Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Countdown to Cyber Monday in Lawn & Garden

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars23
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on October 30, 2007
Andrea Bocelli, the blind and popular Italian tenor who, since making his stage debut in 1994, has sold millions of CDs worldwide, has released a collection of his greatest hits.
Never mind that he is "not very good" and his high notes can evoke "strangulation".
You might pity some music critics, who were faced with a nasty dilemma some months ago. Were they to fall in with the many fans of Mr Bocelli for whom he is evidently the next Pavarotti and echo their adulation? Or should they write what they believed - that his singing is flawed - and be accused of snobbery?
After a concert, the New York Time critic quoted "The tone is rasping, thin and, in general, poorly supported... "Even the most modest upward movement thins it even more, signalling what appears to be the onset of strangulation...
To his credit, Mr Bocelli sings mostly in tune. But his phrasing tends toward carelessness and rhythmic jumble, and the little barks and husky vocal expletives that are the mother's milk of Italian tenordom sound faded and unconvincing. The diction is not clear".
"Passion? Yes. Power. No," wrote a reviewer of the Associated Press.
"Bocelli's voice - though robust in spirit and precisely in tune, even in the upper register - had a thin quality that never opened up".
But he made sure simultaneously to acknowledge the unwavering loyalty of Mr Bocelli's fans. "Was the audience disappointed? Not in the least. They loved it".
A flawed voice, after all, can be corrected in the cocoon of a recording studio and hence perhaps the success of his CDs.
His first was released in 1995, one year after he appeared live for his debut in Verdi's Macbeth.
Yet, pulling Mr Bocelli from future live performances might not be recommended. If his voice can be thin, his force of personality apparently isn't.
It is an appeal based in part on the attractiveness of someone who has overcome obstacles. Born with a rare form of glaucoma, Mr Bocelli lost his sight entirely at age of 12 after a football accident.
This short diversion aside, for the first time during his historic career the world's best selling tenor, Andrea Bocelli, has just released an excellent collection of his greatest hits "Vivere" (Italian for "to live"), which marks a decade of chart-topping albums that have made him a household name and beloved cultural figure the world over.
He brings light and shade, purity of tone and technical assurance to the tracks, and to the duets with Italian Laura Pausini, Celine Dion and Sarah Brightman, among the others.
Get a hold of this disc and treat yourself to something subtle, passionate and musical.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
TOP 100 REVIEWERon November 29, 2007
Sugar Records presents "THE BEST OF ANDREA BOCELLI: VIVERE" --- On October 21, 2007, he sang "Con te partirò" with Katherine Jenkins on the popular UK television series 'Strictly Come Dancing' results show, and on October 30, 2007, he sang "The Prayer" with Celine Dion on the soon-to-be-aired ITV special "An Audience with Céline Dion." --- He sang alongside fellow Italian singer Laura Pausini "Vivire" ("Dare To Live", in English, which was also released in "The Best of: Andrea Bocelli as "Dare To Live (Vivere)") during the 2007 Latin Grammy.

Andrea Bocelli (born 22 September 1958) is an Italian singer --- He is both an operatic tenor and a classical crossover singer --- To date, he has recorded six complete operas -- La Bohème, Il Trovatore, Werther, Pagliacci, Cavalleria Rusticana and Tosca -- in addition to various classical and pop albums --- He has sold 55 million albums worldwide --- Bocelli has been blind since the age of 12 when a soccer accident accelerated an already slow loss of eyesight from congenital glaucoma

In 1992, the Italian rock star Zucchero first auditioned Bocelli while scouting for tenors to duet with him in the song "Miserere"; after hearing this recording, tenor Luciano Pavarotti urged Zucchero to use Bocelli instead of himself and said, "Let Andrea sing Miserere with you, for there is no one finer." --- The song was later recorded with Pavarotti, but Bocelli accompanied Zucchero on his European concert tour --- In 1994, Bocelli performed the winning entry "Il mare calmo della sera" at the Sanremo Festival, which led to his first gold record. That year, he also debuted as Macduff in Giuseppe Verdi's Macbeth, sang at Pavarotti's benefit concert in Modena, and performed for Pope John Paul II at Christmas --- In 1995, Bocelli's song "Con te partirò" placed fourth at the Sanremo Festival. It was included in his 1995 album Bocelli --- On September 8, 2007, he sang Mozart's "Ave Verum Corpus" at the funeral of Luciano Pavarotti in Modena, Italy (From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia)

The Best of Andrea Bocelli - Vivere (Track Listings)

1 La Voce del Silenzio [4:55]
2 Sogno [4:01]
3 Il Mare Calmo Della Sera [4:39]
4 Dare to Live (Vivere) [4:18]
5 Canto Della Terra [3:59]
6 A Te [4:09]
7 Besame Mucho [4:02]
8 Time to Say Goodbye (Con Te Partirò) [4:06]
9 Io Ci Saro [4:49]
10 Romanza [3:43]
11 Vivo Per Lei [4:26]
12 Melodramma [4:08]
13 Bellissime Stelle [4:14]
14 The Prayer [4:28]
15 Because We Believe [4:40]

Hats off to Sugar Records --- strongly recommend this CD to all music lovers and all others who need to hear some great classical music --- Andrea Bocelli and all the composers, conductors and orchestras please stand up and take a bow for this well deserved rare gem you've given us --- this is a keeper!

Total Time: 63 mins on 15 Tracks ~ Sugar Records ~ (10/30/2007)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2014
There will always be a group of people who have a pop at Bocelli - the ones who fancy themselves as the music cognoscenti. They are obviously missing something that the rest of us can hear and appreciate. I think there is also a lot of envy and resentment because he is so popular; to quote Oscar Wilde: "people will forgive you anything except success". Bocelli would not be receiving countless music awards if he was not considered worthy of them by the true connoisseurs, nor would he be invited to sing at the most prestigious venues if he was not loved by such a vast and varied audience. Bocelli's voice and style are unique. He has brought a new sound and repertoire to the world of music, unlike the many 'crossover' singers who keep popping up like mushrooms everywhere. I have seen Bocelli many times in concert. As soon as you hear him sing it is obvious why he appeals to so many millions of people around the world, a truly magical artist. 'Vivere' is just one of his many excellent albums and he is the one singer I never tire of listening to .
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2007
Andrea do not need a review for his best album
His name on a cd cover is more then enough
Becouse when he sings you don't need to open your eyes to see his magic in the air and even if you don't know Itallian
you can feel the power of singing
trust me you will not be dissapointed

well I am listening to Mr Andrea for 4 years and I just go crazy when I listen to him
I am in very shock to know that there are people OR Media say bad things about his singing
that's so bad media go back to school and learn how to listen music ......
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on March 21, 2012
Great audio quality on this K2hd CD. Does not contain 'Time to Say Goodbye' which is included in other versions however.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2010
This is a CD that I play over and over again. I recommend it to those who are a fan of Andrea Bocelli and those who are looking to experience Bocelli for the first time. I bought it primarily for "Time to Say Goodbye with Sarah Brightman"...WOW!! I also have "Under the Desert Sky" (from Lake Las Vegas) and I play this CD/DVD over and over again. Enjoy!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2009
I heard Mr Bocelli many years ago and I loved his voice then and have continued to follow him thru the years. He is without a doubt my favorite singer. I have many cds of his and plan on sending for more. I love his performances on our stations here in my area. Have not missed any of them..keep his cds on your site please !!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2010
Andrea's pipes don't disappoint. However, if you are a true Andrea Boccelli fan and already have most of his music, you may find this disc as "predictable" and "nothing new". On a personal note, I prefer when Andrea sticks to singing in his native Italian not when he dabbles with other languages in his songs.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2009
Great album; a must have for all Bocelli fans! Love the new songs as much as the old ones that made Bocelli the worldwide superstar he is today: The duets with laura Pausini and Lang Lang, and the 2 new songs are new favorites of mine!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2014
I love Andrea's singing so would love just about anything he sings, however, this one is played more often than others. I just love his choice of songs in this album.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Cinema (Limited Deluxe)
Cinema (Limited Deluxe) by Andrea Bocelli (Audio CD - 2015)

Love In Portofino (CD+DVD)
Love In Portofino (CD+DVD) by Andrea Bocelli (Audio CD - 2013)

ICON by Andrea Bocelli (Audio CD - 2015)