Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic
I'm not much of a fan of TV in general, but there are a few series here and there that really stand out for their intelligence, innovation and quality... and Torchwood is a standout even among those.

While season one didn't quite hit the same level as season two eventually did, it was still stunningly good -- far more interesting, entertaining and mature than...
Published on July 27 2008 by Lynna Landstreet

versus
37 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Torchwood... Not What You Might Be Expecting...
Season one of Torchwood, Russel T. Davies' spinoff of his Doctor Who revival is a bit of a mixed bag, and achieves varying levels of success as a result.

The show aims to be more "adult" than Doctor Who, focusing on a less optimistic (supposedly realistic) view of humanity it seems. The "realistic" aspect of this I thought was generally done well, but the...
Published on Oct. 31 2007 by BroInWhyteridge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic, July 27 2008
By 
Lynna Landstreet "www.wildideas.net" (Toronto, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I'm not much of a fan of TV in general, but there are a few series here and there that really stand out for their intelligence, innovation and quality... and Torchwood is a standout even among those.

While season one didn't quite hit the same level as season two eventually did, it was still stunningly good -- far more interesting, entertaining and mature than the vast majority of other shows. Torchwood even at its worst is better than most other shows at their best.

The acting is consistently excellent, and the characters all intriguingly complex, flawed people, who are not overidealized but shown as being capable of both heroism and terrible mistakes. Above all, they're very, very human. It does take a while for some of them to fully develop over the course of the series, though, so don't expect to feel like you fully know everyone after just the first few episodes (or even by the end of the first season, for that matter).

However, it's definitely not for everyone's tastes - Torchwood does not shy away from dealing with dark and/or controversial themes, and the conservative or easily offended should probably stay far away. In particular, those who are expecting it to be similar in style and tone to Doctor Who may be in for a bit of a shock. Even the character they have in common has gone through a lot of changes between his parting of ways with the Doctor at the end of DW season one, and the beginning of this series (for reasons that are eventually made clear in season 3 of DW) - Captain Jack as he appears here is a lot more serious and driven, and less playfully hedonistic than we originally saw him, though there are certainly still flashes of that.

But many of the same things that upset some viewers - like the strong presence of LGBT themes and characters, sudden shifts in style or content just when you think you've got the series pinned down, exploration of moral ambiguities, and the occasional shock of having "good" characters do very bad things - are what make the series so unique and compelling for those of us who find most television banal.

The only real flaw I've found in Torchwood is that it sometimes seems to focus on character development and emotional impact to the point where logic suffers. There are things that seem to happen for no other reason than that they provide an opportunity for intense and emotionally affecting scenes, and don't really stand up to logical scrutiny afterwards. But on the whole that seems like a minor failing in a series that's otherwise so powerful.

All in all, highly recommended for anyone who wants a change from the usual TV fare, and isn't afraid of being shaken out of their comfort zone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your Doctor Who's Jack Harkness... and that's just fine., Oct. 30 2007
By 
L. A. Mayers "Geek Chic Incarnate" (Montreal, QC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: The Complete First Season (DVD)
This show isn't Doctor Who but then again, it's not supposed to be.

This isn't a show about monsters, regardless of its monster of the week format. It's a show about the blemishes in humanity, the mistakes and the compromises that we make as a deeply flawed race. The monsters aren't the things that the Torchwood team chase; I'll let you guess what the monsters are.

This show brilliantly explores the other side of Doctor Who. While Doctor Who shows the brilliance of humanity and its ability to overcome adversity, Torchwood shows the cracks in the vaneer. It shows the dark side of the human face and makes sure we don't like what we see--while doing it in a very compelling fashion.

We see a very different Jack in this show to those who are familiar with his presence in Doctor Who. Less carefree and feeling the weight of the world, we follow Jack as he leads an essentially selfish team that is charged with selfless work.

The show takes on more adult themes and more mature ideas and doesn't resolve them in happy, tidy little bows. The story telling is more nuanced and shades of grey permeate every choice that the team is faced with.

This isn't a show that leaves you feeling happy at the end, it's one that makes you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps you begging for more!, Sept. 12 2008
This review is from: Torchwood: The Complete First Season (DVD)
When I first saw this I didn't realize it was a spinoff of anything until my friend pointed it out.
It stands on its own very well, and if you're a fan of Dr. Who then
its even better!
The characters are realistic minded people,
the plot is amazing,
you won't be able to stop with just season one!
It's a must see for any sci-fi fantasy fans!
Quick! Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Adventure as only the Brits can do it!, Nov. 15 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Torchwood: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I was a bit skeptical on this series after Dr Who, but has proved to me to be the same high quality - strong cast, high production values, good story and characters. I quickly became a fan - and liked the cast becoming intrigued with them. I find it refreshing when the Brits come up with an "enemy", it isn't a Black, Latino, Arab or other member of the human race to denigrate, but something entirely different. This is definitely of the high quality of Dr Who and I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different and enjoyable, Feb. 11 2009
By 
Cindy Webster - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I actually started watching Torchwood with Season 2, and immediately fell in love with it. It's different, it's non-conventional, it has an omni-sexual hero...what's not to like? I think my favourite thing about the show is that Captain Jack is NOT your typical hero: he is ruthlessly practical and makes the hard unlikeable decisions even when his team hate him for it. Marvelous.
For those complaining about missing discs, Amazon is wonderful about replacing things so why the fuss?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The price tag burns, but it's so worth it., Oct. 1 2009
By 
Jennifer Mckay (Toronto, ON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I watched a few episodes of this series with a friend of mine and instantly fell in love with it. I has a wonderful combination of genres aspects that I find incredibly appealing. There is horror, drama, suspense, action, romance and a touch of the extraterrestrial. I've heard many people say it is one of the greatest Sci-fi series ever created. For me, personally, I would agree with that. Though right now my top spot is taken by Farscape.

The greatest pull this series has for me is the characters. If you minus the aliens, the people in the show are incredibly realistic. No one is perfect, no one's faults go unnoticed, and people make horrible mistakes based on what they feel is a rational or morally emotional justified thought.

John Barrowman is the leading man in the series, and in real life he is pretty much Captain Jack Harkness. He is charismatic, mysterious, and you always want to know more about him.

No matter how you look at it, the series is incredibly dark, but I feel that helps bring it to reality. Given what Torchwood does, there is rarely a happy ending. if you're a fan of special effects, the show has a decent gory side to it. Low budgets hurt, but Torchwood really does the best it can.

Russell T Davies also writes omnisexual very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Torchwood... Not What You Might Be Expecting..., Oct. 31 2007
By 
BroInWhyteridge (Winnipeg Manitoba Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Torchwood: The Complete First Season (DVD)
Season one of Torchwood, Russel T. Davies' spinoff of his Doctor Who revival is a bit of a mixed bag, and achieves varying levels of success as a result.

The show aims to be more "adult" than Doctor Who, focusing on a less optimistic (supposedly realistic) view of humanity it seems. The "realistic" aspect of this I thought was generally done well, but the "adult" side of the equation was, quite frankly, mildly embarassing at best (seemed obvious that this was a show trying real hard to be "grown up" and failing miserably)....

There are some real good episodes here though, the one dealing with the aftermath of the Canary Wharf battle between the Daleks and the Cybermen, and Countrycide standout in my opinion.

One big problem though, and this is showing up in almost every new release... the price difference in Canada vs the US. I'm seriously wondering why Canadian consumers are still being asked to take a bullet to the brain in terms of the exchange rate. Buying this release on amazon.ca will cost you $79.02 Canadian. Going to amazon.com will cost you only $60.78 Canadian after paying for "international" shipping and taking the (currently) $1.05 CDN = $1 USD exchange rate into account... a savings of $19.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Torchy Storytelling, Aug. 4 2008
By 
Dave and Joe (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I bought this dvd set with a little fear. I am NOT a Dr. Who fan, could never get into the series. But I'd heard that this series was good science fiction story telling ... and I heard right. I like a series that dazzles with wit and words as much as it uses special effects. I liked each episode for different reasons because the writers didn't use cookie cutter plotting and as such they kept the whole thing fresh from start to finish. Great series. Dr. Who?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gritty, edgy British Sci-fi, March 28 2009
This review is from: Torchwood: The Complete First Season (DVD)
This is an edgy, thrilling sci-fi series that is not for the faint of heart (Countrycide). It's not Doctor Who, which is the whole point. Captain Jack evolved from a simple companion to a team leader, with a hard edge. Yes, there are some episodes that miss the mark, but if you want to try something a little different and edgy, then give Torchwood a try. The first episode is probably one of the weaker episodes, so watch the rest of the series before passing judgment on the series. The price is a bit high, which is why I can't give it a higher rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Torchwood Season One a Must, June 15 2009
By 
Christine Robillard "book maniac" (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: The Complete First Season (DVD)
Torchwood is great. It's packed with action and is funny too. It's also about characters, confused people, suffering and joy.
For those who've seen only Torchwood 2, Torchwood 1 tells us a little bit more about Jack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Torchwood: The Complete First Season
Torchwood: The Complete First Season by Various (DVD - 2008)
CDN$ 99.90 CDN$ 39.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews