Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Duke and Ford ride the trail again...
Joanne Dru teams with The DUKE again in this Technicolor marvel (after appearing together in "Red River" the year before). In this one, Dru plays a young romantic hopeful for both John Agar and Harry Carey, Jr.
Monument Valley never looked better. The stormclouds are stunning, even if the fake lightning is not. And the sunsets! Only Technicolor can capture the colors...
Published on June 6 2002 by Mark Savary

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars This is a travisty of a vidio of a great film; it's "EP".
The John Ford trilogy is something to see. However, this is an "extended play" version. Be prepared to see the navy blue uniforms as kelly green. Such is the distortion of "EP". Great price.
Published on June 25 1999 by Louis C


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Crying for DVD, Jan. 16 2002
By 
Michael Brown "Mike Brown" (Rockdale, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If there's one John Wayne film just crying for a DVD release, this is it.
Director John Ford once said he could conceive of nothing more beautiful than a horse in full stride. There are plenty of them in She Wore a Yellow Ribbon but even more than that, there's Monument Valley in a way that only John Ford could have filmed it.
It's no accident that a Monument Valley vista now bears the name "John Ford's Point." And She Wore a Yellow Ribbon is THE John Ford Monument Valley film.

There have been scores of Monument Valley films but no other is this good. Just look at the way the West Mitten hangs over Captain Brittles' moving scene at his wife's grave and the thunderstorm building over the wagons where Ford overruled his cinematographer and kept the cameras rolling.
Many of us believe this is John Wayne's best acting performance ever and that his True Grit Oscar was payback two decades later, just as Henry Fonda's On Golden Pond statue was payback for The Grapes of Wrath.
Let's just say that Wayne's performance here is so good if ever anyone argues that he was a celebrity more than an actor, the best way to refute them is simply to roll She Wore a Yellow Ribbon.
But, please, please, PLEASE ! we need to be able to roll it in DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best western showcase for Wayne and Ford, Feb. 4 1999
By A Customer
This is a glorious and much neglected Western. Whilst 'The Searchers' receives the most acclaim helped by Martin Scorsese's public love, an obviously superior budget and the fascinating ambiguities of it's major character, I believe that 'Yellow Ribbon'is the definitive Ford Western. It is also Wayne's finest performance, as the retiring army Captain Brittles. There is a wonderful poignancy to his key scenes plus he is very funny when it's called for. I always feel a sense of ridiculous guilt in praising Wayne due to his personal right-wing gung-ho green-beret supra-patriotism. But you have to get past this to appreciate his very considerable acting talent. He had a much broader range than he is generally given credit for (by critics at least - the public always loved him). It is a shame that here he is saddled with such an appalling actress as Joanne Dru who just fails to convince with every gesture and utterance. Neither does Harry Carey Jr perform much better, bless him.
However, the movie generally scores for horse riding action scenes, fabulous cinematography, brilliant compositions, humour and good old fashioned brawling scenes with the stupendous Victor McGlagan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So you think John Wayne is a lousy actor?, July 2 2000
By 
Candace Scott (Lake Arrowhead, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
Then think again. "She Wore a Yelloe Ribbon" is one of the Duke's greatest and most subtle performances. His interplay with the masterful Victor McLaglen is memorable and oftentimes hilarious. In this movie, Wayne fully understands the emotions and complexities of his character Nathan Brittles, the retiring cavalry leader.
One of the greatest scenes that John Wayne ever played is when the troop gives him a gold watch upon his retirement. As he slowly removes his spectacles, wipes them off and then reads the sentiment, you really see that Wayne may not have had the greatest range of any actor, but he was a great actor in the right role. His characterization of Captain Nathan Brittles is near the top of the list in all-time Duke performances.
I've seen this movie 30 times or more and never weary of it. You always see something new each time you view it. There is humor, pathos and action here and as always, John Ford's masterful direction. A must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Wayne in his element, March 19 2004
By 
M. ABBOTT "mikeabbott" (Kew, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: She Wore a Yellow Ribbon (DVD)
When this film was released I was six years old, living in grey, cold, bankrupt post war Britain, a world of food and clothing rationing. Cinema was pure escapism and I thank my parents for taking me there every week. Westerns were big in those days. They had titles such as "Broken Arrow" or "Winchester 73". As my love of cinema was slowly nurtured "She Wore A Yellow Ribbon" left an indelible impression on my psyche. I loved every bit of it. The odyessic story, with its lack of 'white man good' 'red indian bad' stereotyping. The sophistication of Ford's direction with its cool appreciation of America's big country. The actors - Wayne, of course, towering above all, and decades before he blotted his copybook with his embarrasing gung-ho roles, to Victor McLagen's 'Oirish' knockabout sargeant, via the under-stated work of Joanne Dru and John Agar. "Never apologise, son. It's a sign of weakness." A simply unbeatable movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE SECOND LEG OF GREATNESS, July 11 2004
By 
Gregory Saffady (Michigan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: She Wore a Yellow Ribbon (DVD)
SHE WORE A YELLOW RIBBON is the second leg of greatness in the John Ford Cavalry Trilogy. Cinematography-wise SWAYR is the jewel in the crown, it's much heralded Oscar winning celluloid images are breathtaking. All three films have their own moments of greatness, here it's John Wayne as Capt. Nathan Brittles, in make-up aging him 20 years no less "making his report" graveside to his wife and daughter; His receiving his silver watch from his troops ("Lest we forget,") and his negotiating Victor McLaglen's retirement ("A man of a thirst like that can't survive on less than a sergeant's pension!"). Of course there is the cavalry's march to their 3 theme songs: "Garry Owen", "She Wore A Yellow Ribbon" and "The Girl I Left Behind Me" (a constant in the trilogy). Sterling performances across the board. SWAYR is an all time classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Six stars film! A CLASSIC TO REVIEW AGAIN&AGAIN!, May 13 2003
This review is from: She Wore a Yellow Ribbon (DVD)
Everybody says "The Searchers" is the best Western ever made... Well, I like it a lot, to be sure, but when I step into the living room and have to chose between it or "She wore a yellow ribbon" (among other DVD's) I will always pick the later first.
I think it's the best one by the team Ford/Wayne by far, those who say Wayne could'nt act must see this film, probably doing films like this is what made him "larger then life" and subsequently made new rols or films as WAYNE films (a continuity of purpose overused in his last films wich incredibly are mainly suportable by HIS performance...).
Wayne is up there with Fonda, Jimmy Stewart and very few others wich always were THEMSELVES over their rols/parts in the movie.
Enough said, get "The Horse Soldiers" if you liked "She wore a yellow ribbon".
Really a SIX stars film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the movies the watch late on a Saturday night., April 30 2002
By 
Chuck Thegze (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: She Wore a Yellow Ribbon (DVD)
Both Howard Hawks and John Ford understood that the older they became,
the more important male friendships were to them.
This is one of the best examples from Ford. The film has a warmth
and unmistakable magical quality to its sense of humor. It bears
up very well under repeaded viewings and the relationship between
John Wayne and Victor McLaglen is just the best. Wayne's character
exhibits a maturity and wisdom here that is very moving. It helps
to have seen a little of life before viewing this film. But, then,
that is true of all of John Ford's and Howard Hawks' work.
You just have to have lived life to appreciate it in their films.
One of my favorites and every bit the equal to "Rio Bravo."
It's the perfect film to watch while enjoying a rare New York steak
and a good bottle of red wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five star film shot in original format--Academy Ratio 1:1.33, June 4 2002
By 
Ron Green (Bothell, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: She Wore a Yellow Ribbon (DVD)
This wonderful movie epitomizes so much that is powerful about the work of John Ford--his eye for composition, his sense of victory in defeat, his celebration of community and the competing forces that threaten it and bind it together. Other reviewers have commented on the relative weakness of performances by the younger players: I think that fits one of his themes, as the inexorable passage of time forces the older generation to yield to not-quite-ready callow youths.
One reviewer complained that this DVD was released in a TV ratio, and advised us to wait for the widescreen version. In 1949, when this movie was released, there was no widescreen. The film was shot in the standard Academy format, 1.33 times as wide as it is tall. I don't think we're losing any edges by seeing it this way.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Beautiful Film!!, June 17 2002
By 
Mark vonSchlegell (Chicago, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: She Wore a Yellow Ribbon (DVD)
This late 40's film is another love letter to the US Cavalry from director John Ford ( his others being "Fort Apache" and "Rio Grande" ). While everybody here gives good performances, it's John Wayne's portrayal of an aging Cavalry officer three days shy of retiring that is the lynchpin of this film. His convincing performance of a man 20+ years his actual age should've gotten him the Oscar. Another great feature of this film is the cinematography-which DID get the Oscar. Couple this with the beautiful restoration work that was done for this DVD and you have a film that almost looks like it was made yeaterday-especially the outdoor shots! This is a very beautiful looking transfer! Even if you don't like John Wayne, or Westerns in general, this is still a worthy film for your dvd collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of Wayne's Finest, July 2 2001
John Wayne probably gives the finest performance I've seen him give so far in this story of a Calvary officer, just days before his retirement, who goes on one last assignment. He's accompanied by fellow officer Victor McLaglen who's very funny in a broad way, as well as two stiffly acted young lovers, a subplot that doesn't take too much away from the overall film (fortunately). Wayne has to rely a lot less on heroics in this performance, and instead concentrate on characterization, which he does with much success. He brings depth and a bittersweet quality to his character in a way that might surprise some. With a beautifully photographed backdrop framing each scene, this John Ford feature is sure to please fans of Wayne and Westerns alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

She Wore a Yellow Ribbon (Bilingual) [Import]
CDN$ 14.24
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews