Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jungle Book: blu ray (not movie) review: despite of problematic video, this timeless classic is still highly recommended!
VIDEO:

Jungle Book arrives on blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.75:1 encode. Instead of meticulously touch-up for high definition release, Disney simply scrubbed away all the natural grain, that makes the final product having too much glossy sheen. Maybe Disney is simply presenting a classic movie for a generation of youngsters who are used to artificially clean...
Published 5 months ago by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ripped off DVD
My only bad purchase on amazon so far. It looked authentic when it arrived but the DVD looked like one you would buy in bulk from the local office warehouse. When I played it for the kids it freezes at each chapter for a few seconds which spoils the whole effect. My bad I guess I thought i'd bought a "genuine" product.
Published on Jan. 15 2011 by brasco1033


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jungle Book: blu ray (not movie) review: despite of problematic video, this timeless classic is still highly recommended!, Feb. 18 2014
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
VIDEO:

Jungle Book arrives on blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.75:1 encode. Instead of meticulously touch-up for high definition release, Disney simply scrubbed away all the natural grain, that makes the final product having too much glossy sheen. Maybe Disney is simply presenting a classic movie for a generation of youngsters who are used to artificially clean animation. At least the noise reduction is not as disastrous at that in The Sword in the Stone (my review elsewhere). Here, the sketch lines are still fairly distinct. Colours are nicely saturated, primaries are quite lovely, black levels are deep, and contrast is dialed in beautifully. This being a Diamond Edition, I am slightly disappointed with Disney’s efforts. (3.5/5)

AUDIO:

Disney has upgraded the audio to DTS-HD 7.1 Master Audio lossless track. The music and lyrics are crystal clear. Dialogue is crisp and natural. George Burns score and the Sherman Brothers' songs sound better than they ever have, as does the entire experience. The song Bare Necessities, written by Terry Gilkyson and performed by Phil Harris and Bruce Reitherman, was nominated for Best Original Song in 1967, but lost to Talk to The Animals from Doctor Dolittle. (4.5/5)

TRIVIA:

Did you know that the Vultures were originally going to be voiced by The Beatles? The band's manager, Brian Epstein, approached the Disney studios about having The Beatles appear in the film, and Disney had his animators create the Vultures specifically to be voiced by the band. But when Epstein took the idea to the Beatles, John Lennon vetoed the idea, and told Epstein to tell Disney he should hire Elvis Presley instead. The look of The Vultures, with their mop-top haircuts and Liverpool voices, are a homage to The Beatles; one bird's voice and features are clearly based on Ringo Starr. When the Beatles departed the project, the song was rewritten as a barbershop quartet, to make it timeless.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Jungle Book is one of the true Disney classics, but one that is curiously overlooked when people start remembering the best Disney movies. It's so playful, so wonderfully inventive with its animation and songs that it'll no doubt be loved by future generations of kids. The video may be problematic at times, but for the most part it turns out fine. The audio mix is very well-rounded, providing ample oomph to the Sherman soundtrack. This is still a fun and memorable movie and is still highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, Jan. 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Jungle Book (Platinum Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Bought this movie for my grand daughters. I enjoyed it just as much as they did. It is a great classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD!, Feb. 3 2012
This review is from: The Jungle Book (Platinum Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
The DVD arrived in perfect condition! Was in amazing shape and plays perfectly. My son and I enjoy watching it. Thank you very much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disney's 19th Animated Masterpiece!, March 6 2004
This review is from: The Jungle Book (Bilingual) (DVD)
The Jungle Book was the last film in which Walt Disney participated in, he died during its production. It wasn't certain if the Disney staff would be able to finish the proyect without the presence of their director, but the film was finished becoming a great hit in the theaters. The movie tells the story of Mowgli a young boy who grows up in the jungle and must be taken back to the human village by Bagheera. The only problem is that Mowgli wants to stay in the jungle, specially after he meets Baloo, a wild and friendly bear. But Mowgly will find something special in the man village that will change his mind making him want to go there.
The only DVD released so far for this title is a Limited Issue, and I believe it either has very, very little extras or nothing at all. So I recommend keeping your VHS tape and wait for the Platinum Edition release which will bring many more extras than the first release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars jungle book, June 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Jungle Book (Platinum Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
The Jungle Book, one of Disney's ultimate classics, it has great characters, an awesome story and terrific animation. I'll admit it, I adore Disney movies, I could never choose just one Disney movie as my favorite, I love them all for so many different reasons. The Jungle Book is one of my fav's though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic TV, June 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I grew up on all the Disney movies and could hardly wait to watch them on TV. We have a large collection on DVD and still watch them to this day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining for Children, May 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good movie, lots of action, entertains the younger children, good characters shows what animals are in the jungle, like the character
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jungle Book - A new family favorite., April 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Loved it! A new family favorite. The songs are so catchy that the entire family was trying to sing along. A timeless story that we enjoyed as children and now our children are enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite Disney movies, April 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent characters and animation and really good songs. I like this one because it is less scary for an imaginative child than many of the movies are,. Although it has its scary and sad moments, they aren't over done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, April 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A childhood favorite of mine, and very happy that it brought the same enjoyment to my two children!! Hopefully for generations to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Jungle Book (Platinum Edition) (Bilingual)
The Jungle Book (Platinum Edition) (Bilingual) by Wolfgang Reitherman (DVD - 2007)
CDN$ 36.99 CDN$ 25.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews