hours of enthralling entertainment and is of high educational value. It doesn't get much better than this. I can't see anyone giving it less than five stars. JK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, Oct. 18 2010
Incredible pictures. The time spent getting these images is staggering but well worth it. I would recommend this series to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best nature show in a long time, Oct. 11 2010
By 
Nicolai Michel (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When I think of the nature shows I used to watch there were many short clips of things like a leopard running behind a gazelle. One of the best things about this series is their use of modern helicopter-mounted camera systems allowing them to film very long action sequences the likes of which I haven't seen before. The show's large budget and the filmmaker's patience and determination also allowed them to get some impressive footage from remote places.
David Attenborough's voice is pleasing, but I think the actual content of his narration could have been better. Watch out as some US versions feature Sigourney Weaver as a narrator, which may or may not be your cup of tea.
This series is one of those rare items that I think justifies High Definition, unforunately the "making of" documentary is missing from the HD versions. You might want to rent that disc because it's revealing to see how the series was made.
Lastly, I have to mention I couldn't help feeling a bit sad while watching the series because at the rate our planet is going down the drain many of these natural wonders will be gone soon. The HD version might be something to keep for your grandchildren so you can show them what your generation wiped out for ever. Perhaps some viewers today will feel compelled to become "greener" after watching this? I hope so...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A few things you should know about 'Planet Earth', July 19 2010
This series has it all - from intimate footage of snow leopards in the wild
To packs of hunting sea snakes, and a tree frog humping his bride.

There's tender shots of polar bears instructing their young ones to hunt,
And birds-of-paradise ritually dancing, with feather-enhancing stunts.

Aerial footage reveals the schemes of a pack of wild hunting dogs;
There's an eerie clash between elephants and lions, at night round an African bog.

Surreal deep-water abysses teem with Lovecraftian vampire squids.
There's a hundred-foot high pile of bat droppings, where millions of cockroaches live.

Each episode features a different terrain, from deserts to freshwater creeks,
And a mini-film at the end of each lets the filmmakers show their techniques.

'Planet Earth' reveals the globe in all its amazing variety,
And none of the footage is CGI - it's all a good dose of reality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and interesting, June 15 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is beautifully shot and very informative. Great for children if you don't mind exposing them to the occasional animal eating other animal scenes! Excellent viewing on blu-ray disc also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great viewing ..., May 12 2010
By 
Awesome viewing! Really enjoy the diaries at the end of each chapter showing how the team captured everything on film - its as entertaining as the actual footage Did notice that there are some repeated scenes on some of the dics but nothing serious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Planet Earth- Its great!, April 2 2010
By 
This review is from: Planet Earth: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
It made me feel tiny and insignificant. Cycle of life is so much more that what I have seen from the city windows. I worry about weed in my lawn, the racoon and skunk visiting my backyard, if my little one may touch something they touched before and so on...

Picture quality is amazing. Some of the shots are mind boggling. Sound quality is a little of a let down especially if one is looking for 5.0ch surround etc. I didn't think about that. The visuals are just astounding, diminishes any other shortcoming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, awesome, awesome!, March 28 2010
By 
S. Humphrey "Sandi" (Ontario, CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Wanted to see this for a long time, but waited until I got myself a big screen. So totally amazing, and very educational. The photography is stunning, and it's neat that at the end of every episode you get a short diary of one of the cameramen to get a true sense of what they had to go through to get just one shot. If you have not seen this, I recommend you do. It was so worth the wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 112 13 1421 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb102a480)

This product

Planet Earth: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] [Import]
Planet Earth: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] [Import] by David Attenborough (Blu-ray - 2007)
CDN$ 124.98 CDN$ 93.66
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews