Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full Metal Jacket
One of Kubrick's master works.
An extremely graphic movie and the drill sergeant is particularly real.
This was probably because he was a Marine and from what I have heard, was originally hired as a technical advisor. Kubrick realized he had pure gold and put him in front of the camera.
The second half gives the viewer a taste of the Vietnam war and being...
Published on Sept. 28 2011 by Inspector Guy

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Full Screen?
Good movie, bad studio.
What the thought process behind having this DVD only include the pan scan version is what I keep asking myself.
Don't let the Stanley Kubrick Collection labeling fool you; or you might very well end up having to buy this movie AGAIN just to see it in widescreen.
Published on May 3 2002 by Michael Gibson


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full Metal Jacket, Sept. 28 2011
By 
Inspector Guy - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Full Metal Jacket (DVD)
One of Kubrick's master works.
An extremely graphic movie and the drill sergeant is particularly real.
This was probably because he was a Marine and from what I have heard, was originally hired as a technical advisor. Kubrick realized he had pure gold and put him in front of the camera.
The second half gives the viewer a taste of the Vietnam war and being in the "s***".
I enjoyed the film immensely and have added it alongside my other Kubrick favourites
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic War Film, Dec 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's a Stanley Kubrick film. What else do I need to say? If you have not seen it then watch it. If you've seen it, watch it again. Then go and watch ever other film that Kubrick made. You'll be a better person for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The digibook edition is (almost) impressive..., April 21 2013
By 
Simon Bergeron - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Stanley Kubrick's work doesn't age with time. The experience we get for watching such a spectacle requires a lot of knowledge, but there's also an entire world of unseen or untold dimension that makes every Kubrick film a worthwhile showing. Much was said about each of the late director's work, and I could hardly pretend to add anything substantial, so let's concentrate on the edition at hand rather than delve into what would be impossible for me, shall we?

First off, we do get a nice 40-page long digibook filled with images and anecdotes from the cast and crew, most of which being of varied importance (from anecdotic to very interesting). The former FMJ edition had a commentary track, a (very) short making-of featurette and a trailer. This new blu-ray still offers the same features, adding only one feature: Stanley Kubrick's boxes, covering the director's obsessive-compulsive nature while also giving a much more profound human portrait of Kubrick than what might have been anticipated.

This new documentary focuses on the content of the boxes and can hardly accomplish being anything more than interesting. With its total running time of just over 60 minutes, it's hard to cover 1,000 boxes and keep the essence of what was in them. Perhaps a full 120-minute cut would have been preferred. The documentary also does mention having close to 18 hours of behind the scenes of Full Metal Jacket in the boxes, so... another nice thought would have been to include at least some here.

Maybe we'll eventually get the anniversary or commemorative treatment this mythical film deserves. Until then, this outing will have to suffice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "This is my Rifle, This is my review", Feb. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Simply one of the best war films ever made. Looks and feels amazing on Blu-ray. Nicely crafted 48-page DigiBook. Great special features and extras. A definite must have for any movie collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very tense and emotionally atractive, Aug. 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
not for the weak at heart as realistic that emotions and tension relating to men of war and their trauma with buddies falling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, July 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved it, R. Lee Ermy, is one of my favorite actor, he was great in that movie, especially for being his first movie. I highly recommend seeing this film if your a fan of his stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars full metal jacket, June 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Full Metal Jacket (DVD)
I bought this movie as a gift. The person who received it likes war movies, old and new. thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Full Metal Jacket, April 17 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Full Metal Jacket (DVD)
This movie arrived in my mailbox well within the promised delivery time in new condition. If you haven't watched this movie you don't know what you're missing. A Vietnam war classic that brings out some of the horrors of war, including conflicts between the soldiers fighting it. Must watch for any war movie aficionado.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars American war film, April 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Full Metal Jacket is a 1987 war film produced, directed and co-written by Stanley Kubrick - an adaptation of Gustav Hasford's 1979 novel The Short-Timers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Full Screen?, May 3 2002
By 
Michael Gibson (Guam) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Good movie, bad studio.
What the thought process behind having this DVD only include the pan scan version is what I keep asking myself.
Don't let the Stanley Kubrick Collection labeling fool you; or you might very well end up having to buy this movie AGAIN just to see it in widescreen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae12f5e8)

This product

Full Metal Jacket
Full Metal Jacket by Stanley Kubrick (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 9.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews