Customer Reviews


159 Reviews
5 star:
 (115)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic
This 25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition provides an excellent transfer of one of the best films in its genre. As for the extras, well, they seem to be designed for folks who think the genre is documentary ... you won't learn anything about the making of the film, but you'll see an updated version of the investigators of the paranormal portrayed in it. Too bad Tangina's not...
Published on Nov. 5 2009 by Gary Fuhrman

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Scene Cut In Middle of Dialogue
Wanted a copy of this movie for some time now as this is one of my favorite movies. Watched it one evening and was disapointed to see that a scene was cut in the middle of the charactors dialogue. No effort was even made to be discrete about it. Completely obvious. Terribly dissapointing.
Published 1 month ago by The Blue Lady


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic, Nov. 5 2009
By 
Gary Fuhrman "gnox" (Manitoulin Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Poltergeist: 25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition (DVD)
This 25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition provides an excellent transfer of one of the best films in its genre. As for the extras, well, they seem to be designed for folks who think the genre is documentary ... you won't learn anything about the making of the film, but you'll see an updated version of the investigators of the paranormal portrayed in it. Too bad Tangina's not here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Scene Cut In Middle of Dialogue, May 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Poltergeist: 25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition (DVD)
Wanted a copy of this movie for some time now as this is one of my favorite movies. Watched it one evening and was disapointed to see that a scene was cut in the middle of the charactors dialogue. No effort was even made to be discrete about it. Completely obvious. Terribly dissapointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must in every DVD library., March 7 2014
By 
Fred B. Woodward (Summerland, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Poltergeist [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Probably the best horror movie I have ever seen. Saw it years ago when it first came out on VHS and it is even better on Blu-Ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still a classic!, Feb. 25 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Poltergeist: 25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition (DVD)
This was the first horror movie I saw as a child and helped develop my love of the genre. My 13 year old son wanted to see it so I purchased this copy. The quality was fine and it arrived quickly. Very happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars They're heeeeeeere (spoilers), Feb. 23 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Poltergeist: 25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition (DVD)
Ever wonder where all the jokes about haunted buildings being built over old burial grounds came from? Well, it was "Poltergeist."

This was the movie that not only immortalized the "They're heeeeeeere!" line, but tapped into the spookiness of everyday things -- the closet, the underside of a bed, a staticky TV or a closed door. Some of the special effects are a bit dated, but it gives you the feeling of being a young child who genuinely believed that a hellmouth exists in your closet. Or was that just me?

The Freeling family lives the perfect suburban life. Steve (Craig T. Nelson) is a real-estate agent and Diane (JoBeth Williams) is a housewife; they have a lovely new home, a golden retriever and three kids -- teenage Dana (Dominique Dunne), Robbie (Oliver Robins) and barely-out-of-preschool Carol-Anne (Heather O'Rourke). All is lovely and well.

Then... weird things start happening. Chairs start moving by themselves. Specters whirl out of the TV. Earthquakes. Then a tree smashes its way into the house and abducts Robbie -- and while his parents rescue him, Carol-Anne is sucked into a vortex in her bedroom closet. I swear to you, none of this is even slightly as funny as it sounds.

Now Carol-Anne is missing, and though her family can hear her occasionally, they have no idea where she is or how to find her. They call on a parapsychologist, Dr. Lesh (Beatrice Straight), who is totally out of her element. So she brings in an otherworldly psychic (Zelda Rubinstein), who may be their only hope of getting Carol-Anne back.

"Poltergeist" is an odd movie. It's a genuinely horrifying, spooky movie that taps into a lot of primal fears that every child has -- scary trees, lightning, dark closets, things under beds, fizzing TVs in darkened rooms. The poltergeist activity is kind of cheesy-looking (A FLYING LAMP! SO SCARY!), but most of the things we see are genuinely disturbing, like a child almost getting eaten alive by a giant knotty tree.

It's also one of those movies wise enough to save a lot of the horror for the end -- while there are plenty of scary moments earlier on, the last fifteen minutes are a relentless onslaught of skeletons, mud, thunder, screaming and a grotesque gulping portal to "the beast" appearing in the wall.

But at the same time, "Poltergeist" has a strangely family-friendly vibe. It was directed by Tobe Hooper, but it has the unmistakeable fingerprints of producer/writer Steven Spielberg all over it. It focuses on an ordinary, harmless suburban family living their usual lives (their biggest problem is the death of a pet bird), which is suddenly thrown into chaos by outside forces. And unlike most horror movies, there isn't even a lot of violence... well, except for one grotesque hallucination.

The late Heather O'Rourke is best remembered now for her "They're here" line, but she actually gave a pretty decent performance -- she had the affected quality of a child actor, but she also had raw talent. The scene where she's shrieking at the ghosts to stop tormenting her is just chilling.

Nelson and Williams are excellent as the harried, increasingly terrified parents, as are Dunne and Robins as Carol-Anne's terrified siblings. You really feel that these people ARE a family, whatever annoying qualities they have, and that they will do anything to protect each other. And Zelda Rubenstein was just a lot of fun -- her childlike voice and quirkiness ("You're right. You go!") are just charming.

"Poltergeist" is the scariest family film I have ever seen -- a genuinely spooky ghost story that keeps amping up the horror. Definitely a good movie, but don't watch it during a thunderstorm... near your closet... with a clown doll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It was great then, still great now!, Jan. 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Poltergeist: 25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition (DVD)
A Tobe Hopper movie, produce by Spielberg, good actors,if not great. Of course it always depends of your perspective. Do you prefer Full CGI effects construction with no story telling or a well construct special effect with great camera montage and a scenario not so badly writen, a little cliche nowadays, but still hiding some gems. This remastered edition may lack of content though, but that's pretty much the only real disapointing point we can note. This is a 80's classic and probably the most influencial movie towards parapsychology and ghost portrayal till this day. Let's hope the upcoming remake won't screw anything it stood for and if it does, tries to go through all the way to make his point unforgetable and interestering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They are heeere... again. This time in Blu-ray, Nov. 21 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Nothing like giving older films the Blu-ray treatment and allowing a second or third life.

The Freeling family live in a cozy suburb. They are not alone. They live with an old tree that loves tasty children and an assortment of TV people. Their young daughter Carol Anne Freeling goes for a visit beyond the pale. This is just the beginning.

The movie is a classic; many of the things we know about Poltergeists actual came from this movie.

My favorite scene is when they move into a motel and jettison the Twanky.
If you are not familiar with a Twanky, It is more of a TV that has a tendency to follow you here and there.

American Dreamer 1984: I Love the 80's Edition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "IT KNOWS WHAT SCARES YOU...", June 29 2004
By 
This review is from: Poltergeist (DVD)
When two of the greatest directors, horror master Tobe Hooper (creator of "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre" & "Salem's Lot") and filming genius, Steven Spielberg (creator of "Close Encounters of the Third Kind" & "Schindler's List") came together, the blockbuster smash-hit, "Poltergeist" was born and blew audiences away worldwide! A classic combo of epic proportions that brought us one of the most horrifying, imaginative, and powerful films ever put on the BIG SCREEN!
Originally released in 1982, Heather O' Rourke plays the main role as loveable (and cute!) Carol-Anne, while JoBeth Williams, Craig T. Nelson (leading star of the 80s T.V. sitcom hit, "Coach"), & Zelda Rubinstein would probably be considered the supporting actors. It is the most original and creative ghost story since "The Exorcist" (1973) & "The Amityville Horror" (1979) about the Freeling family who lives in the beautiful California suburbs. (which is where the movie was filmed) Carol-Anne somehow has a link with the supernatural via the family television set and soon strange and funny things begin to happen: a large earthquake strikes the community, chairs begin moving on their own, and the family dog begins barking for no apparent reason. (Or so it looks from OUR point of view!)
However, the phenomenon soon turns into a terrifying nightmare of unspeakable horrors: the mysterious tree outside in the back yard comes to life and nearly swallows Carol-Annes' brother, Robbie whole; and Carol-Anne is sucked into a parallel demension (the afterlife) through her bedroom closet. Now, it's up to a group of professionals in the study of the paranormal and a gifted elderly psychic to get her back!
(WARNING: Do NOT read this if you have not yet seen the movie. Contains spoilers...)
In the world of the afterlife, Carol-Anne continues to be tormented by the powerful entity (AKA The Beast) and soon her mother must be plunged into the spectral world herself, while her husband and the others assist her safe return in the process. Barely escaping the undead insanity, Carol-Anne and her mother are brought back to our reality through a gateway in the bathroom ceiling.
Everything is back to normal and everyone is safe again... OR SO IT SEEMS! One night, the family agrees to leave their beautiful home but the nightmare isn't over yet! Robbie is attacked by the one thing that scares him, his stuffed clown doll, while the mother tackles head on with the beast ITSELF! The spirits are now PISSED!! Carol-Anne and Robbie are nearly swallowed back into the portal to the afterlife but are saved by their courageous mother.
The father, being a real estate agent arrives home with his boss and is enraged with anger with the discovery that the town cemetary's headstones was moved but the bodies were left buried under the Freeling's home. After a breathtaking escape, all hell breaks loose in the suburbs in an explosive thrill-ride finale! The ending was quite clever and nicely done and once you see it, you'll never think of T.V. sets the same way again! The DVD includes WIDESCREEN & FULLSCREEN animorphic formats and the original theatrical trailer to the film which is nice for an extra treat! But keep in mind that the BONUS extras are pretty limited.
There are absolutely NO BTS footage, let alone cast interviews or director commentaries. During the production of the film, real scary events were reported happening which weren't supposed to happen and ironically a few years later, Heather O' Rourke, Dominique Dunne (who played Carol-Anne and Robbie's older sister, Dana Freeling), & Julian Beck (who played the villain, Kain in the sequel) died. (Heather O' Rourke died before the release of "Poltergeist III") I only hope that maybe in the future a Special Edition 2-disk set of the movie can be available, teaching us what REALLY happened during filming with the cast interviews and such. After all, it would give Tobe Hooper and Spielberg fans a more insight to the movie. For now, this is the best version of the movie you can get and is without doubt, a MASTERPIECE in cinema!
I GIVE IT A 10/10!!!! DON'T MISS OUT ON THIS #1 HORROR CLASSIC! BUY TODAY!!! I also recommend, "The Amityville Horror", "Tourist Trap", "The Exorcist", & "The Funhouse" in addition! They are all truly horrifying films in their own unique way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This house is not clean, July 13 2011
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Apart from the special effects disaster that is "the mirror scene," Poltergeist delivers one of the most effective, engrossing, and eerie presentations in movie history. Who can ever get the ill-fated Heather O'Rourke's "They're here" line or the fantastic performance of the diminutive Zelda Rubenstein as the psychic house "cleaner" Tangina? JoBeth Williams, for her part, turns in a fantastic performance, cementing her position as the emotional center of the story. Heck, everyone involved did a great job with this movie, including the dog. I'm often critical of Tobe Hooper's directing, but there is no doubt that Poltergeist represents his finest directorial work (although rumor has it that producer/co-writer Steven Spielberg did more than his share of the directing job).

I'm not sure why they called this film Poltergeist because the goings-on in the Freeling house go way, way beyond typical poltergeist activity. Things start out small (chair stacking, objects moving on their own, utensils bending on their own), but it doesn't take long for things to get completely out of hand. Initially, though, the stage is set with the typical fears most all of us experienced as children - fear of the dark, the closet, something under the bed, thunder storms, stuffed toys that suddenly become creepy when the lights are out. Fortunately for most of us, those fears are just childish fancies. The same cannot be said for the Freeling children. Unable to go to the police with their story (yes, officer, we think our lost daughter is somewhere in the house and we can still communicate with her through the television from time to time), the Freelings call upon local paranormal researchers for help. Needless to say, this blows the socks off of every other case they've investigated, leaving them no choice but to call in reinforcements in the form of a short but formidable medium (Rubenstein). Then, just when you think things are under control, the movie ratchets things up to new heights of action and suspense.

Poltergeist definitely has the potential to frighten some viewers, with scare tactics ranging from the small and subtle to the unbelievably grandiose - and even the most over-the-top occurrences work in the context of the presentation. No stranger to large special effects budgets, Spielberg made sure that all of the visual effects were believable (including the use of real human skeletons in one scene) and added to the suspense of the story (except that mirror scene, which really does feature some of the worst special effects I've ever seen in my life). Not having seen this movie in many, many years, I had forgotten just how impressive it was. It features some of the best interaction of actors with special effects that I've ever seen, making it easy to keep suspending your disbelief in the face of the most incredible of circumstances. You even get a sense of resolution at the end, which is something you rarely find in horror movies today. Poltergeist is, without doubt, a classic in every sense of the word.

I would be remiss if I didn't also mention the Poltergeist curse (a result, some say, of using real skeletons in the movie), which adds yet another layer to the atmosphere of the film. As most people know, Heather O'Rourke died tragically at the age of 12, but it's easy to forget that her co-star Dominique Dunne (daughter of novelist Dominick Dunne) was murdered by her ex-boyfriend within months of the film's release. Of course, the curse doesn't seem to have affected Craig T. Nelson, who went on to have a long and successful acting career. You can't help but feel sad, though, watching cute and talented little Heather O'Rourke, knowing that she died so young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surprise Surprise, March 5 2011
I'm not too big into the whole ghost/supernatual type movie. I wasnt a big fan of ammityville horror or blair whitch project and have absolutly no desire to see the paranormal activity movies, but with poltergeist i was pleasently suprised. I recently watched the thing for the first time recently and was definatly blown away, poltergeist is the most highly recommended movie for people who liked the thing so i decided to finally take a look. There are lots of cool 80s style effectgs which i love and once the ball gets rolling the movie gets really intense for the last while. Definatly recommendable for genre fans and i might even take a look at the sequals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Poltergeist: 25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition
Poltergeist: 25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition by Craig T. Nelson (DVD - 2007)
CDN$ 18.70 CDN$ 7.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews