Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gong Li is the Best Unknown Actress in Movies
If there were any fairness in Hollywood, Gong Li would have won the Academy Award for Best Actress for any one of her many movies. Besides being drop-dead gorgeous, she is an exquisite actress of the first order. The opening scene, a close-up of her face as she resigns herself to her nihilistic future, will convince anyone of this fact. Raise the Red Lantern is a...
Published on May 21 2004 by ZenPenguin

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Raise the Red Lantern = FANTASTIC. This release? Not.
This is a beautiful film, amazing, touching, moving and unique in many ways. But this is one of the WORST DVD releases I have ever seen. I know it's hard to get foreign language films, especially ones so removed from Western Cinema released in the West, but this dvd was atrocious.
It had the worst transfer, the film looked horrible, the quality was insulting to...
Published on March 29 2006 by ellstar


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gong Li is the Best Unknown Actress in Movies, May 21 2004
By 
If there were any fairness in Hollywood, Gong Li would have won the Academy Award for Best Actress for any one of her many movies. Besides being drop-dead gorgeous, she is an exquisite actress of the first order. The opening scene, a close-up of her face as she resigns herself to her nihilistic future, will convince anyone of this fact. Raise the Red Lantern is a thinking, engrossing movie that dispenses with special effects and overwhelming scores and concentrates on story and acting. Zhang Yimou is famous for delivering biting criticism of the oppressive, delusional aspects of Chinese society. Raise the Red Lantern shows one very strong, independent woman's attempt to overcome thousands of years of historic oppression in early 20th ca China. Women are collectables for rich men, mere objects of possession. The horrific backstabbing and betrayal is among the women themselves as they vie for most-desired-object status. When the human need for dignity and respect surface, the repercussions are catastrophic.
The plot has been well documented, although this is one of those movies where the less you know going in the better. Suffice to say the first thing you'll want to do once the movie is over is to watch it again.
It is disappointing to see a number of very mediocre movies receiving 4 and 5 stars simply because they shun the standard Hollywood formula, as if mainstream automatically equals bad and independent automatically equals good. The mediocrity of these films becomes apparent when compared to indy films of the highest caliber, such as Raise the Red Lantern. Highly, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Raise the Red Lantern = FANTASTIC. This release? Not., March 29 2006
This is a beautiful film, amazing, touching, moving and unique in many ways. But this is one of the WORST DVD releases I have ever seen. I know it's hard to get foreign language films, especially ones so removed from Western Cinema released in the West, but this dvd was atrocious.
It had the worst transfer, the film looked horrible, the quality was insulting to such a great film. The subtitles were few and far between, MAJOR dialogues are missing and even the title is mistranslated! How this could EVER be a mainstream DVD release I will never know but DO NOT PURCHASE IT, it will only make you cry a bit at the injustice this release has done for the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Chinese Films Ever Made, March 18 2004
This is Zhang Yimou's finest directorial achievement. this a story about the hopelesness of early chinese scoiety where bigomy is commonplace and women are basically treated as slaves by their husbands. songlia(gong li) is pressured by her mother to get married. she gets married to a nobleman, he also has 3 other wives live as well and forms a bond with some of them. they are not allowed to leave the large castle-like estate and have their own wings of the house to stay in. they compete against one another for the attention of their husband so he will stay the night with her and he hangs red lanterns in whichever wing he spends the night at. there are twistsin the movie as to which wives are really her friends and which are not. this movie is truly remarkable. this movie introduced me to chinese cinema. i recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding, March 18 2004
This movie is an absolute must-see. I first saw it on assignment from a film class. I absolutely loved it! The plot was most intriguing and engaging. The female is obviously a very talented woman as her acting was superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Subtitler on drugs, Aug. 24 2009
By 
Zione (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This is a wonderful, spectacular movie, one of my favourites, but this particular distributor has butchered it horribly. The video picture is mediocre quality, and whoever subtitled it obviously doesn't speak English, couldn't spell "cat" without a dictionary, and was likely drunk at the time. I highly recommend owning this movie - but not this DVD release of it. I've heard that the MGM release is a million times better, and it's next on my purchase list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At last!, April 22 2009
By 
Marz (Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Raise the Red Lantern (DVD)
I have been looking for this movie on DVD for... ever. I was so thrilled to see it available here! Granted, this may not be a cinephile's dream and I was a bit worried after reading the reviews, but this is the version I used to rent as a VHS. The translation is the same, so I can't tell you if this has been badly translated...
Still, what an amazing movie! It captures a microcosm of tradition in a very enclosed, almost claustrophobic space in which women are taken in as wives to some old-fashioned man who plays a very secondary role despite being the husband.
The music is beautiful, the art direction is genius, the actresses are magical and overall, this movie is a gem. If you can find a criterion version, do splurge (I would have!) but for now, this DVD does the trick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not an edition for cinephiles, April 2 2006
By 
Charles A. Duchesne "Pushed" (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Awesome, 5-star movie, but be warned if you expect a prestine copy. If you're a true cinephile and you're collecting, wait for a proper edition. It's really a shame such a scratched-up and poorly translated version is being sold. Insulting, really, because it's such a beautiful film and deserving of proper reverence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Since like most of the consumers we don't have a VHS ..., June 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I unfortunately noticed, after ordering it from Amazon, that the movie was not on the DVD format but on VHS format. Since like most of the consumers we don't have a VHS player anymore, we throw the film in the bin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Brilliant Brilliant, Nov. 7 2003
Very moving and haunting movie, reflecting the oppression of the old chinese ways and the tragic consequences for those who dare to rebel. Excellent. Enjoyed every minute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I watched it few times!, Nov. 29 2003
By 
Great movie! The colors, the setting, the lighting, the plot, the music, everything is done like you feel like you hear those
bells even after it is over! Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raise the Red Lantern
Raise the Red Lantern by Yimou Zhang (DVD - 2007)
Used & New from: CDN$ 69.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews