Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT'S A BRAND NEW POSTAPOCALYPTIC DAWN
I am old enough to have played the original game when it first came out in 1997. I was a great fan of the series that followed and, thus, was very eager to get my hands on this latest installment. In a short sentence: FALLOUT-3 is A DREAM COME TRUE!

It is a cRPG game in which the player can alternate between the First and Third person perspective roaming a...
Published on Oct. 28 2008 by NeuroSplicer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not bad game except for the repeated game crashes
Fallout Three is another in a long line of post apocalyptic game scenarios.It is a role playing/FPS combo which has become quite popular within the last few years.The pluses to this game are the great looking graphics and the ability to explore this expansive world(there is an impassable border/edge,so you can't go on forever).It also has a catchy story to it and it is...
Published 17 months ago by Robert Badgley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT'S A BRAND NEW POSTAPOCALYPTIC DAWN, Oct. 28 2008
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
I am old enough to have played the original game when it first came out in 1997. I was a great fan of the series that followed and, thus, was very eager to get my hands on this latest installment. In a short sentence: FALLOUT-3 is A DREAM COME TRUE!

It is a cRPG game in which the player can alternate between the First and Third person perspective roaming a world comparable in size with OBLIVION. The action has moved from Vault 13 and Southern California to Vault 101 and Washington, D.C. and the story brakes away from the previous bloodlines. However, the atmosphere of the original has been maintained and its scents sharpened: veterans will find it fitting like and old glove - whereas the new gamers are in store for a bag of pleasant surprises.

The graphics are wonderful, the guns detailed and the environments highly interactive. Short of a screenshot, imagine what would HalfLife-2 would look if released today. And similar to HL2, FALLOUT-3 does not require an...ubercomputer to run smoothly. Once you see a NPC move though, you understand where the corners were cut.

Character customization is carried out in great style using the new and improved PIP-BOY at the beginning. You exit the vault and the harsh reality of a world that barely survived annihilation slaps you on the face. Adapt or perish.

The main storyline is there to be followed but FALLOUT-3 offers the greatest number of alternative choices I have ever encountered in a game! There is always a great number of paths to follow in order to achieve any goal - but every choice comes with a consequences tag. This is common feature of most classic cRPGs but in FALLOUT-3 I saw it implemented like never before. If nothing else, this sends replayability through the roof.

Side-quests offer little besides distraction and experience points (XP) to be spend on character improvement. XP are gained solely by completing quests, emerging victorious from fights, finding locations, picking locks and hacking terminals - and they are not limited by the action they were earned. Leveling up is based on 7 basic attributes [Strength, Perception, Endurance, Charisma, Intelligence, Agility & Luck - acronym?;)] that, in turn, affect your (13) specific skills. Since leveling up is capped at Level-20, the game designers wanted to encourage replaying the game. On the other hand, it also means that your character will never realize its full potential (in case you are wondering why I withheld a star from FUN, that's the second half of it).

The game is violent and gory but well within tasteful limits. Not so with the language - but it is tradeoff with realism. In a radioactive world, Sunday-school niceties are bound to go out the window.
What deserves a special mention is V.A.T.S. (:Vault-Tec Assisted Targeting System) which opens new vistas in cRPG design. It is an ingenious system which lets you pause the game and target specific body parts of your opponents. The success of your attack still depends on your skills but the end effect is cinematic and amazing (remember SWORDFISH?).

After the nuclear summer of 2008 (with all the LimitedInstallations-defective EA releases), this seems like a postapocalyptic dawn indeed! BETHESDA decided to listen to the gaming community and did NOT cripple this beautiful game with any idiotic DRM scheme. Inputting a serial number and a DVD-check is more than reasonable.
The publishers of FALLOUT-3 understand that there is a fine balance between "protecting the product" and..."insulting your own customers". And they obviously view respect as the two way street that it is - and for this they deserve our support: buy this game, today.

Voting with our wallets is the only argument the gaming industry cannot afford to ignore. And it is about time to cast some well deserved positive votes.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fallout 3, fall out your chair goodness, Nov. 21 2008
By 
D. Chandon "Dems" (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fallout 3 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
When I say Bethesda, the first thing that pops into most people's mind is what a horrible name to call a company. But to those enlightened gamers, Bethesda is a premier game developer that doesn't churn out titles like a Ubisoft or EA, but make no mistake, the few titles that Besthesda has released as well as the expansions are nothing short of gaming brilliance. Bethesda specializes in massive games that last and last and last with a huge amount of content. Oblivion, Shivering Isles, and Morrowind have all be developed by Bethesda and all have been massive successes.

Fallout 3 is yet another great addition if not one of the best to the library that Bethesda has created. I actually like Fallout 3 more than Oblivion for various reasons. Fallout 3 takes place in an alternate reality Washington DC after nuclear winter and Chinese invasion. Your character begins obviously at birth then flashes forward from infancy to childhood and into adulthood. Your character lives in Vault 101 in the Capitol Wasteland along with your father and few other survivors, in these small, cramped quarters roughly 200 years after the apocalypse. The game is a massive contrast to what happens in the claustrophobic Vault. One day or night your father escapes the Vault, a big no-no, and soon after the character follows, and Fallout 3 truly begins, with the sun blinding you when you first see and then you see the ruined world that is yours to explore.

Many questions arise from you leaving the vault mostly what is going on with your father and why he left. And from those questions about what to do next comes a massive amount of choice in everything from character development, like what skills to focus in on which there are many, to the many perks that could become yours as well. Then there is the massive amount of questing, there is of course the main storyline of finding your father and some other interesting quests surrounding who and what your father is and was, this is about 20-30 hours of gameplay, then there's the side-quests, which brings the game up to over 100 hours. It is unbelievable at the sheer amount of content within the game, and how it still remains interesting throughout, although the side-quests might be similar the way as far as going from point A to B, finding that bit of information to help the world you live in. Also one of the interesting things to this game is how you discover the quests, either through exploration, which this game does extremely well, or through finding journals or sound clips, dealing with NPCs, or just finding a place.

Fallout 3 does everything right as far as the visuals being photo-realistic, the sounds or music is a great addition as well, with period music being played through radio stations that are accessible with Pip-boy 3000, your big wrist PDA, the music is used to set the whole tone that culture was ended at one point and then everything went into just survival, as well as adding that little bit of creepiness. Essentially this world is ruined and humanity is just about done, but the environments look gorgeous in that ruined world aspect, also in this world you can explore right from the outset, however, as you move further north, south, east, and west enemies become stronger and more in numbers, so tread cautiously.

Now the technical aspect to this game, the only complaint that I do have with this game is the 3rd person perspective, although you can see more of your character this way the movement of your character looks odd and ugly at times if you were to look to from side to side rather than having the neck and head move the character's entire body moves with an odd side-step, so just stay in the FPS mode, but there will be a few times where the 3rd person view does help, really with gauging jumps. The graphics are beautiful, the sounds and atmosphere is genuinely great, the fire fights you get into get loud and you can get disoriented easily when someone tosses a grenade or shoots a missle or a mini-nuke at you and you're temporarily discombobulated.

Did I mention the disarticulation, for all those folks that enjoy blood and unrealistic gore, the VATS targetting system is for you. VATS is a combat system within Fallout 3 that allows for the player to deal out damage to specific body parts to a single enemy or a few depending on the weapon and the AP that you have available. And with the Bloody Mess Perk, when you kill an enemy sometimes everything gets taken out, if you were to shoot of a leg and kill an enemy you'd end up sending the enemy flying with other body parts flying off. It sounds horrible and somewhat unrealistic, which it is, but it is so satisfying, and as your character levels up killing becomes an easy task with some enemies. A tip though when you're starting out weaken your enemy with the shooter aspect then go to VATS to finish them off, and not in that massage parlour sense either.

Fallout 3 is an example of what games could be if given a great storyline and a massive amount of content and just having everything work right. Sure there are some same issues as far as character interaction being somewhat stiff with characters you speak with becoming extremely rigid and with almost no personality sometimes, but this is a small issue when compared to what Fallout 3 does right. Also characters look great too, with some voice recycling and character models being re-used, but I doubt anyone will even care considering that this game is massive, it is wide, far, deep and high, you'll understand when you play it, which is something that PC, 360, and PS3 owners should all do.

And I apologize for the long winded review, this game is by far the best I've played in this current generation and perhaps in the previous one too. Fallout 3 is a keeper, and I will definately be playing it a few times considering there are multiple endings and character customization is just massive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Stunning, March 31 2009
By 
B. A. Dyck (Coronation, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fallout 3 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This has to be the best, most consuming RPG that I have every encountered. You will find yourself spending entirely too much time with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT'S A BRAND NEW POSTAPOCALYPTIC DAWN, Oct. 28 2008
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fallout 3 (DVD-ROM)
I am old enough to have played the original game when it first came out in 1997. I was a great fan of the series that followed and, thus, was very eager to get my hands on this latest installment. In a short sentence: FALLOUT-3 is A DREAM COME TRUE!

It is a cRPG game in which the player can alternate between the First and Third person perspective roaming a world comparable in size with OBLIVION. The action has moved from Vault 13 and Southern California to Vault 101 and Washington, D.C. and the story brakes away from the previous bloodlines. However, the atmosphere of the original has been maintained and its scents sharpened: veterans will find it fitting like and old glove - whereas the new gamers are in store for a bag of pleasant surprises.

The graphics are wonderful, the guns detailed and the environments highly interactive. Short of a screenshot, imagine what would HalfLife-2 would look if released today. And similar to HL2, FALLOUT-3 does not require an...ubercomputer to run smoothly. Once you see a NPC move though, you understand where the corners were cut.

Character customization is carried out in great style using the new and improved PIP-BOY at the beginning. You exit the vault and the harsh reality of a world that barely survived annihilation slaps you on the face. Adapt or perish.

The main storyline is there to be followed but FALLOUT-3 offers the greatest number of alternative choices I have ever encountered in a game! There is always a great number of paths to follow in order to achieve any goal - but every choice comes with a consequences tag. This is common feature of most classic cRPGs but in FALLOUT-3 I saw it implemented like never before. If nothing else, this sends replayability through the roof.

Side-quests offer little besides distraction and experience points (XP) to be spend on character improvement. XP are gained solely by completing quests, emerging victorious from fights, finding locations, picking locks and hacking terminals - and they are not limited by the action they were earned. Leveling up is based on 7 basic attributes [Strength, Perception, Endurance, Charisma, Intelligence, Agility & Luck - acronym?;)] that, in turn, affect your (13) specific skills. Since leveling up is capped at Level-20, the game designers wanted to encourage replaying the game. On the other hand, it also means that your character will never realize its full potential (in case you are wondering why I withheld a star from FUN, that's the second half of it).

The game is violent and gory but well within tasteful limits. Not so with the language - but it is tradeoff with realism. In a radioactive world, Sunday-school niceties are bound to go out the window.
What deserves a special mention is V.A.T.S. (:Vault-Tec Assisted Targeting System) which opens new vistas in cRPG design. It is an ingenious system which lets you pause the game and target specific body parts of your opponents. The success of your attack still depends on your skills but the end effect is cinematic and amazing (remember SWORDFISH?).

After the nuclear summer of 2008 (with all the LimitedInstallations-defective EA releases), this seems like a postapocalyptic dawn indeed! BETHESDA decided to listen to the gaming community and did NOT cripple this beautiful game with any idiotic DRM scheme. Inputting a serial number and a DVD-check is more than reasonable.
The publishers of FALLOUT-3 understand that there is a fine balance between "protecting the product" and..."insulting your own customers". And they obviously view respect as the two way street that it is - and for this they deserve our support: buy this game, today.

Voting with our wallets is the only argument the gaming industry cannot afford to ignore. And it is about time to cast some well deserved positive votes.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hands down, best single-player game I've ever played, March 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fallout 3 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I don't even know where to begin with this. A friend suggested this game to me, and I saw it on Amazon for cheap, so I figured I'd pick it up.

I can't believe I waited as long as I did.

Every part of this game is a masterpiece, from the storyline, to the control layout, to the customization options, music, you name it. The story just sucks you in, allowing you to navigate a finely crafted world where every decision you make could have a bearing on future events. You can be clever or overpowering; fight the good fight or only look out for yourself, there's no limit to how to play this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fallout, April 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fallout 3 (DVD-ROM)
Fallout 3 - really if your into post apocolyptic role playing games or retro futurism you can't miss with the fallout series and give the simply excellent mods available to extend and vary your experience its a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome game., Dec 27 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Has a charm Fallout New Vegas will never have. It's undoubtedly the best Fallout there is and is definitely a recommended game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, Sept. 3 2012
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This game is my favorite game, i pent so many hours on it, if you love rpg, its a no brainer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The next generation of RPGs, Nov. 25 2008
By 
A. Dube - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
If your a fan of oblivion you'll love this game though this game doesn't have all the lush landscape as oblivion it does have great side quests an ok main quest on as you come out Vault 101 you see a massive part of the destroyed lands with a small town in plain view. At first you don't know what to do where to go or maybe even how to use your pip boy to its full capacity. The first place I actually ran into was the school where there were enemies with major guns other than BB guns or a 10-mm pistol which I found my hands very useful at the time until I took their guns. After killing about four enemies I left and ran into Megaton a city with an active nuke sitting in the center. Then there is a sheriff that comes up to you as soon as you enter the city that looks like he came from a western movie which I thought was pretty funny.
Now to get to combat VATS is actually a great accessory for a RPG and anyone that like seeing people get killed in slo-mo which has entertained me. It gives you a percentage of your accuracy and a choice of which limb you want to shoot at unless you're using a grenade of course. What I found interesting is that you shoot their leg they limp,or shoot their arm or weapon and the weapon will fall, and then the head you shoot it and their accuracy will lower. The action in the game gets fun when you get better guns myself i use the combat shotgun it gets the job done and for long distance the hunting rfle or sniper are great.
Quests are like oblivion you'll find them but you have to explore the wastes if you keep to the main quest you'll finish the game in no time. I suggest exploreing the game before finishing the main quest because you'll be upset at the things you miss mostly since there is a fast travel which isnt bad but you'll miss a lot. Go into all building its fun some are trap rigged to the teeth, some plain strange, and some are war zones that you are stuck in the middle of.
All and all this game isnt perfect but what games really are its a must have for anyone that like 1st person shooters, 3rd person shooters or rpgs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Post-Apocalyptic Oblivion for the Road Warrior within you, Dec 27 2008
By 
Darren J. Mifsud "Darwin's Bulldog" (Georgetown, On Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
If you played Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion and loved it, this game is also for you. Where Oblivion was a very involved rpg with huge freedom for character upgrading and game direction based in Medieval-esque fantasy playing, Fallout 3 uses the same play system for a post apocalyptic world, replacing sword and sorcery with homemade guns, explosives, and melee weapons. Fallout 3 also gives you more freedom for the path you can take your character down: good, bad, or anywhere in between. The world can be overwhelming at first: finding out where places are, how to get around settlements, how to get money, who to talk to, but that's the fun. The world is wonderous for you just as it is for your character emerging from Vault 101. It feels like you are the Road Warrior Mad Max, fighting off Raiders and Slavers and causing ruckus.
Very involved, worth the time, beautiful graphics of horrid landscapes.

Know what kind of game this is before you play. Rate this game on the type of game it is, not what you thought it was gonna be. If it's not your type of game then don't rate it. Don't rate this game bad because you don't play rpgs and you thought it was gonna be a mindless game like DOOM or something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fallout 3
Fallout 3 by Bethesda Softworks (Windows Vista / XP)
CDN$ 29.99 CDN$ 19.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews