Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than _Mad Max_, maybe better than Thunderdome
This _may_ be the best movie of the Mad Max trilogy.
I like a good postapocalyptic thriller as well as the next guy, but _Mad Max_ just wasn't it. In order to pull off a movie along those lines within the constraints of a tight budget, you pretty much have to be John Carpenter (whose _Escape from New York_ is, to my mind at least, a much more appealing movie than the...
Published on Dec 27 2003 by John S. Ryan

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2013 release COLOUR TIMING issue STILL not corrected
i don't know who's decision it was, but the fact that this new release STILL hasn't been corrected to match the theatrical / original colour timing, makes me VERY sad.

it seems like i'll have to continue watching the dvd (which has the original orange yellow cast over the film, that makes it truly look like a desert WASTELAND)

i don't get it...
Published 18 months ago by Paul Shikata


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2013 release COLOUR TIMING issue STILL not corrected, June 4 2013
By 
Paul Shikata (toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
i don't know who's decision it was, but the fact that this new release STILL hasn't been corrected to match the theatrical / original colour timing, makes me VERY sad.

it seems like i'll have to continue watching the dvd (which has the original orange yellow cast over the film, that makes it truly look like a desert WASTELAND)

i don't get it.

WRECKING the look of a film should be ILLEGAL. lol

at least this new release has a lossless DTS-MA audio track. (the original blu-ray was lossy dolby digital 5.1)

not that i will buy it, as i refuse to watch this film (on blu) due to what has been done to the picture.

horrible.

i don't care if it's 'sharper' ..... the blu-ray colour timing is awful.

5 stars for the film.

1 star for the picture (based on the current colour timing)

george miller should be freaking out.

i can deal with things like the subtle teal look they gave the new terminator blu-ray ........ but road warrior has been drastically altered , colour-wise ...... (i don't want to see GREEN grass in an apocalyptic wasteland)

buyer beware ......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than _Mad Max_, maybe better than Thunderdome, Dec 27 2003
By 
John S. Ryan "Scott Ryan" (Cuyahoga Falls, OH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This _may_ be the best movie of the Mad Max trilogy.
I like a good postapocalyptic thriller as well as the next guy, but _Mad Max_ just wasn't it. In order to pull off a movie along those lines within the constraints of a tight budget, you pretty much have to be John Carpenter (whose _Escape from New York_ is, to my mind at least, a much more appealing movie than the one that launched this trilogy). It was a very cool idea, but too many of the seams showed and there wasn't enough cool stuff to sustain it in spite of its flaws.
_The Road Warrior_ is a different deal. It's a _much_ better movie than its predecessor, and it's sufficiently self-contained that you don't have to have seen the earlier one in order to enjoy it.
You probably already know the story here. After a nuclear war, what remains of human society is teetering on the edge between civilization and barbarism. Max (Mel Gibson in his pre-_Lethal Weapon_ breakout role) is a tormented loner in this world, hovering somewhere between hero and anti-hero as he wanders aimlessly around the Australian Outback in search of 'guzzline' to keep his car running. (You'll have to watch the first film to find out exactly why he's so tormented, but the first few minutes will give you the general idea.)
The plot itself revolves around that selfsame guzzline, of which there's (naturally enough) a widespread shortage. I won't tell you anything else in case you haven't seen it yet.
It's well done. Sure, there's quite a bit here that's designed to appeal to the sensibilities of fans of monster truck rallies and professional wrestling. But there's also a pretty well-realized view of a postapocalyptic civilization and of what it would take to keep that civilization from falling completely apart. I remember reading somewhere that the film relies heavily on Joseph Campbell's writings on myth; I think that's an accurate call.
Watch for Bruce Spence as the Gyro Captain. _Matrix_ fans will recognize him as the Trainman from M3. I'd also be remiss if I failed to mention that this movie, like the first one, was nicely scored by Brian May (of Queen).
I think the third film, _Mad Max Beyond Thuderdome_, has higher production values, more swashbuckling, and a better score. But _The Road Warrior_ is still, in my not entirely humble opinion, the best of the three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Endlessly Imitated, Never Equaled, Nov. 7 2003
By 
The Road Warrior is one of those rare sequels that actually improves in every concievable way to the previous movie. The first Mad Max was well concieved, but ultimately, the low budget hindered it in many places. Not so with the Road Warrior, the story, the characters and especially the action are more exciting and interesting than the first.
Developing the post-apocalyptic theme of the first Mad Max, Max is wondering around the Austrailian desert looking for gas and eventually helps a group of people trying to protect their home, possessions and above all gas from a ruthless gang of bikers who look like they were cast from a local leather bar.
While the story sounds fairly generic, the characters and plot rise above what one would normally expect from B-movie action/adventures. However, the real selling point, of course, is still the action. The chase scene at the end, in my opinion, has never been equaled in cinema as far as sheer terror, dread and excitement as the bikers slowly try and demolish the semi-truck driven by Max.
Although the DVD itself is given the spartan treatment as far as extras are concerned, the movie itself is more than enough to warrant purchasing it. A worthy addition to any action fan's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic & A Must Have For Action Fans, Sept. 16 2003
By 
Mrs B (London, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This 1981 action/adventure is an absolute must have for the true movie lover. It's the second of three in a series, and although I've never seen the first one, I can say that this one puts the third one to shame. The Road Warrior is Max, played by a young Mel Gibson, an ex-cop struggling to survive in the post-apocalyptic backroads of Australia. Civilization as we know it is on the brink of perishing, as gangs of men terrorize the highways in pursuit of the most valuable commodity in these times: gasoline. Max happens upon what appears to be the last of the civilized world, a group of 20 people banded together raising chickens who also happen to be producing petroleum. While producing this petroleum, this group find themselves forced to live barricaded from a savage group of motorists that surround their fort-like community and the petroleum producing facility it contains. Max makes a deal to help them find a way out of this home that has become a prison, but his life is on the line if he can't complete his mission.
The casting is perfect, as is the story, dialogue, plot, script, wardrobe, and cinematography. Even after twenty years, it is still one of the best action movies you'll find out there.
On a side note, after its release, it won the Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards for best foreign film. It was also France's Avoriaz Fantastic Film Festival winner for 1982, and in 1982, the Australian Film Institute awarded it for Best Direction, Best Achievement in Sound, Best Achievement in Production Design, Best Achievement in Editing, and Best Achievement in Costume Design. It was, of course, also the movie that made Gibson an international star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ruthless... Savage... Spectacular, July 8 2003
Ahhh, the classic post-apocolyptic thriller that sets the standard for post-apocolyptic thrillers. One tagline reads 'In the future, cities will become deserts, roads will become battlefields and the hope of mankind will appear as a stranger'. I remember skipping school in the early 80's to stay home and watch this one on cable, Such a great movie that has lost none of it's appeal even after 20 plus years. This is the story of a man, once an officer of the law, who now roams the highways of post-apocolyptic Australia searching for gasoline and maybe a reason to exist. In this time, gasoline is the most valuable commodity, so much so men kill for it. Mel Gibson plays Max, in the role that made him known worldwide. During his travels, he comes across a small settlement that is actually producing petroleum. This settlement is besieged by a group of motorized, murdering, mauraders who want all the fuel. Knowing that the fuel is life, the people in the settlement defend the fuel, but their strength and ability to hold out against this powerful force is becoming less and less each day. Max strikes a deal with them for all the fuel he can carry provided he can get a truck for them so they can haul their tanker of gas out of the wasteland and find a better life in a fabled coastal land. Max fufills his end of the bargin, and leaves the settlement with his fuel, but is attacked and left for dead. Having lost his car, he decides to drive the tanker. This sets up one of the most amazing highway battles ever filmed, as the settlers have turned the tanker into a moving fortess, and the marauders will stop at nothing to stop the tanker and get the gas. This movie is what I would call a nearly pefect example of excellent casting, story, dialogue, plot, script, wardrobe, etc. to make up a near perfect movie. Everything in the movie works so well that your entire attention is focused on the screen, even after multiple viewings. This is actually the second in a trilogy, Mad Max being the first and Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome being the third, but, in my opinion, this one is the best. It's raw, gritty, sometimes humourous and competely enthralling. On a side note, what's up with Warner Brothers and their crummy cardboard packaging? It just seems so flimsy and cheap. And don't look for a lot of extras with this release, just the full and widescreen versions and some production notes.
This just in...I heard George Miller and Mel Gibson are bringing Max back one more time in 2004 in Mad Max: Fury Road......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The movie is great; the DVD transfer needs work., June 19 2003
By A Customer
First, I'd like to say THANK YOU to all the reviewers who get on here and discuss DVD transfer quality instead of just frothing at the mouth about how great the movie is. (That comment especially applies to the film Blade Runner.)
Now, I don't know if there is an accepted name for it, but some Warner DVDs have a recurring transfer problem which is evident at many points in the film. The Road Warrior is one of those DVDs. Therefore I wait expectantly for a potential Special Edition of this film, with a cleaned-up transfer. My personal opinion is that a DVD is not supposed to look like it's been put together by amateurs. It's supposed to recreate the theatrical experience of the film. In other words, Warner needs to clean up its act.
My rating for the film itself is really a 5; the 4 is a "qualified 4", relating to the transfer. The film itself is great. At this point in the story, there don't seem to be any vestiges of normal civilization around, and the plot is all about a group of people who are defending a fuel refinery from hordes of encroaching wasteland dwellers. There's also a nice synopsis of Max's origin which contains a montage from the first film.
Despite the acclaim given to the first film's action sequences, there's more going on here, and the villains are more fearsome. Another thing about this movie is that the scenery ( Broken Hill, Australia ) is incredible; the unique essence of Australian geography is brought out.
Note for subtitle aficionados: If you keep an eye on the English subtitles all the way through, you'll see a subtitle or two that might be a little bit questionable. ( As in : where did they hear THAT? )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars After a dozen viewings, still one of my favorite films, May 24 2003
By 
Robert Moore (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I first saw this film in the spring of 1981, immediately after hearing Siskiel and Ebert rave about this follow up to another Australian film I hadn't yet seen. I was game, and the second I saw it I was hooked. I had seen movies before that dealt with the world "after they dropped the bomb," but never before had any of those films had such style and attitude. It wasn't until I saw THE MATRIX in 1999 that I was to see another futuristic film that would have as much of edge. Even today, this movie has a power and primal simplicity that few can match.
Storywise, the film had a great deal in common with other films--especially Westerns--that feature an anti-social loner as the central hero. Mel Gibson's "Mad" Max Rockatansky (a role he will be reprising next year in MAX MAX IV) is almost a copy of Clint Eastwood's Man With No Name, except that in this instance we know his name and we know something about what made him made from the first film. Mel Gibson makes this movie work. His laconic self-isolation, his cynicism, his lack of anything except a grim determination to continue to survive and find another liter of petrol gives the film a magnificent bleakness. To be honest, it isn't quite easy to tell why he is the good buy and not just as bad as the gang of the Humongous, why he isn't as bad as Vernon Welles's Wez. But we accept it, and in the end he turns out to have been on the right side.
I heard George Miller interviewed once about the music used in the film. Despite the punkish look that nearly every character in the film assumes, the music is bland, uninteresting orchestral music, just barely above the level of Musak. According to Miller, this was intentional. He felt that in some movies, the music draws attention away from the action, so he used music that was almost impossible to focus upon, forcing all the attention back on to what was happening onscreen. Oddly enough, since then the music has become more interesting to me than it had before.
I know this is a bit of heresy to hardcore Mad Max fans, but of the three films made so far, this one remains by far my favorite. The third was watchable, but not really very good, and the first one, while good, lacked the simplicity of story that I think makes this second film so great. Also, I find the undubbed version to be almost impossible to make out at times, and the dubbed version sounds far too silly. But maybe I prefer the second because I saw it first, and so many times since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best action movies ever made., Jan. 19 2003
Movie:
The Road Warrior, set seven or so years after the events of Mad Max. Max is now a heartless man, wandering the wastlands of the outback. The third world war has left the world in total ruin, and many have turned to the cruelness of the gangs that rule the wastland. The few that maintain the humanity are few. Max stumbles apon an little sliver of civilization which is constantly assulted by evil biker gangs. Soon he finds himself involved in their flight for survival. The last chase scean is epic compaired to anythng made to date. This movie as many movie buffs like me say, is possibly the best Action/Scific movie ever made. One might think that it is a very poor movie to the small amont of talking, this just adds to the brillance of the movie! This is kind of like Star Wars: Even if you don't like it, you have to see it at least once.
Movie 5 out of 5 stars
DVD:
Whoever owns the rights to this breakthrough-of-a-movie is out of his mind! Shure the picture and sound quality is good, but look at the extras! Zero, nada, zip. What a good way to ruin a great movie's DVD!
DVD: 1 out of 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best post-apocalypse movies ever, Jan. 17 2003
By 
Lonnie E. Holder "The Review's the Thing" (Columbus, Indiana, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There are certain movies that become classics the moment they are released. "The Road Warrior" is such a movie.
While not necessary to understand this movie, it is helpful to watch "Mad Max" to understand how Mel Gibson came to be the person he is in this movie. In "Mad Max" we see Mel's family brutalized by a motor cycle gang in a post-apocalyptic Australia. After exacting his revenge on the gang, he drives off into the sunset, literally.
"The Road Warrior" shows Max still essentially a nice guy, but interested in continuing to drive into the sunset. At the beginning of the movie Max is in serious need of a gas station, and finds one in the middle of the desert, besieged by a gang of hot rodders led by an apparently deformed Humungus.
The story line is simple. The people at the desert refinery want to pack up their gasoline and move off to a place where there are more people, food, and perhaps some remnant of civilization. Max wants a tank of gas. In order for the desert people to look for the better place, they need a semi tractor to carry off their gasoline. Max still wants his tank of gas. Here is where the two needs meet. In exchange for helping the refinery people, Max will get all the gas he can carry.
Max seeks out and finds a semi tractor, and manages, as part of one of the best chase scenes of all time, to get the tractor back to the refinery. With a variety of violent interludes, comes the time to move the gas, which involves another, even better chase scene that lasts pretty much to the end of the movie. The last chase scene is best experienced in surround sound with the biggest screen you can find. Turn the sound up.
Each incident in the chase is carefully choreographed so that the viewer won't miss a minute of action, of which there is a lot from the time that everyone bails out from the refinery. Arrows, guns, car (if you can call some of these behemoths cars) wrecks, creative death, all ending up with a few of the bad guys remaining, a heavily injured Max, and the refinery people heading off to find some semblance of civilization.
This review does not do this movie, which was one of the movies that launched Mel Gibson's carrer, justice. This movie is one that would take a book to describe. It's easier to watch it. One of the best and most potentially realistic of all post-apocalyptic movies, this movie is science fiction as it can be: well-plotted, logically sequenced. One of the best science fiction movies of all time, a must have for the serious fan, and a definite 5 star movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Top Ten Movie, Oct. 12 2002
By A Customer
I only buy DVDs that I know I can watch over and over again and Road Warrior is one of them. Whereas Mad Max is raw and simple in its revenge theme, Road Warrior is a bit more complex: the embittered lone-survivor of this vast, cruel wasteland is still a man who has some human compassion in him but is reluctant to feel lest his survival instincts become compromised. Beneath his stone-faced reserve you can see he struggles with this as the little urchin-boy vies for Max's attention and the clan he helps to defend against The Humungus desperately seek his help. They are reminders of real people, like his wife and son he lost earlier to the road warriors.
But this is an action film at its best and even knowing the outcome the road battle scenes are still awesome and the evil warriors, looking like your worst nightmare motorcylce gang, are still scary as ever. And what more appropriate commodity to be fighting over than gasoline? This film will never feel dated for its futuristic outlook where oil becomes gold.
Personally, this is my favorite Mel Gibson role-hands down. He's just too cool, too intense and a character you can't forget. Mad Max and Road Warrior are definite buys. The last of this Outback trilogy, Beyond The Thunderdome, is a bit too over the top for me-it just feels too over produced- but I'd still recommend it to see what you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Road Warrior [Blu-ray]
The Road Warrior [Blu-ray] by George Miller (Blu-ray - 2007)
CDN$ 24.99 CDN$ 11.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews