Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deliverance (blu ray book): brutal & uncomprising film, still chilling after all these years; audio upgrade; nice book!
VIDEO:

Deliverance has VC-1 (21 Mbps) 1080p 2.40:1 encode, which is similar to its 35th Anniversary release. The 35th Anniversary release was minted from a new master. Director John Boorman and director of photography Vilmos Zsigmond explain in the included supplements that they intentionally shot Deliverance in a desaturated, soft style, and it certainly looks...
Published 5 months ago by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warning! This DVD is NOT the perfect "Deliverance" release!
Living in Europe, I decided to buy this US edition of one of my two favorite films ever (the second one being "Manhunter"), because I was thrilled to see all the extra features present in it (which are absent in the European DVD). When the package arrived, I took the disc out, thinking I would see the perfect edition of "Deliverance"... but I didn't...
Published on July 13 2001 by Mr Vess


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deliverance (blu ray book): brutal & uncomprising film, still chilling after all these years; audio upgrade; nice book!, Feb. 9 2014
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
VIDEO:

Deliverance has VC-1 (21 Mbps) 1080p 2.40:1 encode, which is similar to its 35th Anniversary release. The 35th Anniversary release was minted from a new master. Director John Boorman and director of photography Vilmos Zsigmond explain in the included supplements that they intentionally shot Deliverance in a desaturated, soft style, and it certainly looks it. Therefore, don't expect a presentation that is ultra razer sharp, colourful or high-contrast. The print (while not pristine) is generally clean and free of dirt and speckles. On the plus side, daytime exteriors can look great. Colours brighten up, especially fleshtones. Depth improves noticeably, and the detail verges on the lush, with even longshots nicely textured. Only close-ups come near to delivering the kind of high-def we're generally accustomed to these days, but still, compared to all past video versions (especially the horrid pan & scan VHS copies that were available for years), Deliverance has never looked better. (3.5/5)

AUDIO:

Great news! Perhaps learning from their recent blunder on the Unforgiven: 20th Anniversary Edition, Warner has wisely decided to replace the previous blu ray’s lossy mix with a new DTS-HD MA 5.1 lossless track. The rear speakers are more assertive, more arresting even, than in most catalog remixes but never at the expense of the film's original sound design. The chorus of the forest - the chirping, croaking and rustling - join the rhythms of the river - the rushing, surging and roaring - to create an enveloping, unexpectedly immersive soundfield that defies forty years of age. It not only revitalizes Deliverance, it makes it that much more thrilling, harrowing and, eventually, unsettling. Dialogue is mostly clean. The sound of the dueling banjos in high definition, played by Eric Weissberg with Steve Mandel, is crystal clear. While it can't compete with modern mixes, Deliverance sounds pretty good with a respectful 5.1 mix that carries a restrained but pleasing sense of immersion. (4/5)

AWARDS:

Deliverance was nominated for 3 Oscars in 1973: Best Picture, Best Director and Best Film Editing. The song Dueling Banjos by Eric Weissberg and Steve Mandrell reached No. 2 on Billboard Hot 100 in 1973.

PACKAGING & SPECIAL FEATURES:

This new 40th anniversary edition on a BD-50 disc is housed in an attractive digibook case. The 46-page book includes lots of information on the film's production, casting, and famous banjo theme with great colour photos and numerous quotes from the cast and crew. There is an all-new featurette on Deliverance: The Cast Remembers, plus a Commentary by Director John Boorman: a four-part Retrospective: Deliverance: the Beginning, The Journey, Betraying the River and Delivered.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

One of the most brutal and uncompromising films of the 70s, Deliverance almost single-handedly terrified a generation into never going camping again (just like Jaws to swimmers), and remains one of the most perceptive and disturbing explorations of man's propensity for violence. That it continues to wield such influence - even forty years after its original release - is testament to the film's ability to simultaneously deliver mainstream action-movie thrills while exploring complex human truths with subtlety and intelligence. Even after forty years, Deliverance remains an unflinching, disturbing, and utterly compelling story of survival. This new release from Warner Brothers features the same solid video transfer from the previous blu ray and offers fans a very welcome lossless audio upgrade. In addition to all of the supplements from the last disc, we also get a new retrospective with the cast and a wonderful digibook package. I was fortunate enough to grab this when the price was lowered to $12.99 during the Christmas sale. Even though the price has gone up again, it is still the definitive edition of this chilling movie, and is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warning! This DVD is NOT the perfect "Deliverance" release!, July 13 2001
This review is from: Deliverance (DVD)
Living in Europe, I decided to buy this US edition of one of my two favorite films ever (the second one being "Manhunter"), because I was thrilled to see all the extra features present in it (which are absent in the European DVD). When the package arrived, I took the disc out, thinking I would see the perfect edition of "Deliverance"... but I didn't. All the extras are there, and they're wonderful, the picture and sound quality are excellent. So what's wrong? What spoils the pleasure? Apparently, a single decision of some halfwit Warner executive with two-digit IQ. This person, whoever s/he was, decided to cut and distort this thrilling movie, bastardizing it from the original widescreen format (which all DVDs should be in) to an awful, unbearable to watch Pan-Scan, with about 15% of the picture lost! Yes, the movie was damaged and squeezed - assaulted and raped, if you will - because some brain damaged person responsible for issuing the DVD thought someone would prefer the censored Pan-Scan version to the original, full, widescreen one. The box tries to use some tangled semantics in order to cheat the buyer into believing that there is a possibility to switch between the damaged Pan-Scan version and the real widescreen one - which, of course, is not true at all. Only the distorted, cut version is present on the DVD...
I am not saying that this disc is not worth buying - far from that, I'm extremely satisfied with all the extras and featurettes (the European version only has a bare menu and the movie itself). Nevertheless, I still feel cheated since I was naturally assuming I would be getting a widescreen version (after all, it's a DVD release). This is why I'm only giving this release three stars (of course, the movie itself deserves the full five stars and much more). I suppose I will still have to buy the European version (which is in widescreen) and when I choose to watch the extras, I will play the American disc, but when I feel like watching the movie itself - I will take the European release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent movie, March 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
movie cannot be matched to top it off the interviews are awesome very interesting facts not about actors and how movie was produced
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Deliverance, Dec 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deliverance (Deluxe Edition) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
I have seen this movie several times on TV, and like it. So I got it for my adult son for Christmas.If he hates it,
then I get it. So it might be like buying myself a present. I like the dualing banjos and the way the group gets
themselves in and out of trouble. Quick delivery on the movie, and didn't drive to the United States for delivery.
Maybe keep the Post Office in business!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, Oct. 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deliverance (Deluxe Edition) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
Surprised at how quick the banjo scene occurred in the movie. Loved it though, Reynolds is a legend, and a masterful performance from the rest of the cast as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, July 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deliverance (Deluxe Edition) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
finally saw the movie from the beginning , great actors , great story about the human condition and how easily we change when placed in stressful situations and the decisions we make that affect the rest of our lives.. John Boorman great director.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic, May 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deliverance (Deluxe Edition) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
This was a groundbreaking movie when it came out. Forty years later, the drama and tension are still as real. I could watch the canoe scenes over and over. These were novice canoeists actually running rapids so the footage is not faked or done by stuntmen. The commentary by the actors and director adds further insight into this classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A nightmare made real, Nov. 16 2012
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Amazingly made film, this keeps a strong sense of tone and foreboding going from the first frame to the last. Beautifully shot by
Vilmos Zigmond (although a few manipulated day for night shots look a bit wacky). The film moves at an even, moderate pace,
without ever hurting the tension or drama.

Thematically, it is an examination of the destructive nature of male machismo, the price of survival, the darkness of the human
heart, the lies we're willing to tell ourselves and the world to get on, and the split between those of the land and those who use the land.

These are not small themes, and sometimes they're a little too on the nose (e.g. dialogue like 'sometimes you have to get lost to find
yourself' – although I'm not sure if the film is embracing that platitude or making very dark fun of it). At other times exactly what it's
saying seems a bit fuzzy, or like it wants to have all its thematic cakes and eat them too. (Men need to be challenged to find their real
self, but – on the other hand – trying to find your 'real self' may be an illusory path to your own destruction, literal or metaphoric).

Also, I could see the poverty stricken people of the US Appalachian mountains, who already carry understandable anger as being
constantly portrayed as stupid, inbred and violent, taking offense to the film, and they'd have a point.

Yet all that said, this is a movie that's more about a visceral experience than a collage thesis dissection, and that is where 'Deliverance'
excels. It takes us to hell, and only partly back, and we get immersed in the journey in a way all too few films pull off. It is quite like
being lost in a bad dream. And I mean that as a compliment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Banjo, anyone?, June 27 2004
By 
K. Gittins (CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deliverance (DVD)
City folk Burt Reynolds (Louis), Jon Voight (Ed), Ronnie Cox (Drew) and Ned Beatty (Bobbie) take a canoe trip down a backwoods Georgia river which will soon be flooded out when a new dam is constructed.
The foursome hire some possibly-inbred hillbillies to drive their cars down to Aintry to be picked up later. Off they go downriver. They encounter small rapids, bugs, and then Ed and Bobby are assaulted by two unpleasant hillbillies. They make Bobbie drop his drawers and squeal like a pig, and tell Ed he has a "real purty mouth". Louis and Drew sneak up on them and kill one of the men as the other runs off.
This leads to a moral dilemma among the four canoers. Do they tell the cops? Do they bury the body and act innocent? They make a decision, and continue downstream. At one point going through some rapids, Drew falls overboard, apparently shot by the second hillbilly, and Louis breaks his leg. Bobby camps out with Louis as Ed climbs up a cliff to reconnoitre and ferret out the second man. Finally, they continue down to Aintry, where they recuperate, and are questioned about their experience.
The screenplay was written by James Dickey based on his book, and he has a small part as the sheriff who wonders what the men had been up to.
Good ensemble acting (probably Burt's best role), beautiful photography and locations, and a great story make this an impressive movie. Oscar nominations for director (John Boorman), picture and editing, and Golden Globe nominations for director, picture, actor (Voight), song ("Dueling Banjos") and screenplay. The reasonably-priced DVD has the R-rated full-screen and wide-screen format movie, a good documentary, English or French language and subtitles, Dolby sound, chapters, cast/crew/production notes, and a trailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real River Wild, July 7 2003
By 
Greekfreak (Pusan Korea (South)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deliverance (DVD)
John Boorman will probably forever be best known as the director who gave us the brillianly conceived screen production of "Excalibur", but in 1971 he came up with this adaptation of James Dickey's novel of the same name, and with the help of four 'game' actors, created one of the best films of all time.
Even if it's not your cup of tea (due to the disturbing nature of the film), it's something everybody should watch at least once. John Voight is the audience member's representation--even if he doesn't say much, he does a great understated acting job, making clear the horror that he feels, and that we feel through him.
Ronny Cox plays the conscience, Burt Reynolds the ego, and Ned Beatty the victim of the human condition, and tied in with the wonderful cinematography, filmed on location in Georgia, this is one of the most suspenseful movies of all time.
It's also famous for the 'Duelling Banjos' scene that opens the film--unforgettable, and it sets the tone for the rest of the film, when Ronny Cox puts it best:
"I'm lost!"
Classic storytelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deliverance (Deluxe Edition) (Bilingual) [Import]
CDN$ 6.65
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews