Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guaranteed to make you question your sanity
Thrill to the sight of dozens of helpless mice being dumped on flailing Italian "actors"! Gawp in amazement at classic rejoinders like "This machine could use a kick in the b**s!"
and "Computers and corpses are not a good mixture". Indeed! Stare in numb confusion at the oddly-coutured post-nuke biker gang, which gang inludes members like...
Published on Jan. 3 2004 by Jarrett B. Graver

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, where's the guy and the two robots?
... It was kind of like Waterworld (with the manner they were dressed) meets Night of the Living Dead (in respects to the reaction of the biker group) meets really cheesy rat effects. Can I say that I enjoyed it all? Not every minute. Matter in fact, I was waiting for the guy and two robots from Mystery Science Theater 3000 to appear at the bottom. But once you see the...
Published on Oct. 24 2002 by shamgaranath


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guaranteed to make you question your sanity, Jan. 3 2004
By 
Jarrett B. Graver (Baltimore, MD) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Thrill to the sight of dozens of helpless mice being dumped on flailing Italian "actors"! Gawp in amazement at classic rejoinders like "This machine could use a kick in the b**s!"
and "Computers and corpses are not a good mixture". Indeed! Stare in numb confusion at the oddly-coutured post-nuke biker gang, which gang inludes members like Duke, who looks like he was booted off the Sgt. Pepper album cover; and Chocolate, who appears to have been the model for the Auntie Entity character from "Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome"! Marvel at the profoundly unconvincing rat dolls that bob up and down in unison and look like they were crafted by an unclever third grader! Wonder at dubbing so atrocious it will make your head hurt for days! Simply put: Italo-sleaze nirvana.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, where's the guy and the two robots?, Oct. 24 2002
By 
"shamgaranath" (Arlington, TX United States) - See all my reviews
... It was kind of like Waterworld (with the manner they were dressed) meets Night of the Living Dead (in respects to the reaction of the biker group) meets really cheesy rat effects. Can I say that I enjoyed it all? Not every minute. Matter in fact, I was waiting for the guy and two robots from Mystery Science Theater 3000 to appear at the bottom. But once you see the ending, you are strangely intrigued and drawn in.
It's rating (I guess it's unrated) is for violence (the gore is tame for Mattei's films), language, nudity and sexual content. ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Attack of the postnuclear furry rodents!, March 3 2003
By 
Manfred Zeichmann (Austria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First of all: RATS - NIGHT OF TERROR is somewhat a guilty pleasure, because it is evident that some of the animals featured in the film were bodily harmed for real.
Having said that RATS is a very enjoyable take on the always popular animal horror subgenre. It is directed by Italian trashmaestro Bruno MATTEI, (in)famous for his zombie romp HELL OF THE LIVING DEAD and two Nazi sleaze epics, under his pseudonym Vincent DAWN. Set in a distant future after a nuclear war like so many Italian B-movies shot after the worldwide success of the MAD MAX film series, the story concerns a group of weirdly dressed bikers being sieged in a rundown house by hordes of carnivorous rats. Basically it is NIGHT OF THE LIVING DEAD with rats substituting for zombies, as MATTEI puts it in a brief but insightful interview in the DVD's extra feature's section.
Obviously a small budget affair, this is very entertaining nonetheless. MATTEI makes good use of the location and there are lots of gore and violence, when the bikers fall victim to their furry foes one after the other. Highlights include badly mutilated corpses, a dead woman, whose jaws drop open to reveal a rat crawling out of her mouth and a biker, who is covered in rats and set ablaze by a flame-thrower.
There is some full frontal nudity, too.
The acting is - well, not so great. For the female part of the cast acting mostly consists of hysterical screaming when a fourlegged enemy or a corpse is in sight.
The true stars of the movie are no great actors as well. The rats look cute and not very threatening at all. Since MATTEI could not afford an animal trainer, the rodents are not "attacking", but are obviously thrown at the actors. Poor things! Oh, and there are not "thousands" of radiation mutated and hence flesheating rats on the rampage, as the film tries us to convince, but several dozens at the most. The scene, where waves of them are advancing (clearly dolls on a conveyor belt) will bring a smile to your face.
RATS ends on a downbeat twist ending, which will come as no great surprise. Well, I knew beforehand, because somebody told me, but believe me, it is not very surprising.
Picture quality is pristine, sharp and with nice colours. The film is presented in 1.85 : 1 widescreen ratio.
Extras consist of a short but interesting interview (titled RATS OF THE LIVING DEAD) with MATTEI, who seems surprised that there are people who like his films. Among other things he comments on the difficulties to shoot with rodents and his zombie shocker HELL OF THE LIVING DEAD (which in my view is an absolutely awful movie). There is also the trailer, which is compelling, but gives away too much of the film. The third and last extra is an extensive and insightful MATTEI biography, which also includes poster artwork of several of his movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gore? No. Comedy? Yes., May 17 2002
By 
TorridlyBoredShopper "T(to the)B(to the)S" ("Daddy Dagon's Daycare" - Proud Sponsor of the Little Tendril Baseball Team, USA) - See all my reviews
Buying Rats was an experiment of sorts for me, partially because I wasn't sure about the film and partially because the reviews frightened me somewhat. I had expected to find a really low-budget "horror" movie with painted gerbils posing as flesh-eating monstrosities, and I expected the acting quality that accompanied that prototypical setup. Well, in that regard I wasn't disappointed. I was somewhat annoyed at first by the lack of "gore" the editorial initially spoke of, but something else came out of the moving, a strange thing that I wasn't aware of the movie containing. The part I was surprised by was the hilarious nature this movie, obviously not intended to be something frightening, was crafted in, laughing at itself over and over again. Honestly, when watching it, I wondered if I had read about the same show I was witnessing.
The basic concept of the movie is this. A group of bikers existing in a post-apocalyptic world take shelter in a town and discover food, supplies, water, and rats everywhere. These rats, mutated by radiation and bent on human consumption, are more than happy to share room with something so..tasty.
Basically, buy this movie if you like B movies and something to laugh at. Don't purchase it if you are looking for something life altering, because mutant rats normally don't fit this criteria very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RATS: Movie of Terror!!!, April 10 2002
By 
Sean (Lakeland, Fl.) - See all my reviews
Oh man, how long I have been looking for this one movie for so damn long. I remember seeing this WAYYYYY back whenever there would be those old Creature Features on Sunday afternoons at 4:00 and you were a kid in a candy store. I had nothing to do but watch horror movies all afternoon long and just eat junk-food. I missed that show. The thing was that I had remembered a few scenes and I knew it was about rats but I just couldn't find the movie. Now by the power of God (Satan? Must be to re-release THIS movie) Anchor Bay re-released this in the Uncut version. This movie is just funny as hell. The movie soundtrack by Goblin is another addition to you who love Eurohorror, the special effects are low and cheesy, and the rats themselves are actually pet mice painted black!!! PURE GENIUS!!! I love the whole post-apocalyptic mood in this movie, and the avant-garde atmosphere is great. This movie is not that gory, maybe 1 or 2 scenes, but very tame. This is NOT a Horror movie, this is Comedy people. Pure Comedy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars YEAH IT'S BAD,BUT THAT'S WHY IT'S SO ENTERTAINING!, March 30 2002
By 
Amazon Customer "refrost" (linthicum, maryland United States) - See all my reviews
The first thing i must say about this film is that if you are looking for something intense or scary this is not for you.But if you want to be entertained you're in for a surprise.Yes,this movie is bad in the true sense of the word,but that's it's charm.I laughed as hard at this as I did at American Pie.This could be released in the theater and marketed as a comedy and it would work.From the bad dubbing to the not so special effects this is a B-movie classic in every sense of the word.Invite over a few buddies,drink a few beers and it will be enjoyed even more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars This one takes the cake!, Dec 18 2001
You've seen where other movies have been reviewed with the reviewer saying that 'this or that' movie is the worst they've ever seen? ...uhh..hehe...well this one is Head and Shoulders below the rest! Be prepared to sit and marvel at the incredibly insane plot!...watch and be annoyed at the incredibly unreal effects! yes, you guessed it, this movie is worth watching ONLY to see how NOT to make a movie! I promise that if you can sit through this movie and NOT say that it is truly the END ALL worst horror movie ever made -- I'll eat my monitor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rats: The Most Dangerous Threat to Man, July 8 2002
By 
Erich Hoelter (Eau Claire, Wisconsin United States) - See all my reviews
Rats: Night of Terror is exactly what the name says. Actually, the movie is quite enjoyable, despite what many people say. It takes place in the future, in a world destroyed by atomic warfare. A group of bikers stop over in an abandoned city for a night, and soon find that the place is infested with killer rats. After a deadly night, they (the remaining ones) find out the "shocking truth." This is definately a good movie in my records, but if you are not willing to pay the $10-$15 for it, at least rent it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars SO BAD IT IS GOOD!, March 23 2002
By A Customer
This movie has to be seen to be believed.
With an awkward blend of MAD MAX and NIGHT OF THE LIVING DEAD (with rats replacing zombies), the script of RATS is entirely bizarre. The film itself is similar to some of Fulci's lesser works.
A must for fans of the Italian horror genre, but to be avoided by "serious" film watchers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ehh....., March 31 2002
By 
Razor88 "Horror Guru" (Underneath your bed.) - See all my reviews
Well, I have seen much worse. The film is laughable, but worth a viewing if you're into Euro Horror. It's definately entertaining, just not in the way the filmmaker intended. The dialogue is a riot, and the gore is really quite bad. Really a film for genre fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rats  Night of Terror
Rats Night of Terror by Claudio Fragasso (DVD - 2007)
CDN$ 14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews