Customer Reviews


242 Reviews
5 star:
 (116)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars stiff upper lip
i chose the high rating cause it's acdc ya can't go wrong with them, thier always good from the first song to the last. any body who likes rock and roll or heavy music it fits in.
Published 17 months ago by devin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good solid stuff
It's been a while since I dragged out "Stiff Upper Lip", but I'm glad I did. Having been an Acker-Dacker fan since very early on (thanks Dad!), I was refreshed to listen to the latest outing. Yes, it's an AC/DC album. It has some catchy tracks (Stiff Upper Lip, Satellite Blues) and it has some stinkers, but it has something different about it. It's more blues...
Published on Dec 24 2003 by BookGuy


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars stiff upper lip, Feb. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Rm) (Audio CD)
i chose the high rating cause it's acdc ya can't go wrong with them, thier always good from the first song to the last. any body who likes rock and roll or heavy music it fits in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums from AC/DC and the group shines with this album!!, Oct. 2 2006
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
Released in 2000, AC/DC scored a #1 single on the Billboard Mainstream rock tracks with Stiff Upper Lip. Safe in New York and Satellite Blues are two of the best songs on the album. This is one of the best albums from AC/DC and a huge improvement from their Ballbreaker album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not There Best but Still Great!!, Aug. 11 2004
By 
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
AC/DC after 25 years of dishing out amazing Rock and Roll songs prove that they still can Rock and Roll. Stiff Upper lip realesed in 2000 is not AC/DCs best album but it is still very good. The better songs on the album are stiff upper lip, meltdown, safe in New york city, cant stop rock and roll and give it up. I would say these songs stand out as the best songs while the rest of the cd is about mediocure. If you are a die hard acdc fan like I am this is a must, but if you are just getting into acdc, buy back in black or let there be rock first.
Peace out AC/DC Rocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Can't Stop Rock 'N' Roll, April 22 2010
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Rm) (Audio CD)
One doesn't so much review an AC/DC album as just tell the listener what songs are on it. Stiff Upper Lip, highly anticipated at the time of its release, has since been overshadowed by the more recent Black Ice. I prefer Stiff Upper Lip simply because it channels the early rock and roll Bon Scott era sound of the band.

My first AC/DC album was Dirty Deeds, I grew up listening to Bon, and Stiff Upper Lip is the most rock and roll sounding AC/DC album since his death. Dropping a lot of the OTT metal tones of previous discs, this one is a more laid back groove. Check out "Hold Me Back" and the title track for some truly sublime Young Bros guitar playing. Phil Rudd's simple rhythms hold everything together.

The album was produced by Vanda and Young, and while it's not as crisp and clear as the Rubin helmed Black Ice, they captured great performances. Not every song here is a winner, most Johnson-era albums have lots of filler. However, this is AC/DC and even the filler is listenable if not memorable.

I'm not too sure why this was remastered. I really fail to see why an album less than 10 years old needs this. Keep in mind, CD remastering began because in the 80's, engineers didn't really know how to master music for the high fidelity of CD, they were used to LP. Early CDs tend to sound a bit tinny. Stiff Upper Lip was recorded in 2000. Basically, the only reason to prefer the remaster to the original is the nicer packaging.

When I need to hear some more recent AC/DC, 9 times out of 10, I reach for Stiff Upper Lip. 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Can't Stop Rock 'N' Roll, March 2 2010
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
One doesn't so much review an AC/DC album as just tell the listener what songs are on it. Stiff Upper Lip, highly anticipated at the time of its release, has since been overshadowed by the more recent Black Ice. I prefer Stiff Upper Lip simply because it channels the early rock and roll Bon Scott era sound of the band.

My first AC/DC album was Dirty Deeds, I grew up listening to Bon, and Stiff Upper Lip is the most rock and roll sounding AC/DC album since his death. Dropping a lot of the OTT metal tones of previous discs, this one is a more laid back groove. Check out "Hold Me Back" and the title track for some truly sublime Young Bros guitar playing. Phil Rudd's simple rhythms hold everything together.

The album was produced by Vanda and Young, and while it's not as crisp and clear as the Rubin helmed Black Ice, they captured great performances. Not every song here is a winner, most Johnson-era albums have lots of filler. However, this is AC/DC and even the filler is listenable if not memorable.

When I need to hear some more recent AC/DC, 9 times out of 10, I reach for Stiff Upper Lip. 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Weakest AC/DC album yet, June 27 2004
By 
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
I love AC/DC and I was very excited when this album came out mainly because they have not recorded an album with new matierial in 3 or 4 years. I was very disappointed! Brian Johnson's voice is wearing out and it shows on this album especially in the live songs(I bought the Stiff Upper Lip DVD too.) Angus and Malcom's riffs aren't that catchy!
Stiff Upper Lip is the best song and after that there aren't anymore songs that will stick in your head or even make you think, hay that was pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Stiff Upper Lip, June 12 2004
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
Stiff Upper Lip, AC/DC's 15th studio album, may not reach the heights of Back in Black or Highway to Hell, but it delivers strongly and satisfyingly. It's the record that the highly-touted, Rick Rubin-produced Ballbreaker should have been: a simple, addictive, hard album, bursting with bold riffs and bolstered by a crunching, thrillingly visceral sound. Sure, there are absolutely no new ideas, but that's the point. AC/DC knows their strengths and they embrace them. And why shouldn't they? Nobody writes a better riff than the Young brothers; each song has a riff so catchy, it feels like you've heard it for years. Is there anything earth-shaking? Hardly, but it's largely terrific nonetheless, just because AC/DC are so good at what they do. It's simple music, to be sure, but it's unassumingly musical and, in a way rather smart. If making music like this was really that easy, why can't anybody else do it this well? Some bands are capable of knocking out one record like this -- one, maybe two. AC/DC does it nearly every time out. They've never really stretched, yet that's why they have one of the most reliable catalogs in rock & roll. When you put on one of their records, you know what you're in for, and they always deliver. With Stiff Upper Lip, they're not at classic status, but they're still top-notch. This may not be the first AC/DC record for a collection, but once you're into their scene, it's a fine place to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars track 13 for your cd rom?, June 11 2004
By 
lrhes "lrhess" (powhatan point ohio /u.s.a.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
does anyone know the 13 track song name, for the cd rom. mine will not came up on pc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still "Stiff" After All These Years., Feb. 9 2004
By 
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
"You can't stop rock and roll," barks Brian Johnson on track number 7 off "Stiff Upper Lip." Apparently, you can't stop AC/DC either. In the thirty-odd years these guys have been around, they've bypassed every known musical trend (classic rock, disco, punk, new wave, techno, and elctronica) while leaving their sound virtually unchanged. And why should they bother? If it ain't broke, don't fix it, and on their umpteenth album, they've given more of the same head-banging rock to please old and new fans alike. Produced by George Young (the elder brother of guitarists Angus and Malcolm), we get killer guitar riffs, catchy choruses, and enough double-entendres to make Austin Powers proud. These guys have clearly aged and have somewhat mellowed a bit since the glory days of "Back in Black," but the energy is undeniably present. "Safe in New York City," "Hold Me Back," and "House of Jazz" deliver the goods as only AC/DC can deliver them. The album lacks one straight up classic in the vein of "You Shook Me All Night Long," "Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap" or "TNT," but even so, "Stiff Upper Lip" is a very solid record from "the thunder from down under."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ACDC Makes Another Kick Ass CD!, Feb. 9 2004
By 
A. Bouchard "mad-ad" (Hodgdon, Maine United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
Every Rock N Roll Fan Knows That ACDC Are some of the hardest rockers out there! Through all the ups & downs they still have come back time & again! So i think this as good as any other ACDC cd! I myself think think this has some of the best material
on it since "Back In Black"! So I Highly recomend this & any other ACDC cd out there to ever rock n roller out there! So get your ACDC cd & rock on through the night!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stiff Upper Lip (Rm)
Stiff Upper Lip (Rm) by Ac\Dc (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews