Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent comedy, Aug. 5 2007
By 
This review is from: Hot Fuzz (Widescreen) (DVD)
His superiors being jealous of his perfect record, Sergeant Nicholas Angel (Simon Pegg) is transferred from London to the seemingly crime-free village of Sandford. There he meets his new partner, Danny Butterman (Nick Frost), the witless son of the police chief. A series of shocking accidents upsets the village, and Angel is certain that the village is not what it seems.

Brilliant acting, well-directed.
Yes, some scenes at the end are gruesome, but they are well done and quite funny.

Filled with car chases, gun fights, explosive bodies, this is a hilarious comedy.

(Many thanks to a friend for recommending this movie to me; I wouldn't have watched it otherwise, and would have missed on a great British film.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buddy Cop Action at it's best!, Oct. 31 2007
By 
Joseph Kayne (Victoria, B.C. Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hot Fuzz [HD DVD] (HD DVD)
This movie is pure Action entertainment. The makers of "Shaun of the Dead" do it again. This time they do for Action movies what "Shaun" did for horror.

Tough as nails Constable Nicholas Angel is transferred from his preferred London Police Force to the sleepy town of Sanford. At first, an idyllic piece of British country paradise, Sanford soon unravels with a string of mysterious deaths that lead Angel into the tormented underbelly that is Sanford's dark heart. But first he must capture the resident fugitive swan, deal with renegade hedge trimmers, and pick up some crisps from the shop.

In terms of video quality, "Hot Fuzz" is simply fantastic. This High definition transfer is spot on. Every blade of grass in the gorgeous countryside can be appreciated, every cobblestone, and leaf are clear and bright.

The sound will floor you. Primarily a comedy, the dialog in Hot Fuzz comes through loud and clear. Explosions and gunfire are igniting to the senses without subduing the crisp dialog and plentiful one-liners.

The special features on this HD DVD will keep you busy for days. Packed with goodies you'll get plenty of mileage from this title. Also, presented in dual format HD DVD + regular DVD you can take this movie wherever you like.

This movie makes "Lethal Weapon" and "Rush Hour" look like drowsy naps in the afternoon. The laughs don't stop, and the action will take your breath away. Out of 5 stars I rate "Hot Fuzz" an 11
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charmingly warped, Feb. 15 2008
By 
Burchy (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hot Fuzz (Full Screen) (DVD)
One of the funniest send-ups of the action hero that I have ever seen. Top-cop of London, Nicholas Angel, is transferred to a sleepy English village because he is too good a cop. Thereupon he encounters many grisly deaths which the rest of the local police service consider "accidents". Whoever penned this script has a very warped and wonderful sense of humour. As the English might say, "Spot on!".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Midsomer murders on steroids, Oct. 31 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
If you are familiar with the writings of Dave Barry then you will be very comfortable with this movie. Dave Barry has the ability to take something that seems so common and straightforward, then slightly exaggerate and embellish and expound until you find yourself in a fantasy and wonder how you got there.

Constable Nicholas Angel (Simon Pegg) finds himself to be too perfect; he is rejected by his girlfriend and banished to the small village of Sandford by his police force community. Here he must adjust to rural life. But is rural life all it seems?

Nikolas is becoming suspicious of a series of accidents and his mind is starting to say murder. Can his newfound friend/coworker, PC Danny Butterman (Nick Frost) squelch this tendency of Nicholas' to see murder and everything? Or will we be caught up in necklaces fantasy.

-----------------------
I have only seen the Blu-Ray version of this film so I cannot compare contrast to other versions. You guessed it this presentation has all the standard extra goodies voice over's and additions and whatnots. Naturally they all enhance your viewing pleasure and do not distract from the original presentation. However it is the movie we came to see extra goodies are just icing on the cake so when you make your choice don't forget the cake.

Dave Barry's Complete Guide to Guys
Midsomer Murders - Set One ~ John Nettles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ever fired your gun in the air and yelled, 'Aaaaaaah?, Feb. 6 2008
This review is from: Hot Fuzz (Widescreen) (DVD)
Nicholas Angel is the metropolitan polices best and most commended officer. In fact he is so good that the whole of the met wants rid of him as he is showing everyone else up. The solution is that he is transferred to a quiet colloquial village. However, once there, Angel gets a bit than he bargained for as he discovers that this village has a very high number of freak accidents. Are these gruesome deaths just mere coincidence or is there something more sinister afoot.

Hot Fuzz is the much anticipated follow up to Shaun of the Dead. Simon Pegg and Edgar Wright collaborate again to bring us a movie that is entertaining and wickedly funny. Hot Fuzz is full of the abstract and dark humour that we have come to expect from this pairing and unlike other British teams who have had a major hit Stateside it is not peopled with big US box office draws. It's success is due to a witty script and good performances (although it does have it share of stars - the cast list reads like a who's who in British Comedy). The only minor criticisms I would have would be that at times the humour unlike Shaun of the dead the taken to it's basest level and the running time is little bit overlong (comedies should just not be much more than 90 mins - it gets a bit dull after awhile).

All in all Hot Fuzz is a laugh out loud comedy gem with another brilliantly oafish performance by Nick Frost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome picture & sound quality. HD DVD does it again., Aug. 13 2007
By 
Nick T (Toronto, ON. Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hot Fuzz [HD DVD] (HD DVD)
This movie is as funny as they get. The DVD version was great, and now watching it on HD DVD, it looks even better by far. I love 1080p.
Great action/drama/comedy for anybody's HD DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another bloody fantastic comedy from Wright, Pegg and the gang, Aug. 2 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hot Fuzz (Widescreen) (DVD)
Director Edgar Wright and star Simon Pegg have proven that lightning can strike twice with their 2007 comedy "Hot Fuzz." As was the case with "Shaun of the Dead," they are following in the grand tradition of Gene Wilder and Mel Brooks in "Young Frankenstein" by embracing the genre they are spoofing and taking everything that happens dead seriously, which is what makes it hysterical. Plus, once again Pegg and his sidekick Nick Frost have created characters that have heart, so that we care about them as well as laughing at their antics (of everything that happened in "Shaun of the Dead" the part I remember most is Shaun being upset over the fate of his mother). So when we get to the final act of "Hot Fuzz" and the film actually slips into an even higher gear, we get to root them on all that harder.

This time around Pegg is Sergeant Nicholas Angel, a guy who is no bumbling Inspector Closseau. In fact, Sergeant Angel is so competent that his bosses want to get rid of him because he is making everybody else in the police service look bad. So Angel is banished to Sanford, a perfect little English village supposedly devoid of crime. Of course Angel finds cause to arrest just about everybody he runs into, only to be informed by his new boss, Inspector Frank Butterman (Jim Broadbent), that they look at things differently in Sanford. Everybody is town speaks of "the Greater Good," and it seems that we are being set up for your standard story about a hard core true believer learning that the spirit of the law is as important as the letter of the law. Angel is partnered with PC Danny Butterman (Nick Frost), and we have the requisite pair for the buddy part of the picture and it looks like all of the pieces are in place.

However, there is something rotten in the village of Sanford, personified by Simon Skinner (Timothy Dalton), the local rich guy. There might not be any crime in Sanford, but there sure are a lot of accidents and Angel quickly figures out that these suspicious accidents might be sneaky murders. The payoff for this whole bit is most decidedly English in nature, which is part of what makes it so funny, especially when old hands like Billie Whitelaw and Edward Woodward are playing some of the eccentric characters. I do not know what the record is for most cuts in a film, but with "Hot Fuzz" film editor Chris Dickens has got to be in the running. This movie is not just cut like an action film, it is cut like an action film on speed, which becomes another part of the fun. An hour into this film I thought there was only a half-hour left, but it turned out we were only halfway through this entertaining film. As for what I shall remember most from this action comedy, it would have to be the fate of the villain Skinner and one of the more memorable "boy, that has got to hurt" moments of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Way better than it deserves to be, Oct. 14 2007
By 
Matthew King - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hot Fuzz (Widescreen) (DVD)
Great comedy, not really what I expected but I mean that in a good way. It's a spoof of cop movies, yes, but has a very well constructed story throughout, focusing on a murder mystery in a small british town. The highlight of the movie is the cop's vigilante spree near the end of the movie, must be seen to be believed. Rent it if you liked Shaun of the Dead or british comedy in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, April 4 2014
By 
This review is from: Hot Fuzz [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Yes, definitely a must see movie if you like quirky spoofs on cops, England, Agatha Christie etc. The Angel character is an OCD guy that no one likes but in this English village, Batman finds his Robin. The coven thing was really funny. Good cast and acting. Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars simon pegg rocks, Nov. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hot Fuzz [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
this movie took a while to get into, very offbeat to say the least but any fan of simon pegg (run fat boy run, star trek, shaun of the dead) should definitely get this. recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hot Fuzz [HD DVD]
CDN$ 9.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews