Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars I thought it was great!
I'm kind of bummed that so many reviewers here didn't like this movie. I was really surprised because I liked it a lot. About last year when all the serial killer movies were coming out, I couldn't wait for them to make one about Gacy. I thought this was the best of them all. And to me, Gacy is the most intriguing. I didn't know much about the case, and this movie gave me...
Published on May 17 2003

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you can't say something nice, say nothing at all..
Mark Holton who you may remember as the bike thief Francis in "Pee Wee's Big Adventure" plays the title character of the famous serial killer John Wayne Gacy. While he has the look and the flamboyance, he simply doesn't cut the mustard as an actor with the skills to play Gacy. His performance isn't at the top of the list indicating the worse things about this...
Published on June 24 2004 by Moviebuffer101


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS NOT GACY, May 24 2003
By 
B. COLEY JR (NORFOLK, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gacy [Import] (DVD)
THIS MOVIE WAS AN EXTREME DISSAPOINTMENT. AS A MAN HAVING SOME INTEREST IN THE MIND AND ACTIONS OF A SERIAL KILLER THIS TALE WAS LAME AT BEST. WAS GACY REALLY THIS BIG OF A SISSY? THIS MOVIE TOTALLY MADE HIM LOOK LIKE A FOOL. THERE WAS NO DETAIL TO THIS MOVIE AT ALL. IT SHOOTS A SCENE, THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN SOMEONE IS DEAD. IT NEVER SHOWS HOW THE PEOPLE DIE. IT ALSO DOES NOT GO MORE INTO HIS CHILDHOOD. SOME PRISON LIFE WOULD BE NICE TOO. TO ME IT LOOKED LIKE A DOCUMENTRY ON BUGS AND WORMS. THEY MUST HAVE SHOWED THEM 100 TIMES. I DONT RECOMMEND THIS MOVIE AT ALL. I SUGGEST YOU STICK TO MADE UP SERIAL KILLERS SUCH AS HANNIBLE LECTER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gacy, May 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gacy (DVD)
A great film to go with my collection. The video arrived before its due date and, in my opinion, at a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT MOVIE from First Look Entertainment., Dec 2 2010
This review is from: Gacy (DVD)
I noticed theres a number of these serial killer types of movie from First Look Entertainment such as Gacy, Dahmer, Ted Bundy, Ed Gein, etc, and there all based on true stories and there is a very creepy, realistic and similar feel to all those movies making you think its really happening. And all of those movies including Gacy are quite well produced and directed and are somewhat high quality and not low budget movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Where are the details?, May 20 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Gacy [Import] (DVD)
Like most of the movies that have been released latily(I.E. Bundy ,Dahmer,Speck, Ed Gein) this was the worst one I saw.This movie was slow movie and not Very interesting, John Gacy was a horrible man who did horrible things. In this movie he was like a bumbling idiot who everybody hated. People around him think he's weird but never challenge him. The story moved slow and jumped over alot of important details of his life thar made him a monster. I know it had no budget, but I've seen better movies of the week!it's just under 90 mins. Save your money, it will end up on late night tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars NEEDED SOME WORK..., June 12 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Gacy [Import] (DVD)
THIS MOVIE NEEDED MORE BLOODY SCENES. THE OTHER SERIAL KILLERS' MOVIES WERE A HECK OF A LOT BETTER THEN THIS. THIS ONE HAD A GOOD PLOT BUT THEN STOPPED THERE. IT SHOULD BE RE DONE WITH MORE GORE. AND GACY WAS A CLOSET HOMO WHO NEVER WANTED ANYONE TO KNOW. I THINK I COULD HAVE WRITTEN THIS MOVIE BETTER. BUT THEN AGAIN ALL PEOPLE THINK THEIR MOVIES ARE THE BEST. ANYWAY THIS MOVIE WAS OKAY, BUT NOTHING TO WRITE HOME ABOUT. MY ADVICE IS WATCH IT IF YOU WANT JUST MAKE SOMEONE ELSE PAY FOR THE RENTAL. THAT'S ALL I'M SAYING...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT! MOVING! award material!, June 13 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Gacy [Import] (DVD)
oh yeah, and more ...... this gem elevates "Surf Nazi's Must Die"to 'High Noon" status ...... another infinite waste of plastic ....... honed for sad-teens and the 'unusual'.
Nothing to redeem this fracture, except infinite pity for the unnamed victims ~ maybe that was the director'snd the amateur cast's 'motivation'.....
Oh, so much for Art, Valor and Integrity!
[Even Ed Wood would frown...]
and its not even in wide-screen.......
now ...."Salo"......'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You think he was a MONSTER now? Wait til you see this!, Aug. 6 2003
By 
Brian (Southern California, United States of America) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gacy [Import] (DVD)
I thought I was horrified by what John Wayne Gacy did before I saw this movie. But now, I am TRUELY HORRIFIED by what this man did (And how he behaved while he was doing it)! This film is not suitable for children.My only complaint is that they didn't show Gacy playing "Pogo The Clown." Had they shown Gacy (As Pogo) trying to make children smile, an attempted murder scene towards the end would have been more horrifying still.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good enough movie about about a good enough killer, Aug. 9 2003
By 
Zach Pickett (Evergreen, Colorado United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gacy [Import] (DVD)
I went into this movie with some knoledge of John Wayne Gacy and was surprised to see how well protrayed he was, how well the murders were portrayed, and how well the story was portrayed.
A lot of reviewers were not pleased with the movie, but I must say that it was entertaining. Although this is not the movie you go out and buy, it is one worth renting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars YES I COULD HAVE DONE BETTER - WORST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!, June 13 2004
By 
painfully bad (los angeles, ca United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gacy [Import] (DVD)
this movie was horrible!!!!
please take my word and so many others who have said that this is an awful movie.
i wouldn't necessarily say it was boring, but definitely repulsive.
if i could have given it no stars i would have in a second.
i guess the one star goes for mark holton who did a decent job.
clive saunders has entered my banned list and he's actually the first member.
there are honestly no words to truly express how bad this movie was, but i'll try to criticize the areas in which a film would normally be criticized.
i put most of the blame on the writing, directing and overall execution of what could have been and should have been a good movie.
there was no music in the first 20 minutes or so and then all of a sudden the movie attempted being scary and added traditional and bad scary movie-type music. when that didn't work out, it went back to its more documentary style. then of course back to scary movie and that failing once again, it moved on to amateur at best use of after effects (i know i could have done that better and i usually use imovie).
if you think this review is non-sensical then see the movie for yourself and see what non-sensical plotless crap really looks like!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, April 1 2004
By 
This review is from: Gacy [Import] (DVD)
I was expecting to see somthing better then what appears in this movie. The famous John Wayne Gacy wasnt really worth makijng this film for. It starts from hsi childhood, in some attempt to try and explain why he ends up the way he does, but failed to really explain any of it.
Gacy is some kind of well known man, he has his freinds and his enemys, and his wife leaves him when she finds out he's into younger men, tho she dosent know what he does with them. She leaves him and some un-entertaining events take place after wards. It makes him out not to be such a bad guy n some ways, and insane in others. The whole clown thing is about 5 minutes in totoal of the film, dont think your gonnah see a movie about a clown with a thrist for blood. If your not familuer with the Gacy story anyway.
Bonus features arnt worth taking notice of, the plots pretty boring and drags along, buy it if you wanna have a movie that can bore you to sleep at night. But i'd suggest not even renting it, wait till its on TV, If they would show it? Other wise, if your intrested, rent it, but dont tell you i didnt say it wasnt a waste of time and money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gacy
Gacy (DVD)
CDN$ 5.61
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews