summer boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle sports Tools

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars407
3.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$7.60+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon September 23, 2013
A very well made, thinking person's zombie movie. This avoids most of
the silliest elements of the genre, adds some very clever twists, and
interesting complex characters. It still doesn't quite rise to being a
great movie, through a combination of not really exploring the many
political and social themes it hints at (George Romero takes that further), and
pushing its internal logic pretty far at times. But it's always
entertaining, has a lot of genuine suspense, and isn't over- reliant on
easy scares and shocks. Interestingly photographed on video.

I would have rated this even higher if it had one of the darker, more
emotional and complex endings included on the DVD special features.
That would have brought it to 'classic' status.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2011
Bought this on blu ray. The video quality is not up to blu ray standards because of the way the movie was shot. The movie is awesome just not worth it on blu ray. If you have it on DVD, stick with that, if you don't this is a good purchase.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2011
Movie = 5/5. Video quality = 3/5. Sadly, it's the best way to see it other than in the theatre. They really need to re-release this with a better digital transfer. Fantastic movie though.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2003
Before I get into this review i want everyone to know that I never hate movies for no apparent reason. The problem with this movie is that it was overhyped as the "Scariest movie since The Exorcist!"
WOW!! There is No way anyone can ever compare this movie to The exorcist. Anyway I went to see this movie with a neutral state of Mind. I wasn't expecting the best movie ever and I wasn't expecting the worst.
So the movie begins and for the first 5 - 10 minutes the movie is off to a good start. (Except for the music being played while he walks down the empty streets) and also, {all the camera shots are done on a tripod it gets really annoying and believe this, it isn't original or innovative!!!
So everthing is going pretty well until...
he meets the fellow survivors. From here the movie goes into a downward spiral in which nothing helps it ascend.
Every scene after this is awfully drawn out(think Matrix reloaded party/sex scene, except with dialogue and no sex or dancing) The more characters they bring on, the worse the movie gets. And then if things couldn't get worse we are introduced to some soldiers who instead of helping the main characters they become their enemies.
So the story all of sudden moves from being about an empty
and dead "world" to being about "bad soldiers"
Such a good premise thrown into the trash, what a SHAME..
But I still had hope ... hope in that the ending had to be good..
And of course it was, quite possibly, the worst ending to a movie I have ever seen. And if you don't believe me then why did they come out with a new ending only weeks after it's release?? This of course angered me even more, because they couldn't get it right the first time!
I wasn't the only one who hated this movie... This was the first movie in which HALF the people in the theatre walked out HALF WAY through the Movie!!
With all the hype, this movie was very dissapointing. The Blair witch was hyped like crazy too, but that was an innovative movie and a lot scarier. TRUST ME!!
But anyway... you guys out there have two choices:; You can either buy or rent this movie, which you will regret or you can take my word and save your money.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2007
28 days later is a well made film.it has good performances from its
main actors,it is suspenseful,and there are some scary moments.the
director maintains tension throughout the movie.the make up effects in
the film are very well done,so that the infected look much less than
human,quite horrifying in fact.the action sequences are well done as
are the dramatic moments.this a not a zombie movie per Se,but a movie
about human relations and interaction in the face of what seems like
hopelessness.the most horrifying thing in the movie is its
premise,which is: plague has spread throughout the land,infecting
people and turning them into animalistic creatures,not quite
zombies,but not human either and having no thought other than attacking
and infecting the uninfected.it shows the desperation that some people
are willing to go through to survive.i won't give away any specifics of
the plot.anyway,for me,this is a well crafted movie all around.it is a
deep movie with a message and it asks some very scary questions.highly
recommended 4/5
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2004
I just watched this film and am quite perplexed as to how it garnered good reviews and so much attention when it was theatrically released. Shot on digital video, this is an extremely cheap, visually ugly film which rips off George Romero's zombie trilogy, especially elements of Day of the Dead (the weakest of the Romero trilogy) and also adds in what are now hoary cliches from other post-apocalypse films. The film's one inventive touch is that the virally infected don't lumber around aimlesly but are infused with an almost superhuman strength and speed. Other than that, I won't belabor you with my litany of complaints about this film, since there's already a surfeit of negative reviews posted. However, I was particularly offended by the deliberate stupidity of some the plot, such as the infected soldier who is chained up, who you just KNOW is going to get loose to wreak havoc, and the putative hero Jim's act of setting him free, and the whole last act of the film.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2009
This one was quite influential in the "zombie" horror movie\game genre. Not zombies per say but so close to it, the "infected" were actually fast and agile instead of slow and lumbering. It makes a world of difference in how menacing and scary they are. 28 days later sports a very good suspenseful story that makes you want to see what's next. It has some quite intense moments and some brilliant memorable shots: the deserted streets of London in particular. The acting was quite good from a cast of relative unknowns (at the time). Special mentions must go to the evocative music and how the rain was filmed. It looked amazing and contributed strongly to the atmosphere. Overall, it's one of the best serious horror movies of the start of the 21st century. The only arguable weakness would be the original ending.

Rating: 4 1/2 stars out of 5
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2004
For all the hype this wasnt that great a story.Its about a few people left to fight off crazy insane humans who have been infected from a lab accident and roam the country killing the uninfected humans.That sounds like a pretty cool storyline except there was way too much of the main characters sitting around telling us their hopes and dreams and not enough good old killing and maiming.
For this infection to have swept the country there sure didnt seem to be the thousands of crazy infected wild people we should expect to see.In fact the humans we follow in the film carried a baseball bat and a machete to fend off these crazies.So there is a lot of nonsensical stuff in this film and not enough gore and insane violence that I expected.The last half of the film goes off on a tangent ,not about fighting the insane people,but of the heroes trying to get away from a militia leader and his pack of horny underlings.Predictable stuff where the "military men want our women and we must fight for their honor" kinda crapola. A lame bit of business in what was advertized to be a cool zombie type film.
Very few cool effects in this film and minimal gore and mild suspense make this film one to pass on unless you have nothing better to do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2004
This is an average movie. I personally thought it was going to be better. Its not really horror its more of a suspense movie with the horror aspect of killer zombies. its about a plague that is set lose by a bunch of animal protestors and you will get the virus (which will turn you into a blood thirsty crazy zombie) if you are bitten by one of the zombies or there blood is somehow entered into your body through your mouth, eyes ect. the main character is a man named jim who wakes up at a hospital and when he gets outside finds that everything is a wrec and there is no one in sight ... Except for blood thirsty zombies. he is rescued by two individuals a lady named selena and a man named marc and they are struggling to find other normal people and jim wants to find out what has happened to his family. this is a good suspense / horror its not as good as i suspected .the story takes place in England and the picture isnt the greatest quality but it is overall a pretty good movie and worth renting .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2004
When I was first going to see 28 Days Later, I got it mostly because I was in the mood a good old fashioned hour and a half gore fest involving zombies trying to destroy the human race for no apparent reason, a la Dawn of the Dead and Army of Darkness. Thought I didn't exactly find what I was looking for in 28 Days Later, I wasn't necissarily dissapointed, suprised best describes how I felt.
the opening scene kicked off the movie on a good note, which features a group of radical enviromentalists attempting to release caged monkies in a lab, and accidently release a deadly virus that the monkies where infected with called the "RAGE" virus. The next scene features the main character waking up in a desolate hospital after a coma casued by a car accident. There are some great scenes of an "evacuated" London as the main character wanders around the city. Finnaly, he has a frightening encounter with some of the infected, and is saved by some of the few survivors in London. After this, lots of the scary zombie like hijinks I was expecting occured, and are the definant highlight of the movie. Soon they meet other survivors who are attempting to follow a radio signal sent from an army unit that is in hiding from the infected, hoping to find shelter and protection. After this, the film starts to take a bit of a turn, though things are generally still running smoothly. After a few more good zombie scares and such, the army shows up and unfortunatly, things really start to go downhill. There becomes less of a focus on the infected and other odd things occur that are hard to explain, though somehow not hard to understand. There are a lot of metaphores and observations about the human race and the appocaplypse, and things just start to get weird. They try to execute the main character for no apparent reason (or for something that wasn't reason enough to try to kill him). The main character escapes and then for some reason begins to release the zombies on all the soldiers to save his female freinds from being abused by the soldiers, who thinking it their duty to reproduce and save the human race. When he releases the infected, that's when the movie seems to hit a lowpoint. There's hardly any type of scares or suspense to be found, and it drags on for much to long, and all things add up to is a rather generic and unsatisfying ending (an alternative ending was created, but I havn't seen it, it was supposed to be a little better in the shocking or unexpected ending department though) .
I may have named a few to many spoilers in my summary, but this movie isn't all that worth seeing.
Another thing I must mention is the unique way this movie was shot. Judging by things like cammera work and such, you can tell this is an independently done film. The movie has a strange British feel to it, being that the whole cast is British and the setting takes place in both London and Manschester. The sound track is quite good, and features what are most likely British artists that are obscure to the US. I also like how this movie defies horror stereotypes. While it's really a horror movie at all and was just advertised as one, the characters don't fit into any of the sterotypes from other horror films. The cast (most noteably the females) are all mostly unatractive and unkown actors, which furthers the whole independant feel of the movie and shows that the director really was trying to do something different.
Overall, 28 Days Later somewhat fails to deliver what I was wanting, but is still a decent film that's short and mildly satisfying enough that you really don't feel like wasted to much time or money. If the film really does sound interesting to you still, then chances are you'll enjoy it. But if you don't really find this movie to sound at all interesting or worthy of viewing, you'll probably hate it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse