Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Among the best movies ever
This is a must for any cinema fan. A true avant-garde masterpiece. Strong performances and script, very urgent jazz and improvisation passion and energy. This is French New Wave. Criterion strikes hard again with that gorgeous HD transfer and a ton of expert bonus. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Published 8 months ago by Mathieu N.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good film, dodgy DVD
The film is beautifully restored. But the commentary by an American 'film expert' is unbelievably annoying - the man clearly has a turnip for a brain, and spouts endless slack-jawed drivel about how the film is just a harmless piece of jolly French fun with nothing profound in it. Give me a break.
Published on Nov. 10 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Among the best movies ever, Nov. 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a must for any cinema fan. A true avant-garde masterpiece. Strong performances and script, very urgent jazz and improvisation passion and energy. This is French New Wave. Criterion strikes hard again with that gorgeous HD transfer and a ton of expert bonus. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon, Add a Sixth Star!, March 16 2003
This review is from: Breathless 60 (DVD)
This is hands-down one of the best movies ever made. Just the opening seconds of Jean-Paul Belmondo smoking announces a whole new attitude towards youth and life that hits with the freshness of the Beatles. "Breathless" creates a world of love and motion and danger and art that's single-handedly responsible for at least half the clichés you have in your head this second about Paris. Truffaut's script is excellent, nearly every shot is original and revelatory, but what I loved most about the movie was the apparently random, documentary feel Godard gave to so many of the scenes: Belmondo with one lens missing from his glasses, the faces he and Jean Seberg make in the mirror, the Air France clerk sticking her tongue out at her boss, etc. How did Godard manage to be so stylish and truthful at the same time? This is a movie that never lets you forget it's a movie, telling a story in a way no novel or play ever could. "Citizen Kane" is the only other film I can think of that does so much with the medium. One for the ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Breathless, Sept. 7 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Breathless 60 (DVD)
Older movies are like Shakespeare. They are to be appreciated by all and enjoyed by few. BREATHLESS, while cutting-edge at the time, plays in today's world like any student film one is likely to see. This reviewer found the flick very charming and very interesting in a historical context. I understand, however, how others may find it tedious, boring, and ultimately unfulfilling.
I recommend BREATHLESS to anyone interested in film history and/or anyone interested in old film noirs. The later group will find the european version of the old American crime movies rather interesting.
Additionally, if you happen to be a Tarantino fan, check this film out as the grandfather of RESEVOIR and PULP FICTION; it certainly is that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars After seeing it a few times, I see it for what it is, June 5 2003
By 
J. Christal (Teaneck, New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Breathless 60 (DVD)
When I first saw Godard's Breathless, perhaps I had my expectactions high, or rather manipulated to be as such from reading other reviews, and I ended up thinking that while there was a flair for style and a rhythm that was a reminder of the jazzy feel in Cassavettes' Shadows, the characters, inparticular the lead, were too shallow, self-righteous, and all-too-vain for comfort - or perhaps too, well, French.
On a few more tries of the "groundbreaker of the French new-wave" (which I believe was at it's absolute best in Truffaut's 400 Blows, accessible to a wider audience), I see that Godard, as much as he probably loves his characters, he despises them as well, in a sense. It could even be suggested that Godard sees himself in the lead Belmondo's role, and if that's the case then Godard is practicing the old self-reflection trick (though the story is loosely based on a newspaper article, scripted by Truffaut himself). For those that can take such filmmaking, this is the treat of the week. And for film buffs it should be seen at least once to get an idea where most "affluent" independent filmmakers get their edge, and indeed its rhythm will give inspiration to struggling filmmakers. I might even see it again in several months to remind myself how inspired the jump cuts were that Godard used. But, I certainly don't think that it's among the greatest films ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love It!, April 23 2003
This review is from: Breathless 60 (DVD)
I first watched "Breathless" in a film class my Senior year in college and I was amazed by it. Although this film was made many years ago, I was blown away by the production techniques used. Some people in my film class thought the movie was stupid and made no sense, while others (including myself) found the beauty in it's ability not to stick to the norm and be compelling in a subtle way. In a time when continuity is extremely important in film, it was refreshing to see jump cuts that were made on purpose (or rather necessity since Godard had to cut the film down considerably from his original cut). Jean-Luc Godard is a true genius!
This film revolves around the character of Michel, a common hood, who gets mixed up in the murder of a police officer while trying to win over the heart of the woman he loves. The plot to the story is simple, but the outcome is exciting.
"Breathless" is definitely not for everyone. It makes you think about hidden messages, symbolism, etc. However, it is very enjoyable and entertaining. I would highly suggest this film. I think everyone should be exposed to a Jean-Luc Godard film at least once in his or her life! This is an excellent movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, the film is important, but it's also a lot of fun., Jan. 21 2003
By 
Benjamin (ATLANTA, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Breathless 60 (DVD)
"Breathless," Jean-Luc Godard's tribute to moviemaking itself and one of the seminal titles of the French New Wave, is, jump-cuts and all, a film that changed the way movies were made. It introduced audiences and critics alike to new voices in the cinema, to a newer and cheaper guerrilla-style film made on location and to the sort of movie aware of the fact that it was just a movie.
That said, though, this movie is a lot of just pure fun. In the leads, Jean-Paul Belmondo and the absolutely gorgeous Jean Seberg seem to inject their portrayals of young thief-and-killer Michel Poiccard and his indecisive American girlfriend Patricia with a sense of humor and joy. The couple they portray are given moments where they're not really pushing the action forward, where they're reveling in what it feels like to be young and in lust, if not love. The scenes where they're lying in bed just talking or riding together in a car and talking about Paris are perhaps the most delightful aspect of the film.
Even though the character of Michel is almost certainly doomed from the moment he steals a car and guns down a police officer, he has a lot of fun with his last days, wandering the streets, stealing from friends and trying to get Patricia to sleep with him. Patricia, likewise, is given moments of joy, despite worrying about her pregnancy and job, wondering if she should betray the man she loves to the police or run away with him to Rome.
That spirit, in addition to its technical wizardry and the passion of its makers, is what made the film different in 1960, and it's the spirit behind it that just makes "Breathless" fun Sunday-afternoon viewing now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First feature from Godard the Great, Jan. 16 2003
By 
"purplo" (Santa Cruz, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Breathless 60 (DVD)
More than forty years later, it may be hard for modern audiences to understand how revolutionary Jean-Luc Godard and his Nouvelle Vague (French New Wave) contemporaries really were. So many aspects of Godard's stylistic achievements, such as the unabashedly hand-held camera, have become so popular in music videos, TV, and the movies, that its use here may not seem notable. Film critic David Sterritt's commentary track does an excellent job of conveying the importance of this first feature-length Godard opus, and also emphasizes the many ways in which the director is having fun with his audience. As Sterritt demonstrates, Godard uses what he has enjoyed from his life as a lover of movies to deliver a filmgoing experience that contains the humor and action that he enjoys. Godard lingers on the lengthy interactions between Breathless' two young actors, allowing us all to savor their intimacy, and also uses Brechtian self-conscious techniques to encourage the viewer to stop and consider his filmic experience. Breathless is a great introduction to Godard, much more accessible to current American audiences than his later work. Watch the movie first, then watch it again with the excellent commentary track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what do u know about godard?, Jan. 15 2003
By 
momo (adelaide Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Breathless 60 (DVD)
one of the best films ever made, breathless will take your breath away. no need to say any more. but to all you people who pretend to know about godard and then complain that the dvd is in full screen, how about reading more about how godard shot his films? breathless was shot in 1:33:1 which means it was shot in full screen. so there is nothing wrong with the aspect ration of the dvd. it is the correct original aspect ratio. stop complaining for no reason. and watch the film if u havent. its gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good film, dodgy DVD, Nov. 10 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Breathless 60 (DVD)
The film is beautifully restored. But the commentary by an American 'film expert' is unbelievably annoying - the man clearly has a turnip for a brain, and spouts endless slack-jawed drivel about how the film is just a harmless piece of jolly French fun with nothing profound in it. Give me a break.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We still haven't caught our breath., Oct. 24 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Breathless 60 (DVD)
*Breathless* is a cornerstone for any cineaste's video library. It's also MANDATORY for students of film. Don't argue. Live with it. And spare me the arguments like the ones I've read here about the movie being "dated". (PuhLEEZE.) I take out my red pen and write "prove?" in the margin. Just because everyone uses jump-cuts today doesn't mean *Breathless*, as an autonomous work of art, is dated. I've seen many new movies this year, and none of them have challenged me half as much as this old New Wave warhorse continues to do. Godard's putative "homage" to American gangster pictures challenges you right from the first frames, with the get-to-the-point editing and especially with the protagonist, Michel Poiccard (Jean-Paul Belmondo), who within the first 5 minutes steals a car and kills a cop. Godard gives us a "hero" who is amoral, and, worst of all, not particularly bright. Quentin Tarantino, who borrowed mightily from this film, couldn't resist giving his criminals witty things to say about Pop Culture . . . but Belmondo's Poiccard has almost nothing to say, witty or otherwise, although he does jabber on at length about cars and pretty girls. There IS one telling moment wherein he proclaims that he prefers "nothing" to "grief", but despite that statement's basic affinity with the movie's overall existentialist mood, it's also just macho posturing. The triumph of the film, however, is not Belmondo or even the ground-breaking narrative style but Jean Seberg as Belmondo's American girlfriend. At first we're thinking that she's a pixie-like Audrey Hepburn type, what with her radically short haircut and insouciance. But she ain't no Sabrina: she's instead an all-too-familiar type of danger-cruising b---h blessed with that uncanny instinct of knowing when to jump ship when the going gets rough. Godard dares to be interested in these two, even spending an absurd half-hour with them as they loll around in bed, chatting about fornication and Faulkner (Belmondo: "Did you sleep with [Faulkner]?" Seberg: "Of course not!" Belmondo: "Then I'm not interested in him") during the film's middle section. This scene is the essence of Godard's accomplishment, and -- in cinematic terms -- remains very daring. But perhaps "daring" is a dated concept for today's movie-watchers. Perhaps they feel they've moved beyond films like this, and can thus be condescending about *Breathless* and other art-films from its era. I suspect these films are simply out of fashion, and today's audiences are not so much "jaded" as "complacent". [The DVD features commentary that contains nothing new for the veteran New Waver, but it may be of use for newbies.]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Breathless (The Criterion Collection)
Breathless (The Criterion Collection) by Jean-Luc Godard (DVD - 2007)
CDN$ 59.99 CDN$ 33.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews