Customer Reviews


173 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Want Zombies? Need Romero.
They walk, they moan, they bite chunks of meat off of living human beings- What's not to love about zombies? George Romero seems to adore them because this is his third installment of the "Dead" series and possibly his best. I have to admit that I got downright giddy when I heard this movie was being released on DVD. Not only did I get to see the unrated version...
Published on Nov. 22 2003 by Brenley Forrester

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-So Final Entry in the Dead Trilogy
Day of the Dead had some MIGHTY big zombie boots to fill when it was released in the mid-1980's. All zombie buffs knew what great films Romero had put together with small budgets (Night of the Living Dead and Dawn of the Dead). With the largest budget yet for a Romero zombie film, all had high hopes. Unfortunately, some of the hopes were dashed with Day of the Dead...
Published on June 2 2004 by Bobby Dillard


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Want Zombies? Need Romero., Nov. 22 2003
They walk, they moan, they bite chunks of meat off of living human beings- What's not to love about zombies? George Romero seems to adore them because this is his third installment of the "Dead" series and possibly his best. I have to admit that I got downright giddy when I heard this movie was being released on DVD. Not only did I get to see the unrated version of the film in Widescreen format, but I also got a wealth of DVD extras. Although many are critical of Romero for setting this movie underground, I find it more than fitting. While the Dead have left their graves to frolic in the sun, the living are forced to fill them to fight amongst each other. In one corner, Romero places a band of wigged out Army goons. In the other corner, a handful of mad scientist research nerds patiently await the sound of the bell. When the bell finally rings, both groups come out swinging only to blow the ceiling off their underground refuge. The open ceiling invites a sea of hungry zombies to feast off their innards, fingers, eyeballs, gizzards, and other icky oogy body parts. It's really quite disgusting, but I have to admit that I love it.
Once you finish watching the movie, you can dive into the extras. Both commentaries are worth a listen. I highly recommend the Behind the Scenes footage of Tom Savini and his army of Special Make-up Effects Artists. Having never been a fan of digital special effects, it's good to learn how they did it in the good ole days.
P.S. I do not recommend the eating of naturally-cased frankfurters while watching this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-So Final Entry in the Dead Trilogy, June 2 2004
By 
This review is from: Day of the Dead (DVD)
Day of the Dead had some MIGHTY big zombie boots to fill when it was released in the mid-1980's. All zombie buffs knew what great films Romero had put together with small budgets (Night of the Living Dead and Dawn of the Dead). With the largest budget yet for a Romero zombie film, all had high hopes. Unfortunately, some of the hopes were dashed with Day of the Dead. The film follows the tribulations of a small team of scientists and soldiers who are assigned to find a way to stop the zombie plague. The two groups are increasingly at odds, and this isn't helped by the fact that the chief scientist (Dr. Logan aka Dr. Frankenstein) is losing his grip on reality and the leader of the soldiers (Captain Rhodes) is an overbearing tyrant. The soldiers clearly want some scientific results for their sacrifices, however the scientists are unable to comply given the primitive nature of their labs (which apparently are in an underground storage facility in the Everglades). Clearly the two forces are on the road to a major blow-up. The only question is when the explosion will happen.
Day of the Dead has some very good moments. The opening scene is well done, the gore is VERY realistic (even more so than in Dawn of the Dead), and there is a subplot involving Dr. Logan and a zombie called "Bub" that is surprisingly touching. The major flaws in the film are 1) lack of likable characters (I found myself disliking practically all of the characters with the exception of Lori Cardille's character and that of Bishop and 2) the confining of almost the entire film to the underground base (some excursions to kill zombies in the Everglades might have been interesting). Still, Day of the Dead wasn't a bad entry into Romero's trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Worthwhile, March 12 2008
By 
Señor Spook "Spooky B" (Charlottetown, PEI, CANADA) - See all my reviews
Utterly worthwhile and now an all-time classic in its own right, "Day of the Dead" has fought a long uphill battle toward redemption in the minds of Horror movie fans. If, like me, you walk into this film for the first time expecting vast amounts of Suck, you may be surprised to find that:
a) this movie sucks nowhere near as badly as some would have you believe, and
b) in fact, it's actually rather good

Moreover, the movie practically demands repeated viewings, which reveal that this is a much more multifaceted and deeper work than one would perceive at first glance. For example: on initial viewing one's tendencies may be directed towards the high-minded and hard working scientists as the film's main sympathetic leads. But try watching it again from the viewpoint of the "evil" military characters and you'll see that a lot of what they say actually makes sense.

As far as the much-criticized dialogue scenes go, these reveal nuggets of information and a well thought out rumination on the events of the previous two films. These are people in extremis, trapped for months (possibly even a year or more) in a very unappealing underground environment with death overhead, under foot, and with nothing but death in their futures. Forced to essentially write their own epitaphs, these people have a lot to say to each other (much of it, quite nastily).

As to the rather Industrial Strength swearing on hand, lets just say that frustration breeds salty tongues and leave it at that. Tom Savini's makeup effects, amply -- and graphically -- showcased throughout the film, are simply amazing (one might even say they're unsurpassed).

So, should you buy this DVD? If you're a serious Horror fan, perhaps. If you're a fan of George A. Romero's work, then definitely if for no other reason than to simply round out your Romero "Dead" experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Zombie Movie Ever Made., July 6 2005
By 
Connor Martin "Commador" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This movie is very nearly perfect. Aside from some lack of character development, Day of the Dead hits everything you could want from a horror movie right on the head. Gore effects that, even today, go unchallenged as far as sheer brutality is concerned, scale and atmosphere that, for me anyway, encapsulate me within the very walls of the bunker that the characters are confined in and every moment is choked thick with a sense of inevitable doom from the seething masses of the walking dead not far above. The soundtrack, though strangley fitting, sounds wrong somehow...like a carribean theme done with synth. In any case, the movie is amazing, but must be watched more than once to really appreciate it all. THE pinnacle of the Zombie genre(although Land of the Dead gave it a run for its money) a must see for anyone who enjoys horror and a must own for anyone who loves seeing walking corpses devour handfuls of glistening intestines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, Dec 15 2004
By 
Peter Leigh (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
I first saw Day of the Dead when i was 10 years old and i could not belive how gory it was, and how brilliant it was. Now seven years later i still think it is brilliant. This is by far the greatest zombie film ever made, better than Dawn of the Dead and Zombie 2(which are both excellent), i recomend that if you want to see a good zombie film buy this film now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another great sequal!, Nov. 1 2004
This is another Romero masterpiece that is part three of the zombie trilogy that has land of the dead filming as we speak! This thrid installment finds doomed susvivors hiding out in a military bunker, with Zombies already having taken the world (Night/Dawn) great sequal great DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Divimax delivers the best edition ever, July 19 2004
By A Customer
This is one of the best DVD re-releases I have ever purchased. I have always been a fan of the George A. Romero films, and Day of the Dead has always been one of his best. This DVD is loaded with bonus features. 2 featurettes, Trailers, Commentary, and photo galleries. An absolute must for all fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DAY OF THE DEAD, July 15 2004
By A Customer
NOT AS GOOD AS ROMEROS OTHER ZOMBIE FILMS.A LITTLE DRAGGED OUT AND TIRING AT TIMES. BUT,STILL WORTH CHECKING OUT THE ZOMBIES.THIS FILM DOES HAVE ITS MOMENTS AND HAS A CLAUSTROPHOBIC FEEL TO IT. HAVE TO ADD TO YOUR GHOUL COLLECTION!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Best of Romero", July 14 2004
By 
This is my favorite Romero film of them all. The gore is the best in this one, (in my opinion). The zombies also looked a bit more realistic compared to the dawn of the dead and night of the L.D., where their skin was just kinda pale, not saying there were'nt good movies though. This was the movie that got me into zombie films. After watching one of the soldiers throats getting ripped out while screaming (and the fact that you can hear his voice getting higher and higher was a nice touch I might add) was excellent. Like I said one of Romeros greatest Films ever. If you dont like this one, you dont like Romero!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dead End, June 10 2004
By 
T. Lobascio (New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The final chapter in the "Living Dead" trilogy that director George A. Romero began with the 1968 zombie classic Night Of The Living Dead, continued in '79's Dawn Of The Dead, is a solid conclusion. Day Of The Dead furthers along the timeline of the zombie apocalypse to a time when survivors are very hard to find.
At an underground Florida research station, Dr. Logan (Richard Liberty) conducts grotesque experiments on captured zombies to search for a way that the living and the living dead can cohabitate. Begrudgingly sharing the facility with the doctor is military man Rhodes (Joe Pilato) and his underlings. Scientist Sarah (Lori Cardille) and her fellow survivors seek refuge at the compound just in time to see a clash between Logan and Rhodes reach a critical turning point.
Let's face it, Day has a lot to live up to, after Romero delivered two nearly flawless previous installments. The other films made giant leaps for the horror genre. But by the time Day was released, things seem less special. Make up effects artist Tom Savini's is, as you might expect, even more detailed and gruesome than in the past. That said, by film's end, the story seems to peter out. Don't get me wrong. Romero's work on these films is genius, but, I just feel after a great set up, the story gets muddled. It's still worth it though...
Of all the Dead film's, Anchor Bay decided that Day was classic enough to be a two disc set. The audio commentary with Romero, Savini, production designer Cletus Anderson, and actress Cardille is yet another great disussion about all things Dead. The track is great fun and informative. Along those same lines is disc two's The Many Days of Day Of The Dead, a 39 minute documentary featuring interviews with the cast and crew, gives you perspectives on the entire series. There's also another documentary that offers a more specific look behind the scenes--particularly at the make-up effects. You can hear a well conducted audio interview with actor Richard Liberty. A brief "Wampum Mine" promotional video, the theatrical trailer, TV Spots, and some fine DVD-ROM material, tops off the set.
"Day" may not be as good as the other films in the series, but it's still a worthwhile DVD set for fans to own...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf851e40)

This product

Day of the Dead [Blu-ray]
Day of the Dead [Blu-ray] by George A. Romero (Blu-ray - 2007)
CDN$ 24.97 CDN$ 19.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews