Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reliable no-frills alarm clock
Pros:
-Uses an internal button battery to back up the time in case of power outs, which should last quite a long time
-Decent AM/FM reception and sound quality
-You'd think this is trivial, but the fact that it has a 'Daylight Savings Time' button to move 1 hour forward/back is a plus; you'll only use this twice a year but it's something every clock should...
Published on April 15 2012 by MorleyC

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars CAME QUICKLY BUT....
NUMBERS ARE TOO SMALL AND CAN'T SEE THE GREEN WHEN IT GETS LIGHT OUT EVEN A LITTLE BIT.
NOT ADVERTISED CORRECTLY.....
Published 3 months ago by Donna C. McMillan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reliable no-frills alarm clock, April 15 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony ICF-C218 Automatic Time Set Clock Radio (Black) (Electronics)
Pros:
-Uses an internal button battery to back up the time in case of power outs, which should last quite a long time
-Decent AM/FM reception and sound quality
-You'd think this is trivial, but the fact that it has a 'Daylight Savings Time' button to move 1 hour forward/back is a plus; you'll only use this twice a year but it's something every clock should have

Interesting:
-Clock shipped with time pre-set for the EST time zone; I imagine this may require adjustment depending on which time zone you live in, but it was a nice touch

Cons:
-Display is not dimmable: while the display is reasonably dim on its own, depending on how much light pollution you're used to this may or may not be too bright for you since green light shows up very well at night. I don't have trouble falling asleep with the clock next to me but your mileage may vary. Interestingly the next model up, the ICF-C318, can dim the display.

Overall it's easy to use, good value for the price, and so far reliable. Other than that there's not much to say, it's an alarm clock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Product, Feb. 7 2012
This review is from: Sony ICF-C218 Automatic Time Set Clock Radio (Black) (Electronics)
I like this alarm clock. I can work it without reading any instructions, which is my test for user friendliness.
Only downside is rather tinny sounding radio and limited FM range. However, overall it's a good buy - self-resetting time function is very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars CAME QUICKLY BUT...., June 8 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony ICF-C218 Automatic Time Set Clock Radio (Black) (Electronics)
NUMBERS ARE TOO SMALL AND CAN'T SEE THE GREEN WHEN IT GETS LIGHT OUT EVEN A LITTLE BIT.
NOT ADVERTISED CORRECTLY.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it's supposed to do., Sept. 19 2014
By 
Robert D. Froese (Portage la Prairie, Manitoba Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony ICF-C218 Automatic Time Set Clock Radio (Black) (Electronics)
I really like the fact that as soon as I turn the alarm off in the morning [by pushing down on the slightly depressed/dished button] the alarm is reset for the next morning - I do not have to make sure it's on again when I go back to bed in the evening.
The alarm time is really easy to set and that button is easy to find in the dark. Had for several years now and no complaints. Even takes a fall of the table well.
Loss of one star for stiff cabling and lack of dimmer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony ICF-C218 Automatic Time Set Clock Radio (Black) (Electronics)
I like this clock however the 2032 battery needed replacing when I received it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Must read the Manual to setup., May 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony ICF-C218 Automatic Time Set Clock Radio (Black) (Electronics)
Not very intuitive but it works well.

-No dimmer option for the led display, it cast some green light that could keep a light sleeper awake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Serves the purpose, Feb. 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony ICF-C218 Automatic Time Set Clock Radio (Black) (Electronics)
I bought it for my son so he can open just one eye and see the time :) he hates sound alarms and prefers me instead but wants to see the time also. He also likes the green lit digits more than evil looking red ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great little alarm clock, Feb. 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony ICF-C218 Automatic Time Set Clock Radio (Black) (Electronics)
Great alarm clock, love the easy operation with automatic time set up. Alarm very easy to set, numbers nice and big to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars clock radio for dummies, Feb. 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony ICF-C218 Automatic Time Set Clock Radio (Black) (Electronics)
i luv this clock ...only one button you ever need to touch........the time zone button........even after unplugging the radio one day by mistake......was again perfect time when i plugged it back in......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sony clock, Jan. 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony ICF-C218 Automatic Time Set Clock Radio (Black) (Electronics)
This is a Great product! This product is a Great value! Product is as described. I would recommend this Sony clock radio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews