Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Year of the Dog, dog dog
Even the unlikeable characters in this are likeable - a hallmark of good writing in the lighter vein. Great movie for people who like dogs and other animals and/or people who go their own way. Thoughtful, and makes you feel good without feeling like you wasted 1 1/2 hours of your time.
Published 11 months ago by Doris Wrench Eisler

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I enjoy looking at the disc jacket of this movie but can't quite say that about the film
In order to do a successful film you need to fine and follow a good direction and that's where I thought I was heading until it took a turn without me. "Year of the Dog" opens on a field of frolicking puppies, then shows the dogs' humans circling the activity. Most of the humans are chatting among themselves, but Peggy (Molly Shannon) has eyes only for her beloved,...
Published on Oct. 26 2007 by Jenny J.J.I.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Year of the Dog, dog dog, Sept. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Year of the Dog [Import] (DVD)
Even the unlikeable characters in this are likeable - a hallmark of good writing in the lighter vein. Great movie for people who like dogs and other animals and/or people who go their own way. Thoughtful, and makes you feel good without feeling like you wasted 1 1/2 hours of your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it!, March 7 2011
By 
W. allen "jude" (canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Year of the Dog [Import] (DVD)
I am giving this movie 5 stars for Molly Shannon who was more than adorable and for the people who decided to make it.There are not many movies like this one and it does send out an excellent message so thank you very much for that!!If I was to make a couple of criticisms I would say that the scene in the house will all of the dogs was very exagerrated.My four dogs settle right down inside the house as do all of the other dogs that I have heard of including in homes where there are more than 10 rescue dogs and they are not all so devilishly destructive.I guess this scene was meant to have a dramatic effect.Also,I would rather have seen Molly's character go to a pet food store and buy vegan dog food or make her own in an animal rights-vegan movie rather than go to a supermarket and load up on commercial junk dog food.Lastly,the guy that worked at the SPCA(Newt) really bothered me when he took it into his own hands to euthanise Valentine.This is something else that I do not want to see and does not make sense coming from a vegan character like him in a film like this.The DVD is definately entertaining and worth watching though so I highly recommend it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sad but beautiful, Dec 23 2009
By 
J. Weiss "parisindy" (Saskatchewan Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Year of the Dog [Import] (DVD)
it was hard to watch at times, because it is sad
but the main character's sentiments were spot on.
fantastic little film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny and Sweet, Oct. 9 2007
By 
Sara A. Swain (St. John's, Newfoundland Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Year of the Dog [Import] (DVD)
I loved this movie. It's funny in an unusual and offbeat way, but it is also kind-hearted and sweet at the same time. It tells the story of Peggy (Molly Shannon), a shy, lonely woman who has in the past been hurt by the people around her. She shares a close bond with her dog, Pencil. Pencil dies early on, and the rest of the film follows Peggy on her journey through grief. The film's strongest point is that it successfully depicts Peggy with dignity. Her genuine love for animals--instead of being a weakness--is actually what helps her become a courageous and strong person. While in another writer-director's hands Peggy might have been the butt of patronizing jokes, or dismissed as weird and unhealthy, Mike White manages to turn Peggy into a beautiful person with a lot of love to give. That love may be unconventional, but it is no less life-affirming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I enjoy looking at the disc jacket of this movie but can't quite say that about the film, Oct. 26 2007
By 
Jenny J.J.I. "A New Yorker" (That Lives in Carolinas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Year of the Dog [Import] (DVD)
In order to do a successful film you need to fine and follow a good direction and that's where I thought I was heading until it took a turn without me. "Year of the Dog" opens on a field of frolicking puppies, then shows the dogs' humans circling the activity. Most of the humans are chatting among themselves, but Peggy (Molly Shannon) has eyes only for her beloved, adorable beagle Pencil. Peggy holds a generic job in a sterile office. She comforts her pedestrian boss as he suffers the slights of banal office politics. She's a sounding board for her workplace best friend. She baby-sits her brother's children and takes well-meaning advice from him and his wife. She's there for everyone, and Pencil is there for her: Pencil is her emotional core. When Pencil dies, Peggy's grief is overwhelming, leading to breakdown and collapse. She works through the void made visible by Pencil's death to eventually achieve a resolution to her personal crisis and a new direction for her life.

While the movie purports to show a "journey of personal transformation," as expressed in the press blurbs, it instead shows mental breakdown and tenuous recovery. Shannon's performance as Peggy. It's a far cry from the underarm-sniffing school girl of her Saturday Night Live past. Shannon, who has had wonderful turns with roles in Marie Antoinette and a short-lived Mike White sitcom, turns Peggy into a character with whom we easily empathize. Even her slip into the shallow waters of insanity seems forgivable when it occurs with such restraint and care.

White's writing, more than Shannon, makes it easy to understand Peggy. As he tells this story, Peggy is surrounded by people whose own blind love makes them do or believe things that even the always-supportive Peggy sees as peculiar. We can laugh at the moments when Peggy's sister-in-law (Laura Dern) won't let her child have a cuddly stuffed toy because of the fibers in the toy's fur or when Newt explains how his relationships with animals have always been better than his relationships with humans. Not once does it seem mean-spirited. We laugh because our own obsessions are probably just as silly to people looking in from the outside.

While I could have done without Peggy's Chaplin-esque soapbox moment at the end of the film, Year of the Dog halfly accomplishes what it sets out to do and does it while marching to the beat of a different drummer. What's more, White shows that his writing, in his hands or anyone else's, will always carry the quirky charm and humanistic tenderness that might put a smile on an audience's face. Other than that director's work succeeds only in coming in second to a good "After school Special." With unrelenting earnestness and ensemble support from the likes of John C. Reilly and Laura Dern, Year of the Dog was clearly intended as a message film extolling animal rights and the healing power of furry friends. Recommend to those who enjoy to be misled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Year of the Dog?, July 22 2008
By 
G. Motychko "Miss Nay-Sayer" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Year of the Dog [Import] (DVD)
This is just a ridiculous movie. Really, it's pretty stupid. Enough said.

The plot is just weak. To be quite frank, and really, all of the action happens so fast it's like you've been watching an hour of commercials and here is the climax of the show. It's kind of frustrating. I found the dialogue on the DVD was constantly quiet and loud- that was annoying because you couldn't hear a crucial sentence in the movie... well you wouldn't be missing much seeing as this movie was as flat as a pancake.

That's about all I could conjure for this movie. Really, the only interesting thing about this movie is the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dog Of A Movie, Sept. 21 2007
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco Bay Area) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Year of the Dog [Import] (DVD)
I apologize in advance for this negative review, but I wish someone could have saved me from viewing it. I have great respect for the talents of Molly Shannon, Peter Saarsgard, John C. Reilly and Laura Dern, but this film is scattered. One expects humor from the start, but only finds a pathetic, neurotic woman who can only relate to her dog and not humans. When her dog dies, she goes on a dating and dog saving spree at the urging of her friends and coworkers, but the plot just gets messier and messier. Instead of humor or sympathy, one is subjected to a woman losing her mind, breaking laws, irritating others and the viewer and then comes around full force with an ending that is so contrived and forced, you wonder if they just ran our of money or brain cells. No company would have rehired this woman for what she did. Not Funny. Quite sad. Unhinged. Hollywood - Hello??? I hope this cast goes on to better things, but I was simply stunned at how badly it was written and directed (thanks Mr. Mike White). And no, this cannot be compared to any film by Todd Solondz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Year of the Dog [Import]
The Year of the Dog [Import] by Mike White (DVD - 2007)
CDN$ 36.99 CDN$ 27.92
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews