Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars can't miss
This is a wonderful movie of two gorgeous women who make love and one drops her water onto the other while they're at it. I watch that part over and over. And I'm a girl.
Published on Feb. 2 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Passionate
The storyline and characters are somewhat interesting, though not as interesting as the explosive lesbian love scene near the end of the film!
Both Helen Shaver & Patricia Charbonneau are beautiful, and the kissing between them is enough to make your heart stop! Don't miss it!
Published on Oct. 4 2003 by axpress


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars mesmerized, Oct. 18 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Desert Hearts [Import] (VHS Tape)
What a beautiful film. i could watch it again and again. Loved the soundtrack, the cinematography, believable (and very attractive) characters and moving love story. Found the love scene very tastefully done and touching, and yes, steamy. i am a married heterosexual woman and i enjoyed this film very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stole My Heart, Oct. 10 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Desert Hearts [Import] (VHS Tape)
I loved this movie! It is my all-time, favorite lesbian love story. More recent films have touted themselves as having eclipsed this story, but frankly, I have not yet seen a lesbian film that is better than this one. Yeah, this film has some hokey parts. I do not like the way that director, Donna Deitch suddenly fades to black as a transitioning technique. I do, however, like the 1950's vocal music in the background. The music mirrors the mood of the film and of the characters. I also liked the authenticity of the film in terms its 1950's setting. I liked the old cars and the old clothes and the old slot machines. Even the leather couch and the cowboy-patterned dishes hasten back to the 1950's. I especially liked the performance of Helen Shaver as Vivian Bell, the uptight eastern professor who comes to Reno for a quickie divorce. I had seen her in movies before but it took this movie for me to recognize the depth of her talent. Audra Lindley (AKA, TV's Mrs. Roper from Three's Company) is also excellent. I never really knew where the Audra Lindley character was coming from, even though I have probably seen the film at least ten times. I think that not understanding the character's full motivation is part of the intrigue of her performance; you're never really sure where her true affections lie. The interplay between the two main characters is awesome. It is wonderful to see the attraction grow and to see the younger character's boldness and both character's vulnerability. I give credit to the writer, director and actresses for the authenticity with which they recreated the awkward and often tentative moments of new love. If you never buy or see another lesbian film, buy and see this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars that's what love and tenderness is all about, Oct. 10 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Desert Hearts [Import] (VHS Tape)
This is one of the first films i ever saw about women's love.It showed some special love relationship i never saw before,some tenderness and softness you can't ever reach with man,not only sexually wise.The film gives a wonderfull feeling of the specialty in women's ability to understand each other and feel things under the surface.I beleive that at certain situations it can happen to every woman, straight or not. the film is wonderfully done,passing the Reno's conservative atmosphere on one hand and the beautiful desert atmosphere on the other. The acting of Shaver and Charbonneau is very persuasive and seems like they act themselves. when one meets true love,i beleive there are no borders of any kind, sexually or others. The one real sex scene is beautifully done, with a lot of passion and lust on one hand and a lot of modesty on the other.Sex scene does'nt have to be vulgar and blunt.you can get the feeling, even more when it's done so nice and gentle. i could watch this film over and over again and every time see something else in it, specially because of it's non violent atmosphere and the love and tenderness it projects. And,yes things like that can happen and life can change all of a sudden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars WELL DONE!, May 24 2000
By 
R. Penola (NYC, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Desert Hearts [Import] (VHS Tape)
Despite a few obvious cliches in plot and character, this movie is absolutely winning in every way, regardless of the label "lesbian movie". The performance by Helen Shaver should have won an Oscar nom; Patricia Charbonneau is fresh and adorable. The locations, music and heart-felt story draw you in from the very start, and the coming-of-age-at-middle-age is frank, and I think anyone would enjoy this film on its own terms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A LESBIAN CLASSIC, May 16 2000
By 
This review is from: Desert Hearts [Import] (VHS Tape)
I saw this movie when it first came out in the theatres.Since then, I have not met a single lesbian who does not have this movie in her collection .It's great that it'sbeing re-released on vhs, but what about releasing iton DVD. There are a lot of people out there who would jump at the chance to get this movie on DVD. If youfeel the same way, then e-mail mgm and tell themyou want this movie on DVD ! Write NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great to see this again! (but hotel scenes missing? ), May 16 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Desert Hearts [Import] (VHS Tape)
I remember seeing this movie years ago, when I was having the first inklings that I may not quite swing towards guys...it was breathtaking, and made me feel great about the future. The totally open, "I won't let the world change me" attitude of Cay is refreshing and a great inspiration. Buy this movie now! You won't regret it.
Is it my imagination, or are some of the hotel room scenes from the original movie missing? Thoughts please...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Okay, Oct. 21 2001
By 
D. Lawrence "velasupernova" (Cincinnati, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Desert Hearts [Import] (VHS Tape)
The film was okay. I would not recommend buying it, but it's okay to rent. Vivian Bell (Helen) and Patricia Charbonneau (Cay) gave strong performances as the "professor" and the "wild card" who fall in love. The shy glances exchanged between them were sexy and natural. Also, the slow, intimate sex scene was very erotic, even more so because the director chose to eliminate a musical backdrop and focus on the two women's passionate breathing. Audra Lindley (Frances) also turned in a strong performance as Cay's alcoholic stepmother. Some of the supporting characters were weak (especially Cay's best friend) and some of the lines were lame. But overall, a good effort for a first-time director.I'm sure Deitch will turn out much better cinema in the future. Final advice: Rent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A woman's love is a priceless enlightenment, undeniably superior over the other kind of love., July 30 2009
By 
This review is from: DESERT HEARTS: 2-DISC COLLECTOR'S EDITION (DVD)
A woman's love is a priceless enlightenment, undeniably superior over the other kind of love, for its endurance, strength and wisdom. Sadly, most of films portray that the loving relationship between women ends up in sorrowful tragedy, often death by suicide or judicial imprisonment or even execution. I strongly believe that it is really unfair to label the attraction between women such as forbidden love affair. What is really the harm they can cause to man kind? Practically none to be known of throughout human history. Men continue to jeopardise women's freedom of love for men's own ego problems that they want to own women. I foresee that the end of human civilisation comes sooner if we do not correct our attitude. In fact, there have been more women on the earth than men. Women should have had slightly larger ownership of this planet. There are 103 women for every 100 men. We must give those extra 3 women freedom of choice, space and compassion for their choice of companionship. If they want to chose another woman. Let them pursue their freedom to do so. It was such a great relief for me that there were no cruelty such as intimidation or violence implied upon Cay and Vivian and that the film ended with some hope that they can meet again in the future. Cay's free spirited persona honestly played by Patricia Charbonneau was awesome and refreshing. All these makes the film quite appealing and worthy of praise. Every female child has dreams of being swept up into a great adventure, of being the beautiful princess. Lamentably, when women grow up, they are often swept up into a life filled merely with demands, duty and responsibility. Many women are tired, struggling under the merciless pressure to be of a faithful servant, or a caregiver for children, husband or father and like. I admire Cay and Vivian for their courage to follow their hearts and not to be influenced by merciless pressure from conservative society. Pinecloud, a straight male, Palo Alto, California, USA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, March 26 2001
By 
A.B. CLARKE (Almere-Haven Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Desert Hearts [Import] (VHS Tape)
The acting is stiff, the plot is pointless, the theme is clichéd, the ending predictable... My partner could only say "Awful awful awful..." The characterisations are jagged, partial, and not credible. The film did not engage in genuine issues, and instead indulged in a lot of shouting and other melodrama....END
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars love story, April 25 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Desert Hearts (Widescreen) (DVD)
This movie was the first lesbain movie I truly fell in love with. I felt my self in the movie through each sceen.I would love to have seen the stars go into more detailed sex sceens. But you can still feel the love. It was a very good love story. It would please me to see a part 2 to this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DESERT HEARTS: 2-DISC COLLECTOR'S EDITION
DESERT HEARTS: 2-DISC COLLECTOR'S EDITION by Donna Deitch (DVD - 2013)
CDN$ 19.95 CDN$ 16.26
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews