Customer Reviews


242 Reviews
5 star:
 (116)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars stiff upper lip
i chose the high rating cause it's acdc ya can't go wrong with them, thier always good from the first song to the last. any body who likes rock and roll or heavy music it fits in.
Published 17 months ago by devin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good solid stuff
It's been a while since I dragged out "Stiff Upper Lip", but I'm glad I did. Having been an Acker-Dacker fan since very early on (thanks Dad!), I was refreshed to listen to the latest outing. Yes, it's an AC/DC album. It has some catchy tracks (Stiff Upper Lip, Satellite Blues) and it has some stinkers, but it has something different about it. It's more blues...
Published on Dec 24 2003 by BookGuy


‹ Previous | 1 2 325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars High Energy!, Jan. 26 2004
By 
Dan "platinum aero" (Latham, New York United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
Despite to my first opinions of this album, I've really grown to like it. I think this kind of album grows on you. Much better than BallBreaker definitly. The guitir riffs are catchy and Phill and Cliff have a really solid foundation. Brian's voice isn't what it used to be, but its better in my opinion than on BallBreaker. For age, he's doing great. Great album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy Blues, Jan. 15 2004
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
At their core this is just a solid blues-based band. This album is a great one. All it takes is a listen to "Satellite Blues" to figure out that these guys come from a heavy blues tradition. Stick them in Texas, you might get classic ZZ Top. I think it is mildly amusing that given how so many reviewers over the years have panned this band that AC/DC is nevertheless one of the staples of Pro Football stadiums and one of the most instantly recognizable sounds. One can do a lot with a few chords, apparently. "Stiff Upper Lip" and "Safe in NYC" are also classic tunes, reminscent of 25 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good solid stuff, Dec 24 2003
By 
BookGuy "saundo4" (Kansas City, MO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
It's been a while since I dragged out "Stiff Upper Lip", but I'm glad I did. Having been an Acker-Dacker fan since very early on (thanks Dad!), I was refreshed to listen to the latest outing. Yes, it's an AC/DC album. It has some catchy tracks (Stiff Upper Lip, Satellite Blues) and it has some stinkers, but it has something different about it. It's more blues than rock'n'roll, and it's about paying homage to your roots. I remember hearing Brian talk about the album when it came out saying that it was more about getting back to the basics of rock'n'roll, which means blues.
Pick it up, listen to it, put it in the CD rack with your other AC/DC albums and remember why you like the band. Raw rock and roll with some blues mixed in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grade B-, Dec 5 2003
By 
Eric J. Weik "ejwtfw" (Dyersburg, TN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
Wish I could say AC/DC gets better with age, raelly they don't change much, having survived for 30+ years is an amasing feat for any band. This group has had it's ups and downs, and this cd hits just a little above the middle, just about where are their songs aim for anyway. STIFF LUPPER LIP is the best song on this cd, and there are few others too. Nothing on here that's another YOU SHOOK ME ALL NIGHT LONG, or DIRTY DEEDS, but all are listenable except for DAMNED and SATELLITE BLUES. Cd is a little long for them 13 songs, could have 2 or 3 songs shorter and had a better cd. Good production on this cd makes the music go down better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome!!!!!!!, Nov. 9 2003
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
this album is so so so amazing,its one of the boys best.it opens up with the hard stiff upper lip,and does not slow down until furious give it up.the $#$ wipes who said brians vioce is gone are stupid.he is as cool as he was in the early 80s.if you like ac/dc you will love it.go buy it,you wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Backwards again...., Aug. 25 2003
By 
Gergellor (Supimpalândia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
It's unbeliavable the lack of auto-criticism of these guys! Can it be possible that Brian Johnson (and the Young brothers) hear his vocals and do not realize that it's gone forever? Can't he see tha his voice now is simply annoying, tuneless, without any vocals inflections, no change between songs?
Ac/DC has been mocking his fans for a long time. Why? Because they simply don't care anymore. That's the only reasonable explanations for releasing twelve identical songs that repeat their choruses over and over againa; for Phil Rudd's worst drumming ever; for Johnson lack of voice; for Angus ludicrous solos; for the lyrics reaching an all time low (giving sequence to the obnoxious lyrics of BALLBREAKER).
It seems they are having fun and trying to live under the motto: "The worse, the better", and trying to compose the worst album possible.
In the old days, AC/DC were simple, nasty, but with tons of "charm" in their rock and roll. Now they're just a parody of themselves, they're just "cheap" and mean.
By the way, Angus, if I see you in concert, I don't care at all if you still use that silly school uniform. You can get rid of it. All I would like to was to hear some singer who can sing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of AC/DC's best!, Aug. 23 2003
By 
N. Deeter "ditter" (UT, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
After Back in Black, I think this is AC/DC's best album. It has the good rock sound and good vocals. The best songs on the CD are "Safe in New York City" (very catchy bass), "Can't Stop Rock 'n Roll," and "All Screwed Up." A very good CD for of AC/DC fans and newcomers alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Gets old after a while but its a good listen., Aug. 18 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
This album will be on constant spin in your cd player for aroiund a month then it will only make it out on rare occasions. Its a good album but lacks the giant sing along choruses that make AC/DC so great. I find it hard to believe that a so called "fan since '78" would make the asinine remark "how about a drum roll phil?." DUHH when was the last time you heard a drum fill on an AC/DC record? This comment makes about as much sense as a three legged race horse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, Aug. 14 2003
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
There may be nothing on this album as instantly recognizable as "Highway To Hell" or "You Shook Me All Night Long", but the riffs are catchy and George Young completely out-produces Rick Rubin (who did "Ballbreaker").
The songs flow smoothly with no great high points and no need to program out any bad songs either, and that's actually quite an achievement. The music is a bit bluesier than usual, and if most of the choruses are less memorable than some of AC/DC's best work, "Stiff Upper Lip" seems a more mature record (or less immature, anyway), without being introvert or lacking in energy.
All in all, I'd say that among the Brian Johnson-era albums, only "Back In Black" and "The Razor's Edge" are significantly better records than this one. And that's actually pretty great praise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars horrible album, Aug. 9 2003
By 
gordon (newfoundland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip (Audio CD)
everysong on this album is brutally bad.agnus young's guitar still sounds great but brian johnson's vocal's on this cd is horrific.is this really the same guy who sang vocals on back in black?the song stiff upper lip is the lamest song i ever heard ac/dc performed.if this is the best material they can produced,then maybe it's time they called it a career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stiff Upper Lip (Rm)
Stiff Upper Lip (Rm) by Ac\Dc (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews