Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the treatment an amazing show deserves.
Twin Peaks was only on the air a few years, and totals about thirty hours of television, but quality matters more than quantity, and this was a groundbreaking, original, surreal and surprising show, with a boatload of memorable characters and Kyle MacLachlan as coffee-loving agent Cooper, squeaky clean and smart, slowly exploring the darkness of Twin Peaks and the murder...
Published on Jan. 2 2008 by Alex Boyd

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Disapointed
Unfortunately the dvd's were not working. No immages, No sounds...I am very very disapointed... had to return the complete series package. Everything seemed brand new, I don't understand why this should happen ?? By the way, my DVD player is new.
Published 3 months ago by Michele Piperno


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the treatment an amazing show deserves., Jan. 2 2008
By 
Alex Boyd (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Twin Peaks: The Complete Series (The Definitive Gold Box Edition) (DVD)
Twin Peaks was only on the air a few years, and totals about thirty hours of television, but quality matters more than quantity, and this was a groundbreaking, original, surreal and surprising show, with a boatload of memorable characters and Kyle MacLachlan as coffee-loving agent Cooper, squeaky clean and smart, slowly exploring the darkness of Twin Peaks and the murder of Laura Palmer.

Finally, the series is complete on DVD, the original movie pilot and all the episodes, along with the option of a log lady intro (another favourite character) and a bonus disc of deleted scenes, the documentary "A Slice of Lynch," the feature length "Secrets from Another Place," on the show, as well as the famous Saturday Night Live sketch with MacLachlan, music videos and more. There's even a selection of a dozen postcards from Twin Peaks included, though of course this is a clever way to get you to mail ads for this set all over the continent. I even like the way the discs are packaged, easily accessed because it's like flipping through a book.

Peaks fans may want to check out Carnivale, the HBO series that also finds themes of good versus evil, and borrows the surreal tone of Twin Peaks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST TELEVISION - EVER!, Sept. 6 2007
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Twin Peaks: The Complete Series (The Definitive Gold Box Edition) (DVD)
Sure, everyone has his/hers favorite TV shows, and preferences shift with seasonal mood, age and experiences. However, THIS IS TELEVISION AT HER BEST! The frivolity of the 80's gave way to the seriousness of the 90's - all painted in 50's Americana nostalgia of innocence lost.

Atmospheric, mysterious, intriguing, smart,...Words are just not capable to describe this prematurely terminated series! Every time I watch it I discover another moment, another gem I treasure. Too bad the network executives decided to, first, meddle with the plot and, when this backfired, they treated this masterpiece as filler material. No wonder ratings floundered resulting in the series eventual cancellation.

True, the 25 years are not up yet. However, I think that Agent Cooper has remained trapped in the Waiting Area long enough. Let's all petition David Lynch for a long-awaited movie or TV mini-series to tidy things up.

This particular BoxSet is everything Season 2 was not: excellent picture and sound quality AND all the missing Extras! Commercials, trailers and product spin-offs...
My advice: if you already own Season 1, sell it, avoid Season 2, and buy this one.

Own it and make weekends out of it. Once in a blue moon a certain magic manifests amongst us. One that never fades.
And there is always music in the air.

How do I know? A gentle giant told me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death, spirits and cherry pie, Aug. 29 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Twin Peaks: The Complete Series (The Definitive Gold Box Edition) (DVD)
"Twin Peaks" was the ultimate cult TV show -- suspenseful, complex, hilariously written and with hidden layers that casual channel-flippers might not catch.

Though it lasted only two seasons, David Lynch and Mark Frost's classic series is a brilliant piece of television, with dozens of intertwined subplots and a mystery death that goes a lot deeper than just murder. For the very first time, both seasons AND the pilot are united in this box set -- a must have for cult TV enthusiasts.

The body of a beautiful young woman, Laura Palmer (Sheryl Lee), washes up on shore, "wrapped in plastic." It seems everyone in the town of Twin Peaks adored her, so her death is a blow. FBI Agent Dale Cooper (Kyle MacLachlan) is assigned to the case -- which seems connected to his past work -- so he settles down at the comfy Twin Peaks hotel and continues investigating.

And Twin Peaks' secrets start surfacing -- love affairs, madness, wackos, corporate devilry, and drugrunning. And clues about Laura are cropping up: a bloody shirt, a drug deal, a secret affair and a heart necklace. People catch glimpses of a one-armed man and a grey-haired killer -- and Cooper has a prophetic dream with both men, as well as a red room, a double of Laura Palmer, and a tiny man who dances to jazz music.

The second season introduces more unrest for the inhabitants of Twin Peaks -- and an injured Cooper (Kyle McLachlan) has a vision that may have something to do with Laura Palmer's death. Midway through the season he finds who it was (or rather, who it SEEMS to be). But that's not the only plotline in the second season -- we also get a psychopathic ex-Fed, parasitic demons, a disastrous beauty pageant, strange caves, and a twin pair of "Lodges" that seem to exist outside space and time... which Cooper's murderous ex-partner is searching for.

"Twin Peaks" starts off as a basic murder mystery, but rapidly becomes something a lot stranger and more frightening. It becomes a bit weaker during the second season -- especially when Laura's killer is revealed prematurely -- but it's still strange and darkly humorous right up to the flawed cliffhanger end.

And Lynch and Frost knew how to spin a great TV show -- they took the usual murder mysteries, and loaded it down with eerie symbolism, creepy visions and inscrutable (but important) lines ("Through the darkness of future past, the magician longs to see...."). And there are arcs that stretch through the series, slowly unfolding their secrets like dark roses.

But it's not just strange-weird, but strange-funny too. And the dialogue has that brilliant quirkiness that most series cannot keep going for long ("Fellas, don't drink that coffee! You'd never guess... there was a fish in the percolator"). Considering how likably strange the characters are -- including Cooper -- it's not too surprising that it's crammed with quotables ("Black as midnight on a moonless night...." "Pretty black").

And the characters are VERY odd too. Cooper himself is played with quirky brilliance by McLachlan -- he's a bright, lovable, friendly kind of guy who loves Tibetan mysticism, tape recorders and a "damn fine cup of coffee." He becomes even more likable as the series goes on, and we get to see some of his more tragic dimensions.

And Cooper flanked by a number of talented actors playing two basic varieties of characters: the relatively normal ones with a slight quirk, such as abusive truckers, the sheriff, teen lovers, and obnoxious FBI agents who offend the residents of Twin Peaks. And the REALLY strange ones, like the weird Log Lady, the one-armed man, the spacey Lolita, and the eerie spirits that haunt Twin Peaks.

The entirety of "Twin Peaks" is hard to even describe, because the plots were a perfect balance of the surreal and mundane -- and the entire series is a dark cult gem from beginning to imperfect end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money - but save yourself $30 by buying on the U.S. Site, Nov. 7 2007
By 
Nwaif (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Twin Peaks: The Complete Series (The Definitive Gold Box Edition) (DVD)
This is a great, but Amazon is asleep at the wheel. Save yourself $30 by purchasing off Amazon.com instead of Amazon.ca. There is still a ridiculous price difference between the U.S. and Canadian sites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Strong Finish to the Series, Sept. 22 2000
These are the final five episodes of the "Twin Peaks" series; they are somewhat of a redemption after some weak episodes immediately preceeding these. The plots are much stronger, especially those focusing on Agent Cooper. His attraction to Annie Blackburn is nicely played (with a strong romantic piece by Angelo Badalamenti). The Windom Earle plot becomes intriguing as it becomes bigger than Earle (who is overplayed by Kenneth Welsh) and delves into the supernatural (and, as mentioned in another review, becomes an inspiration for the X-Files).
The other plotlines are also strong. Especially intriguing is the Andrew Packard character, as he (along with Catherine and Pete) deals with the mysterious black box. Dan O'Herlihy has a great stage presence as Packard; I wish he could have been featured more in the series.
The build up to Episode 29 is nicely done -- Lynch's direction of the final episode has that first season feel to it (though a little darker). It would have been a great season-ending cliffhanger (I would have been interested to see if Major Briggs went to the rescue at the Black Lodge), but remains an odd end to the series.
For these espisodes, the only major complaint is that they deserve to be on DVD. For the future, I would love to see some sort of continuation of the story nearly ten years later. It would be fun to have a Lynch/Frost/Chris Carter collaboration on a movie combining "Twin Peaks" with the "X-Files." It probably won't happen, but this series deserves more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Forget 27 and 28, I'm here to talk about THE END (sob), May 4 1999
By A Customer
Okay, I will mention 27 and 28, because they are top episodes, what with Cooper finding lurve, Wyndham Earle being deranged, etc., etc., but by far the most important of these episodes is number 29. Um, don't read this if you don't want want to know what happens at the end.
To sum it up, it doesn't feel quite right: we don't really know what happened to Cooper, and we don't know who got killed in the explosion at the bank. Though admittedly the series was cut short because of the wicked American public and their lamentably short concentration spans, it somehow feels right that the series concludes without ever feeling totally conclusive. Cooper goes to The Other Place, but we don't really know what happened to him there, and for all the talk of 'The Black Lodge', we still don't really know what the other place is. We have to assume Pete, Andrew, and probably Audrey died in the explosion at the bank, but we don't really know. Without going into the symbolism of the whole thing, I would suggest the inconclusive note is one of this ephisodes strongest points. There is no saccharine ending where they all live happily ever after, but at the same time we don't know anybody is dead. Lynch ends the series on an entirely appropriately bleak note, while to some extent keeping the fates of his character doubtful, as opposed to definate. It would feel wrong if Cooper was entirely successful, but at the same time, to know he was dead would be unbearably heartbreaking. A worthy end to the greatest TV series ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not finished..., Jan. 27 2001
These final episodes are perfectly showcase all that made Twin Peaks an excellent show. They have every bit of the symbolism, surrealism, and humor that gave it it's fan base.
Unfortunatly it's very obvious that the last episode was intended to be a cliff-hanger and that they expected to make more. Be warned that while it is very interesting, many questions are left un-ansered(and never will be), many new questions are asked, and the audience never knows what the fate of several of the characters is.
Of course, if you are reading this I assume you have seen the other episodes already and you're probably going to see these regardless of what I say. Enjoy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most haunting, and mistreated, show in the history of television, Oct. 15 2012
By 
Omnes - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Twin Peaks: The Complete Series (The Definitive Gold Box Edition) (DVD)
When Twin Peaks aired on television, none could have predicted how the murder of Laura Palmer would move not only the town's citizens, who knew Laura as a generous and good-hearted teenager, but also millions of viewers. Indeed, over thirty episodes, they would discover a community of five thousand citizens who hide, behind closed doors and curtains, dangerous secrets. With the investigation done by the FBI agent Dale Cooper and the Twin Peaks sheriff Harry Truman, they uncover those same secrets and try to answer the one-million dollar question.

Who killed Laura Palmer?

Though the main characters are Agent Dale and Sheriff Truman, Twin Peaks is an ensemble show since each episode narrates a complete day, which includes the lives of Twin Peaks residents, and the Laura Palmer investigation. For each episode, we witness characters' pains and joys of their lives, but we slowly find out that Laura herself was not who she was and that dangerous forces haunt the woods of Twin Peaks. Not only that, we also witness an awesome romance between Audrey Horne and Special Agent Dale Cooper, which gave to its actress Sherilyn Fenn the success she deserved.

As such, the show itself can switch emotions very quickly, going from drama to comedy, then towards pure terror. As such, the show is not your usual drama-investigation-soap opera. Even the music that Angelo Badalamenti did completely differs to what was done in the eighties and today. It haunts your heart as tunes like Falling, Audrey's Dance, Laura's Theme, and the Woods' Theme play in the background.

Though my favorite characters were Dale Cooper, Audrey Horne, Andy, Lucy, Shelly, the Log Lady, and the whole Palmer family, I have to admit that the most unforgettable remains BOB, played by the excellent Frank Silva, set dresser for the pilot and a David Lynch collaborator whose scenes in the show have spooked me for days. Especially the short ones he did in certain episodes.

About the other special Features, I appreciated everything this DVD set offers, although I wish they could have shown the funny Sesame Street parody of Twin Peaks.

As a final note, to everybody interested in Twin Peaks, it is important to know that the show's broadcaster, ABC, horribly mistreated the series. As explained in the making of, ABC was uncomfortable with the show narration and shocking content, especially coming from the director who did Blue Velvet, movie that shocked the public and industry with its sexual and sadomasochistic scenes. But what really unsettled the ABC bosses was the sudden popularity of a show that they had no hope in the first place. So they forced the creators to reveal the murderer's identity in the middle of the second season, which they unfortunately did. This was a foolish idea since it hurt the story's plot device and forced the creators to come up with less-spectacular storylines. As such, the Laura Palmer story goes for seventeen episodes (pilot included) and remains the best of what is in Twin Peaks. Of the last thirteen episodes, they feel to me like a jumble of good ideas that don't hit their full potential. Of course, the Windom Earle events are great, but what happens with Little Nicky, James and Irene, and the Pine Weasel doesn't strike the same chord as Laura Palmer's story. And with what happens with the Audrey Horne/Cooper romance, I prefer to stick with the first seventeen episodes who make a complete series by themselves. Speaking of that Audrey Horne/Cooper romance, Kyle MacLachlan explains in the making-of why he asked the storyline to be dropped. However, I tend to believe more the explanations Mark Frost, Bob Engels and Sherilyn Fenn said, especially after seeing on YouTube interviews with Sherilyn Fenn, and the "2011 Twin Peaks Convention Q&A Dinner Meeting", where Sheryl Lee and Lenny Von Dohlen talked about a certain cast member I will not name, but whom they found unpleasant. And to me, I think stopping that plotline due to some behind-the-scenes conflict hurt the show as much as the revelation of Laura Palmer's mystery. Especially since that romance was supposed to be the next major plot line of the second season.

So why the Five stars even though I think the last thirteen episodes are not up to par with the first seventeen episodes. Because the setting and universe this series presents remains unique and light-years to what is done on television. It also offered the chance for shows to tell their stories like movies instead of the usual talk-talk in television, and Twin Peaks, even years after its unfair cancellation, still remains in the collective mind of the public, of its fans, and of the industry. Indeed, shows like The X-Files, Lost, Desperate Housewives, Once Upon a Time, Riget, the Killing, movies like The Blair Witch Project, and video games like Alan Wake, Max Payne, and Deadly Premonition owe a lot to Twin Peaks. If there is one thing that makes them different from Twin Peaks, it is that they never repeated the same mistake that Twin Peaks did.

God knows what would have happened if the show had been done either in syndication, or on cable channels like HBO who started to bring out excellent series like Tales from the Crypt. Maybe Twin Peaks would have had its third, and probably final season, done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOULD YOU LIKE SOME COFFEE?, Jan. 30 2002
By 
Kyle Dunn (Greensboro, North Carolina United States) - See all my reviews
This image of the Red Room, this world of Twin peaks is horrifying!! I must admit I cried for hours after the ending of this show. I was extremely depressed, I still get depressed about and the first time I watched it was in January 2000. I really love this tape. I love TWIN PEAKS. It needs more to it. I want Lynch to direct another TWIN PEAKS movie!! I want MORE!!! PEAKS IN MY MIND HASN'T DIED. FRANKLY, I see Peaks still around, in a spooky world!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Twin Peaks; a pice of art !, Feb. 1 1999
By A Customer
After I had watched Fire walk with me, I got up from the sofa and sayed to myself, is it really possible to make something that good ? Off cause, it's David Lynch we are talking about. So I barrowed the series and at the end of episode 29 I was convinced, David Lynch is the greatest director ever and Kyle Maclachlan is one of Hollywoods best actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twin Peaks: The Complete Series (The Definitive Gold Box Edition)
CDN$ 99.99 CDN$ 76.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews