Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Duke and Ford ride the trail again...
Joanne Dru teams with The DUKE again in this Technicolor marvel (after appearing together in "Red River" the year before). In this one, Dru plays a young romantic hopeful for both John Agar and Harry Carey, Jr.
Monument Valley never looked better. The stormclouds are stunning, even if the fake lightning is not. And the sunsets! Only Technicolor can capture the colors...
Published on June 6 2002 by Mark Savary

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars This is a travisty of a vidio of a great film; it's "EP".
The John Ford trilogy is something to see. However, this is an "extended play" version. Be prepared to see the navy blue uniforms as kelly green. Such is the distortion of "EP". Great price.
Published on June 25 1999 by Louis C


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars "Lest we forget!", Nov. 12 2003
By 
J. Hoerth "optiondelta" (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: She Wore a Yellow Ribbon (DVD)
Capt. Nathan Brittles (John Wayne) is near retirement and looks at it with an unsure and heavy heart. After years in the U.S. Cavalry it is all he knows and is not sure what will become of him when he leaves it. Brittles knows that the Army and life will go on, but what will his role in life be, since he lost his wife years before. This is the second and best film in the John Ford cavalry trilogy. As it Brittles is not very keen on handing over command to younger soldiers who are yet to prove themself in leading other men and in combat. For all it's worth he has little to no say about what will happen to those who take over and what will become of the indian tribe that he has worked with and delt with for so long. Victor McLaglen is a great supporter in the film as he also faces retirement and enjoys his whiskey and fights along with the other men. A story about trust and service along with changing times, it features one of Wayne's best performances. An Oscar winner for best color cinematography (Winton C. Hoch) that features Monument Valley, this is a film to see as it is a western and war film wraped into one. It is simple yet not boring and it get's to the point when needed. Grade: B+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, but where is Fort Apache?, Oct. 9 2003
By 
John L. Bradley (Hazlet, New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: She Wore a Yellow Ribbon (DVD)
I must watch this film 5 to 10 times a year and never get tired of seeing it. I also watch "Rio Grande" almost as often. Now when the heck are they (whoever "they" might be) going to put "Fort Apache" out on DVD?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful movie, Sept. 12 2003
This is a great movie for the whole family! I love it, but then tere is not a John Wayne movie that I don't like! Its just wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Measuring Ford by Ford's Standards, Aug. 6 2003
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: She Wore a Yellow Ribbon (DVD)
For whatever reasons, Wayne's performances in westerns tend to be of a higher quality than in his other films and that is especially true of his work in this film, based on two of James Warner Bellah's short stories. Wayne portrays Captain Nathan Brittles who is about to retire. As the last day of his command approaches, Brittles must meanwhile cope with an Apache uprising which even his longtime friend Chief Pony That Walks (Chief John Big Tree) cannot prevent. One sub plot involves two young lieutenants who compete for Olivia Dandridge (Joanne Dru). One is Flint Cohill played by John Agar who appeared previously in Fort Apache as Lieutenant Michael O'Rourke. Other members of the John Ford Repertory Players include Victor McLaglen, Mildred Natwick, Arthur Shields, Harry Carey, Jr., and Ben Jonson who is especially effective as Sergeant Tyree.
Frankly, I dislike westerns shot in color. Also, John Ford apparently had problems when directing actresses. (Maureen O'Hara's performance in The Quiet Man is a stunning exception.) More often than not, Ford's female characters are presented as saints, children, or furniture. I would have much preferred that this film had been shot in black-and-white, that the Olivia Dandridge character be omitted, and that the film focus entirely on the completion of Brittles' last command. Wayne is absolutely brilliant when Brittles is presented with a gold watch from his troops and struggles withy his eyeglasses so that he can read the inscription, "Lest We Forget." His conversation with Chief Pony That Walks in the Apache camp is also memorable. Wayne has better material to work with in this film than he had in Fort Apache (1948). In my opinion, his performance is flawless. Nevertheless, I rate this film a notch or two below Fort Apache and Rio Grande in which Ford is much less self-indulgent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Six stars film! A CLASSIC TO REVIEW AGAIN&AGAIN!, May 13 2003
This review is from: She Wore a Yellow Ribbon (DVD)
Everybody says "The Searchers" is the best Western ever made... Well, I like it a lot, to be sure, but when I step into the living room and have to chose between it or "She wore a yellow ribbon" (among other DVD's) I will always pick the later first.
I think it's the best one by the team Ford/Wayne by far, those who say Wayne could'nt act must see this film, probably doing films like this is what made him "larger then life" and subsequently made new rols or films as WAYNE films (a continuity of purpose overused in his last films wich incredibly are mainly suportable by HIS performance...).
Wayne is up there with Fonda, Jimmy Stewart and very few others wich always were THEMSELVES over their rols/parts in the movie.
Enough said, get "The Horse Soldiers" if you liked "She wore a yellow ribbon".
Really a SIX stars film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS LOOKING DVD OF THIS JOHN FORD CLASSIC, April 28 2003
By 
Nix Pix (Windsor, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: She Wore a Yellow Ribbon (DVD)
"She Wore A Yellow Ribbon" is one of those glorious westerns, luminously photographed by director, John Ford. It stars, John Wayne, as a widower living at a military outpost with the cavalry and features some of the most gorgeously photographed exteriors ever captured on film. Monument Valley becomes a place of quiet, stoic beauty and the duke never gave a more impressive performance than he does here.
My hat off to the good people at Warner Home Video. This is a truly amazing looking DVD and one that should definitely be on every film buffs wish list to own. Colors are fully saturated, well balanced and incredibly life like. Contrast levels are on pitch as are black levels. There is a hint of edge enhancement and pixelization but really - it's just a hint. Chips, scratches and imperfections inherant in the original camera negative are kept to a bare, bare minimum. The audio is mono, as originally presented, but extremely well balanced, with low to non-existant background hiss in most scenes. No extras: a shame! One craves a documentary on either the making-of this movie or John Ford himself. We get neither. Still, it's hard to fault such a near pristine looking transfer.
BOTTOM LINE: Get this one before it goes out of print!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY, VERY GOOD PILGRAM, Oct. 16 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: She Wore a Yellow Ribbon (DVD)
The transfer to dvd is quite good for this movies age. Soundtrack is mono. Not one computer generated special effect. Yet this movie stands head above the pack, John Wayne does some of his finest acting in these calvery films. Its amazing what good writing and acting can do for a film. The story is simple enough yet, were carried away with all the emotions of the film. I reccommened this movie to anyone young enough to not remember when movies werent loaded with special effects to cover up pitifull acting. To anyone young enough not to remember when a woman could act in a film without taking off her clothes, to anyone young enough not to remember how a good story is what movies are all about. I hope you find this film as good as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Movie, Now A Fantastic DVD!, Sept. 4 2002
By 
John G. Gleeson Sr. (Frederic, Mi USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: She Wore a Yellow Ribbon (DVD)
John Ford's "Cavalry Trilogy" presents some of the finest western scenes ever made. I believe this to be the best of the three, although I'm sure to hear from folks who differ. Be that as it may, this is a beautifully made disc. On the big screen ( a must), it is the scenery that is a major factor, because the film is so vivid. I saw the "Trilogy" in the theatre when released, and I believe that the DVD viewer will see the film better realized on the digital screen than moviegoers saw in 1959. Another opinion that many will differ with is that this is John Wayne's best performance; his role as Captain Nathan Briddles could not be better done. John Ford had a cadre of actors that appeared regularly in his films, but Victor McLaglin, Ben Johnson and Arthur Shields do good work in their respective parts. Johnson, a former rodeo rider, is a superb horseman, and watch Shields' stagecraft when his character operates on a wounded trooper. It's fantastic attention to the details of the scene. Joanne Dru was a fifties actress, and the love interest is a bit dated, but it is the cinematography that is the winner here. Some of the scenes, one involving a thunderstorm, and another showing a stunning sunset are still amazing, especially since no computer graphics are involved. The attention to detail that makes or breaks historical film are consistantly well done here, as exemplified in the correctness of the cavalry scenes. Back in 1959, there were people around who knew what horse soldiering was, and it is painstakingly recreated here. Please don't pass this one up - it's a wonderful film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars she wore a yellow ribbon, July 7 2002
By 
lester piersee (keokuk, iowa 52632) - See all my reviews
i liked all of john fords movies with john wayne , also i like all of john waynes movies after 1935
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Beautiful Film!!, June 17 2002
By 
Mark vonSchlegell (Chicago, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: She Wore a Yellow Ribbon (DVD)
This late 40's film is another love letter to the US Cavalry from director John Ford ( his others being "Fort Apache" and "Rio Grande" ). While everybody here gives good performances, it's John Wayne's portrayal of an aging Cavalry officer three days shy of retiring that is the lynchpin of this film. His convincing performance of a man 20+ years his actual age should've gotten him the Oscar. Another great feature of this film is the cinematography-which DID get the Oscar. Couple this with the beautiful restoration work that was done for this DVD and you have a film that almost looks like it was made yeaterday-especially the outdoor shots! This is a very beautiful looking transfer! Even if you don't like John Wayne, or Westerns in general, this is still a worthy film for your dvd collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4bd2ca8)

This product

She Wore a Yellow Ribbon (Bilingual) [Import]
CDN$ 14.21 CDN$ 7.76
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews