Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucio Fulci Is a Genius!
Is The First Time That I See a Movie Directed for Lucio Fulci and Let Me Tell You.....:-"He Is a Genius!", All The Time You Want To See More and More and More and In Some Of the Scenes You get so Amazed that In My Case I Just Rewind It to See the Details Again and Again. Also Is My 7th Movie from Blue Underground and the 7th as well that I Enjoy a Lot From Them. If You...
Published on Nov. 7 2011 by PAULO

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For Fulci Fans Only
House by the cemetery is not a solid horror film by all means, and really will end up only on the shelves of Fulci or Italian Exploitation Devotees (most likely one and the same) such as myself. The casual horror-goer has much to be put off by, which I will get into in a moment.
First, I feel I should summarize a bit on the best period of Fucli's filmmaking, which...
Published on Jan. 19 2004 by Matthew Mclaughlin


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucio Fulci Is a Genius!, Nov. 7 2011
Is The First Time That I See a Movie Directed for Lucio Fulci and Let Me Tell You.....:-"He Is a Genius!", All The Time You Want To See More and More and More and In Some Of the Scenes You get so Amazed that In My Case I Just Rewind It to See the Details Again and Again. Also Is My 7th Movie from Blue Underground and the 7th as well that I Enjoy a Lot From Them. If You Like Classic Cult Horror and Thrill from The 80's I Recommend This Movie In Your Collection not Just for The Script or The Director but also for the Transfer in Blu-Ray, Is a Very Good Transfer.

Thank You For Reading My Review.

REGARDS

Paulo JC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More Fulci junk, April 14 2004
By 
Vagabond77 (Tennessee, USA) - See all my reviews
The Boyle family, father/doctor Norman, soccor mom Lucy, and 7 year old Bob (what a name for a kid, huh), are moving from New York City to the Boston suburbs so Dr. Dad can do some scientific reaserch. They move into a house with a strange history (is there any other kind?). Appearently one Dr. Fruedstein (almost sounds like Frankenstein, right?) used to run weird experiments in the basement some fifty years ago. Now people start dying very (VERY) bloody deaths. The movie never makes a lot of sense. For example, what is that thing in the basement? Is it one of Fruedstein's zombies? Is it Fruedstein himself? Or something else entirely? My theory is it's the doctor. Also the boy having an imaginary friend that warns Bob of danger is way too "Shinning"ish. The ending is horrid, it dosn't end so much as stops. Also I really have no idea what happened at the end. It is that dense. The editing is horribly obvious and ubtrusive; not so much like an eye blink but having your jerked into the next scene. You'd think they edited the film with an axe. But that is the Fulci touch, it's in all his movies. The acting is terrible, but it's hard to blame the actors on that one, it was dubbed from Italian to English. But the diologue is terrible. There is only one saving grace here, it is the gore. Gino De Rossi is the Italian Tom Savaini. If he could pare the effects with some good movies, he would be excellent. The Italian gore makes the American gore look like Disney. There are eye violence are cringing; there are also super bloody stabings and shootings. It's a gore hounds delight, assuming the viewer can overlook the horrid story and editing, and nonscense narritive. All in all, I would avoid this movie, unless it comes on cable somewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another Name For This Film, April 2 2004
By A Customer
This isn't a review of sorts. Just to tell people who might not know there is another name for this movie its called ZOMBIE HELL HOUSE. I found this on a 4 movie zombie disc set which i picked up for under $10. Its put out by brentwood home video. Thought I would share this with everyone intersted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For Fulci Fans Only, Jan. 19 2004
By 
Matthew Mclaughlin (locustville) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
House by the cemetery is not a solid horror film by all means, and really will end up only on the shelves of Fulci or Italian Exploitation Devotees (most likely one and the same) such as myself. The casual horror-goer has much to be put off by, which I will get into in a moment.
First, I feel I should summarize a bit on the best period of Fucli's filmmaking, which spanned Zombi 2 to House by the Cemetery. Zombi 2 starts the 'series' off with a bang, delivering shocks and style and the best zombies ever to appear on celluloid (fx maestro Giannetto Di Rossi never even topped himself). The film was a more traditional zombie film in the sense that it took place in the Carribean and keeps with the feel, if not the facts, of vodun zombies. The second film, which is the first of his 'zombie trilogy', was City of the Living Dead. Here, Fulci shifts gears from the table he set in Zombi 2 and starts a series that is more united and share several character traits. The Gates of Hell have opened and the dead have begun to walk the earth. The story is scattered, as Fulci is just beginning to master the themes he would use so well in the Beyond, a dream-like masterpiece. Another Gate opens, and strange occurances, culminating with a zombie invasion, centre around an old hotel which was the site of an execution of a warlock many years earlier. Fulci's last Date with the Dead in the series was House by the Cemetery.
The film starts off with a rousing opening sequence, preparing the viewer for an onslaught that never arrives until almost 85 minutes later. While most of the previous films mentioned have little narrative structure and make barely an ounce of sense, there is even less to be found here. Yet before, where Fulci made up for this with stylish set pieces and mayhem, outside of the opening and the finale, there is little to keep your attention. The plot is nonexistent, as are the characters, and many 'surreal' sequences are plain absurd. The entire middle of the movie is non-stop talking head, during which nothing gets explained anyway, with only a few moments of the good stuff.
The casual horror fan (ie, the one that thought House of 1000 Corpses was the be all end all) will be chased away by the atrocious dubbing, though common with our beloved Italian Flicks, seems particularly bad here, most likely due to the boy cast as Bob, who seems as out of place as the man-child in Burial Ground. He appears almost too foreign...I can't quite place it. Italian Splatter fans will find the redeeming values, and Fulci fans will enjoy it as the last film in a great run.
In short, first-time Fulci viewers are safer to start with Zombi 2 and then peek at the Beyond. This and City of the Living Dead are most likely for the veterans to appreciate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Made quick and cheap. Fulci could have done better!!!, Dec 31 2003
By 
OverTheMoon (overthemoonreview@hotmail.com) - See all my reviews
This is somewhere between ultra-bad and barely passable.
Lucio Fulci is known as a "hit or miss" director. Out of his fifty plus works some are great, others are outstanding, some are mediocre and the remaining, pure rubbish. Unfortunately this is one of Fulci's pure rubbish ones that is further spoiled immensely by Anchor Bay Entertainment's display cover of the secret monster than this film builds up too. Normally Anchor Bay is quite good and their DVD sets are super but this one has pretty much broken the golden rule of not giving certain things away on the sleeve - Bah!
Anyway the film itself is pure rubbish from start to finish and is about a family that move into a haunted house with a sinister presence at work, killing people off. The family try to figure out what is going on and their kid is having visions of a ghost that is trying to warn them of some danger. There is also a subplot involving a strange doctor that once lived in the house and who conducted experiments into prolonging life. Sounds good, but the execution is poor, slow and never really satisfying except for the ending which is not all that bad and helps earn it that one star.
In short, Fulci churned this one out quickly and for the money. He made several other films that same year. If Fulci had given this film a bit more of his precious time and attention we would have had an ace picture on our hands - a five star horror, but It feels rushed and contrived and much of the story is slow with lots of meaningless time filler stuff. In fact, and I hate to say it!, this horror film is one that deserves a remake... but no one can be blamed for that except Fulci who could have done it so much better instead of cashing in on the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars CRAP MOVIE...i wasted my $5.99 on buying this turd, Dec 27 2003
By 
If i could take the 1 star out of 5 of my rating,i would do it,but i cant.
Cutting to the chase.
Worst horror movie of all time.
I prefer watching the TV episodes of goosebumps with my kids, then buying that fulci fart.
U been warned
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ain't The Beyond, but tries to be, Dec 1 2003
House by the Cemetery (Lucio Fulci, 1981)
One wonders, idly, why it is that Fulci felt the need to make (essentially) the same movie twice in one year. While House by the Cemetery is set in Boston, the family configuration is different, and the long-leggetie beastie is a different sort of thing, House by the Cemetery might as well have been outtakes from the superior The Beyond. Just to add to the similarity, Fulci cast Catriona MacColl as the female lead in both.
Just in case you've never seen The Beyond, the story: family (in this case, family has kid) moves into eerie house. Strange things start happening, most of which involve a lot of blood. Family members uncover long-buried secret that is the key to understanding the nastiness, but by that time, it's pretty much too late for the knowledge to actually help anyone, and we end up with a long, bloody climax.
I can't quite put my finger on why, of the two films, The Beyond seems like the superior product. The acting quality is about equal, the set decoration is similar, the plot makes all the appropriate twists and turns (and some of them are unpredictable), the cinematography is appropriately dark and brooding where it needs to be without going over the line into David Fincher-like claustrophobia. I guess it's because House by the Cemetery doesn't have the gratuitous spider scene The Beyond has (and let's not forget Maria Marsala's memorable turn in The Beyond, either, a parallel of which House by the Cemetery lacks).
It's good bloody Fulci fun, and a fine way to kill (with a large axe, of course) an hour and a half. But The Beyond edges it on the rewatchability factor. ***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For Euro/Italian Horror Fans Only. Others Beware., Nov. 9 2003
By 
E. Valero "Eterno" (Woodbridge, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Typical gory Fulci fare about a young family who settles into a creepy, run down house that comes complete with cobwebs, killer bats and a beast in the cellar. The lovely Catriona MacColl returns and gives (as usual) a very good performance. The child actor in the film is adorable but whatever cuteness he possesses goes right out the window because he becomes increasingly irritating as the film moves along thanks largely to the horrible dubbing. It sounds like adults were used to dub the children's voices and the end result is extremely annoying.

Before I mention the gore/violence, I do want to point out that the film's score, at times, is beautiful. Many scenes in the film are enhanced by the melodic yet eerie score such as the scene in the beginning, after the opening gore sequence, when a seemingly lost child looks out from her house's front window and her image is frozen on screen as the main child actor contemplates her frozen image in an old photograph. The brief scene is rather poignant and poignant is not a word I use to describe a Fulci film, yet the music is the star of that particular scene.

Despite the poignant moment described and the repulsive gore that is on display, "The House by the Cemetery" is one Fulci's slowest moving pictures. It opens with a couple of brutal slaying's but you'll have to wait at least another 30 minutes before another life is extinguished so those who are expecting a fast paced slasher film need to remember that this film moves at it's own pace. However, during it's few key moments, it delivers the gore in abundance and Fulci, as expected, leaves nothing to the imagination. There are head stabbings, throat-ripping's, and one of the most disturbing scenes involves a gorgeous actress loosing her head. What disturbed me about this movie was how well done many of these gore sequences were especially when the films obvious low budget is taken into consideration. For a moment there, it had me questioning my morals as a human being. Why do I like seeing innocent people suffer like this on screen? Why do I enjoy seeing innocent people being savagely carved up & slaughtered? I honestly can't answer these questions. I watch horror movies not because I enjoy watching horrible things happen to good people but mostly for the shock and the adrenaline pump that is sometimes felt when something unexpected or revolting is put on for your display. Whatever the reasons may be for enjoying the genre, this film did leave me with a very uncomfortable feeling after viewing it.

So please keep this in mind, if you can stomach the repulsiveness of these films, you should find "House by the Cemetery" interesting viewing and the three star rating I gave the film is solely for those who like this sort of morbid unpleasantness. All others, avoid at all costs. You will do yourself a dis-service by viewing these types of films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wack, Aug. 22 2003
By 
Benjamin Kroell (Cincinnati, Ohio) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House By the Cemetary (VHS Tape)
this movie is wack. i like zombie movies with people coming back from the dead and i just looked at the title and it said house by the cemetery so i figured thats what it was. So i rented it and watched it and found out that it was about a [man] with a bag over his head locked in a basement trying to kill people. I've definitely seen worse tho, and the reason i probly thought it was so bad was because it wasn't what i had expected. Either way, i've never made an attempt to rent or recommend this movie to anyone else and i suggest you do the same. Im out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wack, Aug. 22 2003
By 
Benjamin Kroell (Cincinnati, Ohio) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House By the Cemetary (VHS Tape)
this movie is wack. i like zombie movies with people coming back from the dead and i just looked at the title and it said house by the cemetery so i figured thats what it was. So i rented it and watched it and found out that it was about a retard with a bag over his head locked in a basement trying to kill people. I've definitely seen worse tho, and the reason i probly thought it was so bad was because it wasn't what i had expected. Either way, i've never made an attempt to rent or recommend this movie to anyone else and i suggest you do the same. Im out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

House By the Cemetery
House By the Cemetery by DVD (DVD - 2007)
CDN$ 19.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews