Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One small step for IRWIN, one GIANT leap for ALLEN
1960's American television was an exciting time, especially for science fiction; in England we had `Doctor Who' from 1963-1969, and continuing beyond, The Thunderbirds from 1965-1966, which also spawned two movies and UFO 1969-1970, (three most notable) in Australia we had `Phoenix Five' in 1970, (just missing out, but included here as it was the closest series in the...
Published on May 21 2012 by Peter Karsten

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Price is totally ridiculous!
I have really enjoyed watching this show in the past, in syndication, and was quite excited to hear a while back that it was coming out on DVD, but the PRICE!!! MY G*D!!! I thought that the price was ridiculous when it was $200+. But $547!?!? Reality check, people-you are asking more than $500 for a series that ran two seasons, 51 episodes. To put this into...
Published 4 months ago by David Lewis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Price is totally ridiculous!, Aug. 27 2014
This review is from: Land Of The Giants Full Series (DVD)
I have really enjoyed watching this show in the past, in syndication, and was quite excited to hear a while back that it was coming out on DVD, but the PRICE!!! MY G*D!!! I thought that the price was ridiculous when it was $200+. But $547!?!? Reality check, people-you are asking more than $500 for a series that ran two seasons, 51 episodes. To put this into perspective, you're asking more for two seasons of Land of the Giants than for 20 seasons of Law and Order!! I don't need all the doodads, which I suspect were included either 1) to entice the reluctant to buy it or (more likely) 2) to create an excuse to jack up the price. I would have been very happy with just the 51 episodes and a bonus feature or two (eg. making of featurette, cast interviews, etc.).
Really, whose insanity is this? What especially astounds me is the note that there are only 3 copies left, which indicates that there are people out there actually willing to submit themselves to what is nothing more and nothing less than pure, unadulterated highway robbery!
If whoever issued this overpriced outrage decides to issue a no-frills version with the under-$100 price this series warranted in the first place, I will consider buying it, but $547-forget it!!! Beyond totally ridiculous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One small step for IRWIN, one GIANT leap for ALLEN, May 21 2012
By 
Peter Karsten "Osiris" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Land Of The Giants Full Series (DVD)
1960's American television was an exciting time, especially for science fiction; in England we had `Doctor Who' from 1963-1969, and continuing beyond, The Thunderbirds from 1965-1966, which also spawned two movies and UFO 1969-1970, (three most notable) in Australia we had `Phoenix Five' in 1970, (just missing out, but included here as it was the closest series in the 1960's) and I'm sure science fiction was alive and well in Europe in one form or another (I'm guessing here, but what classics am I missing?)

If England had Gerry Anderson, (he also had other sci-fi related shows including `Captain Scarlet' a cult classic, to name just one more) America had Irwin Allen, the king of American science fiction television series, he didn't have one but four to his credit-and imagination to boot. `Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea' 1964-1968, `Lost in Space' 1965-1968, Time Tunnel 1966-67 and `Land of the Giants' 1968-1970.

If Irwin had produced a show, say-entitled `The Land of the Giant Killer Plants', he would have pulled it off, that was the kind of man he was; what today's science fiction on television lacks, Irwin had and produced and proved it in the 1960's. As mentioned, all the shows are cult classics achieving cult stasis, I consider `Time Tunnel' the weakest of the four possibly classified as semi-cult, the idea was great but due to budget the show did not fulfil its potential.

The Land of the Giants.

Set in the then-future year of 1983, Land of the Giants was an hour-long American science fiction television program lasting two seasons beginning on September 22, 1968 and ending on March 22, 1970. The series tells the tale of the crew and passengers of a sub-orbital passenger spaceship called the Spindrift. In the pilot episode, the Spindrift is en route from Los Angeles to London via the ultra-fast route of a parabolic trajectory. Just beyond Earth's boundary with space, the Spindrift encounters a strange space storm, (a giant cosmic spaceball) and is transported to a mysterious planet inhabited by humanoid giants.

Created and produced by Irwin Allen, the show was aired on ABC and released by 20th Century Fox Television. The series was filmed entirely in colour and ran for 51 episodes. The budget for the show per episode was $250,000 and it showed, the series was thus well produced and all the episodes including the characters was well represented-no stuffing around here, as the actors and the actresses took their jobs/roles seriously, (conflicts between Steve and Mark is just one example) thus the show was very credible, and enjoyable to watch.

The `Little People':

Gary Conway as Captain Steve Burton
Don Marshall as Dan Erickson
Don Matheson as Mark Wilson
Kurt Kasznar as Alexander Fitzhugh
Stefan Arngrim as Barry Lockridge
Deanna Lund as Valerie Scott
Heather Young as Betty Hamilton

When I was a wee young lad in the early 70's I use to watch the show when it was on, and I guess you can say I had my first of two TV crush's, one on Heather Young who played Betty, I thought she was real pretty, sadly watching the series again her character was the least used, concentrating on instead the other actress Deana Lund; and the other with Marta Kristen who played Judy in Lost in Space, I thought she was a real spunk.

For the `Giants':

Kevin Hagen as Inspector Kobick (having a recurring role)

I have to confess that I really liked Kevin Hagan's performance as Inspector Kobick as the `Little People's' Nemesis, he did a great job, and was a credit to the show.

Episodes to Note:

The most interesting episode: Wild Journey - This episode should have been the last televised episode instead of `Graveyard of Fools', as it would have created a time-loop for the series (With the DVD you can view `Wild Journey' last anyway). It just goes to show that Steve and Dan actually had no control or is that control, over their fate that made them crash-land in the land of the giants in the first place.

The most unusual episode: Nightmare - This episode has a surreal touch to it, I just find it fascinating to watch, it's so out of place with the rest of the series, that's why I think it's so remarkably different.

The most boring episode: Our Man O'Reilly - This episode in my mind just wasn't going anywhere, there really wasn't any story in it-just a waste, I couldn't wait for it to finish.

The most stupid episode: A Small War - A boy and his toys against the little people-how dull is that, just another wasted episode.

Some episodes that I like: The Crash (both the `aired' and `unaired' versions), The Unsuspected, The Clones, A Place Called Earth, Land of the Lost, The Secret City of Limbo; plus all the episodes with Inspector Kobick.

DVD Limited Edition.

Okay, what are the goodies in store for you, if you get this edition?

First of all, the series of DVD's is presented to you in a wooden cage replica, with a rope handle and with the lid/opening having actual wire mesh with a paper-colour relief of the cast behind it as the `Little People', real cool!

Secondly when you open the lid-what's inside? You get the complete 51 episodes, 2-season series; this also includes an extra unaired episode of the pilot, `The Crash'. This is another version of the aired pilot, with different scenes not in the aired pilot, different music and one or two different camera angles on some scenes that are in the aired pilot. (Actually I like the unaired pilot better than the aired one-but that's just me I guess), that's 52 episodes! Not only that, but also have interviews of the actors/actresses as well.

And what makes this edition special is some extra stuff which is well worth the money.

1] Spindrift Key-Ring Chain.
2] Four Picture Postcards.
3] Spindrift Crew Patch (the ones that Steve, Dan and Betty wear on their uniforms).
4] Cast Interview Booklet.
5] A `Gold Key' miniature replica comic book of `Land of the Giants'.

This limited edition is worth getting if you are a collector and/or a sci-fi buff; in all honesty I have never seen DVD editions presented like this, a lot of thought obviously went into this, to present this series to the public-well done 20th Century Fox.

I am very happy with my copy of Land of the Giants to add to my collection. It would be good if 20th Century Fox did something special for the other Irwin Allen stuff. Here are my suggestions, naturally the DVD's would be inside these models, and thus these models would have to be big enough to encase them. (But it's just an idea, could be too expensive to produce though-just a dream)

Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea.

A model of the Seaview with the first and second seasons, a model of the Driving Bell with the third season, and a model of the Flying Sub with the fourth season DVD's.

Lost in Space.

A model of the Jupiter 2 with the first season, a model of the Pod with the second season, and a model of the Robot with the third season DVD's.

Time Tunnel.

A model of an Hourglass with the first season DVD's.

My advice is, get this limited edition of Land of the Giants before you can't or you'll be sorry, don't worry or go for other editions on the cheap, if you're going to spend the money then this edition is a must-go the extra dollar, you'll be happy in the long run.

And you never know that wooden box could come in handy if you spot some little people in your garden-you know what I mean.

Special thanks to Wikipedia for additional information to complete this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice catch..., April 27 2014
By 
Edmonson (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Land Of The Giants Full Series (DVD)
The "Land of the Giants" TV series ran for two seasons, from September 1968 to September 1970. It was set in the then-future of 1983 telling the tale of a crew and passengers in a sub-orbital transport spaceship (the Spindrift) which was en route from Los Angeles to London via an ultra-fast parabolic trajectory that would take the ship temporarily into space. But when the spaceship encounters a strange space storm they are transported to a mysterious planet where everything is much larger than on earth, where the civilization is run by a totalitarian government with inhabitants that look humanoid. This was one of the most interesting TV series from the 1960s and was produced by Irwin Allen (Lost in Space).

The "Land of the Giants" limited edition set comes in a sturdy wooden cage that resembles a mice cage. The 9 DVDs are in 5 slim dvd cases that slip easily into wooden slots so they ship fully protected. Each DVD is secured into each side of its slim plastic DVD case so none of the discs touch. The discs are double sided. Included are all 51 episodes as well as the unaired pilot episode. The episodes look very good as they are crisp and clean with deep blacks, and have apparently been remastered. Also included is a miniature reproduction of the original comic book, a cast interview booklet, a crew patch, postcards, and a keychain. Special features include cast interviews. All in all a nice little catch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Price is Stupid Get Real..., Sept. 12 2014
This review is from: Land Of The Giants Full Series (DVD)
I agree with other reviewer. Sell the 2 DVD's for $25 bucks please. I mean they aren't even in BLU-Ray for heavens sake... Just absolutely stupid...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great!!, Oct. 11 2009
This review is from: Land Of The Giants Full Series (DVD)
it takes me back to my childhood and I still find the visual effects great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Oct. 8 2014
This review is from: Land Of The Giants Full Series (DVD)
awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Un nostálgico, April 16 2009
By 
This review is from: Land Of The Giants Full Series (DVD)
Land of the Giants: The Complete Series
Siendo niño (tengo 45 años) disfrutaba enormemente viendo la serie "Iierra de gigantes" en un televisor en b/n. Desde entonces he tenido un muy grato recuerdo de ella y ahora, gracias a que ha sido editada en la zona 1, puedo volver a revivir aquella emoción y además en color. Cierto que los efectos especiales ya han sido superados y que algunos argumentos podrían ser mejores, pero la serie tiene un encanto innegable. Me encanta y disfruto con cada capítulo y aprecio el esfuerzo que hubo que hacer para adaptar los decorados a los "diminutos protagonistas".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Land Of The Giants Full Series
Land Of The Giants Full Series by Sobey Martin (DVD - 2007)
Used & New from: CDN$ 1,136.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews