Customer Reviews


446 Reviews
5 star:
 (309)
4 star:
 (73)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death has come to your little town
Once Halloween was Samhain, the one night of the year when the dead returned to cause trouble for the living.

Well, Michael Myers wasn't dead, but on "Halloween" he returned to cause trouble for the people of his hometown, with all its dark houses and teenage victims. And John Carpenter's masterpiece lives up to its reputation: creepy, eerie, harrowing, and...
Published on Aug. 11 2007 by E. A Solinas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars If you already have the 2007 version......
I bought the 2007 version when it first came out, the picture quality on it is great, clean, clear, and crisp. And I liked the extras features better on the 2007 version. I was excited to hear this would be a complete remaster job. I don't feel that it is. its video quality is the same as the 2007 version and the extra features aren't that great, except a Halloween...
Published 6 months ago by Tim Gronlund


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death has come to your little town, Aug. 11 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Halloween (1978) (DVD)
Once Halloween was Samhain, the one night of the year when the dead returned to cause trouble for the living.

Well, Michael Myers wasn't dead, but on "Halloween" he returned to cause trouble for the people of his hometown, with all its dark houses and teenage victims. And John Carpenter's masterpiece lives up to its reputation: creepy, eerie, harrowing, and full of solid acting from Donald Pleasance and Jamie Lee Curtis.

On Halloween, 1963, young Michael Myers lurked outside the house while his sister had sex with her boyfriend. After he left, Michael put on a mask, picked up a knife, and stabbed his sister to death.

Fifteen years later, Dr. Loomis (Donald Pleasence) is about to take Myers to a legal hearing, when Myers (Nick Castle) breaks open the psych hospital and escapes in Loomis' car. On Halloween, teenage Laurie Strode (Jamie Lee Curtis) notices a silent, masked figure popping up and disappearing near her school, house, and neighborhood.

Despite this, she goes about her babysitting duties, even taking care of another girl's charge overnight. The only problem is, the girl is dead, and so is another pal and her boyfriend. Dr. Loomis is staking out Myers' old home, unaware that Myers is now prowling the house where Laurie is staying -- and there seems to be no way to avoid the knife-wielding "evil."

It sounds like a thousand knockoff movies made since then, but "Halloween" formed the original mold. And like any other groundbreaker, it is the most stripped-down, intense example of the genre -- little gore, little graphic violence, but the way it's handled is enough to make your hair stand on end, and make you go to bed with a gun under your pillow.

And Carpenter handles the spookiness beautifully -- initially, the story is pleasantly average -- teen gossip, small-town atmosphere, and chatter about boyfriends, dances and babysitting. It has the occasional spooky moment -- such as Myers popping out of a hedge to stare at Laurie -- but isn't really scary just yet. But as Myers starts bumping off teenagers, the plot darkens and twists.

Carpenter spins up a claustrophobic, trapped feeling, partly due to a shadowy old house full of windows and doors, any of which could be Myers' way in. You can't help but jump with every shadow. And Carpenter sprinkles the plot with unspeakably creepy moments -- Myers quietly slithering in a window above Laurie, or dressing as a ghost with only his heavy breathing to identify him.

Curtis was the original scream queen thanks to this movie, and she does an amazing job -- even when she's racing around pounding on doors and shrieking, she seems realistic. Pleasance is just as good as Loomis, who is determined and full of dread at what his patient is, but also has his moments of humour (like when he frightens some pranksters at the Myers house). And though we only see Myers' face a few times, his masked face, silent movements and heavy breathing are the stuff of nightmare.

"Halloween" was a more psychological, atmospheric kind of horror, and it did its job almost too well. The original slasher movie -- harrowing, eerie, and petrifying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a must have, Sept. 27 2009
By 
Paulina Medeiros (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Being a die hard "Nightmare on Elm street" fan, I bought this set as a present for my boyfriend. I have to admit I was not disappointed and he absolutely loved it. The extras are awesome and just the box itself is worth every single penny. Collectors and Halloween fans should buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb edition, Dec 4 2013
By 
Simon Bergeron - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Halloween (Limited Edition) (DVD)
This is a wonderful edition, back in the days where Anchor Bay was synonym of amazing special features and quality remasters. They WERE the Criterion of horror films in the birth of the 21st century. Were.

This edition of Halloween contains two versions of the film. One is the original John Carpenter version and the second disc holds the TV version presented in widescreen with 8-10 more minutes of film.

There are a few special features such as a 30-min doc entitled "Halloween unmasked" which you could have if you had bought the orange VHS videocassettes back in 1998 (yeah, I DO feel young), trailers and a commentary track. This and the H25 anniversary edition, combined with the recent Blu-ray edition of the 35th anniversary would make for a perfect Halloween experience with all the special features that Anchor Bay NEVER repeats or collects for later editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Original Horror Film, Nov. 2 2013
By 
Miracle Max - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Halloween (1978) [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
I am not that big into horror films, but this film really appealed to me because of it's very realistic approach to a very real spiritual battle among mankind that actually exists outside of the film industry.

Halloween is a well made horror film about a young boy named Michael Myers who for no apparent reason becomes possessed by a demonic entity that makes him KILL his sister one Halloween night in 1963. Locked up in an insane asylum for 15 years, he escapes to return to the small town of Haddenfield to continue his mission of killing.

He is a quiet killer who never speaks, but only kills. Because he is possessed by a Demon, his very existence is to kill and to never stop killing.

Because he was wearing a mask during his first killing as a little boy and his weapon a Butcher knife, he continues to follow that pattern in this film and throughout the series. Even when a gun falls into his hands, he never fires it, but uses it as a stabbing weapon as stabbing is his method of killing.

The BLUE RAY edition is very well put together, and has an hour & a half long documentary with John Carpenter and cast members that really gives you insight into how the film was conceived and eventually brought to the theatre.

The hidden message in this film is that Michael Myers is NOT HUMAN, but that he is possessed by a demon. This is demonstrated through his Sub-Human strength and ability to survive multiple attempts to kill him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2007 Anchor Bay/Starz Blu Ray edition, April 18 2014
By 
Keith Little - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Halloween (1978) [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
Excellent film, I watch it every Halloween without fail. The film is presented in anamorphic widescreen 2.35:1, audio: English Dolby Digital 5.1, English 5.1 PCM Uncompressed & original mono, subtitles: English SDH & English, scene selection. Extras: audio commentary with John Carpenter, Jamie Lee Curtis & Debra Hill, Film Fast Facts, documentary - Halloween: A Cut Above The Rest (1:27:07), theatrical trailer (2:42), 3 TV spots (1:17), 3 radio spots (1:24) and some previews of upcoming blu ray releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars If you already have the 2007 version......, Oct. 14 2013
By 
Tim Gronlund (Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought the 2007 version when it first came out, the picture quality on it is great, clean, clear, and crisp. And I liked the extras features better on the 2007 version. I was excited to hear this would be a complete remaster job. I don't feel that it is. its video quality is the same as the 2007 version and the extra features aren't that great, except a Halloween Convention with Jamie Lee Curtis signing autographs and auctioning off her Halloween movie memorabilia. I bought this new version thinking it was an upgrade. And its not. And I wished they had've stayed with the original movie poster artwork instead of this cover. I am a real fan of the movie Halloween. I just wished I would've waited a little longer to see reviews on this new release. I wouldn't have purchased this bluray at all. I hope my review helps others in deciding whether or not to purchase this or just stay with your 2007 release. The video quality is identical to me. and definitely not an upgrade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, awkward packaging..., Sept. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been so excited for this release, however, that all changed when I saw it in the store. It's too big to stack neatly with my collection. When it arrives in the mail I plan to return it. We all know there will be a 40th anniversary edition in another 5 years anyway. Xo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars False advertising!, Sept. 28 2013
The original mono mix on the 35th anniversary blu-ray from Anchor Bay Entertainment is just a poor down mix of the 5.1 mix. In certain scenes the music is so loud, you can't even hear the dialogue. Very poor. I suggest they do a disc recall and correct this problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Awful Cover, Sept. 3 2013
What an awful cover! Why not putting the original cover like the next UK version? Let's hope now that this 'Cundy' version will be the last I will have to buy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, July 21 2013
By 
Toni (Mission, BC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Halloween (1978) [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
This movie is simply a classic. I've seen it on TV almost a million times and decided I'd buy it on Blu-ray since it was cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa035c18)

This product

Halloween (1978) [Blu-ray] [Import]
Halloween (1978) [Blu-ray] [Import] by John Carpenter (Blu-ray - 2007)
CDN$ 24.98 CDN$ 10.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews