Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Michael Caine is great
Enjoyed this movie very much. Background music is riveting. The hand is the silly part of the movie but the acting is great. Caines wife is perfect as the adulterous vixen who really leads Caine down the scary path he takes. I now own 4 movies starring Michael Caine and have to say he can out act any of the Harrison Fords or Brad Pitts of the world. His role here reminds...
Published on July 17 2002 by mike amenta

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars interesting concept,but the movie is not interesting
this movie kinda reminded me of the classic short story The Monkey's
Paw,only it isn't as good.it's too long for one thing,and too slow.the
concept is interesting,but to me the execution of it goes wrong
somewhere.i did find it interesting that Oliver Stone wrote the
screenplay and directed the movie.there is nothing political about the
movie.this...
Published on Oct. 18 2007 by falcon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars interesting concept,but the movie is not interesting, Oct. 18 2007
By 
falcon "disdressed12" (canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Hand (1981) (DVD)
this movie kinda reminded me of the classic short story The Monkey's
Paw,only it isn't as good.it's too long for one thing,and too slow.the
concept is interesting,but to me the execution of it goes wrong
somewhere.i did find it interesting that Oliver Stone wrote the
screenplay and directed the movie.there is nothing political about the
movie.this doesn't mean the movie is good of course,but it is an
interesting aside,nonetheless.Michael Caine is the lead,and and does an
OK job,but the material is not really compelling or even mildly
interesting.i watched it for awhile and got bored,so i started talking
on the phone with a friend while i continued watching
halfheartedly.having said all that,i don't think it is an awful
movie,it's just not very interesting.by the way,this movie is part of
the Twisted terror Collection,and is also contained in the box
set(along with five other titles)of the same name.anyway,my vote for
the hand is a 2/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It stunk, June 8 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hand [Import] (VHS Tape)
This was definately one of the most boring and uninteresting movies I have ever seen. It was not scary in the least bit and the acting was terrible. And what is with that guys hair??? I give it two thumbs way down!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great psychological horror film, Nov. 15 2013
By 
Francois Beaudoin (Montreal,Quebec,Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Hand (1981) (DVD)
Even if its not the most original idea, i loved the movie. Great acting from Michael Caine (as usual) as a man who has everything and after a tragic accident lose all control of reality.
Love intelligent movie but if you are a gore freak avoid this great movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Michael Caine is great, July 17 2002
By 
mike amenta (Weatogue, CT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hand [Import] (VHS Tape)
Enjoyed this movie very much. Background music is riveting. The hand is the silly part of the movie but the acting is great. Caines wife is perfect as the adulterous vixen who really leads Caine down the scary path he takes. I now own 4 movies starring Michael Caine and have to say he can out act any of the Harrison Fords or Brad Pitts of the world. His role here reminds me of his starring role in Deathtrap, a true psycopath
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars There is no story to This., April 28 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hand [Import] (VHS Tape)
Oliver Stone's second movie as a director...and oh boy what a silly film this is as Michael Caine plays a cartoonist whose life is destroyed when he loses his hand in a car accident, and then the hand is guided by his thoughts to hunt down and destroy those he hates. Wither it's his ex-wife, or his former boss, or the new comic artists he's supposed to teach at school. The ending does not resolve things. Caine's talents as an actor are wasted, there is no screen play, there is no point to this movie. Better to just forget it and watch one of Michael Caine's other and more better movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost Cult Horror Gem, Jan. 9 2004
By 
OverTheMoon (overthemoonreview@hotmail.com) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hand [Import] (VHS Tape)
Okay if you like to find the little gems that are really good and yet nobody has heard about them then try this Oliver Stone/Michael Caine movie on for size because it is really very good.
It is a crime that this is not on DVD yet but hopefully that problem will be resolved by the time you read this review. The premise is a simple one. Michael Caine is an cartoon artist who, in a very brutal traffic accident, looses his hand, which eventually means that he looses his career, life, respect and family in the process.
Then murders start occurring in his home town and there is a sneaky suspicion that his hand may be involved. The movie is quite frightening in parts and does have the ability to make you jump... but laugh after. Although this is one of Oliver Stone's early works, and there is a learning curve involved for the director, it still stands streaks and bounds ahead of most other horror films of its generation.
The final plot twist should blow your mind. The gravity of it did not dawn on me until the final reel. This was a real surprise ending that ranks up there with the Usual Suspects and some other movies that come to mind. The twist is very good but alas some viewers might work that out before the final revelation comes about.
In my opinion this is a little cult gem of a movie that deserves to be watched especially if you like to dig up old forgotten movies that are much better than what the critics have to say. This is one of those.
Good intelligent horror. Stone should be proud of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great debut for Stone, June 24 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hand [Import] (VHS Tape)
This movie is one of the first modern psycho thrillers. It features a riveting performance by Michael Caine, who, after losing his drawing hand in an auto accident, spirals down into a psychological abyss from which he cannot escape. Oliver Stone's screenplay and direction is well-paced and crisp. The ending is unforseen and shocking. The idea of a psychological trauma triggering a violent multiple personality disorder, where the left hand (literally) does not know what the right hand is doing, originated with this film and likely spawned another thriller in the same vein, 1987's Angel Heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A FRIGHT DELIGHT FOR THE "HORROR" GENRE, July 4 2000
By 
Gus Mauro "coolbrezze" (Brandon,mb) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hand [Import] (VHS Tape)
After losing his hand in a freak car accident Michael Caine's life goes insane when his missing hand goes on a kill crazy ramapge reacting to the mind thought's. Interesting concept an Outlandish Caine performance! Especally the ending when Caine is strapped down into a chair and with his thoughts kills his doctor by chocking her to death. Pure silliness but wacthable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Caine is fabulous in this chiller, April 28 2000
This review is from: The Hand [Import] (VHS Tape)
The great and always enteraining Caine steals the show in this silly horror yarn involving an "evil" hand. Grimace as Caine loses his hand in a freak accident, and then proceeds to slowly lose his mind as well, or does he? You'll ponder and laugh your way through this dated and great fare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hand (1981)
The Hand (1981) by Oliver Stone (DVD - 2007)
CDN$ 9.93 CDN$ 6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews