Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mystery thriller disguised as a WWII movie
Just when you think filmmakers cannot milk anymore out of the WWII genre along comes Paul Verhoeven. Those who only know his English language popcorn movies (Basic Instinct, Total Recall, Showgirls) will be in for a surprise.

This is one of the most intelligent and clever scripts ever filmed. Literally there are numerous times when the surprises in the film you...
Published on June 26 2009 by Brian Maitland

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars not in English
I loved the movie when I saw it on TV
so I ordered the DVD
it is in Dutch and the subtitles are minimal and incomplete
if I hadn't have seen the movie in complete English on TV this would be very hard to follow

it should be listed that the movie is in Dutch -
:(
Published 5 months ago by kime dutkiewicz collver


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mystery thriller disguised as a WWII movie, June 26 2009
By 
Brian Maitland (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Book (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Just when you think filmmakers cannot milk anymore out of the WWII genre along comes Paul Verhoeven. Those who only know his English language popcorn movies (Basic Instinct, Total Recall, Showgirls) will be in for a surprise.

This is one of the most intelligent and clever scripts ever filmed. Literally there are numerous times when the surprises in the film you truly never see coming. That's what makes this flick a total thrill ride as well as an amazing work in capturing the "look" of the latter days of WWII in German-occupied, and later liberated, Holland.

In the end this film does not work at all without Carice Van Houten who as the fulcrum around which all the mystery and thrills revolves pulls off this role of a lifetime.

Of course, no Verhoeven flick can be shot without the requisite babes showing their assets so fans of that aspect of the randy old Dutchman will also not be disappointed but unlike Showgirls, the choices seem to actually work within the context of the script.

The extras are just a director's commentary track and a making of where we get to know some good bits about the Dutch and German actors esp. the real-life friendship between the two main female actors and also this tidbit--the entire film cost just 16 million euros.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Black Book, Feb. 15 2009
By 
James S. Mclean "JSM" (Calgary, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Book (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Black Book is the kind of movie you want to have in your collection. Interesting, intelligent and exciting, it is another fine production out of Europe. Carice van Houten gives a star performance as Rachel Stein, a Jewish woman of courage, willing to do what she must in order to survive the Nazi occupation. Black Book is not as good as The Lives of Others (what could be?) but it is in the same league.

Why can't Hollywood make movies as good as this one?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blacker than black book, Nov. 26 2007
This review is from: Black Book (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Black book is a thriller mystery that is excellent.Its 2 1/2 hours fits nicely into just the right amount of intrigue and excitement too keep you on the edge of your seat.Based on a true story, director Paul Verhoenen has once again out done his earlier works. It has a interesting plot and you just dont know what is going on until the end. The beautiful actress Carise van Houten is a believable character and the rest of the cast is fabulous with no holes or letdowns throughout the entire movie. Their are characters that you love and ones that you hate.The extras on the dvd are interesting and alot of knowledge of the real story of the Black Book is told on the commentary by the director and also a great,the making of featurette.All in all Black Book is one of the best war movies that is available.Only the Black Book knows what its secret is.Totally an irresistible rush !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful film, Dec 23 2010
By 
Dragonfly (Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black Book (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
This is a wonderful film with action, emotions and an ending you will not be prepared for!
The actress who plays the main character is great and because all the cast is dutch we don't know any of them and it makes the story even more believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerising film!, Sept. 2 2010
By 
This review is from: Black Book (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
This film had me telling everyone I knew to watch it, all with the same results: simply amazing! The acting is fantastic, especially from the lead actress, Carice van Houten. Yes, I fell in love with her in this film, she looks absolutely beautiful in those 1940's style clothes and hair. But her acting can stand by itself. The supporting cast is just as good and everything ticks over at a perfect pace until the very end.

You cannot takes your eyes off the screen with this one. It's rare to watch a film that pulls everything together so perfectly - acting, writing and design racing along with a plot that never takes a breath. One of the best films I've ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best movies I have ever seen., April 11 2012
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Black Book (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
I have recommended this movie, and lent it out to more people than any other movie I own.

Carice Van Houten gives a compelling performance in one of the best ever female lead roles, reminding me of Scarlett O Hara in Gone With the Wind. What this character goes though in this movie kept me gripped to my seat throughout. The stakes are so high, and the crap she has to put up with, smirk!

My hope is that we will see her starring in many more movies, and my regards to her boyfriend, Luke E Bastaard.

Seriously, though this movie has action, drama, heartstopping moments, heartbreaking moments, and even tender moments.

Directed by Verhoeven, of Basic Instinct, Total Recall, and Starship Trooper fame, Black Book is set in Holland near the end of the Second World War.

A former singer now a Jew in hiding, our heroine has to flee when her house is bombed, treachery and deceit lurks at every turn, and she ends up playing a Mata Hari type character, who has to insinuate herself into the affections of the local Gestapo chief, not difficult considering how attractive she is. Her discovery could mean instant death, and he seems to suspect her from the very beginning.

Ultimately, Verhoeven has created one of the greatest strong female characters in the history of cinema, gifted with tremendous survival skills. If you like the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo movies, I think you will love this movie. I hope this was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love. It, March 28 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I just love this movie so much that I watched it three times already and I only have it about three month's now. there is some twist at the end that's sort of similar to [the girl with the dragon tattoo] don't want to give anything away so i better stop..Black Book [Blu-ray]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars World War 11, Feb. 9 2009
This review is from: Black Book (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
I have many WW11 movies and books on the subject and this movie even with sub-titles is an excellent account of a Jewish woman fighting the enemy,and for her life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not in English, April 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Book (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
I loved the movie when I saw it on TV
so I ordered the DVD
it is in Dutch and the subtitles are minimal and incomplete
if I hadn't have seen the movie in complete English on TV this would be very hard to follow

it should be listed that the movie is in Dutch -
:(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best, March 31 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Book (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
This movie was so sad but the best I seen yet and my friends and I are happy to have seen it and many others like this site and some are ordering already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Book (Sous-titres français)
Black Book (Sous-titres français) by Paul Verhoeven (DVD - 2007)
CDN$ 14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews