march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage SmartSaver Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars63
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 13, 2004
This was the first Lucio Fulci film I've had the pleasure of viewing! I look forward to seeing his other works! The House by the Cemetery hits on all points of a horror movie! It's creepy, eerie and has some awesome killing scenes and GORE!! They don't call Lucio "The godfather of gore" for nothing! The acting? Well, sub-par at best. Plot? Interesting, but not deep. The dubbing well it's pretty bad but who cares it's a great horror film.
The Boyle family move from their cramped New York apartment into an old mansion near Boston so that the father can do some needed research. The new tenants, unbeknownst to them, have a god awful secret living in their basement. A certain Dr. Freudstein has been housed below since 1879 and has kept himself alive by murdering inhabitants of the mansion and using their cells to keep his body going. Gore, horror, and great special effects makes a visit to the House by the Cemetery a killer stay! A knife through the skull, nice throat ripping and slashing, decapatation, and some maggot spewing make for a "pleasurable" movie for the avid horror fan.
We all know horror movies aren't supposed to be deep with Academy Award winning acting. If we wanted that we wouldn't be watching this type of film. I can't compare this film to Fulci's other works because I haven't seen any others, but to me this was impressive and one I would recommend to fans of the genre!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2001
Do yourself a favor & buy the 7.99 edition, it's letterboxed, good picture & sound, Don't waste your money & pay over (...) bucks for this hilarious-trying to be scary-movie. If you a lover of bad movies this is a must have. Not scary @ all (the bat scene was very funny) ok gore effects. What u have to do is get a bunch of friends over, pop in this dvd & let the laughs begin. The reason this movie is so funny is the dubbing & dialog. The little boy is hysterical("mommy bring me back some can-dy!) it's just has to be heard to be believed ("damned tombstone")The little boy looks like the love child of Angelina Jolie & Ann Jillian, I still think it is a little girl. Don't believe any reviewer who tells you this movie is scary, it should be listed as a comedy but like I said earlier it's well worth the money if you are a lover of really BAD movies. give this a try it will make you smile.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2001
Let's start by saying I am a huge fan of City of the Living Dead and the Beyond. So even thought I have never seen this movie, I bought it...mistake. This does not have a fraction of the atmosphere as the for mentioned films. And while I don't mind the thing we overlook in a Fulci movie (lack of concrete plot, bad acting, awful dubbing) where was the monster(s)? It's like watching a Godzilla movie where the monsters are only in the last five minutes of the film after watching an hour and a half of nonsense! And the DVD.... While the print is clean I have to say that Anchor Bay's job is a shadow of what they did on the films I mention above. The sound is 2.0! I was going to pre-order Anchor Bay's Demons/Demons 2, but after the job they did on this...no way.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2001
This movie is a hodgepodge, a gangly monster that ole Dr. Frankenstein would be proud of. It has a great score, good atmosphere and some great scares. However, the script feels like it was thrown together, failing to bring all of the usually bizarre Fulci elements together. Admittedly, Fulci's other films, such as THE BEYOND, CITY OF THE LIVING DEAD, and ZOMBIE, are wild and wooly but, at least the made sense in their own way. This one doesn't. You could drive a cement truck through some of the plot holes. The viewer is left abandoned in a maze of strange but ultimately empty and meaningless situations with no clue as to what to make of it all. It's sad that Fulci's finest period had to end on this sour note.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2007
I honestly love this film to bits.
Yes, the acting sucks.
Yes, there is more gore than plot.
Yes, there is an extremely annoying kid in it.

But because of all that, this film is extemely enjoyable. Plus the score is fantastic, and Dr. Freudstein is awesome.

TAYLAHFILTH

(p.s...I loved Bob)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2003
this movie is wack. i like zombie movies with people coming back from the dead and i just looked at the title and it said house by the cemetery so i figured thats what it was. So i rented it and watched it and found out that it was about a retard with a bag over his head locked in a basement trying to kill people. I've definitely seen worse tho, and the reason i probly thought it was so bad was because it wasn't what i had expected. Either way, i've never made an attempt to rent or recommend this movie to anyone else and i suggest you do the same. Im out
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2011
Is The First Time That I See a Movie Directed for Lucio Fulci and Let Me Tell You.....:-"He Is a Genius!", All The Time You Want To See More and More and More and In Some Of the Scenes You get so Amazed that In My Case I Just Rewind It to See the Details Again and Again. Also Is My 7th Movie from Blue Underground and the 7th as well that I Enjoy a Lot From Them. If You Like Classic Cult Horror and Thrill from The 80's I Recommend This Movie In Your Collection not Just for The Script or The Director but also for the Transfer in Blu-Ray, Is a Very Good Transfer.

Thank You For Reading My Review.

REGARDS

Paulo JC
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2003
this movie is wack. i like zombie movies with people coming back from the dead and i just looked at the title and it said house by the cemetery so i figured thats what it was. So i rented it and watched it and found out that it was about a [man] with a bag over his head locked in a basement trying to kill people. I've definitely seen worse tho, and the reason i probly thought it was so bad was because it wasn't what i had expected. Either way, i've never made an attempt to rent or recommend this movie to anyone else and i suggest you do the same. Im out
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2003
this movie is sooo bad. easily the worst fulci movie,uwantagood fulci movie see zombie or city of the living dead or the beyond but dont ever see this. the only way i would give this movie a higher rating was if they theykilled that little blonde kid the first scene he was in. he might have the most annoying voices ever put on film plus its horribly dubbed so its just multiplied. i can usually get past all the bad qualities in lucio fulci movies because they usually do have a creepy atmosphere and they got classic gore scenes but this 1 has nuthin.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2004
The great thing about Lucio Fulci movies on DVD is that you can skip right to the gore without the annoying need to fast forward or rewind those worn out ol' vhs tapes found at your local video store. I assume that if you're searching this movie on amazon, you know about Fulci or you've heard about him from one of your horror-movie buddies and you want to know what all the fuss is about.
Let me fill you in. House by the Cemetary is not Fulci's goriest movie, but it is his most atmospherically directed. Don't get me wrong, there is some good gore, but if you haven't ever seen a Fulci movie before and want to know what all the goreheads are raving about, start with Zombie, The Beyond, or even City of the Living Dead. House by the Cemetary is a good second or third Fulci movie to check out if you dig him.
The plot (as if you care) is this: a family moves into a house by a cemetary (who'd a thunk it!) though the cemetary really never comes into play in the movie. Go figure. The son of the family keeps seeing a red-haired little girl who warns him of imminent danger. The house is full of giant bats and weird noises, and a killer lurks in the basement. Blah. Blah. Blah.
Here's the rundown on the gore (yep, I knew this was what you were really interested in): first scene of the movie, a young woman is stabbed in the head. Later on, another woman is impaled by some kind of metal pole. Cue the capitation. A throat gets ripped out. A bat gets knived in gooey fashion. This, more or less, is the extent of it. For a Fulci film, this is pretty conservative.
Despite his penchant for gore, Fulci has a nice creepy vibe flowing through HBTC, starting early on with the image of the girl standing by a window in an old picture. The woods and tombstones around the house add a nice air of eerie atmosphere. The performances are ok, but the dubbing for the blonde kid is ridiculously annoying.
Some of you may wonder what the deal is with Fulci. For instance, ine one scene Fulci implies that something is going on between the father of the family and the new nanny by cutting between their two eyes peering at one another; however, nothing SEEMS to be going on between them. These sort of weird "what's this all about" camera tricks and moments pop up through the film, but remember this is a Fulci flick. Weirdness is the order of the day, and forget about it.
Despite himself, Fulci has a nice nightmarish quality to his work that, no matter how silly it seems, can seep into your dreams.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$38.41