Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE GREATEST MOVIES EVER MADE!
This has got to be one of the greatest films ever. The story, the plot, the acting is just amazing. Al Pacino is an original in this film. Once you watch it once, you will want to watch it over and over again. Great movie to watch on a hot weekend, summer afternoon.
Published on July 14 2004 by J. Worth

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars +1/2
"Dog Day Afternoon" is the true story of Sonny and Sal, two first-time bank robbers whose failed hold-up suddenly becomes a massive media event and hostage situation. These men, both veterans of the Vietnam War and open homosexuals (though not extrafilially involved), must face a war zone of life-threatening obstacles in their spontaneous decision to flee the...
Published on July 4 2004 by Gordon Ehrensing


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE GREATEST MOVIES EVER MADE!, July 14 2004
This has got to be one of the greatest films ever. The story, the plot, the acting is just amazing. Al Pacino is an original in this film. Once you watch it once, you will want to watch it over and over again. Great movie to watch on a hot weekend, summer afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sometimes Overlooked Pacino Classic, Aug. 17 2012
Best actor doing some of his best acting. The quality of the DVD is superb, I don't know why others complained. Audio blared ATTICA and sound mix sounded fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never attempt a robbery with someone who thinks Wyoming is a country, Feb. 29 2012
By 
Steven Aldersley (Oshawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dog Day Afternoon [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Dog Day Afternoon (1975)
Crime, Drama, 125 minutes
Directed by Sidney Lumet
Starring Al Pacino, John Cazale and Charles Durning

Al Pacino is one of the best actors of his generation and has given us many memorable characters, from Michael Corleone in The Godfather trilogy to his Oscar-winning portrayal of Frank Slade in Scent of a Woman. But if I had to pick my favorite character, it would be Sonny Wortzik. So, as the snow falls in Ontario, I decided to escape to the dog days of Brooklyn in the 1970s.

Pacino's performance was so full of energy. He switched from ranting like maniac to moments of quiet reflection. He appeared dangerous when required, but showed that he cared about the plight of his hostages a moment later. In fact, most of his hostages ended up rooting for him to succeed in his attempt to rob their bank. Heist movies are something I enjoy when they are executed well, and this would top my list. What's interesting is the reason Sonny attempts the robbery at all, but I won't reveal that here. It was certainly controversial back in 1975.

Sidney Lumet was responsible for the first entry on this list; 12 Angry Men. With Dog Day Afternoon, he showed us how the media was capable of turning criminals into celebrities. With his sidekick watching the hostages, Sonny ventured into the streets and performed for the gathering crowd. You'll probably find that you want Sonny to escape too because Lumet does such a good job of showing us his character and motivations. Isn't it strange how we sometimes root for the criminal?

Lance Henriksen makes an appearance toward the end of the movie and it helped launch his career. The resolution might not be what all that we were hoping for, but the movie was based on a true story. I remember watching Dog Day Afternoon in my early teens, and my taste in movies was very different from what it is today. But something about the story held my attention even then.

One thing I learned is never attempt a robbery with a partner who thinks Wyoming is a country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining - An Improvement From Lumet's 'Serpico', May 3 2004
Well-done, tense drama of a botched bank robbery in Brooklyn in which two misfits commit one absurd blunder after another and turn a criminal act into a three-ring circus, what with the police, crowds and the media swarming upon the bank to observe the comedy of errors.
Al Pacino is superb as Sonny who wants the money to finance a sex-change operation for his transsexual lover (well done by Chris Sarandon). Aiding and abetting Sonny is half-wit Sal (John Cazale in a solid characterization) who chooses Wyoming as a foreign country destination for a safe haven. Charles Durning scores as Detective Moretti who spars with Sonny throughout the afternoon and arranges "safe" passage for him and Sal to JFK and their would-be flight to freedom. There are snippets of dialogue from the 1956 feature film, "The Lone Ranger", that is heard in the background during the hostage standoff inside the bank. Ironic because the Ranger's law-and-order message falls on deaf criminal ears during the commission of the felony.
Sidney Lumet's Oscar-nominated direction is sharp throughout. Based on actual events, "Dog Day Afternoon" is another great winner from the 1970s, Hollywood's second Golden Age. 5 stars out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredible movie, March 19 2004
This review is from: Dog Day Afternoon (VHS Tape)
Al Pacino is just outstanding in Dog Day Afternoon. He expresses so many different emotions in this movie, which allows us to see how talented he really is. It is almost scary how heated he gets in some of the scenes with the police. There are great actors cast, along with an excellent screenplay. I enjoyed this movie very much and would recommend it to anyone. If you are an Al Pacino fan like myself, you must see this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This movie is so good!, Oct. 17 2003
By 
Jeffrey (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This movie rocks! You should definitely buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pacino is great as usual, Sept. 12 2003
By A Customer
Al Pacino gave his strongest performance as Sonny,a crazy
bank robber who failed in his robbery operation along with
his dump partner Sal [played by the late great actor John
Cazale].Although the movie is great, but the DVD has some
problems with the sound and there is no extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OFFBEAT GRIPPING CRIME DRAMA, Sept. 10 2003
By 
K. Rogers (SOMERVILLE, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Plot: An inept bank robber and his dimwitted buddy hold up a Brooklyn bank and everything
goes down hill from there.
Review: Al (Sonny) pacino is in fine form in this movie as is the rest of the cast. Filled
with memorable quotes bad language and black humor. This fine paced film is a trip
to 70s attitudes before political correctness you won't soon forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boiling Point, June 15 2003
By 
T. Lobascio (New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Dog Day Afternoon is another classic film of the 70's, that thanks to a strong cast, and the sure handed direction of Sidney Lumet, still holds up quite well. Even by today's standards of having eye candy over substance, can not deminish the film's intensity.
Sonny Vorshak (Al Pacino) and his friend Sal (John Cazale)are in need of some money. After exhausting all of their options, the two men decide to rob a New York City bank,in broad daylight, on a hot Summer afternoon. When the bandit's plan goes a bit haywire, they are forced to hold hostages, and engage in a standoff with the police. Detective Eugene Moretti (Charles Durning)is put in charge of the situation and must find a way to end the seige. The task is made more difficult as Sonny soon becomes something of a hero to the city.
Lumet captures the mood and tension of a city on edge, with the some fine filmmaking skill, and a gritty realism that marked many films made during 70's. Like his classic film, 12 Angry Men, Lumet makes good use out of limited sets and locations Once again Pacino proves why he is such a great actor. He is not just an actor playing a role, he Is Sonny Vorshak, no ifs ands or buts about it. The rest of the cast is tops as well. The fact that the movie is based on a real life incident is only icing on the cake
Dog Day Afternoon is a five star film that deserves to be a better DVD. I hope that a special edition version will find its way to a release date soon. For now, the current disc features only a few production notes,in the way of extras. The film can be viewed in either the widescreen or fullscreen formats
Recommended until the special edition DVD comes along
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Pacino Classic!, Feb. 11 2003
By 
Todd E. Newman (Valparaiso, IN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For those who love Al Pacino this I would have to say is one of his better movies. Pacino's role as a misfit bank robber is outstanding. He plays the part so very well and the acting is dramatic at times while Pacino's ignorance of being a bank robber provides some needed humor to a rather serious situation. Based of a true story Pacino is key to bringing this movie the punch it needs. How he handles people in the movie, his gestures and actions are Pacino at his best. Combined with the movie Serpico, I would have to say these are the best films by Al Pacino from the 1970's before Scarface in 1980. Any true fan of Al Pacino should have this movie in their collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dog Day Afternoon [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
Dog Day Afternoon [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) by Al Pacino (Blu-ray - 2007)
CDN$ 24.99 CDN$ 21.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews