Customer Reviews


254 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (41)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dream Much, Will?
Don't miss this original, the first of the Hannibal Lechtor series. The score, the filmography, (Lighting), is still so vividly used in the best of today's suspence/thrill sequences.
Will Graham, (William Peterson), is the "Manhunter" hunting down "Frances Dolarhyde", and also the man responsible for imprisoning Dr Lechtor, at great phsycial, and...
Published on July 3 2004 by Peter Wojciechowski

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but if you like the film buy the other version!
I know Manhunter is somewhat dated and has a very 80s feel to it, but this was a very well-done, creepy film with decent acting and decent directing. Unfortunately, the powers that be (which I suppose in this case is director Michael Mann) have made it so that out of the 4 or 5 different VHS and DVD releases of this film, not one has ever been of the actual theatrical...
Published on Jan. 29 2004 by Author Ty


‹ Previous | 124 25 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great 80's drama, Feb. 21 2012
By 
D. Beelik (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is where it all started, years before Silence of the Lambs. Director Michael Mann gives this film a slick 80's look, it's tense, well acted and has a very different Hannibal Lector. This is a really good transfer too, it's not super sharp but it never was in the cinema. Good sound too. Wish it had the trailer that I remember so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What Jeff Shannon said..., Feb. 16 2001
By 
H. A Huffman "haumf" (Mt. Prospect, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Manhunter (VHS Tape)
Believe it or not, this overlooked film directed by Michael Mann of "Miami Vice" fame is better than Silence of the Lambs. If you liked Silence then you will like this film as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Forgetable......, Aug. 7 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Manhunter (Limited Edition) (DVD)
...About half way through the movie, I realized I had seen it before. Sock ties, A bow legged detective, medicore bad guys and overall low end intensity make this a very average movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 3 stars at best., Feb. 20 2001
By 
robert george (johnston, ri USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Manhunter (Limited Edition) (DVD)
an ok movie not even close to being on the same level with silence, or hannibal for that matter, which i feel was a major step down from silence. in short, its an average movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars All Style, Feb. 6 2001
By 
Tom From NY "Tom From NY" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Manhunter (Limited Edition) (DVD)
A very silly movie, all flash and no substance. Completely unmemorable, except as a footnote to the far more interesting Silence of the Lambs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Well done, July 18 2002
This review is from: Manhunter (VHS Tape)
A well made suspence-thriller on a low budget. Absolutely worth your time...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars B-movie at best, Nov. 8 2002
By 
Mark B. Taylor (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Manhunter (DVD)
Plus point: pretty close in plot structure to original, Jack Crawford in particular. Minus points: flat plotting, unadventurous acting, the ending is changed to a "feel-good" cop-out, and most importantly the villain is never allowed really to blossom into his full hideous tattooed self. He remains a great big lumbering cipher, and Hannibal is almost invisible: result, the only character to engage you is the brought-out-of-retirement detective, and he's busy trying to act "tortured but fascinated" by looking confused or (more often) constipated throughout. Compare it to "Silence of the lambs": Cox just doesn't match up to Hopkins at all. Most of all, "Silence" has atmosphere, and a creative intelligence prowling behind the camera: "Manhunter" feels like a cheap made-for-TV little number. The cinematography is frequently from the "nice postcard of sunset over the bay" school. Read the book instead. I haven't seen the remake yet, but it has to be better. Final point: the soundtrack is only appropriate as the film has been made as a nasty little thriller rather than the horror film they should have attempted. It takes a real negative talent to take a book like "Red Dragon", leave out the beast itself and end up with this utter turkey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars THE WORST! I SAW SILENCE AND RED DRAGON BEFORE THIS!, Oct. 29 2002
By 
Eric (South Carolina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Manhunter (DVD)
I know that the peoples' opinions on this movie depend on which of the Hannibal movies they saw first. If you're like me and saw Silence Of The Lambs(1991, Directed by Jonathan Demme) and Red Dragon(2002, Directed by Brett Ratner) , or Hannibal(2001, Directed by Ridley Scott(Not as good as Silence and definitely not as good as Red Dragon)) then you won't really be able to accept Brian Cox as Hannibal. I saw Anthony Hopkins in the role before I saw Cox so when I started to watch Manhunter, I just couldn't bring myself to finish it. Especially when I found out the Mann decided to leave out Dolarhyde's tattoo. THAT TATTOO "MICHAEL" HAS EVERYTHING TO DO WITH WHO DOLARHYDE IS. That tattoo shows the audience just who(what) he THINKS he is. I'm sorry, I watched the Documentary before the film, and when I heard that they left the tattoo out, that completely alienated me from this movie. Sorry Mann, but Jonathan Demme's, Brett Ratner's, AND even Ridley Scott's Lecter movies outpace yours by several miles. But if I had seen this one before all the others, then I probably would have thought that it was better than the others. I am 17 and even I know that Anthony Hopkins is great as Lecter(get the spelling through your heads LECTER). My dad bought the 2-pack of Silence and Hannibal, along with Manhunter as part of a special sale at Best Buy. I wish now that he had left Manhunter out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can I give it .25 of a star?, April 12 2003
By A Customer
Don't waste your money on the poorest excuse for 80's crime dramas ever. This movie has the worst of every element, poor plot development, poor acting, bad over acting, no character development, bad lighting. Scenes that are entirely colored, green, blue and red, I understand it's "artistic", but unles you live next door to a Kenny Rogers Roasters (Seinfield Reference) the entire room will not be red. Don't even get me started on the music, ... And though Brian Cox does a great job as Hannibal, with the other "actors" it is hard to tell if he is even acting or just board with the script. It is just a tiresome movie that was a good idea in the 80's, but with a ending that all but mimicks the end of "Silence of the Lambs" and with too many events in the movie that just happen, assuming the viewer had read the book, without explination as to why this movie deserves less than "Killer Tomatoes Eat France" or any Earnest Movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars TO BE AVOIDED AT ALL COSTS ! ! !, Aug. 21 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Manhunter (Limited Edition) (DVD)
Please, please do not buy this movie, whatever format it is in. Manhaunter is a terrible attempt at making a Hannibal Lecter movie, and it strays far from the tree that brought us The Silence of the Lambs and Hannibal. Brian Cox sounded simply too British for this part, while Sir Anthony Hopkins had just the right voice. The actors in Manhunter must have had medical issues. And Michael Mann, oh my God he's such a poor excuse for a director that he might have even been abused as a child to have created something this awful.
But look on the bright side: The remake, Red Dragon, appears in theaters on October 4th, starring the one, the only Hannibal Lecter worth mentioning, Anthony Hopkins. Go see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 124 25 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Manhunter [Import]
Manhunter [Import] by Michael Mann (DVD - 2007)
CDN$ 16.89
Usually ships in 4 to 7 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews