Customer Reviews


404 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (79)
3 star:
 (59)
2 star:
 (51)
1 star:
 (87)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, bad video quality.
Movie = 5/5. Video quality = 3/5. Sadly, it's the best way to see it other than in the theatre. They really need to re-release this with a better digital transfer. Fantastic movie though.
Published on June 26 2011 by MindOverData

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you have it on DVD, Don't buy the Blu Ray
Bought this on blu ray. The video quality is not up to blu ray standards because of the way the movie was shot. The movie is awesome just not worth it on blu ray. If you have it on DVD, stick with that, if you don't this is a good purchase.
Published on Oct. 2 2011 by Teeboar


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you have it on DVD, Don't buy the Blu Ray, Oct. 2 2011
Bought this on blu ray. The video quality is not up to blu ray standards because of the way the movie was shot. The movie is awesome just not worth it on blu ray. If you have it on DVD, stick with that, if you don't this is a good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Derivative, Ugly, And Stupid Film, May 16 2004
I just watched this film and am quite perplexed as to how it garnered good reviews and so much attention when it was theatrically released. Shot on digital video, this is an extremely cheap, visually ugly film which rips off George Romero's zombie trilogy, especially elements of Day of the Dead (the weakest of the Romero trilogy) and also adds in what are now hoary cliches from other post-apocalypse films. The film's one inventive touch is that the virally infected don't lumber around aimlesly but are infused with an almost superhuman strength and speed. Other than that, I won't belabor you with my litany of complaints about this film, since there's already a surfeit of negative reviews posted. However, I was particularly offended by the deliberate stupidity of some the plot, such as the infected soldier who is chained up, who you just KNOW is going to get loose to wreak havoc, and the putative hero Jim's act of setting him free, and the whole last act of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, bad video quality., June 26 2011
Movie = 5/5. Video quality = 3/5. Sadly, it's the best way to see it other than in the theatre. They really need to re-release this with a better digital transfer. Fantastic movie though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 28 Seconds of Horror..., Dec 11 2005
By 
Todd Elgert "Mr_Z" (Alberta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This movie is good for the first 30 minutes. Then it turns into the same old boring quest for a contrived ending that destroys so many good ideas. It's cool the first time around, but has no replay value. If you've seen it once, you've seen it a million times. You don't learn anything new the second time around. It's pretty low brow and has no metaphorical value. Any intellectual attempt made by the writers is destroyed by the "trip to the country gone wrong" crap-contrived ending that brings absolutely no insight into anything. Apocalyptic movies must have some deeper value than simple smash-n-kill crap-action. The biggest crime this movie is guilty of is OVER-HYPE. This movie has no place in a horror classics list, despite what the back cover would have you believe. Rent, don't buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Familiar but Well Directed Sci-Fi/Horror Thriller., July 19 2004
A Young Man (Cillian Murphy), who woke up in a Hostipal Bed, who been in a Coma for a Month. That young man, since He's awake. He finds that that he's all alone in London, slowly finding out there was an Epidemic happen, when he was asleep. When it's turns night, Strange People that come out of the dark and they hunt for Humans. Those strange people have been infected by a disease that came from an animal, a man made virus that makes people absolutely mad. While the young man is seeking for help, he finds himself with a group of survivors (Naomie Harris, Megan Burns & Brandan Gleeson) that would do anything for survival.
Directed by Danny Boyle (A Life Less Ordinary, Shallow Grave, Transpotting) made a visionary, creepy, science-fiction/horror film that was shot in digital video. This film is lacking in Originality but the film is vivid and the film's plot is familiar to "The Omega Man" (First Half of the Film) and "Day of the Dead" (Second Half of the Film). This movie ended being a Box Office Hit and Critics even liked this film! The film did so well in fact, that it was briefly re-released with an bleaker alternate ending (Which is in the DVD). Since the Visual Style of the Film is Moody and Dark, DVD has an grainy but sharp anamorphic Widescreen (1.85:1) transfer and an strong-Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound. DVD has an Commentary Track by the Director:Boyle and Screenwriter:Alex Garland, Deleted Scenes with/without Commenatary by the filmmakers, 3 Alternate Endings and more. One of the most unique films of 2003, do not miss this one. Garland, who wrote the film is also a Novelist and Writer for Boyle's Previous Film-The Beach. Grade:A-.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "28 Days Later" is a bit slow, July 18 2004
By 
mark (tennessee) - See all my reviews
For all the hype this wasnt that great a story.Its about a few people left to fight off crazy insane humans who have been infected from a lab accident and roam the country killing the uninfected humans.That sounds like a pretty cool storyline except there was way too much of the main characters sitting around telling us their hopes and dreams and not enough good old killing and maiming.
For this infection to have swept the country there sure didnt seem to be the thousands of crazy infected wild people we should expect to see.In fact the humans we follow in the film carried a baseball bat and a machete to fend off these crazies.So there is a lot of nonsensical stuff in this film and not enough gore and insane violence that I expected.The last half of the film goes off on a tangent ,not about fighting the insane people,but of the heroes trying to get away from a militia leader and his pack of horny underlings.Predictable stuff where the "military men want our women and we must fight for their honor" kinda crapola. A lame bit of business in what was advertized to be a cool zombie type film.
Very few cool effects in this film and minimal gore and mild suspense make this film one to pass on unless you have nothing better to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars hard to rate, big holes but something new, July 15 2004
By A Customer
This is a really hard one to rate. The thing is that it's been so long since a good zombie movie came along that it was an okay movie for me and will thrill many lovers of that genre (I know, not classic zombies, blah, blah). But a person can't help but be bothered by the constant holes in the script.Aside from the holes in the script, one thing that's starting to bother me about movies period anymore is that it seems 4 out of 5 movies these days excepting comedies and dramas have to have a token "badass lady". I'm not arguing for helpless female characters, but seriously my wife and I rented 3 movies the other day and all three feature women proving their as tough as the men (one of the other 2 was Daredevil where his new girlfriend beats his ass twice despite having no superpowers of her own). After awhile that gets old as you watch movie after movie devote 20% of the runtime to establishing the toughness of the female characters.Then you have the holes that other reviewers mention, and I'll add a couple:The infected are obsessed with nothing save committing acts of violence yet are able to focus their violence solely on non-infected people.The infected vomit blood constantly and aren't concerned with eating or drinking, yet it apparently takes 56 days for them to begin dying, and then only from starvation. The virus incubates in about 20 seconds. Well, anyway I'll stop there but the minus is the holes in the script and the plus is that they were there partly out of necessity arising from trying to create something unique without directly ripping off other plague or zombie films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not What You Expect, July 4 2004
This is an average movie. I personally thought it was going to be better. Its not really horror its more of a suspense movie with the horror aspect of killer zombies. its about a plague that is set lose by a bunch of animal protestors and you will get the virus (which will turn you into a blood thirsty crazy zombie) if you are bitten by one of the zombies or there blood is somehow entered into your body through your mouth, eyes ect. the main character is a man named jim who wakes up at a hospital and when he gets outside finds that everything is a wrec and there is no one in sight ... Except for blood thirsty zombies. he is rescued by two individuals a lady named selena and a man named marc and they are struggling to find other normal people and jim wants to find out what has happened to his family. this is a good suspense / horror its not as good as i suspected .the story takes place in England and the picture isnt the greatest quality but it is overall a pretty good movie and worth renting .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling, Disturbing... A Must See, June 28 2004
By 
Heather D. Gallay (Boston, MA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The expected comparisons to other post-apocolyptic films have already been made, so I won't tread where other reviewers already have. However, if you're a video game fan, then 28 Days Later just might make up for the disaster that was Resident Evil's big-screen foray.
A bleak, horrifying, disturbing, and beautifully shot film, 28 Days Later takes a worn-out theme and makes it new again.
After a deadly virus wipes out the population of England by instantly turning its victims into flesh-eating "zombies" (the Infected), four survivors band together to make their way to Manchester, where a radio broadcast promises safety and civilization. Once there, however, the group realizes that their saviors--several uninfected members of a military installation--have their own agenda.
What became striking, was the juxtaposition of these normal men who were acting monstrous, with the horror of the true monsters outside their walls. Although hateful and cruel, the viewer understands that the soldiers themselves are half-crazed with fear and desperation; still, there is no room for compassion here.
Although the word "zombie" invokes the cheesiest of B-Movies, there's nothing cheesy about 28 Days Later With fantastic camera work, an absolutely organic and believable cast, a new spin on the old man-eating zombie formula, and some interesting (and upsetting) observations on human nature, this is a wonderful--though extremely upsetting--film.
Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's amazing how many people don't get this movie!!!, June 24 2004
By 
R "rfredriksz" (Indianapolis, IN) - See all my reviews
So I've read alot of reviews (most are bad and misguided) about this movie on this site. And, well, here's my 2 cents, for what it's worth...
THIS IS NOT A ZOMBIE MOVIE!!!! It's a horror movie, but just barely. It's more science fiction than anything. Most people are trying to compare it to ALL zombie movies that have come before. If you do that then you WILL be disappointed. Let me repeat-it's NOT A ZOMBIE MOVIE!!! If you're watching it to get a cheap scare you will also be disappointed. Watch this movie with an open mind-as you should ALL movies-and don't compare it to anything.
This movie is actually about the end of the world and how we as humans will carry on-the whole last half of the movie deals with this-the survivors journeying towards a faint hope on the airwaves and the soldiers who are just waiting for female survivors to show up to carry on the species. That's it, plain and simple.
It does have it's minor problems, I will admit. I too was a little disappointed at the neatness of the ending. I would have prefered it to not be so happy-it would have fit the tone of the film better. I would also have liked to know how far the 'rage' reached. They eluded to it spreading to New York and Paris-but didn't go into it much more than that. It might have added to the overall mood to get just a slight glimpse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NEW 28 Days Later - 28 Days Later (Blu-ray)
CDN$ 6.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews