march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars73
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$19.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 20, 2002
Yes, "Jingle All the Way" is chock full of bad acting and ridiculous situations, but hey, it's a Holiday comedy, and a darn good one! And for those of us who are really into Christmas shopping and have been on that search for the elusive "must have toy of the year," it really touches a nerve!
Arnold Schwarzenegger plays Howard Langston, a workaholic father who's failing with his family. He is constantly breaking promises and missing family events, simply by being absent minded and overly concerned with his business. When he shows up far too late for his son Jamie's Karate presentation, he realizes he's got some major sucking up to do. Howard immediately offers to get his son anything he wants for Christmas as a quick fix. But little does Howard know that the toy Jamie wants, the official Turbo Man action figure, is the hottest toy of the season! No stores in town have one! And tomorrow is Christmas Eve!!!
Howard gets an early start in the morning, arriving at a toy store that hasn't opened yet and already has a large crowd outside. Here he meets his biggest competition, an unstable mailman named Myron (Sinbad). Myron is also an inexperienced shopper who's son has asked for a Turbo Man figure. Both men are shocked and angered when everyone in the store mocks them upon hearing what they are looking for, and this is where their heated rivalry begins. Howard and Myron bump into each other at location after location in their search for the evasive toy, and continue to physically abuse each other at nearly every encounter, and every bit of it is quite hilarious! And in addition to dealing with Myron's attacks while searching for Turbo Man, Howard has to keep tabs on his intrusive neighbor, Tim (Phil Hartman), who is continuously making plays for Howard's wife, Liz (Rita Wilson). It's not as confusing as it sounds, but it's a lot for a man to have to worry about on Christmas Eve when he's gotta meet his family at a parade later on that same day.
"Jingle All the Way" is a great Christmas adventure that is full of laughs and mayhem! It's not supposed to be "It's A Wonderful Life," it's just supposed to be funny! And it is, if you have any sort of sense of humor at all, and any experience with last minute shopping during the Holiday Season! Arnold Schwarzenegger is still not a great actor, but he plays the role of a helpless, inexperienced shopper rather well, and this is probably my favorite of all his movies that I've seen. Sinbad is great as nutty mailman Myron, and Phil Hartman steals the movie as Tim, the seemingly perfect single dad that all the neighborhood women want, but who only has eyes for Liz. And upon repeated viewings, Jake Lloyd (who plays Arnold's son) isn't as annoying as everyone says. "Jingle All the Way" may not be as magical as "Miracle On 34th Steet," but it still qualifies as an annual MUST WATCH Christmas movie for this viewer, and probably many others! Heck, I've already seen it twice this year, and it's still a week till Thanksgiving!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2000
I can't beleive this movie gets the bad reviews it does, but it seems to be a love it/hate it relationship. Even Dr. Laura chimed in about how bad this was, but at least she admits she didn't watch it all (else I think she may change her mind).
First - unless you watch it to the conclusion, you may think it's about parental materialism and purchased loyalties. IT'S NOT! In fact, the end of the movie very firmly reinforces the idea that Christmas is NOT about materialism.
I don't want to spoil the plot for you, but so many bad reviews may lead you away from this movie if I do not dispell at least some of them. The movie is in fact quite heart-warming. Where others have said that the kid is annoying and materialistic, he is the one who best demonstrates true christmas spirit at the end by admiting that it is not the TOY that matters at all - in fact he GIVES IT AWAY after getting it, in favour of a BETTER gift: his own father.
The supposedly leacherous character of hartman is, in fact, leacherous. But his target (Arnold's wife) quite firmly affirms her monogomous loyalty by cold-cocking the leacher upside his noggin. Also, at the end.
And Sinbad's performance is pure, well, Sinbad! I love this guy. An overweight postman trying to outrun the President's Fitness Council chairman! HA! Running down the street throwing mail overboard to lighten the load! I don't think this part was written for Sinbad... No, I think he improvised most of it himself! It's great!
Don't listen to the naysayers. I suppose these people completely missed the point of the movie which was driven home very strongly in the end.
Buy it! I did, and it's one of my favourites.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2000
Jingle All the Way is a highly entertaining movie for the Christmas season. It is very reminiscent of pleasures and pains the holiday season can bring. Howard Langston (Arnold Schwarzenegger) is an ordinary business/familyman who promises to buy his son Jamie (Jake Lloyd) a TurboMan, the season's hottest selling toy, for Christmas to make up for breaking past promises. Little does the big man realize, every other last-minute shopper in Minneapolis including stressed-out postman Myran Larabee (Sinbad) is looking for the exact same toy. And the toy is nearly sold out! So what starts out as the simple pursuit for an action figure gift turns into a hilarious Christmas shopping nightmare.
I think that anyone who has gone through the pains of last-minute Christmas shopping, especially for young children, will identify with this film. This action/drama/comedy is sure to get Christmas lovers to feel the warmth of the spirit of the season. Furthermore, Jingle All the Way sends a very positive message to parents, that in the end the true parental hero is the one who has the love, trust, and respect of his/her kids.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 1999
Jingle All the Way is about the relationship between a father and his preteen son. Schwarzenegger plays an overworked businessman who often misses events involving his son. After Schwarzenegger missed his son's karate demonstration, he promised his son a robot toy for Christmas. Busy as always, Schwarzenegger forgets to purchase the toy and frantically searches throughout the city for it on Christmas Eve. Jingle All the Way is about the adventures that follow as Schwarzenegger desperately tries to salvage his relationship with his family.
Schwarzenegger and Sinbad are comedic and hilarious. Jingle All the Way proves that Schwarzenegger is talented in roles other than as action hero. This is his best comedy since Kindergarten Cop. It's better than Kindergarten Cop.
I don't have any criticisms directed towards Jake Lloyd. Some people think he's spoiled, but that's his role. He's playing a young boy who wants his father to be involved with his life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2008
not only is this movie funny,but it's action packed,and family
friendly.this is one fast paced movie,that doesn't let up.it's a true
comedy of errors.the acting is also great in this one Schwarzenegger is
in great comedic form here,as is Sinbad.i don't usually find Sinbad
funny,but he was in this movie.and Arnie has shown his comedic side in
a few movies,but i never expected him to be this funny in a comedy that
fires on all cylinders.the only negative thing i would say about this
movie is that it strays a bit into sappy territory briefly.there are a
few suggestive scenes,but these would be above the heads of most
kids,so like i said,this is a family friendly movie.there are some very
funny moments throughout,and the movie is always entertaining.for
me,Jingle All the way is a 4/5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2005
This movie is a movie that is 100% truthful to how parents shop for their kids. This story is about a work-o-holic dad who is absent minded and always forgets famili events, (e.g. his sons karote ceremony.) One night his wife asks him if he picked up a Turbo man doll for his son. He says nothing becuase he forgot. The next day (which is Christmas Eve) he goes out to try and find this doll for his son. there is only one problem, this is the Christmas hot seller. This leads him on a chase with a whole bunch of laughs along the way. I would recommend this Christmas Comedy Classic to kids because it totally reflects today's parents
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2000
I saw this movie accidentally -- we were going to watch something recorded, and this was on TV when we switched on, and we ended up seeing it instead.
Look, if you view this as a straight comedy, it's stupid. But then, it's stupid to view it as a straight comedy. It's an absolutely brilliant parody on modern society and commercialism (and kudos to the writers, as another reviewer pointed out, for dropping the cynicism at exactly the right point).
Perfect for fans of parody. Fans of meaningless slapstick, however, may totally miss the point. At least, these reviews seem to suggest they do.
-Stephen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2000
Ahrnold is the worst actor of ALL TIME. This is one case of a movie in which I hope no one else see's. I saw this in my reading class when Ms. P didn't have a lesson and showed this just to kill time, I was so board. I hope no one ever spends money on this movie. I'm so happy the period was only about 40 minutes long because I couldn't stand to sit during another minute of that movie. JINGLE ALL THE WAY, NEVER WATCH THIS MOVIE! Sinbad tries to be funny but is very, very, boring. Once again, don't buy this, and if you have to get this movie for someone, save them and save your money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2001
Arnold Schwarzenegger stars in this hilaious holiday comedy as a father desperate to buy that must-have Christmas toy during a frantic last-minute shopping spree on Christmas eve. Howard Langston (Schwarzeneger)has promised his young son a Turbo Man action figure for Chrismas, unaware it's the season's hottest-selling toy. And so begins a frenzied quest that pits Howard against a stressed-out mailman (Sinbad),a sleazy Santa impersonator (James Belushi) and every other harried parent in town, in "the best holiday family film in years" (Don Stotter,Enterainment Time-Out)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2013
This moviie is a humourius Christmas movie suitable for most families. I highly recommend it. Sinbad and Arnold are excellent adversaries and their encounters create numerous funny moments.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse