Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Opposites attract in this wonderful love story
"Desert Hearts," directed by Donna Deitch, opens in Reno, Nevada in 1959. The film, which is based on a novel by Jane Rule, tells the story of Vivian (played by Helen Shaver), a prim-and-proper college professor who has come to Nevada to get a divorce. There she meets Cay (Patricia Charbonneau), a lusty, free-spirited casino worker. The relationship between these two...
Published on May 22 2003 by Michael J. Mazza

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as magical as the book
The trouble is, this film is too close to Jane Rule's gorgeous novel to separate itself, yet it cannot hope to convey the magic and subtleties painted by Jane Rule whose characters are so well-defined; whose sense of timing and space is impeccable and who develops the tensions (slight and not-so-slight) between these women by way of their perceptions (of each other and...
Published on Sept. 26 2003 by Wildfire


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars mesmerized, Oct. 18 2000
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Desert Hearts [Import] (VHS Tape)
What a beautiful film. i could watch it again and again. Loved the soundtrack, the cinematography, believable (and very attractive) characters and moving love story. Found the love scene very tastefully done and touching, and yes, steamy. i am a married heterosexual woman and i enjoyed this film very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent movie, June 18 2002
Ce commentaire est de: Desert Hearts (Widescreen) (DVD)
I rented this movie not realizing its theme and I really enjoyed it. The setting is perfect and the cast was excellent. As a Writer I was impressed with almost all of the dialogue. There are some great moments here. A few leave you hanging but for the most part it is very well written for a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Passionate, Oct. 4 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Desert Hearts (Widescreen) (DVD)
The storyline and characters are somewhat interesting, though not as interesting as the explosive lesbian love scene near the end of the film!
Both Helen Shaver & Patricia Charbonneau are beautiful, and the kissing between them is enough to make your heart stop! Don't miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic love story, Aug. 14 2002
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Desert Hearts [Import] (VHS Tape)
I could watch this movie over and over. Great performances of the lead actors. Although out of convention, the love scenes were shot and acted in very good taste. I love every scene of this movie, from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Goodness, July 14 2013
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: DESERT HEARTS: 2-DISC COLLECTOR'S EDITION (DVD)
Desert Hearts the movie is a close version of the book with some slight variation. The movie is as tasty as the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hottest Lesbian Love Story Ever!!, March 26 2001
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Desert Hearts (Widescreen) (DVD)
...and the performances weren't bad, either!! A star making vehicle for Patricia Charbonneau and Helen Shaver!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Okay, Oct. 21 2001
By 
D. Lawrence "velasupernova" (Cincinnati, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Desert Hearts [Import] (VHS Tape)
The film was okay. I would not recommend buying it, but it's okay to rent. Vivian Bell (Helen) and Patricia Charbonneau (Cay) gave strong performances as the "professor" and the "wild card" who fall in love. The shy glances exchanged between them were sexy and natural. Also, the slow, intimate sex scene was very erotic, even more so because the director chose to eliminate a musical backdrop and focus on the two women's passionate breathing. Audra Lindley (Frances) also turned in a strong performance as Cay's alcoholic stepmother. Some of the supporting characters were weak (especially Cay's best friend) and some of the lines were lame. But overall, a good effort for a first-time director.I'm sure Deitch will turn out much better cinema in the future. Final advice: Rent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A woman's love is a priceless enlightenment, undeniably superior over the other kind of love., July 30 2009
By 
Ce commentaire est de: DESERT HEARTS: 2-DISC COLLECTOR'S EDITION (DVD)
A woman's love is a priceless enlightenment, undeniably superior over the other kind of love, for its endurance, strength and wisdom. Sadly, most of films portray that the loving relationship between women ends up in sorrowful tragedy, often death by suicide or judicial imprisonment or even execution. I strongly believe that it is really unfair to label the attraction between women such as forbidden love affair. What is really the harm they can cause to man kind? Practically none to be known of throughout human history. Men continue to jeopardise women's freedom of love for men's own ego problems that they want to own women. I foresee that the end of human civilisation comes sooner if we do not correct our attitude. In fact, there have been more women on the earth than men. Women should have had slightly larger ownership of this planet. There are 103 women for every 100 men. We must give those extra 3 women freedom of choice, space and compassion for their choice of companionship. If they want to chose another woman. Let them pursue their freedom to do so. It was such a great relief for me that there were no cruelty such as intimidation or violence implied upon Cay and Vivian and that the film ended with some hope that they can meet again in the future. Cay's free spirited persona honestly played by Patricia Charbonneau was awesome and refreshing. All these makes the film quite appealing and worthy of praise. Every female child has dreams of being swept up into a great adventure, of being the beautiful princess. Lamentably, when women grow up, they are often swept up into a life filled merely with demands, duty and responsibility. Many women are tired, struggling under the merciless pressure to be of a faithful servant, or a caregiver for children, husband or father and like. I admire Cay and Vivian for their courage to follow their hearts and not to be influenced by merciless pressure from conservative society. Pinecloud, a straight male, Palo Alto, California, USA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars love story, April 25 2004
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Desert Hearts (Widescreen) (DVD)
This movie was the first lesbain movie I truly fell in love with. I felt my self in the movie through each sceen.I would love to have seen the stars go into more detailed sex sceens. But you can still feel the love. It was a very good love story. It would please me to see a part 2 to this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, March 26 2001
By 
A.B. CLARKE (Almere-Haven Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Desert Hearts [Import] (VHS Tape)
The acting is stiff, the plot is pointless, the theme is clichéd, the ending predictable... My partner could only say "Awful awful awful..." The characterisations are jagged, partial, and not credible. The film did not engage in genuine issues, and instead indulged in a lot of shouting and other melodrama....END
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DESERT HEARTS: 2-DISC COLLECTOR'S EDITION
DESERT HEARTS: 2-DISC COLLECTOR'S EDITION by Donna Deitch (DVD - 2013)
CDN$ 19.95 CDN$ 16.27
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews