Customer Reviews


404 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (79)
3 star:
 (59)
2 star:
 (51)
1 star:
 (87)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, bad video quality.
Movie = 5/5. Video quality = 3/5. Sadly, it's the best way to see it other than in the theatre. They really need to re-release this with a better digital transfer. Fantastic movie though.
Published on June 26 2011 by MindOverData

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you have it on DVD, Don't buy the Blu Ray
Bought this on blu ray. The video quality is not up to blu ray standards because of the way the movie was shot. The movie is awesome just not worth it on blu ray. If you have it on DVD, stick with that, if you don't this is a good purchase.
Published on Oct. 2 2011 by Teeboar


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you have it on DVD, Don't buy the Blu Ray, Oct. 2 2011
Bought this on blu ray. The video quality is not up to blu ray standards because of the way the movie was shot. The movie is awesome just not worth it on blu ray. If you have it on DVD, stick with that, if you don't this is a good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, bad video quality., June 26 2011
Movie = 5/5. Video quality = 3/5. Sadly, it's the best way to see it other than in the theatre. They really need to re-release this with a better digital transfer. Fantastic movie though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 28 Seconds of Horror..., Dec 11 2005
By 
Todd Elgert "Mr_Z" (Alberta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This movie is good for the first 30 minutes. Then it turns into the same old boring quest for a contrived ending that destroys so many good ideas. It's cool the first time around, but has no replay value. If you've seen it once, you've seen it a million times. You don't learn anything new the second time around. It's pretty low brow and has no metaphorical value. Any intellectual attempt made by the writers is destroyed by the "trip to the country gone wrong" crap-contrived ending that brings absolutely no insight into anything. Apocalyptic movies must have some deeper value than simple smash-n-kill crap-action. The biggest crime this movie is guilty of is OVER-HYPE. This movie has no place in a horror classics list, despite what the back cover would have you believe. Rent, don't buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Derivative, Ugly, And Stupid Film, May 16 2004
I just watched this film and am quite perplexed as to how it garnered good reviews and so much attention when it was theatrically released. Shot on digital video, this is an extremely cheap, visually ugly film which rips off George Romero's zombie trilogy, especially elements of Day of the Dead (the weakest of the Romero trilogy) and also adds in what are now hoary cliches from other post-apocalypse films. The film's one inventive touch is that the virally infected don't lumber around aimlesly but are infused with an almost superhuman strength and speed. Other than that, I won't belabor you with my litany of complaints about this film, since there's already a surfeit of negative reviews posted. However, I was particularly offended by the deliberate stupidity of some the plot, such as the infected soldier who is chained up, who you just KNOW is going to get loose to wreak havoc, and the putative hero Jim's act of setting him free, and the whole last act of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pas pire pantoute, Jan. 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
cé donc ben l'fun acheter des affaires, tsé quand t'a l'gout de te sentir en vie, y a rien comme sortir ta carte de crédit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Is there any genre Danny Boyle can't do?, Sept. 23 2013
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
A very well made, thinking person's zombie movie. This avoids most of
the silliest elements of the genre, adds some very clever twists, and
interesting complex characters. It still doesn't quite rise to being a
great movie, through a combination of not really exploring the many
political and social themes it hints at (George Romero takes that further), and
pushing its internal logic pretty far at times. But it's always
entertaining, has a lot of genuine suspense, and isn't over- reliant on
easy scares and shocks. Interestingly photographed on video.

I would have rated this even higher if it had one of the darker, more
emotional and complex endings included on the DVD special features.
That would have brought it to 'classic' status.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The movie doesn't shine, and that's why I love it...., Oct. 20 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
28 Day's Later, a really excellent film. The movie is dark, creepy, and intimidating. I have not jumped so high in a long time. I saw this movie near the second film's release, only hearing about the series when the second one came out. I don't remember much about my first viewing, only bits and pieces. For a starter, I remembered it was good, so when Amazon put it on sale, or at a low price anyway's, I had to pick it up.

The video quality is the worst thing about this bluray. The majority of the film was shot on a Canon DV camcorder, so I know why it is not the greatest quality. The film in itself is a really scary movie, and this low quality idea of filming, in my opinion, complemented that. The movie gave me a cloverfield vibe, dark, intense, claustrophobic almost, without having the shaky cam. The film goes from extremely quiet conversations, to a zombie attack, and the way the film was shot compliments it greatly.

The audio quality is pretty good. The film does not have many "epic" scenes. The film is really extraordinary, and is a really special film, but the movie itself is meant to be quiet, and scary, so the audio isn't so explosive. But, trust me on this, when the zombie's cries start crescendo into a full on screech, you will be wanted bad quality. It is scary. The audio is good, but the film itself doesn't necessarily need an amazing audio presentation, and it does, but it is a really good presentation. The near the ending is where the audio gets good though. The audio in the beginning did not need to be explosive, but it picks up as the action does.

The extras are informative. The audio commentary of the director, Danny Boyle, is nice to listen to, his filming process, and such things.

Overall, the movie is amazing. The video presentation suffers, but not because of the transfer that Fox has made, and in my opinion, I think it's the best it will ever look. The audio isn't as explosive as much tracks, but near the end it picks up, just as the action does, so the first halve is nessessary to be not as impressive.

***** - Phillip
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Familiar but Well Directed Sci-Fi/Horror Thriller., July 19 2004
A Young Man (Cillian Murphy), who woke up in a Hostipal Bed, who been in a Coma for a Month. That young man, since He's awake. He finds that that he's all alone in London, slowly finding out there was an Epidemic happen, when he was asleep. When it's turns night, Strange People that come out of the dark and they hunt for Humans. Those strange people have been infected by a disease that came from an animal, a man made virus that makes people absolutely mad. While the young man is seeking for help, he finds himself with a group of survivors (Naomie Harris, Megan Burns & Brandan Gleeson) that would do anything for survival.
Directed by Danny Boyle (A Life Less Ordinary, Shallow Grave, Transpotting) made a visionary, creepy, science-fiction/horror film that was shot in digital video. This film is lacking in Originality but the film is vivid and the film's plot is familiar to "The Omega Man" (First Half of the Film) and "Day of the Dead" (Second Half of the Film). This movie ended being a Box Office Hit and Critics even liked this film! The film did so well in fact, that it was briefly re-released with an bleaker alternate ending (Which is in the DVD). Since the Visual Style of the Film is Moody and Dark, DVD has an grainy but sharp anamorphic Widescreen (1.85:1) transfer and an strong-Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound. DVD has an Commentary Track by the Director:Boyle and Screenwriter:Alex Garland, Deleted Scenes with/without Commenatary by the filmmakers, 3 Alternate Endings and more. One of the most unique films of 2003, do not miss this one. Garland, who wrote the film is also a Novelist and Writer for Boyle's Previous Film-The Beach. Grade:A-.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "28 Days Later" is a bit slow, July 18 2004
By 
mark (tennessee) - See all my reviews
For all the hype this wasnt that great a story.Its about a few people left to fight off crazy insane humans who have been infected from a lab accident and roam the country killing the uninfected humans.That sounds like a pretty cool storyline except there was way too much of the main characters sitting around telling us their hopes and dreams and not enough good old killing and maiming.
For this infection to have swept the country there sure didnt seem to be the thousands of crazy infected wild people we should expect to see.In fact the humans we follow in the film carried a baseball bat and a machete to fend off these crazies.So there is a lot of nonsensical stuff in this film and not enough gore and insane violence that I expected.The last half of the film goes off on a tangent ,not about fighting the insane people,but of the heroes trying to get away from a militia leader and his pack of horny underlings.Predictable stuff where the "military men want our women and we must fight for their honor" kinda crapola. A lame bit of business in what was advertized to be a cool zombie type film.
Very few cool effects in this film and minimal gore and mild suspense make this film one to pass on unless you have nothing better to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not What You Expect, July 4 2004
This is an average movie. I personally thought it was going to be better. Its not really horror its more of a suspense movie with the horror aspect of killer zombies. its about a plague that is set lose by a bunch of animal protestors and you will get the virus (which will turn you into a blood thirsty crazy zombie) if you are bitten by one of the zombies or there blood is somehow entered into your body through your mouth, eyes ect. the main character is a man named jim who wakes up at a hospital and when he gets outside finds that everything is a wrec and there is no one in sight ... Except for blood thirsty zombies. he is rescued by two individuals a lady named selena and a man named marc and they are struggling to find other normal people and jim wants to find out what has happened to his family. this is a good suspense / horror its not as good as i suspected .the story takes place in England and the picture isnt the greatest quality but it is overall a pretty good movie and worth renting .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0c12810)

This product

NEW 28 Days Later - 28 Days Later (Blu-ray)
CDN$ 8.21
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews