Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT MOVIE from First Look Entertainment.
I noticed theres a number of these serial killer types of movie from First Look Entertainment such as Gacy, Dahmer, Ted Bundy, Ed Gein, etc, and there all based on true stories and there is a very creepy, realistic and similar feel to all those movies making you think its really happening. And all of those movies including Gacy are quite well produced and directed and are...
Published on Dec 2 2010 by dom r.

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Famous serial killer: Not so famous movie
We were just looking for something interesting to watch since we are avid movie watchers and couldn't find something that neither me or my girlfriend had not seen yet. So she picked this movie up, we both shrugged and bought it.
The movie starts out showing the type of relationship Gacy had with his father and then skips from that scene to years later. The movie...
Published on Dec 27 2003 by Shawna Pierce


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars NEEDED SOME WORK..., June 12 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Gacy [Import] (DVD)
THIS MOVIE NEEDED MORE BLOODY SCENES. THE OTHER SERIAL KILLERS' MOVIES WERE A HECK OF A LOT BETTER THEN THIS. THIS ONE HAD A GOOD PLOT BUT THEN STOPPED THERE. IT SHOULD BE RE DONE WITH MORE GORE. AND GACY WAS A CLOSET HOMO WHO NEVER WANTED ANYONE TO KNOW. I THINK I COULD HAVE WRITTEN THIS MOVIE BETTER. BUT THEN AGAIN ALL PEOPLE THINK THEIR MOVIES ARE THE BEST. ANYWAY THIS MOVIE WAS OKAY, BUT NOTHING TO WRITE HOME ABOUT. MY ADVICE IS WATCH IT IF YOU WANT JUST MAKE SOMEONE ELSE PAY FOR THE RENTAL. THAT'S ALL I'M SAYING...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT! MOVING! award material!, June 13 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Gacy [Import] (DVD)
oh yeah, and more ...... this gem elevates "Surf Nazi's Must Die"to 'High Noon" status ...... another infinite waste of plastic ....... honed for sad-teens and the 'unusual'.
Nothing to redeem this fracture, except infinite pity for the unnamed victims ~ maybe that was the director'snd the amateur cast's 'motivation'.....
Oh, so much for Art, Valor and Integrity!
[Even Ed Wood would frown...]
and its not even in wide-screen.......
now ...."Salo"......'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You think he was a MONSTER now? Wait til you see this!, Aug. 6 2003
By 
Brian (Southern California, United States of America) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gacy [Import] (DVD)
I thought I was horrified by what John Wayne Gacy did before I saw this movie. But now, I am TRUELY HORRIFIED by what this man did (And how he behaved while he was doing it)! This film is not suitable for children.My only complaint is that they didn't show Gacy playing "Pogo The Clown." Had they shown Gacy (As Pogo) trying to make children smile, an attempted murder scene towards the end would have been more horrifying still.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good enough movie about about a good enough killer, Aug. 9 2003
By 
Zach Pickett (Evergreen, Colorado United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gacy [Import] (DVD)
I went into this movie with some knoledge of John Wayne Gacy and was surprised to see how well protrayed he was, how well the murders were portrayed, and how well the story was portrayed.
A lot of reviewers were not pleased with the movie, but I must say that it was entertaining. Although this is not the movie you go out and buy, it is one worth renting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars YES I COULD HAVE DONE BETTER - WORST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!, June 13 2004
By 
painfully bad (los angeles, ca United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gacy [Import] (DVD)
this movie was horrible!!!!
please take my word and so many others who have said that this is an awful movie.
i wouldn't necessarily say it was boring, but definitely repulsive.
if i could have given it no stars i would have in a second.
i guess the one star goes for mark holton who did a decent job.
clive saunders has entered my banned list and he's actually the first member.
there are honestly no words to truly express how bad this movie was, but i'll try to criticize the areas in which a film would normally be criticized.
i put most of the blame on the writing, directing and overall execution of what could have been and should have been a good movie.
there was no music in the first 20 minutes or so and then all of a sudden the movie attempted being scary and added traditional and bad scary movie-type music. when that didn't work out, it went back to its more documentary style. then of course back to scary movie and that failing once again, it moved on to amateur at best use of after effects (i know i could have done that better and i usually use imovie).
if you think this review is non-sensical then see the movie for yourself and see what non-sensical plotless crap really looks like!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, April 1 2004
By 
This review is from: Gacy [Import] (DVD)
I was expecting to see somthing better then what appears in this movie. The famous John Wayne Gacy wasnt really worth makijng this film for. It starts from hsi childhood, in some attempt to try and explain why he ends up the way he does, but failed to really explain any of it.
Gacy is some kind of well known man, he has his freinds and his enemys, and his wife leaves him when she finds out he's into younger men, tho she dosent know what he does with them. She leaves him and some un-entertaining events take place after wards. It makes him out not to be such a bad guy n some ways, and insane in others. The whole clown thing is about 5 minutes in totoal of the film, dont think your gonnah see a movie about a clown with a thrist for blood. If your not familuer with the Gacy story anyway.
Bonus features arnt worth taking notice of, the plots pretty boring and drags along, buy it if you wanna have a movie that can bore you to sleep at night. But i'd suggest not even renting it, wait till its on TV, If they would show it? Other wise, if your intrested, rent it, but dont tell you i didnt say it wasnt a waste of time and money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a piece of crap!, June 15 2003
By 
This review is from: Gacy [Import] (DVD)
AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! gOOD ENOUGH FOR YOU? I'LL DO IT AGAIN! AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID...!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another NO GUTS Attempt..., June 7 2003
By 
This review is from: Gacy [Import] (DVD)
Do these filmmakers want to make a movie about a real life serial killer or don't they? Why make a movie like GACY or DAHMER if you don't understand--or fear to really touch--the subject matter you're getting yourself involved with? This film was a tremendous disappointment for me because it bears little resemblance to the actual serial killer. You can tell that its creators didn't have their heart in it, so to speak. I think they were simply throwing something together solely for commercial gain, that's obvious. Commercial gain is fine but there must be a balance. What we see in GACY is a clumsy, sissified, and utterly moronic version of John Wayne Gacy. It seems in the movie that everyone Gacy comes across is harshly insulting him in some way or trying to beat him up! In reality, those may've been very small tidbits within the killer's life, but it wasn't the big picture. Anyone even peripherally aware of the case knows how respected Gacy was within his community. He was not an incompetent imbecile, as he was more or less portrayed in this film. He only PLAYED a clown, he wasn't ACTUALLY a clown! In my opinion, it's just obnoxious to see how this material was treated. An example of a fairly recent true-life serial killer movie that works (for me, at least), something with blood in its veins, is TED BUNDY. As for GACY, the makers missed their target by miles. Maybe someone else will get it right. Though, I won't be holding my breath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars could've been much better, May 23 2003
By 
John R. Lewis, Jr. (louisville, ky United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gacy [Import] (DVD)
This movie is a virtual candyland of missed opportunities. first, like a lot of serial killer movies, it's structured almost as a series of episodic vignettes, which is okay, but here they don't flow together all that well (here's gacy digging in the crawlspace...now he's wrestling with young boys...now he's cruising the streets, etc). the filmmakers didn't seem to realize that there was an actual straightforward story here. second, and most heinous, is that a lot of what's presented is just flat-out WRONG! Whole chunks of the Gacy story are, for no good reason, left out--chunks that would've made the film much better, such as his back story, his civic & political activitism. the events leading to his arrest are wholly inaccurate, too. (and what was the deal with the two sleazy detectives, anyway? they look like they wandered onto the set from the David Lynch movie shooting on the next lot over.) in the end, Gacy drives away, the bodies are found, we see Gacy in jail, and...the movie ends!! no trial, no outraged neighbors, none of Gacy's bogus "Jack Handley" defense, no gas chamber, nada. In short, they cut out anything that might have made this a dramatically compelling film. A much MUCH better movie about the Gacy case is TO CATCH A KILLER, with Brian Dennehy playing Gacy.
The only reason to see this movie is the amazing performance by Mark Holton as Gacy. i was skeptical going in; I figured I'd be thinking of him as francis from Pee-wee's Big Adventure the whole time, but he actually does a stunning job. why isn't this guy working more anyway?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you can't say something nice, say nothing at all.., June 24 2004
This review is from: Gacy [Import] (DVD)
Mark Holton who you may remember as the bike thief Francis in "Pee Wee's Big Adventure" plays the title character of the famous serial killer John Wayne Gacy. While he has the look and the flamboyance, he simply doesn't cut the mustard as an actor with the skills to play Gacy. His performance isn't at the top of the list indicating the worse things about this movie. Let's continue with the script issues. I'm wondering if they even had one. The pace of the film is sluggish at best. The director resorts to the whole bugs and maggots thing to creep out the viewer. It fails to do so. The editing is unintentionally sketchy and just unprofessionally done. But why is that a surprise, everything about the movie is unintentional. Who makes a bad movie on purpose? Avoid even on a slow night. I recommend the more recent "Monster" with Charlize Theron instead. It deals with what provokes a serial killer and the performance by Theron is unbeatable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gacy
Gacy (DVD)
CDN$ 16.17
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews