summer boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars63
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 13, 2004
This was the first Lucio Fulci film I've had the pleasure of viewing! I look forward to seeing his other works! The House by the Cemetery hits on all points of a horror movie! It's creepy, eerie and has some awesome killing scenes and GORE!! They don't call Lucio "The godfather of gore" for nothing! The acting? Well, sub-par at best. Plot? Interesting, but not deep. The dubbing well it's pretty bad but who cares it's a great horror film.
The Boyle family move from their cramped New York apartment into an old mansion near Boston so that the father can do some needed research. The new tenants, unbeknownst to them, have a god awful secret living in their basement. A certain Dr. Freudstein has been housed below since 1879 and has kept himself alive by murdering inhabitants of the mansion and using their cells to keep his body going. Gore, horror, and great special effects makes a visit to the House by the Cemetery a killer stay! A knife through the skull, nice throat ripping and slashing, decapatation, and some maggot spewing make for a "pleasurable" movie for the avid horror fan.
We all know horror movies aren't supposed to be deep with Academy Award winning acting. If we wanted that we wouldn't be watching this type of film. I can't compare this film to Fulci's other works because I haven't seen any others, but to me this was impressive and one I would recommend to fans of the genre!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2007
I honestly love this film to bits.
Yes, the acting sucks.
Yes, there is more gore than plot.
Yes, there is an extremely annoying kid in it.

But because of all that, this film is extemely enjoyable. Plus the score is fantastic, and Dr. Freudstein is awesome.

TAYLAHFILTH

(p.s...I loved Bob)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2001
Do yourself a favor & buy the 7.99 edition, it's letterboxed, good picture & sound, Don't waste your money & pay over (...) bucks for this hilarious-trying to be scary-movie. If you a lover of bad movies this is a must have. Not scary @ all (the bat scene was very funny) ok gore effects. What u have to do is get a bunch of friends over, pop in this dvd & let the laughs begin. The reason this movie is so funny is the dubbing & dialog. The little boy is hysterical("mommy bring me back some can-dy!) it's just has to be heard to be believed ("damned tombstone")The little boy looks like the love child of Angelina Jolie & Ann Jillian, I still think it is a little girl. Don't believe any reviewer who tells you this movie is scary, it should be listed as a comedy but like I said earlier it's well worth the money if you are a lover of really BAD movies. give this a try it will make you smile.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon November 9, 2003
Typical gory Fulci fare about a young family who settles into a creepy, run down house that comes complete with cobwebs, killer bats and a beast in the cellar. The lovely Catriona MacColl returns and gives (as usual) a very good performance. The child actor in the film is adorable but whatever cuteness he possesses goes right out the window because he becomes increasingly irritating as the film moves along thanks largely to the horrible dubbing. It sounds like adults were used to dub the children's voices and the end result is extremely annoying.

Before I mention the gore/violence, I do want to point out that the film's score, at times, is beautiful. Many scenes in the film are enhanced by the melodic yet eerie score such as the scene in the beginning, after the opening gore sequence, when a seemingly lost child looks out from her house's front window and her image is frozen on screen as the main child actor contemplates her frozen image in an old photograph. The brief scene is rather poignant and poignant is not a word I use to describe a Fulci film, yet the music is the star of that particular scene.

Despite the poignant moment described and the repulsive gore that is on display, "The House by the Cemetery" is one Fulci's slowest moving pictures. It opens with a couple of brutal slaying's but you'll have to wait at least another 30 minutes before another life is extinguished so those who are expecting a fast paced slasher film need to remember that this film moves at it's own pace. However, during it's few key moments, it delivers the gore in abundance and Fulci, as expected, leaves nothing to the imagination. There are head stabbings, throat-ripping's, and one of the most disturbing scenes involves a gorgeous actress loosing her head. What disturbed me about this movie was how well done many of these gore sequences were especially when the films obvious low budget is taken into consideration. For a moment there, it had me questioning my morals as a human being. Why do I like seeing innocent people suffer like this on screen? Why do I enjoy seeing innocent people being savagely carved up & slaughtered? I honestly can't answer these questions. I watch horror movies not because I enjoy watching horrible things happen to good people but mostly for the shock and the adrenaline pump that is sometimes felt when something unexpected or revolting is put on for your display. Whatever the reasons may be for enjoying the genre, this film did leave me with a very uncomfortable feeling after viewing it.

So please keep this in mind, if you can stomach the repulsiveness of these films, you should find "House by the Cemetery" interesting viewing and the three star rating I gave the film is solely for those who like this sort of morbid unpleasantness. All others, avoid at all costs. You will do yourself a dis-service by viewing these types of films.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2001
Let's start by saying I am a huge fan of City of the Living Dead and the Beyond. So even thought I have never seen this movie, I bought it...mistake. This does not have a fraction of the atmosphere as the for mentioned films. And while I don't mind the thing we overlook in a Fulci movie (lack of concrete plot, bad acting, awful dubbing) where was the monster(s)? It's like watching a Godzilla movie where the monsters are only in the last five minutes of the film after watching an hour and a half of nonsense! And the DVD.... While the print is clean I have to say that Anchor Bay's job is a shadow of what they did on the films I mention above. The sound is 2.0! I was going to pre-order Anchor Bay's Demons/Demons 2, but after the job they did on this...no way.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2001
This movie is a hodgepodge, a gangly monster that ole Dr. Frankenstein would be proud of. It has a great score, good atmosphere and some great scares. However, the script feels like it was thrown together, failing to bring all of the usually bizarre Fulci elements together. Admittedly, Fulci's other films, such as THE BEYOND, CITY OF THE LIVING DEAD, and ZOMBIE, are wild and wooly but, at least the made sense in their own way. This one doesn't. You could drive a cement truck through some of the plot holes. The viewer is left abandoned in a maze of strange but ultimately empty and meaningless situations with no clue as to what to make of it all. It's sad that Fulci's finest period had to end on this sour note.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2003
this movie is wack. i like zombie movies with people coming back from the dead and i just looked at the title and it said house by the cemetery so i figured thats what it was. So i rented it and watched it and found out that it was about a retard with a bag over his head locked in a basement trying to kill people. I've definitely seen worse tho, and the reason i probly thought it was so bad was because it wasn't what i had expected. Either way, i've never made an attempt to rent or recommend this movie to anyone else and i suggest you do the same. Im out
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2011
Is The First Time That I See a Movie Directed for Lucio Fulci and Let Me Tell You.....:-"He Is a Genius!", All The Time You Want To See More and More and More and In Some Of the Scenes You get so Amazed that In My Case I Just Rewind It to See the Details Again and Again. Also Is My 7th Movie from Blue Underground and the 7th as well that I Enjoy a Lot From Them. If You Like Classic Cult Horror and Thrill from The 80's I Recommend This Movie In Your Collection not Just for The Script or The Director but also for the Transfer in Blu-Ray, Is a Very Good Transfer.

Thank You For Reading My Review.

REGARDS

Paulo JC
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2002
If you like your horror flicks with a certain level of well-done special effects gore but aren't terribly concerned about whether the story hangs together well, then this is a film for you.
One part haunted house movie, one part slasher flick, and with a dash of mad science thrown in out of left field for good measure, "The House by the Cemetary" exhibits all the strength and weaknesses that were the hallmarks of Italian horror movie makers in the Seventies and Eighties; the gore is appropriately disgusting--although the highmark in this film is definately the maggot-infested insides of the film's monster!--but there are characters who behave inconsistently or incomprehsibly and the script writers seem more concerned with getting from plot contrievance to plot contrievance, or providing excuses for the special efffects crew to go to work than they are with providing a story that hands together sensibly by the time the End Credits roll.
The basic storyline involves a researcher who moves with his family to Boston to complete the work started by a collegue who committed suicide. Through a flurry of coincidences (or Fate, or maybe the researcher's specific manipulation, take your pick), they end up in a creepy house that is tied to the subject of the research. Ghosts, unkillable bats, and weird murders then drive the young family toward doom.
If you go into watching this movie knowing what to expect, you'll find the time well spent. While I am frustrated with the unclear reasons for the behavior of the creepy babysitter and other continuity and story elements that strike false notes even if you're not thinking too hard while watching, it's nothing worse than what is to be expected in a movie from this vintage and "vinyard."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2003
this movie is wack. i like zombie movies with people coming back from the dead and i just looked at the title and it said house by the cemetery so i figured thats what it was. So i rented it and watched it and found out that it was about a [man] with a bag over his head locked in a basement trying to kill people. I've definitely seen worse tho, and the reason i probly thought it was so bad was because it wasn't what i had expected. Either way, i've never made an attempt to rent or recommend this movie to anyone else and i suggest you do the same. Im out
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$34.36
$12.82