Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Duke Rides again
Ok, so the historical aspect is questionable, so what? This is classic John Wayne, good guys against bad guys, and predictably great until the final reel. I always felt they left the door open a little for a sequel, or moreover that this was placing a John Wayne bootprint on the story behind the story of the Lincoln County War. Whichever way, I thoroughly enjoy this every...
Published on May 18 2004 by A.M.Boughey

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Love John Wayne...hate this movie!
First, let me say..I am a HUGE John Wayne fan. I have most of his movies (especially the westerns) on VHS or DVD. I believe that he epitomizes the cowboy (and perhaps the American) persona and spirit. Having said this..I hated this movie. I found the characters plastic, the story flawed and predictable, and the history atrocious...I'll admit that many of the JW...
Published on Jan. 1 2003 by J. Hill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Duke Rides again, May 18 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Chisum (DVD)
Ok, so the historical aspect is questionable, so what? This is classic John Wayne, good guys against bad guys, and predictably great until the final reel. I always felt they left the door open a little for a sequel, or moreover that this was placing a John Wayne bootprint on the story behind the story of the Lincoln County War. Whichever way, I thoroughly enjoy this every time I see it. Probably not one of the "GREAT" John Wayne westerns, and I'm being a little generous with 4 stars, but the transfer quality to DVD makes it worth it, although there isn't any extra stuff. Just under two hours, and a little violent for very young children, otherwise Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wayne & McLaglen tackle the Lincoln County War, Feb. 5 2003
By 
Chrijeff (Scranton, PA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Chisum (VHS Tape)
Based upon historical fact, this film follows the famous range war in which Billy the Kid made his name, but chiefly from the viewpoint of aging cattle baron John Chisum (Wayne in the title role). It's 1878 in New Mexico Territory, and Chisum rides into the local town of Lincoln to meet his niece Sallie (Pamela McMyler) off the stage. His foreman and long-time Good Right Hand, Pepper (Ben Johnson practically stealing the movie--he should have been nominated for Best Supporting Actor), remarks upon the many acquisitions being made by would-be real-estate magnate Lawrence J. Murphy (Tucker in a cheerfully malevolent role), but Chisum isn't looking for trouble. Still, he is inexorably drawn into the escalating situation when lawyer Alex McSween (Andrew Prine), whom Sallie befriended on the journey, finds it impossible to turn a blind eye to Murphy's machinations, and helps stake the idealistic Easterner to a store to run in competition with the one Murphy bought out from under its original owner. Not until his friend and neighbor, Britisher Henry Tunstall (Patric Knowles), is murdered on the road by two deputies of Murphy's hand-picked sheriff (Bruce Cabot), does Chisum's temper finally come unglued, and the story continues through the siege (canonical) of the McSween store by Murphy's forces, the shooting down of McSween in the street, and at last a classic brawl (in an ultimately burning building) between Chisum and Murphy that always reminds me of two old range bulls butting heads. As always, the supporting cast adds immeasureably to the movie: Geoffrey Deuel as Billy Bonney; Christopher George (who also played a villainous role in the Duke's "El Dorado") as his old enemy, gimpy, half-crazy bounty hunter Dan Nodeen; Richard Jaeckel as Jess Evans, with whom Billy once rode; Glenn Corbett as Billy's friend (and future killer) Pat Garrett. The mild liberties that are taken with history (such as Sallie's attraction to Billy) only serve to fill out the characters better. There's plenty of classic Old West action and a good score (Merle Haggard's vocal, "Turn Me Around," should be released on a retrospective of his songs), and Chisum is portrayed as a decent man who loves the land and wants the best for the people who live on it (interestingly, he isn't expected to carry a romantic relationship at all, though it's strongly hinted that he came close to marrying Sallie's mother). A solid entry to the Wayne oeuvre and one well worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Love John Wayne...hate this movie!, Jan. 1 2003
By 
J. Hill (Xenia, Ohio USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Chisum (VHS Tape)
First, let me say..I am a HUGE John Wayne fan. I have most of his movies (especially the westerns) on VHS or DVD. I believe that he epitomizes the cowboy (and perhaps the American) persona and spirit. Having said this..I hated this movie. I found the characters plastic, the story flawed and predictable, and the history atrocious...I'll admit that many of the JW movies have their warts, especially one of my favorites, "BIG JAKE," but what they lack in polish, story and even "good" acting is usually more than compensated-for by the "true grit"(pun intended) of Wayne's performance. Not here...he is generally sidelined throughout this movie as sort of a community patriarch and observer..his performance just doesn't overcome the poor acting and storyline of this movie. I wish I liked it, but its my least favorite of all the JW films I have seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars CHISUM - The Duke does it his own way! Again!, March 16 2000
By 
Scott L. Mc Kinney III (Elmhurst/Corona, New York) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Chisum (VHS Tape)
CHISUM is the kind of good, tough, old-fashioned western that Hollywood has apparently forgotten how to make. This film focuses on the Lincoln County land wars in New Mexico, featuring a look at the involvement of Billy the Kid. The performances are strong down the line, most notably John Wayne as John Chisum and Christopher George as "Sheriff" Dan Nodeen. Although the historical aspect of the film is dubious, and the plot is a patchwork rehash of many "B" westerns (with implied references to several of Wayne's previous westerns), the film is most enjoyable. Andrew V. Mc Laglen (the poor man's John Ford) does a commendable job of directing this ensemble of veteran and up-and-coming actors. While CHISUM does not rank among the BEST of the John Wayne westerns (such as The Searchers, Red River, etc...), it's still VERY entertaining and well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What do we do, Mr. Chisum?, Feb. 6 2002
By 
Abram Book (Elgin, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Chisum (VHS Tape)
Chisum is a well-directed, well-acted western based on the 1878 Lincoln County War in New Mexico. Duke dominates the story, but Geoffrey Deuel gives an excellent performance as Billy the Kid, and Ben Johnson provides enjoyable comic relief as Chisum's foreman, James Pepper. The movie is even somewhat historically accurate, although Brady's successor as Sheriff was not named Dan Nodeen. Who cares? Good plot, enjoyable characters, and plenty of action make this a must for any John Wayne fan. There is one thing about this movie that puzzles me though, why would a fine young woman like Chisum's niece (played by Pamela McMyler) be interested in the affections of a killer like Billy the Kid?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great movie but has flaws., Aug. 10 2000
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Chisum (VHS Tape)
Chisum is a very good all around movie, but does have flaws, such as the 70's music "Settling down" in the middle of the movie. That music does not go well with westerns. Only the action in this movie saves it. The characters are not as memorable in "Big Jake", or "Cowboys", but there are some famous parts, such as the song in the end, "Chisum, John Chisum..." and the music when John Wayne gets in a fist fight with Murphy. This is a good movie, but if it was not cheap, I would buy the other movies previously mentioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Characters are the best!, Aug. 10 2000
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Chisum (VHS Tape)
This is a great movie another must have in the John Wayne collection! The Characters are what stand out best in this movie, such as, Mr. Nightlinger because he is witty and inteligent. I also like Bruce Dern, because he is especially slimy, and ofcourse, John Wayne. This time instead of the "Duke", it is Mr.Nigtlinger making the memorable lines. The down side is when John Wayne dies, it was sad. It is a great movie, I also highly recommend this movie along with Big Jake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Wayne at his best. rough and ready!, April 2 1999
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Chisum (VHS Tape)
This is a great movie. Not only is it exciting but it is full of history. Telling the story of Billy the Kid and Pat Garrett. How New Mexico became settled and how a man who can start with just a small piece of land, through hard work, perserverance, honesty, and consideration for his fellow man could amass such land and respect from his neighbors. It is truly one of Wayne's best and certainly worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I love Dukes later westerns, July 13 2000
Ce commentaire est de: Chisum (VHS Tape)
Chisum, John Chisum...the song will stick in your head. My eight year old son sings it too. Great movie filled with great lines from Duke. I had a hard time swallowing the 'nice guy/sympthasize with me' Billy the Kid, but beyond that it is a great shoot 'em up and hang 'em high western with a good stampede through town at the end. Story was accceptable and it is always good to see the Duke in action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE DUKE RULES, Jan. 26 2003
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Chisum (VHS Tape)
When I saw another review of this movie I just could not let this guy "diss" the duke like this. I loved this movie, sure it has its flaws, but I found it to be very funny to the point that I was quoting it to my friends (much to their dismay). Anyway if you like a movie with a little humor along with the ruggedness of most cowboy/John Wayne movies, this is the one for you.
-Bobbie, 20
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chisum (Bilingual) [Import]
Chisum (Bilingual) [Import] by Andrew V. McLaglen (DVD - 2007)
CDN$ 6.74
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews