Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite films!
I saw this film when it first came out, in the theater, and it has remained one of my favorite films. It was the first film I bought when I got a VCR. This is one of those elegant Merchant-Ivory productions (which also include Maurice and A Passage to India, other E.M. Forster adaptations to film) that sets the late Victorian/early twentieth century world in upper- to...
Published on June 23 2004 by Charles Sutherland

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars A Room With A View
Terrible. I was so looking forward to viewing this Ivory classic but when I received it I discovered it would not play because it was for another region that apparantly would not play in North America. It was not clearly labeled as unviewable for North American viewing. I now will have to return it. It was most irritating.
Published 22 months ago by Geronimo


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite films!, June 23 2004
I saw this film when it first came out, in the theater, and it has remained one of my favorite films. It was the first film I bought when I got a VCR. This is one of those elegant Merchant-Ivory productions (which also include Maurice and A Passage to India, other E.M. Forster adaptations to film) that sets the late Victorian/early twentieth century world in upper- to upper-middle class England in such gracious light.
The stars of this film include Helena Bonham Carter as Lucy, the heroine, and Julian Sands as George Emerson, her free-spirited suitor, who shocks everyone by doing such risque things as running around without a jacket, or kissing someone (willing) in a field of poppies. The official suitor of Lucy is the stuffed-shirt Cecil Vyse, whose personality seems like it is jammed in a vise. There are great performances by Judi Dench (as a conventional free-spirit, one who likes to be freespirited but not at the expense of reputation), Rupert Graves, Simon Callow, Denhom Elliot, and an outstanding performance (as always, she just has to walk on the set and the film gets an extra star) by Maggie Smith, as the gossipy and fretting aunt and chaperone to Lucy, who eventually comes round to recognizing and rejoicing in the true love of Lucy and George.
The sets are beautiful, the costumes all very much a part of the period, as are the small touches that make up the style of English society that Forster was trying to expose and celebrate in different ways both at the same time. The music is enchanting, with the glorious opera piece "O Mio Bambino Caro" sung by Kiri te Kanawa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Room With A View [1985] [Blu-ray] [UK Release], July 25 2014
By 
Andrew C. Miller - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
A Room With A View [1985] [Blu-ray] [UK Release] ‘A Room With A View’ is a brilliant and romantic social comment about the English at home and abroad at the beginning of the 20th Century.

Set in Florence and also the English countryside, the film tells the story of a young English couple, Lucy Honeychurch [Helena Bonham Carter] and George Emerson [Julian Sands], who encounters passion whilst on holiday in Florence, Italy. Defying the Victorian conventions of their elders that they dare to be true to their emotions and feelings of each other and their true love. Superbly adapted from the E.M. Foster's classic novel and boasting a wonderful cast, including Daniel Day-Lewis, Dame Maggie Smith, Dame Judy Dench, Denholm Elliot and Simon Callow. ‘A Room With A View’ was a world-wide smash hit and cemented the reputation Merchant Ivory as masters in interpreting the period of the time.

FILM FACT: Nominated for Eight Academy Awards® in 1986, including Best Art Direction [Gianni Quaranta], [Brian Ackland-Snow], [Brian Savegar] and [Elio Altamura]. Best Costume Design [Jenny Beavan] and [John Bright]. Best Adapted Screenplay [Ruth Prawer Jhabvala].

BAFTAs: Best Actress [Dame Maggie Smith]. Best Supporting Actress [Dame Judi Dench]. Best Costume Design [Jenny Beavan]. Best Film [James Ivory]. Best Production Design [Brian Ackland-Snow].

Actors: Helena Bonham Carter, Julian Sands, Dame Maggie Smith, Denholm Elliott, Daniel Day-Lewis, Simon Callow, Rosemary Leach, Rupert Graves, Patrick Godfrey, Dame Judi Dench, Fabia Drake, Joan Henley, Amanda Walker, Maria Britneva, Mia Fothergill and Peter Cellier

Director: James Ivory

Producer: Ismail Merchant

Screenplay: E.M. Forster and Ruth Prawer Jhabvala

Composer: Richard Robbins

Cinematography: Tony Pierce-Roberts

Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1

Audio: 5.1 DTS-HD Dolby Digital

Subtitles: English SDH

Running Time: 112 minutes

Region: All Regions

Number of discs: 1

Studio: Film4

Andrew's Review - Producer Ismail Merchant and Director James Ivory, better known collectively as Merchant Ivory, are known for their lavish costume dramas. While they had been making films since the 1960's, the first film to gain them any kind of major notoriety was their adaptation of E.M. Forster's A Room With A View. Starring a then the unknown Helena Bonham Carter at the head of a cast of notable British character actors, the film was a major hit the world over, winning several Academy Awards in both England and America and being nominated for many more. Now, 22 years later, the film has been released on this exquisite Blu-ray disc.

E.M. Forster's novel was written at the turn of the 20th Century, when English society was just learning how to come out from the ironclad grip of Victorian attitude. At the time, the novel was a harsh critique of a country that was trying desperately to hold on to standards of etiquette and decorum that Forster saw as increasingly restrictive. This novel was seen as a rebellious cry for youth. Looking at it now, where people are encouraged to say what they feel and do as they please, it feels antiquated. Of course Lucy should run off with George, a modern audience member is more than likely to think. Why wouldn't she?

The film does an excellent job of setting up the pressures placed upon a British lady of the period. In particular, Dame Maggie Smith is brilliant as the old-fashioned and repressed Charlotte. With just a few words, she conveys all that is wrong with English social conventions. Daniel Day-Lewis is also a standout with his take on Cecil. As a member of the old guard, he certainly is an ill fit for Lucy, but he's not so far gone that he can't perhaps find his own way in the grand scheme of things.

This was an early film for Helena Bonham Carter, and indeed the one that set the course of her career for many years to come. That being said, she's not especially good. She's flat and often seems to be reacting instead of acting. More than that, though, she plays Lucy as someone who for the most part accepts the very aspects of English life that she's meant to be running away from. I know it's a story about repression, but she seems to enjoy it as much as she resists it. Julian Sands is just a sheer joy to watch, as he is in practically every film he's in.

As I mentioned before, Merchant Ivory are best known for their detailed depictions of times now past. ‘A Room With A View’ is no exception. The sweeping views of Florence, Italy are so beautifully rendered, and the costumes are totally perfect, probably down to the stitching. The fateful pond in which Lucy's brother Freddie bathes is picturesque and lush. On the other hand, James Ivory's actual filmmaking technique feels a little too precious for my taste. In particular, the score overlaid on top of the film often feels far too beatific for the events actually occurring on screen. Often we'll have a perfectly good dialogue scene ruined by the incessant whining of the strings, which appear so often as to lose all impact. Even with Ivory's penchant for affectation, there's still a solid little film in ‘A Room With A View.’ I don't necessarily think it's quite as great many feel it is, but there's no denying that the production values and acting are first rate and is worth viewing on a regular basis.

Blu-ray Video Quality – ‘A Room With A View’ was a low budget 1985 British film 1985. The encoded 1080p transfer is fine for its age. Colours are pastel and add to the period of the time, but despite this, I really enjoyed this Blu-ray disc and is now definitely in need of a re-mastered Blu-ray disc.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – The BBC has generously given us a 5.1 DTS-HD mix for this release, but it doesn't amount to much. Aside from the score and a few environmental effects [rainfall etc], the surrounds are almost never used. This is about as stereo of a mix as you can get. Also, it's showing its age. Dialogue is slightly harsh, so that is why it is about time they re-mastered this classic film, despite this, I really like viewing this Blu-ray disc.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

All of the special features are in 480p. Almost all of them are period clips from BBC television, and as such are of rather low picture quality.

Commentary with Producer Ismail Merchant, Director James Ivory, Director of Photography Tony Pierce-Roberts and Actor Simon Callow: This low-key commentary is almost as held back as the characters in the film. Merchant Ivory dominates the proceedings with light reminiscences. Callow jumps in every so often and Pierce-Roberts is hardly heard at all. Much of the commentary is devoted to listening to the men simply watch the movie. This not very engaging at all.

Interviews with Actors Simon Callow and Daniel Day Lewis: These are interviews from when the film was shot. They're from a BBC TV morning show called "Breakfast Time." They're both very brief and insubstantial. Of the two, Daniel Day-Lewis has the better one, but neither is anything revelatory.

Breakfast Time Report on UK Films In The USA: Another snippet, this time on the success of ‘A Room With A View’ in America. There are some hilarious interviews here with New Yorkers coming out of the theatre, having just seen the movie.

Film '96 Profile on Merchant Ivory: A short retrospective on the Merchant Ivory history. Included are achingly brief interviews with Greta Scacchi, Hugh Grant, and Helena Bonham Carter.

E.M. Forster Remembered: A half-hour tribute to the author shortly after his death. Included are remembrances by friends, commentary by critics, and more.

Film Scrapbook: A photo gallery, with the film's insufferable music playing over the top.

Finally, ‘A Room With A View’ is one of the most highly regarded period piece of the time. And with the film's attention to detail and stellar cast, it's easy to see why it was a massive world-wide hit. While I do think James Ivory's filmmaking can be a little too much of a good thing, this is a film that is worth seeing time after time and I am so honoured to add this beautiful Merchant Ivory Blu-ray disc to my Blu-ray Collection. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Room with a View, May 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The scenery and acting are wonderful. To those familiar with Florence, it will make you want to return and see the splendid historical sights all over again. It is a movie that you will wish to see again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars unique romance, Feb. 6 2014
By 
George Jones - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Beautiful, young Lucy Honeychurch has been sheltered in a wealthy family until she travels to Italy with her spinster cousin Charlotte. Lucy is a good, proper English girl, able to keep her emotions under control and to say and do all the right things. That is until she meets George Emerson while in Italy. At home again in England, Lucy consents to being engaged to upper-class, snobbish, frightfully unemotional Cecil.

The contrast between the two cultures, English and Italian, is reflected in the two suitors for Lucy, Cecil Vyse and George Emerson. Both are English, but somehow, George has an Italian heart. The English are so controlled, the Italians are so emotional. The English are proper, the Italians are passionate. A storyline flows from this contrast and is uniquely presented. We're treated to wonderful photography of both the Italian and English countrysides. Intense, passionate Italian music often accompanies the story, drawing us into the struggle going on in Lucy's soul. The costuming for the women is fabulous. The styles at that time made it difficult to be playing tennis in England or struggling through a barley field graced with poppies in Italy, but they were oh, so feminine.

This movie would have been successful just through the acting alone, I think, with Helena Bonham Carter, Maggie Smith and Judi Dench for starters. The rest of the cast were excellent in their roles as well. The movie was a little slow in some places, but I realize that the extra time allowed for in-depth studies of the main characters, so important to this story. There was a scene with non-sexual male nudity while swimming, but otherwise, this is a clean movie. I suppose the scene was introduced to enable us to see that in spite of acceptable English behaviour in the 19th century, young men didn't always observe what was acceptable. I would recommend this movie to older teens and adults. If 1/2 stars were available for reviews, I would give this movie 4 1/2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars To see movie, July 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
good acting and well cast with each actor playing well. Photography was excellent and of course the film followed the book fairly well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A Room With A View, Sept. 25 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Terrible. I was so looking forward to viewing this Ivory classic but when I received it I discovered it would not play because it was for another region that apparantly would not play in North America. It was not clearly labeled as unviewable for North American viewing. I now will have to return it. It was most irritating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE VIEW FROM THIS ROOM IS STUNNING!, April 6 2004
By 
Nix Pix (Windsor, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
"A Room With A View" is the sumptuous Merchant/Ivory production of E.M. Forster's novel about a young woman, Lucy Honeychurch (Helena Bonham-Carter) who longs to escape her clausterphobic life. To this end she's drawn to two men of varying virtue; George (Julian Sands) a fiery, passionate dreamer - alive with living, and Cecil (Daniel Day Lewis) the snobbish and stale, though socially acceptable, man about town. This is a fabulous production, elegantly mounted and rich in stellar acting and performances that sadly, are in very short supply in today's cinema. Particularly with Bonham-Carter, one simply wishes that she would play more such roles.
TRANSFER: At long last, yes! After a previously issued disc that frankly, wasn't worth the cheap piece of plastic it was recorded on, this new 2-disc version does right on all accounts. The picture is stunning in a new 16:9 anamorphic transfer. Colors are rich and well balanced. Contrast and shadow levels are bang on. There is some slight shimmering but nothing to terribly distract. The audio is 5.1 and nicely represented. The music is the real kicker here.
EXTRAS: Some interesting archival footage, a BBC featurette, a bit about the author and a very informative audio commentary.
BOTTOM LINE: This is a keeper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best kissing scenes ever!, April 18 2004
By 
April D. Harkness (Chicago, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just watched a Room With A View after having it recommended to my by a friend. I was not dissapointed. The scenery was breathtaking. After watching I was tempted to buy an airplane ticket to Florence and England!
And the kissing scenes. The type that makes your hear go pitter patter and faint. When George first kisses Lucy without any reservations or hesitation- so passsionate! Then he does it again back in England so boldly, since Lucy's fiance Cecil is but a few feet away. The last scene where Lucy and George are kissing and the windows are open letting the view come forth, this is more emotionally charged and sexual than any sex scene I have ever come across in any movie.
Hard to believe that Julian Sands did not become a major romantic lead after this movie. (He could have been like Hugh Grant or better yet Colin Firth or even his costar Daniel Day Lewis) I think he needs to find another agent. I've seen him in other movies though I didn't really notice him until this one. And his other movies are quite bad. Sad to think this movie close to 20 years old is his highlight. He gives such a good performance as George Emerson. He doesn't say much but when he does it's full of meaning. His facial expressions say much more than words could. And just the way he looks at Lucy....when he is looking at her feet after they are done playing tennis - it literally takes my breath away. How could he make looking at feet look so sexy, hot and deliciously wicked all at the same time?!
Daniel Day Lewis as Cecil. Cecil is such a bore,.but I mean it in a good way. Didn't exude any type of sexuality or passion in the least. Hard to believe this is the same guy who made women watch Last of The Mohicans over and over just for him and become so violent in Gangs of New York. Daniel Day Lewis did such a good job with this part I barely recognized him.
Helena Bonham Carter - repressed yet so full of possibilites. And very innocent - was this really the same woman in Fight Club! Demure yet becoming increasingly vocal. And she's gone on to such great roles after this.
There are just too many great actors to name. I love Denholm Holt who played Mr. Emerson. He was so endearing and charming.
Maggie Smith plays the chaperone! Maybe you can get Julian Sands a role in the next Harry Potter movie.
This is such a beauitiful movie. I just wish the DVD had more extras. I wish it had some interviews with all the cast members, and a making of the movie. I would give it 5 stars, but the lack of extras on the DVD earns it a 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning..., May 18 2004
By 
...if you have the least interest in this film-BUY the new DVD. It's simply amazing. I've scanned these reviews here, and apparently there was an earlier DVD issue that wasn't up to par at ALL-but rest assured, this reasonably-priced "Special Edition" looks and sounds crisp, clean-and stunningly beautiful. Obviously I loved the film when it was originally released, and plenty of others did as well-see reviews below. But watching this new DVD the other night, I was struck at how amazing this movie really is: in the first place, it's rare(to put it mildly!)for a film nearly 20 years old to not look "dated" at ALL-this one doesn't. It could have been shot yesterday. I'd be willing to bet that in 15 years "Shakespeare in Love" *will* look somehow "late '90s"-it's the norm for period costume pieces to wind up reflecting the styles of the times they were made, even if we can't see it without the distance of years passing. What an achievement, then for James Ivory, Ismail Merchant, and the designers/cinematographer/costumer...and the actors-! Superb, all of them. The second audio track is, I'm afraid, a little superfluous(although it was enjoyable to hear the producers chatting away with Simon Callow-"the Rev. Beebe"-and the only actor to record commentary, alas)...but it doesn't matter a whit. Truly one of those things where everything came together perfectly. If you buy this, you'll have a great shot at converting a few jaded kids(assuming you've got some around the house)to the glories of another time and place, and *real* romance(and just about the sexiest kisses you could ask for). Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Zest for life film in brilliant Blu-ray featuring a fine cast of actors..., Sept. 24 2010
By 
Edmonson (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This film is based on the novel of the same name by E.M.Forster, published in 1908, and is set in Florence, Italy and the English countryside. The movie is a coming of age story about the freeing of self from the repression of British upper class manners and mores. This is a hysterically humorous life affirming film filled with hilarious performances, from the pompous Cecil (Daniel Day Lewis), to the awkward Charlotte (Maggie Smith), to the demented old woman with flowers in her hair. Things get off to a bit of a slow start, and the stabbing in the square, reminiscent of Romeo and Juliet, comes across as contrived. Initially the blossoming love affair between Lucy (Helena Bonham Carter) and George (Julian Sands) seems to take second stage to the the joyous expression of life conveyed by the multiple characters. When the three men jump naked into the pond and splash about it seems as if George could just as easily have formed a relationship with either of the other men. George loves life, and is an expression of life, and his attraction to Lucy seems as if it's only a reflection of his love for life itself. Lucy though has something boiling deep inside her too, and her love of Beethoven's music reflects this, but it takes some time before this intensity rises to the surface and she comes into her own.

Seeing the young Helena Bonham Carter and Daniel Day Lewis is a treat. Helena's shy, naive character is a curious thing to watch early on given that her later movie roles are so energized. It is only about three quarters of the way through the film, once she rejects Cecil, that she truly blossoms and comes into her own. It's as if she sees her potential for the first time, and she seems repeatedly pleasantly surprised to find that she has this other side.

Daniel Day Lewis portrays his character with the same wry wit that we have come to enjoy in his more recent films. When we hear that Cecil is taking Lucy's snub hard there is nothing further from the truth. Cecil's character is a humorous study of an individual enclosed in his self satisfied intellectualized world, who seems out of touch with everything. Daniel Day Lewis seems to relish the role and pushes his character to the edge of absurd.

The romance between Lucy and George never really seems real until the very end when they are in Florence sitting in the frame of the window kissing. George is an uninhibited young man, and Lucy reacts to his stolen kisses early on with surprise. Gradually this vibrant young man awakens something within her. This shift is accentuated by the shift from the stuffy ornate interiors seen earlier in the film to the natural environments of fields and ponds Lucy and George find themselves surrounded by later on.

Julian Sands, Judi Dench, Maggie Smith, Denholm Elliot, and Simon Callow also star.

This film is a gorgeously filmed movie, from the rich interiors to the marvelous landscapes, and the Blu-ray transfer takes full advantage of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Room With a View [HD DVD]
A Room With a View [HD DVD] by James Ivory (HD DVD - 2007)
CDN$ 75.70
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews