Customer Reviews


242 Reviews
5 star:
 (116)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Why isn't there more music like this?
There exists today an entire army of reviewers ready to dismiss every AC/DC outing as "the same old thing."
There is no problem with "the same old thing" when the same old thing is simple perfection. By contrast, the last few AC/DC albums have suffered from a bit of an identity crisis; they attempted to layer heavy-handed production on what is...
Published on March 9 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Why've gotta stiff upper lip!!
"Why've gotta stiff upper lip...and I shoot from the hip!!"
- Brian Johnson, 2000
That line says it all about this tuff New York band who came from England and Scotland. This is one tuff album, and AC/DC is one tuff band, one of the last tuff bands around, actually.
Gritty frontman Brian "the grit" Johnson has never sounded better than on this album,...
Published on July 8 2003 by Da Peace Dogg


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Can't Stop Rock 'N' Roll, April 22 2010
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Rm) (Audio CD)
One doesn't so much review an AC/DC album as just tell the listener what songs are on it. Stiff Upper Lip, highly anticipated at the time of its release, has since been overshadowed by the more recent Black Ice. I prefer Stiff Upper Lip simply because it channels the early rock and roll Bon Scott era sound of the band.

My first AC/DC album was Dirty Deeds, I grew up listening to Bon, and Stiff Upper Lip is the most rock and roll sounding AC/DC album since his death. Dropping a lot of the OTT metal tones of previous discs, this one is a more laid back groove. Check out "Hold Me Back" and the title track for some truly sublime Young Bros guitar playing. Phil Rudd's simple rhythms hold everything together.

The album was produced by Vanda and Young, and while it's not as crisp and clear as the Rubin helmed Black Ice, they captured great performances. Not every song here is a winner, most Johnson-era albums have lots of filler. However, this is AC/DC and even the filler is listenable if not memorable.

I'm not too sure why this was remastered. I really fail to see why an album less than 10 years old needs this. Keep in mind, CD remastering began because in the 80's, engineers didn't really know how to master music for the high fidelity of CD, they were used to LP. Early CDs tend to sound a bit tinny. Stiff Upper Lip was recorded in 2000. Basically, the only reason to prefer the remaster to the original is the nicer packaging.

When I need to hear some more recent AC/DC, 9 times out of 10, I reach for Stiff Upper Lip. 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Can't Stop Rock 'N' Roll, March 2 2010
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
One doesn't so much review an AC/DC album as just tell the listener what songs are on it. Stiff Upper Lip, highly anticipated at the time of its release, has since been overshadowed by the more recent Black Ice. I prefer Stiff Upper Lip simply because it channels the early rock and roll Bon Scott era sound of the band.

My first AC/DC album was Dirty Deeds, I grew up listening to Bon, and Stiff Upper Lip is the most rock and roll sounding AC/DC album since his death. Dropping a lot of the OTT metal tones of previous discs, this one is a more laid back groove. Check out "Hold Me Back" and the title track for some truly sublime Young Bros guitar playing. Phil Rudd's simple rhythms hold everything together.

The album was produced by Vanda and Young, and while it's not as crisp and clear as the Rubin helmed Black Ice, they captured great performances. Not every song here is a winner, most Johnson-era albums have lots of filler. However, this is AC/DC and even the filler is listenable if not memorable.

When I need to hear some more recent AC/DC, 9 times out of 10, I reach for Stiff Upper Lip. 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Stiff Upper Lip, June 12 2004
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
Stiff Upper Lip, AC/DC's 15th studio album, may not reach the heights of Back in Black or Highway to Hell, but it delivers strongly and satisfyingly. It's the record that the highly-touted, Rick Rubin-produced Ballbreaker should have been: a simple, addictive, hard album, bursting with bold riffs and bolstered by a crunching, thrillingly visceral sound. Sure, there are absolutely no new ideas, but that's the point. AC/DC knows their strengths and they embrace them. And why shouldn't they? Nobody writes a better riff than the Young brothers; each song has a riff so catchy, it feels like you've heard it for years. Is there anything earth-shaking? Hardly, but it's largely terrific nonetheless, just because AC/DC are so good at what they do. It's simple music, to be sure, but it's unassumingly musical and, in a way rather smart. If making music like this was really that easy, why can't anybody else do it this well? Some bands are capable of knocking out one record like this -- one, maybe two. AC/DC does it nearly every time out. They've never really stretched, yet that's why they have one of the most reliable catalogs in rock & roll. When you put on one of their records, you know what you're in for, and they always deliver. With Stiff Upper Lip, they're not at classic status, but they're still top-notch. This may not be the first AC/DC record for a collection, but once you're into their scene, it's a fine place to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still "Stiff" After All These Years., Feb. 9 2004
By 
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
"You can't stop rock and roll," barks Brian Johnson on track number 7 off "Stiff Upper Lip." Apparently, you can't stop AC/DC either. In the thirty-odd years these guys have been around, they've bypassed every known musical trend (classic rock, disco, punk, new wave, techno, and elctronica) while leaving their sound virtually unchanged. And why should they bother? If it ain't broke, don't fix it, and on their umpteenth album, they've given more of the same head-banging rock to please old and new fans alike. Produced by George Young (the elder brother of guitarists Angus and Malcolm), we get killer guitar riffs, catchy choruses, and enough double-entendres to make Austin Powers proud. These guys have clearly aged and have somewhat mellowed a bit since the glory days of "Back in Black," but the energy is undeniably present. "Safe in New York City," "Hold Me Back," and "House of Jazz" deliver the goods as only AC/DC can deliver them. The album lacks one straight up classic in the vein of "You Shook Me All Night Long," "Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap" or "TNT," but even so, "Stiff Upper Lip" is a very solid record from "the thunder from down under."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Backwards again...., Aug. 25 2003
By 
Gergellor (Supimpalândia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
It's unbeliavable the lack of auto-criticism of these guys! Can it be possible that Brian Johnson (and the Young brothers) hear his vocals and do not realize that it's gone forever? Can't he see tha his voice now is simply annoying, tuneless, without any vocals inflections, no change between songs?
Ac/DC has been mocking his fans for a long time. Why? Because they simply don't care anymore. That's the only reasonable explanations for releasing twelve identical songs that repeat their choruses over and over againa; for Phil Rudd's worst drumming ever; for Johnson lack of voice; for Angus ludicrous solos; for the lyrics reaching an all time low (giving sequence to the obnoxious lyrics of BALLBREAKER).
It seems they are having fun and trying to live under the motto: "The worse, the better", and trying to compose the worst album possible.
In the old days, AC/DC were simple, nasty, but with tons of "charm" in their rock and roll. Now they're just a parody of themselves, they're just "cheap" and mean.
By the way, Angus, if I see you in concert, I don't care at all if you still use that silly school uniform. You can get rid of it. All I would like to was to hear some singer who can sing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Sorry, kids - this album pretty much reeks, Aug. 1 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
Before I begin let me just say, I was once the biggest AC/DC fan in the world. I've been buying their albums since 1978. That said, it saddens me to say that this is the last AC/DC album I will ever buy. Ever since 1983's Flick of the Switch it's been all downhill. Explain something to me - if you're one of the ones giving this album four and five stars, do you honestly feel this collection of JUNK is as good as Back in Black? If so, please go see a shrink. This album wouldn't be worth 50 cents in a dollar store. Where do I start with this mess? (1)Brian Johnson's voice is shot. He sounds like an 80 year old lady being strangled. (2)Angus' riffs are dull dull DULL. (3)The chorus of each song is repeated constantly (I feel safe in NY CITY, I feel safe in NY City, I feel safe in NY City, etc etc etc). (4) Phil Rudd (never a great drummer) plays as if he is on 20 doses of codeine, playing the same dull beat for every dragging song. (Hey Phil - you got arthritis? How about a drum roll every now and then?) (5) Lyrics are the dumbest ever (I know that's saying a lot). They sound like they've been written by an angry eleven year old. (6) There is not ONE remotely interesting song on this album. The best song on this album is not as good as the worst on For Those About to Rock. Ain't that sad?
As good as Back in Black? Sure, dude - and Bon Scott is actually still alive and living as a Buddhist monk deep in the Himalaya's. This is a band that should have given it up after Razor's Edge (1990). Angus, it was nice knowing you, but check yourself into the nearest rest home - the game's over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Why've gotta stiff upper lip!!, July 8 2003
By 
Da Peace Dogg (Hollywood, California - livin' humble) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
"Why've gotta stiff upper lip...and I shoot from the hip!!"
- Brian Johnson, 2000
That line says it all about this tuff New York band who came from England and Scotland. This is one tuff album, and AC/DC is one tuff band, one of the last tuff bands around, actually.
Gritty frontman Brian "the grit" Johnson has never sounded better than on this album, wouldn't you agree? Also, the guitar by the little school guy is excellent, as always, as is the virtuoso drumming by longtime drummer Phil "Mr. Excitement" Rudd. Not since England's Saxon have we seen such a revolution in the world of hard-rock rock 'n' roll!! Agreed??
As for the racous songs on this AC/DC masterpiece - they speak for themselves, they're simply seminal AC/DC, perhaps superceding "Black 'n' Black" from 1980. Turn these songs up, play 'em loud, salute rock 'n' roll for what it's worth, cuz it'll soon be gone, folks, very soon indeed.
Raspy vocals, raunchy sentiments and loud riff-chugging is what this album offers....do you got what it takes to hang??
Never forget the words of the immortal (immoral) Brian Johnson:
"Why've gotta stiff upper lip...and I shake from the hip!!"
CHECKIN' OUT!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A whole lot better than BALLBREAKER, July 7 2003
By 
T. Ulreich (IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
10 years after the smash hit "THE RAZORS EDGE" we get "STIFF UPPER LIP". And 4 years after there disappointing but not the worst AC/DC album ever , "BALLBREAKER". I gave it 3 stars because it's your typical AC/DC album. It's been almost 30 years and they haven't changed a bit (go figure). This album reminds me of Back In Black in many ways. Such as, a lot of people like me are just getting into AC/DC. It also has some very catchy tunes , and some of them are bluesy as well. Like for there first single "Stiff Upper Lip" very catchy and nice to sing along to, then we have "Safe In New York City" kinda has that bluesy sound to it but all in all it's a good song. Brian Johnson's vocals aren't that bad in this album , but they've certainly improved since "BALLBREAKER". If they continue to make CD's such as this one I still will be buying there records and supporting them. I saw them about 2 years ago and they still put on a great f'n show (even 20 years later)! Even there new stuff sounds a whole lot better than these new bands out there , I'm just relieved we still have one of the greatest rock n' roll bands that still remain from the 70's...AC/DC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why isn't there more music like this?, March 9 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (New York, New York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
There exists today an entire army of reviewers ready to dismiss every AC/DC outing as "the same old thing."
There is no problem with "the same old thing" when the same old thing is simple perfection. By contrast, the last few AC/DC albums have suffered from a bit of an identity crisis; they attempted to layer heavy-handed production on what is essentialy a straight-ahead blues band, more closely related to B.B. King than to the mass of '80s hair-metal bands that are all but extinct today.
George Young's production on Stiff Upper Lip brings to the forefront those strengths which make AC/DC the undisputed kings of blues-metal: the Young brothers' simple, undeniable blue-collar riffs and Malcolm Young's working-class voice. Tracks like Stiff Upper Lip and Hold Me Back are toe-tapping, head-bobbing, hammer-pounding hard-working songs the likes of which can be found nowhere else in record stores today. There hasn't been an AC/DC album (or indeed any album) like this in years, and that's a shame.
What a good thing we have this one to listen to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stiff Upper Lip, Feb. 12 2003
By 
"your_worst_nightmare" (IN YOUR TOILET, SERIOUSLY! GO CHECK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
I am a thirteen-year old fan of AC/DC and I was a little uneasy about buying this album because other reviews said their music weakened, Johnson's voice weakened and they lost their touch. I was astounded at the greatness of BACK IN BLACK and HIGHWAY TO HELL so I had to buy this album. I was astounded by it's greatness! There is not one bad song on here. As for Johnson's voice, I like it better this way because it's more of singing than shrieking as on BACK IN BLACK. It sounds deeper than his earlier almost screaming voice. It's a different sound than BACK IN BLACK but it's not worse, but then again it's not better. If I was old enough to say I was a fan since HIGH VOLTAGE then this would probably be a different review.
Some said this was a return to their BACK IN BLACK sound but it's more of return to HIGHWAY TO HELL. AC/DC is incredible and it's amazing that they can be that old and still rock! It's also amazing that they can appeal to a younger generation. All the kids at school still talk about and sing some songs on BACK IN BLACK.
Half my class said this album was better than BACK IN BLACK. If AC/DC is reading then I want them to know that they shouldn't give up and they still have it! ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stiff Upper Lip (Rm)
Stiff Upper Lip (Rm) by Ac\Dc (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews