Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your Doctor Who's Jack Harkness... and that's just fine.
This show isn't Doctor Who but then again, it's not supposed to be.

This isn't a show about monsters, regardless of its monster of the week format. It's a show about the blemishes in humanity, the mistakes and the compromises that we make as a deeply flawed race. The monsters aren't the things that the Torchwood team chase; I'll let you guess what the monsters...
Published on Oct. 30 2007 by L. A. Mayers

versus
37 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Torchwood... Not What You Might Be Expecting...
Season one of Torchwood, Russel T. Davies' spinoff of his Doctor Who revival is a bit of a mixed bag, and achieves varying levels of success as a result.

The show aims to be more "adult" than Doctor Who, focusing on a less optimistic (supposedly realistic) view of humanity it seems. The "realistic" aspect of this I thought was generally done well, but the...
Published on Oct. 31 2007 by BroInWhyteridge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your Doctor Who's Jack Harkness... and that's just fine., Oct. 30 2007
By 
L. A. Mayers "Geek Chic Incarnate" (Montreal, QC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: The Complete First Season (DVD)
This show isn't Doctor Who but then again, it's not supposed to be.

This isn't a show about monsters, regardless of its monster of the week format. It's a show about the blemishes in humanity, the mistakes and the compromises that we make as a deeply flawed race. The monsters aren't the things that the Torchwood team chase; I'll let you guess what the monsters are.

This show brilliantly explores the other side of Doctor Who. While Doctor Who shows the brilliance of humanity and its ability to overcome adversity, Torchwood shows the cracks in the vaneer. It shows the dark side of the human face and makes sure we don't like what we see--while doing it in a very compelling fashion.

We see a very different Jack in this show to those who are familiar with his presence in Doctor Who. Less carefree and feeling the weight of the world, we follow Jack as he leads an essentially selfish team that is charged with selfless work.

The show takes on more adult themes and more mature ideas and doesn't resolve them in happy, tidy little bows. The story telling is more nuanced and shades of grey permeate every choice that the team is faced with.

This isn't a show that leaves you feeling happy at the end, it's one that makes you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic, July 27 2008
By 
Lynna Landstreet "www.wildideas.net" (Toronto, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I'm not much of a fan of TV in general, but there are a few series here and there that really stand out for their intelligence, innovation and quality... and Torchwood is a standout even among those.

While season one didn't quite hit the same level as season two eventually did, it was still stunningly good -- far more interesting, entertaining and mature than the vast majority of other shows. Torchwood even at its worst is better than most other shows at their best.

The acting is consistently excellent, and the characters all intriguingly complex, flawed people, who are not overidealized but shown as being capable of both heroism and terrible mistakes. Above all, they're very, very human. It does take a while for some of them to fully develop over the course of the series, though, so don't expect to feel like you fully know everyone after just the first few episodes (or even by the end of the first season, for that matter).

However, it's definitely not for everyone's tastes - Torchwood does not shy away from dealing with dark and/or controversial themes, and the conservative or easily offended should probably stay far away. In particular, those who are expecting it to be similar in style and tone to Doctor Who may be in for a bit of a shock. Even the character they have in common has gone through a lot of changes between his parting of ways with the Doctor at the end of DW season one, and the beginning of this series (for reasons that are eventually made clear in season 3 of DW) - Captain Jack as he appears here is a lot more serious and driven, and less playfully hedonistic than we originally saw him, though there are certainly still flashes of that.

But many of the same things that upset some viewers - like the strong presence of LGBT themes and characters, sudden shifts in style or content just when you think you've got the series pinned down, exploration of moral ambiguities, and the occasional shock of having "good" characters do very bad things - are what make the series so unique and compelling for those of us who find most television banal.

The only real flaw I've found in Torchwood is that it sometimes seems to focus on character development and emotional impact to the point where logic suffers. There are things that seem to happen for no other reason than that they provide an opportunity for intense and emotionally affecting scenes, and don't really stand up to logical scrutiny afterwards. But on the whole that seems like a minor failing in a series that's otherwise so powerful.

All in all, highly recommended for anyone who wants a change from the usual TV fare, and isn't afraid of being shaken out of their comfort zone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Torchwood... Not What You Might Be Expecting..., Oct. 31 2007
By 
BroInWhyteridge (Winnipeg Manitoba Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Torchwood: The Complete First Season (DVD)
Season one of Torchwood, Russel T. Davies' spinoff of his Doctor Who revival is a bit of a mixed bag, and achieves varying levels of success as a result.

The show aims to be more "adult" than Doctor Who, focusing on a less optimistic (supposedly realistic) view of humanity it seems. The "realistic" aspect of this I thought was generally done well, but the "adult" side of the equation was, quite frankly, mildly embarassing at best (seemed obvious that this was a show trying real hard to be "grown up" and failing miserably)....

There are some real good episodes here though, the one dealing with the aftermath of the Canary Wharf battle between the Daleks and the Cybermen, and Countrycide standout in my opinion.

One big problem though, and this is showing up in almost every new release... the price difference in Canada vs the US. I'm seriously wondering why Canadian consumers are still being asked to take a bullet to the brain in terms of the exchange rate. Buying this release on amazon.ca will cost you $79.02 Canadian. Going to amazon.com will cost you only $60.78 Canadian after paying for "international" shipping and taking the (currently) $1.05 CDN = $1 USD exchange rate into account... a savings of $19.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It!, March 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Some don't like the series as much as Doctor Who but let me tell you, if your 18+ you'll love it! Excellent series if you give it a chance and lots of great character story build up throughout the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Series, Jan. 11 2013
By 
J. R. Laycockartelle (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: The Complete First Season (DVD)
Great series and would recommend to anyone .Get all the series as well worth it and you will love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Smart and creative, yet flawed, July 20 2011
By 
Derek Draven - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Torchwood: The Complete First Season (DVD)
It's terribly difficult to create a spinoff series, especially one like Doctor Who. When Russell T. Davies resurrected the mammoth U.K. pop culture phenomenon in 2005, it was met with roaring success by both veteran and first time viewers alike. Beginning with Season (or Series) 2 of the show, the Doctor began butting heads with a secretive and elite agency known as "Torchwood," commissioned by Queen Victoria in 1879 to combat the Doctor (whom they perceive as a reckless threat) and any alien or paranormal activities which may threaten the British empire. Somehow, Captain Jack Harkness (introduced in Season 1 of Doctor Who) has been tasked with heading up a branch of Torchwood based in modern day Cardiff. Now immortal thanks to Rose Tyler's resurrection at the end of Doctor Who Season 1, Harkness is mired under the weight of his own steely reserve, self-isolation and self-doubt.

The series begins with Harkness and his team bumping into Gwen Cooper, a police officer who witnesses the Torchwood team using a strange gauntlet to temporarily resurrect the corpse of a murder victim and gain information about his killer. After encountering Harkness directly, Gwen is given a drug which is designed to erase all memory of Torchwood and her experiences with Jack. It isn't enough however, and soon Gwen begins to experience repressed memories which trigger total recall. Gwen Cooper is brought on board as the newest Torchwood member, and her life turns upside down from thereon in.

The show contrasts sharply with Doctor Who in many ways. Although set in the same universe with overlapping storylines, Torchwood was designed specifically for adults, and makes use of mature and sexual themes as well as graphic violence and coarse language. Though Doctor Who can be dark in tone and bleak in delivery, Torchwood is doubly so. The show focuses specifically on the fragmented and broken team members who all suffer in some way, whether it be isolation, loneliness, rage or otherwise. Many times, Torchwood focuses less on specific alien or paranormal threats and instead shows humanity's gut reaction and subsequent behavior. It's full of character studies, but no character except Gwen Cooper truly grows during the series. This would be expanded upon with future Torchwood seasons, but the very first season seems to have trouble finding a proper footing. Too often the show gets bogged down with the "secret team in their secret base" cliché and only steps out to get their job done before rushing back into the darkness of their underground facility.

The show is also heavy on homosexual themes which seem less about one's character trait than an excuse to force a viewpoint. Director Russell T. Davies is openly gay, and his gay references were sprinkled throughout Season 1 of Doctor Who in less obvious fashion. Here, they seem blown completely out of proportion, quickly becoming the uncomfortable elephant in the room. It's one thing to have an openly gay (or perhaps omnisexual) character like Jack Harkness in a TV show, but it's quite another to continually throw the material in the viewer's face at the first possible opportunity, and smells of the director trying to push his personal preferences upon anyone who wants to watch his TV show.

Nevertheless, Torchwood is solid, and written with a mature hand. Too often the show provokes the viewer to think about what they would do in the place of the characters, and that's never a bad thing. It can be a little too bleak at times, but I doubt Davies had anything else in mind for Torchwood. If anything, Season 1 proves just how counterproductive the 13-episode serial format can be to the show. Not until Children of Earth did Torchwood truly find its place, and for viewers of Torchwood: Miracle Day, they can see the difference as plain as night to day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gritty, edgy British Sci-fi, March 28 2009
This review is from: Torchwood: The Complete First Season (DVD)
This is an edgy, thrilling sci-fi series that is not for the faint of heart (Countrycide). It's not Doctor Who, which is the whole point. Captain Jack evolved from a simple companion to a team leader, with a hard edge. Yes, there are some episodes that miss the mark, but if you want to try something a little different and edgy, then give Torchwood a try. The first episode is probably one of the weaker episodes, so watch the rest of the series before passing judgment on the series. The price is a bit high, which is why I can't give it a higher rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps you begging for more!, Sept. 12 2008
This review is from: Torchwood: The Complete First Season (DVD)
When I first saw this I didn't realize it was a spinoff of anything until my friend pointed it out.
It stands on its own very well, and if you're a fan of Dr. Who then
its even better!
The characters are realistic minded people,
the plot is amazing,
you won't be able to stop with just season one!
It's a must see for any sci-fi fantasy fans!
Quick! Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Torchy Storytelling, Aug. 4 2008
By 
Dave and Joe (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I bought this dvd set with a little fear. I am NOT a Dr. Who fan, could never get into the series. But I'd heard that this series was good science fiction story telling ... and I heard right. I like a series that dazzles with wit and words as much as it uses special effects. I liked each episode for different reasons because the writers didn't use cookie cutter plotting and as such they kept the whole thing fresh from start to finish. Great series. Dr. Who?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different and enjoyable, Feb. 11 2009
By 
Cindy Webster - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I actually started watching Torchwood with Season 2, and immediately fell in love with it. It's different, it's non-conventional, it has an omni-sexual hero...what's not to like? I think my favourite thing about the show is that Captain Jack is NOT your typical hero: he is ruthlessly practical and makes the hard unlikeable decisions even when his team hate him for it. Marvelous.
For those complaining about missing discs, Amazon is wonderful about replacing things so why the fuss?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaad60a50)

This product

Torchwood: The Complete First Season
Torchwood: The Complete First Season by James Strong (DVD - 2008)
CDN$ 99.90 CDN$ 44.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews