Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "V for Vendetta" might be a dense name but it's one intelligent film.,
I've never read the graphic novel, but I don't think you need to read it to appreciate the movie. There are some that will, upon seeing this film, say that it was akin to Andrew Lloyd Weber attempting to make a political statement: overly dramatic. These people would be well served to remember that the symbol of drama is a mask, which certainly begs one important...
Published on July 1 2007 by Jenny J.J.I.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing dystopia
I enjoy the sub-genre of apocalyptic, post-apocalyptic, or dystopian future fiction, so I was looking forward to V For Vendetta.

Unfortunately, the things I found distasteful about this movie outweighed any of the positive aspects that other viewers have mentioned (e.g. cautionary tale, visuals, etc.).

Portman's Evey is tortured by someone who...
Published on June 14 2008 by Richard Daystrom


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "V for Vendetta" might be a dense name but it's one intelligent film.,, July 1 2007
By 
Jenny J.J.I. "A New Yorker" (That Lives in Carolinas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I've never read the graphic novel, but I don't think you need to read it to appreciate the movie. There are some that will, upon seeing this film, say that it was akin to Andrew Lloyd Weber attempting to make a political statement: overly dramatic. These people would be well served to remember that the symbol of drama is a mask, which certainly begs one important question- Why, if you are so put off by an overtly dramatic motion picture, would you choose to see a movie that stars as the (anti)hero a man in a mask?

This film doesn't glorify V as a terrorist but shows that under certain circumstances he was tempted to be what he is. The film has an intriguing atmosphere throughout, a few slow moments, and an apocalyptic future setting that really heightens the tension with starkly dark set design and stunning cinematography. There is a reference or close resemblance to Guatanamo prison in the film. And it made the film even more direct.

Hidden behind the creepy mask, Hugo Weaving really proves he is a versatile actor. His character provokes thoughtful questions in a dystrophic future, and every emotion of his character is brought out by Weavings performance. Portman on the other hand also excels, with a convincing accent. She really is the heroine of the film and she handles the role quite well. The scenes between Evey and V are touching and well handled. The rest of the film is great in its execution. The climax, especially, was uplifting and will live on to be the most memorable conclusion. The action is striking and the performances in the drama are standout.

I'm going to say that it's nothing short of its brilliance. Entertaining from the start, V manages to combine a strong socio-political message in a compact and highly intense experience. Infused with issues and concepts that pervade in the global political climate of our times, this movie is endowed with a tremendous timely relevance that belies its trappings as a mere action adventure. A terrific achievement produced by the Wachowski's and Silver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful message!, Nov. 3 2007
By 
Phung Minh Hoang (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of the rare movies that I've watched multiple times. And every time I watch, it still has the same powerful effect on me.

Although the action is good, what makes this movie truly great is the message it conveys. After you watch the movie, look out of the window, you will see that the movie is playing in real life. In V's words: "There is something terribly wrong with this country, isn't there? Cruelty and injustice, intolerance and oppression. And where once you had the freedom to object, to think and speak as you saw fit, you now have censors and surveillance coercing your conformity and soliciting submission." That's not what happens with the fictional Britain in the movie. It's happening in the U.S. and Canada.

More than just pointing out the objective reality, the movie will give you a sense of hope. It is really moving to see thousands of people in their V masks marching in unison. It's a powerful force that once released, no government can contain.

So as the Fifth of November is coming, watch the movie and remember that: "People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars V for Vendetta, Nov. 3 2007
By 
Being of fan of the Matrix movies and the Wachowski brothers, I was anxious to see this movie. I was very impressed with the style that they created for it. It wasn't the super hero type movie that I thought it might end up, considering what Hollywood does to movies from novels. They actually did a pretty good job not detracting from the real message within the movie.

I perhaps expected a bit of the dark undertones as in the cinematography of the movie 1984, but this was completely opposite. It was crisp, the music was enthralling and demanding. It moved fluidly, the cinematography was excellent, and I loved the soundtrack. The actors themselves are perfect for the role - you actually start believing they are who they portray. I thought it a nice touch to see John Hurt in the role of Chancellor - especially since he was Winston in 1984.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great move, Nov. 3 2007
By 
Wow, what a wonderful movie. That movie give us a picture of what is happening right now in our society. We are gouverned by a gang of psychopaths and they do not want the best for us.

As in the movie, It is the time that we, people with conscience, wake up and walk altogether to take back the control of our planet.

It is a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A powerful, compelling film full of stand-out performances, Jan. 21 2007
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Despite some deficiencies in the plot, V for Vendetta makes for a fantastic, refreshingly different kind of motion picture. The controversy surrounding the film was blown out of proportion, but it's easy to see why it could raise hackles in some quarters. It's really the old terrorist vs. freedom fighter question which has taken on such an important place in modern society. Despite a jab here or there at the United States, I don't think the film really makes any statement at all along today's geopolitical lines - due in no small part to the story's fantastical setting. We all know never to say "it can't happen here," but I for one can certainly never foresee a blatantly fascist society with its very own Hitlerian demagogue emerging in, of all places, England. Clearly, at least to me, the questions this film raises are quite abstract and not directly applicable to current events vis-à-vis the war on terror. As an eye-opening reminder of the possibility of governmental abuse of power, however, the film's warning stands us all in good stead.

The setting for this film is a futuristic England, wherein a fiery egomaniac and his cronies have usurped power and brought a hard iron fist down on the people. Freedom of ideas and expression no longer exists; minority groups have been decimated by imprisonment, torture, and death; and militaristic nationalism has become the new religion. Those who resisted the meteoric rise of the new High Chancellor have been dealt with ruthlessly, producing a population cowed and blind to the evils of their brave new nation-state. The illusion of peace is broken by one man, however - one man brave enough to speak the truth, rally the masses, and get his message out that the government is beyond corrupt and purely evil. V wears the mask of the infamous Guy Hawkes, but his message is more than symbolic. For twenty years, he has worked for this moment in time, intent on meting out justice and vengeance on those who wronged him personally and the body politic as a whole. His tactics are certainly questionable, but his motivations are unimpeachable.

It's all too easy to get bogged down in the question as to V's nature - be it terrorist or freedom fighter. Unfortunately, the question must be asked and has been asked by some who condemn the film for glorifying terrorism. To my eyes, he's clearly a terrorist - and a freedom fighter. One has to look at the whole picture, though. Here, we can see that the government V seeks to destroy is unquestionably evil. Does that make it okay for V to employ tactics of murder and widespread destruction? That's for each viewer to decide. It's difficult to judge a man who does the wrong things for the right reasons. It's even harder to carry that sort of thinking further, but it's healthy for individuals to ponder such questions, especially as humanity has a long tradition of learning nothing from history.

Back to the film itself, one must pay tribute to a number of wonderful performances. Natalie Portman proves once again that she's among the finest actresses in the world (a fact which George Lucas never seemed to acknowledge, since he didn't allow her to actually act in Star Wars Episode III). The character of Evey was quite a challenge, but Portman makes you doubt that any other actress could have played her. Nothing says commitment like a beautiful woman allowing her head to be shaved for the benefit of the character. Hugo Weaving is mysteriously majestic as the man behind the mask, giving unassailable substance to a character who could have easily come across as cartoonish. Stephen Rea brings a wonderful human counterpart to the story as the Chief Inspector, and John Hurt is brilliantly effective as the evil Chancellor. The overall cinematography is also spectacularly done, while the special effects are really something to see. V for Vendetta really is just a few plot holes and inconsistencies away from being a certifiable five-star film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "I remember how the meaning of words began to change", Jan. 7 2007
By 
M. B. Alcat "Curiosity killed the cat, but sa... (Hanoi, Vietnam) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
"V for Vendetta" is an interesting movie that won't allow you to remain indifferent. Love or hate it, I'm pretty sure that you will have an opinion about this polemic film, based on a comic written by Alan Moore, adapted to the big screen by the Wachowski Brothers, and directed by James McTeigue.

The story begins in England, but not in the England we know. McTeigue's England is eerily similar to the country that Orwell's tells us about in "1984". There is a dictator, Chancellor Adam Sutler (John Hurt), that was chosen in free elections, but that afterwards decided to become an absolute ruler, exerting power without any kind of restriction. The citizens do nothing, they have relinquished their right to participate and to decide, and are merely sheep being told what to do and what to think. Their freedom is curtailed, but they feel safe.

However someone is prepared to shake their certitude, and make them realize that things are not what they seem to be. That person is V (Hugo Weaving), a man that is willing to risk everything in order to turn meek sheep into citizens, and to wreak havoc on the enemies that destroyed his life a long time ago. Evey (Natalie Portman), a young woman that V rescues from Sutler's minions, is a privileged spectator of V's plans, and the first person to become a fervent follower. That path, though, is not easy, as Evey's new strenght will be forged in the fires of prison.

This is a highly controversial movie that delves upon difficult subjects, for example whether the end validates the means, and the power of words. All the same, "V for Vendetta" makes you think, has great actors, an original cinematography and a hectic pace. From my point of view, this film is simply a must see.

Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Limited edition steelbook has no inner artwork, Jan. 25 2014
By 
C. Denison "C. Denison" (Hamilton, Ont.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I just wanted to comment on the steelbook edition of this movie; not the movie itself.

In the past, Warner Bros. released V For Vendetta in steelbook form here in Canada that had some very nice inner artwork. Now, however, it seems that Warner Bros. is releasing this with no inner artwork at all. All the outer artwork is pretty much the same though. I got this steelbook for a pretty low price here on amazon, so I can't really complain about it too much. It was still definitely worth the purchase for me. But for those expecting this release to have that inner artwork, just a heads up; it most likely won't have it.

As for the video and audio quality on the blu-ray itself, they're both excellent. Comes with a nice selection of special features too (picture-in-picture track, audio commentary, multiple featurettes, etc.) It's a very nice release overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars B FOR BRILLIANT, April 22 2007
PLOT:
IN the distance future England is the supreme power in the world. The United States has fallen into a state of civil war. But England is rules by a totalitarian government that represes any visible inorities. The story mainly revolves around a girl named Evey (Natalie Portman, Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith) Who is rescued from a group of dirty cops by a masked man named V (Hugo Weaving, The Matrix Revolutions). V is a freedom fighter who plans to begin a revolution by blowing up the British parlement. Over the course of one year Evey learns abuot who V really is and why he is doing this. The movie is also about Eric Finch (Stephen Rea, The Reaping), who is an invesigator that is supose to find V. Fich begins to understand what is wrong with the government and the history of the High Chanseler Adam Sutler (John Hurt, Hellboy), who is responsable for the terrible government.

Overall V For Vendetta truns out to be an excelent movie. Natalie Portman gives an Oscar worthy performence and the Wichowski brothers did a great job at adapting the classic graphic novel. I would highly recomend this movie to virtauly everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, Nov. 3 2007
This review is from: V for Vendetta (Full Screen) (DVD)
V for Vendetta is an excellent film from the Wachowski Brothers, and not your typical comic book film. What's immediately striking are the parallels the government propaganda and terror in the film have with certain western governments in the world today. It's an inspirational film, and gives some hope that people can unify in taking back their lives from lying, pathocratic government officials in a non-violent way. People shouldn't be afraid of their government...

A recommended must watch for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing dystopia, June 14 2008
By 
Richard Daystrom "creator, M-5 multitronic unit" (Daystrom Institute, Earth, United Federation of Planets) - See all my reviews
This review is from: V for Vendetta [HD DVD] (HD DVD)
I enjoy the sub-genre of apocalyptic, post-apocalyptic, or dystopian future fiction, so I was looking forward to V For Vendetta.

Unfortunately, the things I found distasteful about this movie outweighed any of the positive aspects that other viewers have mentioned (e.g. cautionary tale, visuals, etc.).

Portman's Evey is tortured by someone who believes he is teaching her a lesson and seeks her submission and service. Imagine being abducted and tortured by someone who later revealed that it was for your own good and it was only a ruse to convince you of their rightness? Literature that deals with this behavior is usually concerned with sociopaths and killers. It's called the Stockholm syndrome, where some victims of abduction and abuse can indeed demonstrate a loyalty to their abuser. I doubt that extolling a torturer was the intention of the film-makers, so for me their otherwise good intentions were seriously marred by the inclusion of these scenes.

The cardboard cut-out stereotype of the perverted religious figure was hackneyed long ago. Although, in the spirit of V, I am thankful that we still live in a tolerant society where such stereotyping is permitted.

On a lesser point, I felt that Portman's performance was unconvincing, and it wasn't necessary in such an international near-future to have her try to approximate an English accent. I found the inconsistent accent distracting.

For me, it would have been better to have checked this out as a rental rather than a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

V for Vendetta [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 9.03
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews