Customer Reviews


205 Reviews
5 star:
 (150)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film of enourmous proportions that shows the majesty and mystery of our planet
It is hard to find a starting point in reviewing a film series that has set such a high standard of achievement. I frequently found myself pausing, rewinding and replaying multiple segments of each eposide, fascinated with the extent to which these expert filmmakers went to capture such amazing footage. What sets this "nature documentary" apart from all that have come...
Published on July 6 2007 by Torval Mork

versus
205 of 219 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This Version is Missing Content!
A friend of mine showed me this series on DVD. I was so impressed I couldn't wait to purchase the Blu-Ray version and watch it at 1080p resolution. It turns out that not every scene is filmed in high definition, which is understandable given the conditions of some of the filming. What REALLY disappointed me about this version, however, is that much of the content is...
Published on Feb. 12 2008 by R. Koett


‹ Previous | 1 2 321 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Planet Earth the best DVD you can buy this year., May 4 2007
By 
G. Graham "D'yer Mak'er" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First let's clear one thing up it is David Attenborough who narrates this series not Sigourny Weaver

The ultra high speed cameras used for Planet Earth capture footage with such clarity it is unbelievable. The shark footage alone is worth it. The high definition filming is amazing because they can film from so far away you see animals going about their daily lives undisturbed. This DVD should be shown in every school around the world, it would capture the young students attention and show them the beauty of our planet as they have never seen before and show them why we must protect our environment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Planet Earth - A Close Encounter With Perfection, June 28 2007
By 
Patricia Shields "trishardent" (Courtenay, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
We awaited the delivery of this set with great anticipation. We are diehard David Attenborough fans, having watched Blue Planet, The Life of Birds, The Life of Mammals, Ghandi, The Trials of Life and many others. The photography in this series is simply impecable. The images are crisp and clean and put the viewer almost in the lap of the very thing he/she is watching. It's only when the camera is pulled back slowly that we see just how amazing the shots really are. Many of the scenes have never been captured before. Some of the locales have not been open to photographers for the past 25 years. In the case of the Chandalier Cave, the producers of this magnificent series had the last photographers to have access to this fragile environment.

One of the great things about this series is they have a segment right after each 'episode' (there are three per DVD) entitled Diaries. The viewer is given a very personal account from the photographers as to just how difficult it was to get their remarkable shots. It not only highlights the humanity of the photographers and directors but also the dedication they put into their work, and the unbelievable lengths to which they will go in order to achieve it. More often than not it is done at great physical expense as they put themselves in harm's way.

We've been avid wildlife watchers and many of the scenes within this set have never been captured and viewed before. The flow of each 'episode' is remarkable. Attenborough comes through again as he narrates each segment with dignity and aplomb. We highly recommend this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, Feb. 1 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great product. I mean GREAT. It looks cool, it's educational and in HD. What more could you ask for? Not to mention the wonderful David Attenborough narrates it! The show really teaches you a lot while keeping you entertained. The picture looks great and the product came fast with no problems. I highly recommend this great boxset!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Planet Earth: The Complete Series, Jan. 10 2012
This set of DVDs is an excellent resource for the first unit of BC Grade 10 Science (Canada). It covers several biomes/ecosystems in good detail, suitable for many aspects covered in the course:eg characteristic animal and plant life as well as their special and specific adaptations. Students find some of the animal behaviours humorous and the superb photography and commentary are further excellent aids in keeping their attention. If you teach Grade 10 Science in BC Canada, make sure your Science faculty gets a set!
The series is not at all technical and everyone will enjoy them, whether they are Science students or not - great to have a set at home - kids and adults of all ages will love them...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, May 14 2007
By 
B. Martin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Try to imagine 5 DVD's of AMAZING stuff from around the world that has never been filmed before. This is the most comprehensive documentary I have ever seen. The quality of the cinematography is top notch. I was truly inspired by it. A very engaging and tremendous learning experience for ALL ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Planet Earth The Complete Series - Limited Edition - [Blu Ray], Sept. 24 2011
This is NOT the same as the one that came out years ago on blu ray.

On the first release there was 4 25GB disks.
On this one, there is 6 50GB disks.

this one also contains all the extra features that were on the original dvd release plus some more.

if your like me and wanted to own planet earth on blu, but was verry dissapointed because the blu ray didnt contain the making of footage that was on the dvds, then this is the set for you. the only bad thing is i am not really a fan of the cardboard sleevs that the blu rays are stuck in. but the globe looks amazing and is going to look beautiful next to all my other blu rays :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, April 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A beautiful documentary that shows many of the astonishing faces of our planet and Mother Nature. Very interesting to see the adventures of the team and all the challenges they faced to give us this fantastic gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, April 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Awesome show's. Great quality on a good tv. BBC is the top dog when it comes to filming the world and all it's wonders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Scenery, March 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
we loved this series. From my young kids to adults, we were all taken in by the beauty and storyline of the animals. Beautiful scenery! Very well done. Also well narrated by David Attenborough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Series about Nature, Feb. 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Planet Earth: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
Planet Earth is the best movie of nature I have ever seen in my life. I recommend it to all movie watchers, especially for families with kids. I played it for my son even he is a grown-up man already. He finished it in one day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 321 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb003b06c)

This product

Planet Earth: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] [Import]
Planet Earth: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] [Import] by David Attenborough (Blu-ray - 2007)
CDN$ 124.98 CDN$ 93.66
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews